Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in 09/10/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese Application 2024-155065 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 11 include the limitations “a display controller that displays content received by a communication device from outside by a plurality of display units” and “a first communication speed between the communication device and the outside”. The office is unclear what the applicant means by “from outside and “the outside”. The Applicant’s specification suggests the outside is a “base station” and that “The vehicle 1 includes a communication device 25”. It appears that the applicant is discussing receiving external signals from outside of the vehicle however it uses the phrase “from outside. Are the signals coming from a piece of hardware like a base station a communication network rather than “from outside”. The office suggests describing the content being transmitted and received from external sources rather than using an indefinite term like “outside”. If the applicant specification describes a term then the applicant must be limited to what he has described as his definition. Appropriate correction with support in the specification must be made by the applicant to clarify the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al., US Patent Application (20230325139), hereinafter “Matsumura” and Sandoval et al., US Patent Application (20190098067), hereinafter “Sandoval”
Regarding claim 1 display controller the processor 11 functions as a display controller CCP_2 by executing the control program CP. [Matsumura para 0060] that displays content received by a communication device from outside The communication device 13 is a device that communicates with another device via a communication network, such as a mobile communication network or the Internet [Matsumura para 0053] by a plurality of display units, he user can cause the display surfaces 41S and 42S to face the user and set the display state of the display device of the information processing apparatus 100 to a second display state to perform display on both the display surfaces 41S and 42S, as shown in FIG. 1B [Matsumura para 0049]
the display controller comprising:
Matsumura does not teach but Sandoval teaches a notification unit configured to give notification related to the content to be displayed by the display units For example, the central office 103 may include a push notification server 105. The push notification server 105 may generate push notifications to deliver data and/or commands to the various premises 102 in the network (or more specifically, to the devices in the premises 102 that are configured to detect such notifications) [Sandoval para 0027]
based on a first communication speed between the communication device and the outside and a second communication speed between the communication device and the outside required for displaying the content. a bit rate can be increased from greater than 5 or 7.5 Mbps (first speed) to greater than 8 or 12 Mbps (second speed) to deliver HD video at 1080p without errors. [Sandoval para 0051] increasing quality of received content from the intermediate threshold below an acceptable quality to above a quality threshold could be achieved by activating a second amplifier for a second communication path and changing a first amplifier to use one port for a first communication instead of two ports for respective first and second communication paths. [Sandoval para 0051]
Matsumura discloses display states of a display device include a first display state and a second display state with a larger display area than the first display state. An information processing apparatus includes a display controller that controls the display device, an executer that executes at least one of a first App or a second App, and an acquirer that acquires a guide image. In response to the executer executing the first App when the display device is in the first display state, the acquirer acquires the guide image in accordance with a running state of the first App. The display controller causes the display device to display the guide image in the first display state.
Sandoval discloses systems and methods are disclosed for optimizing resources while maintaining user experiences. Disclosed examples include an adaptive energy system whereby resource use can be optimized by influencing a communication path to utilize a subset of available resources in an efficient manner. Quality metrics are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumura and Sandoval in the art communicating between devices externally, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Sandoval improves Matsumura’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using quality metrics which are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Regarding claim 2 Matsumura teaches claim 1 in addition Matsumura teaches comprising: a display control unit configured to control the content displayed by the plurality of display units, wherein a notification matter of the notification unit is a matter of proposing display of the same content, and the display control unit performs control so that at least two or more of the plurality of display units display the same content when a user of the display units accepts the notification matter of the notification unit. the storage device 12 via the communication device 13, for example. In addition, the storage device 12 stores a guide image PG. The guide image PG is an image that prompts the user to switch the first display state to the second display state. [Matsumura para 0058]
Regarding claim 10 Matsumura teaches a method of controlling a display controller the processor 11 functions as a display controller CCP_2 by executing the control program CP. [Matsumura para 0060] that displays content received by a communication device from outside The communication device 13 is a device that communicates with another device via a communication network, such as a mobile communication network or the Internet [Matsumura para 0053] by a plurality of display units, the user can cause the display surfaces 41S and 42S to face the user and set the display state of the display device of the information processing apparatus 100 to a second display state to perform display on both the display surfaces 41S and 42S, as shown in FIG. 1B [Matsumura para 0049]
Matsumura does not teach but Sandoval teaches wherein notification related to the content to be displayed by the display units For example, the central office 103 may include a push notification server 105. The push notification server 105 may generate push notifications to deliver data and/or commands to the various premises 102 in the network (or more specifically, to the devices in the premises 102 that are configured to detect such notifications) [Sandoval para 0027] is given based on a first communication speed between the communication device and the outside and a second communication speed between the communication device and the outside required for displaying the content. a bit rate can be increased from greater than 5 or 7.5 Mbps (first speed) to greater than 8 or 12 Mbps (second speed) to deliver HD video at 1080p without errors. [Sandoval para 0051] increasing quality of received content from the intermediate threshold below an acceptable quality to above a quality threshold could be achieved by activating a second amplifier for a second communication path and changing a first amplifier to use one port for a first communication instead of two ports for respective first and second communication paths. [Sandoval para 0051]
Matsumura discloses display states of a display device include a first display state and a second display state with a larger display area than the first display state. An information processing apparatus includes a display controller that controls the display device, an executer that executes at least one of a first App or a second App, and an acquirer that acquires a guide image. In response to the executer executing the first App when the display device is in the first display state, the acquirer acquires the guide image in accordance with a running state of the first App. The display controller causes the display device to display the guide image in the first display state.
Sandoval discloses systems and methods are disclosed for optimizing resources while maintaining user experiences. Disclosed examples include an adaptive energy system whereby resource use can be optimized by influencing a communication path to utilize a subset of available resources in an efficient manner. Quality metrics are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumura and Sandoval in the art communicating between devices externally, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Sandoval improves Matsumura’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using quality metrics which are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Regarding claim 11 Matsumura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that makes a processor of a display controller the processor 11 functions as a display controller CCP_2 by executing the control program CP. [Matsumura para 0060] that displays content received by a communication device from outside The communication device 13 is a device that communicates with another device via a communication network, such as a mobile communication network or the Internet [Matsumura para 0053] by a plurality of display units the user can cause the display surfaces 41S and 42S to face the user and set the display state of the display device of the information processing apparatus 100 to a second display state to perform display on both the display surfaces 41S and 42S, as shown in FIG. 1B [Matsumura para 0049]
Matsumura does not teach but Sandoval teaches function as a notification unit configured to give notification related to the content to be displayed by the display units For example, the central office 103 may include a push notification server 105. The push notification server 105 may generate push notifications to deliver data and/or commands to the various premises 102 in the network (or more specifically, to the devices in the premises 102 that are configured to detect such notifications) [Sandoval para 0027]based on a first communication speed between the communication device and the outside and a second communication speed between the communication device and the outside required for displaying the content. a bit rate can be increased from greater than 5 or 7.5 Mbps (first speed) to greater than 8 or 12 Mbps (second speed) to deliver HD video at 1080p without errors. [Sandoval para 0051] increasing quality of received content from the intermediate threshold below an acceptable quality to above a quality threshold could be achieved by activating a second amplifier for a second communication path and changing a first amplifier to use one port for a first communication instead of two ports for respective first and second communication paths. [Sandoval para 0051]
Matsumura discloses display states of a display device include a first display state and a second display state with a larger display area than the first display state. An information processing apparatus includes a display controller that controls the display device, an executer that executes at least one of a first App or a second App, and an acquirer that acquires a guide image. In response to the executer executing the first App when the display device is in the first display state, the acquirer acquires the guide image in accordance with a running state of the first App. The display controller causes the display device to display the guide image in the first display state.
Sandoval discloses systems and methods are disclosed for optimizing resources while maintaining user experiences. Disclosed examples include an adaptive energy system whereby resource use can be optimized by influencing a communication path to utilize a subset of available resources in an efficient manner. Quality metrics are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumura and Sandoval in the art communicating between devices externally, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Sandoval improves Matsumura’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using quality metrics which are monitored such that optimization measures are implemented only if they do not negatively impact user experiences beyond a threshold.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622