DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 9 recite “a curve” in more than one instance. It is unclear if these instances are the same as or distinct from the instance provided in the independent claim(s). For purposes of examination these instances will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed towards a computer program. The processor of a computer is not explicitly claimed as being a part of the invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-7 are one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Regarding claims 1 (and 8), the claim recites, in part, “providing the geometric path…defining…zone …optimizing the size… cost function…”. The limitations of determining and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The additional element of a “computer” is just a generic computing device. Invocation of generic computing devices to perform or aid the abstract idea does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into practical application because the claim does not include limitations that purport the improvement to the function of a computer or another technology, apply the abstract idea by way of a particular machine, or effect a tangible transformation in state of a particular article (MPEP 2106.05). Rather, the abstract ideas are instead merely generally linked to a particular technical field (MPEP 2106.04(3)).
Claims 2-7 (and 9-14) recite, in part, “generates a curve… optimizing…iterative…cost function…predefined condition…optimizing… using a machine learning model”. The limitations of determining and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The use of algorithms and mathematical functions is considered a mathematical concept (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20110307096A1 (“Sladek”).
As per claims 1 and 8, Sladek teaches the limitations of the method and program:
A method for optimizing a geometric path for a robot device around an obstacle, comprising: providing the geometric path for the robot device, wherein the geometric path comprises at least one target position point for the robot device that is defined as an intersection of a first segment and a second segment forming the geometric path; defining at least a first blending zone around the at least one target position point, wherein the at least first blending zone is defined as a curve of the geometric path that blends the first segment into the second segment, and wherein a size of the curve is defined by a start position of a start point on the first segment of the geometric path and a curve end position of an end point of the second segment of the geometric path; and optimizing the size of the at least first blending zone by shifting the start point along the first segment and the end point along the second segment to find an optimal blending zone of the at least first blending zone that corresponds to a best cost function according to a defined criterion between the curve start point of the first segment and the curve end point of the second segment on the geometric path, wherein the optimal blending zone of the at least first blending zone satisfies at least one predefined condition. (Sladek at least the abstract, FIGs 3-5, FIGs 1a-1b, FIGs 7-8, [0043-0045], [0020-0021], [0033], [0053])
Claims 2 and 9:
the at least first blending zone is a non-linear function that generates a curve in a joint space or in a Cartesian space. (Sladek at least FIGs 6-8, [0048])
Claims 3 and 10:
optimizing is performed in an iterative manner. (Sladek at least [0012], [0041])
Claims 4 and 11:
the best cost function according to the defined criterion is a shortest path between the curve start point and the end point. (Sladek at least FIGs 7-8)
Claims 5 and 12:
the at least predefined condition is at least one of a collision-free path around the obstacle keeping a minimum distance of the robot device to the obstacle, a collision-free movement of the robot device with itself, a minimized distance of the curve to the obstacle, a minimized length of the geometric path, a defined cycle-time or a predefined energy consumption of the robot device. (Sladek at least [0031])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sladek in view of US20220284348 (“Levy”).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Sladek teaches the invention as described above. Sladek does not disclose:
optimizing is performed by a discrete search or a continuous search manner.
Levy teaches the aforementioned limitation (Levy at least [0155]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sladek with the aforementioned limitations taught by Levy with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to define the geodesic distance of a path connecting x and y on a vehicular computing device or other device that is mobile in nature (Levy [0051], [0185]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Sladek teaches the invention as described above. Sladek does not disclose:
optimizing is performed by using a machine learning model.
Levy teaches the aforementioned limitation (Levy at least [0321]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sladek with the aforementioned limitations taught by Levy with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20210260761A1 (“Norrlof”) teaches aspects of the invention as claimed.
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669