DETAILED ACTION
This office action is response to communication filed on 06/04/2026.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 06/04/2026, wherein claims 3-4 are cancelled. The objections to claims 3 and 4, and rejections of claims 3 and 4 under 35 USC 112(b) and (d) are withdrawn.
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected without traverse of morphic form λ of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo- 1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6- carbonitrile, in the reply filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1 and 5-10 read on the elected species.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 5-10 are pending and currently under examination in this office action.
Priority
This instant application 19/303,585, filed on 08/19/2025, is a continuation application of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/949,309, filed November 15, 2024, which is a divisional application of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/257,070 (now abandoned), which is a U.S. National Stage Entry application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/US2019/040276, filed July 2, 2019, which claims the benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/692,914, filed July 2, 2018.
Claim interpretation
Instantly claimed compound, 2-[3,5-dichloro-4-(5-isopropyl-6- oxo-1 ,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yloxy)phenyl]-3,5-dioxo-2,3,4,5- tetrahydro[1 ,2,4]triazine-6-carbonitrile (Compound A) (CAS# 920509-32-6) is also known as Resmetirom, MGL-3196, VIA-3196, Rezdiffra (retrieved from https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/15981237).
As disclosed in instant specification(See [00216]): the term "about" when used in conjunction with numerical values and/or ranges generally refers to those numerical values and/or ranges near to a recited numerical value and/or range. In some instances, the term "about" can mean within ±10% of the recited value.
Response to Declaration
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 by Dr. Aeri Park filed 06/04/2026 is fully considered.
Park Declaration focused on interpretation of XRPD pattern, and argues Hester II does not disclose an XRPD pattern or XRPD peaks for Form λ and does not describe any methods for making Form λ . Hester II discloses Form I of resmetirom, which is a different morphic form of resmetirom than Form λ claimed in the present application
As instant specification [00216 ] discloses and cited by Park Declaration (See para 23) : The term "substantially similar" used in reference to XRPD patterns means that the XRPD pattern of a polymorph may display "batch to batch" variations due to differences in the types of equipment used for the measurements, and fluctuations in both experimental conditions (e.g. purity and grain size of the sample) and instrumental settings (e.g. X-ray wavelengths; accuracy and sensitivity of the diffractometer; and "instrumental drift") normally associated with the X-ray diffraction measurement. Due to these variations, the same polymorph may not contain XRPD peaks at exactly the same positions or intensities shown in the figures disclosed herein”. Thus, Park Declaration argument based on superimposing instant Fig 27 with Figure 1 of Hester II’ 473 is not appropriate.
The examiner does not dispute the margin of error for XRPD peaks is ±0.2 degrees 2θ as Park Declaration argues ( See para 24 ). In instant case, Hester II’ 473 teaches the XRPD peaks of morphic Form I prepared from ethanol (See Example 6) , at about 10.5, 11.2, 15.7, 16.4, 17.7, 18.7, 22.9, 23.6, 24.7 degrees 2θ, wherein 10.5 is within ±0.2 of instantly claimed 10.6, 16.4 is within ±0.2 of instantly claimed 16.2, 17.7 is within 0.2 of instantly claimed 17.6 and 18.0, 24.7 is within 24.5 ±0.2 degrees 2θ similar as instantly claimed about 24.3. Although instant claims do not recite peak at 11.2 and 15.7, instant claimed Form λ has peaks at 11.2 and 15.6 as shown in Fig. 27 and Table 29.
Thus, instant claimed form λ is considered substantially similar as Form I taught by Hester II’ 473.
Even if the XRPD peaks of Form I taught by Hester II’ 473 ( and Taub) are slightly different from instant claimed form λ , the difference between Form I and instant form λ is within the meaning of obviousness under 35 USC 103. Park Declaration and instant specification do not disclose any other assay/analysis of instant claimed form λ that distinguishes from Form I. Park Declaration does not provide any evidence that instant claimed Form λ exhibit any superior or different physical property compared with the Form I taught by Hester II’ 473. Instant claimed From λ is merely one of many polymorph form of compound A as disclosed by instant specification. It is common practice in the pharmaceutical industry to explore different polymorphs of active compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc. as illustrated by Hester II’ 473. Instant claimed form λ could have been considered as routine experimentation/ optimization of polymorph taught by Hester II’ 473 if not the same.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions". Thus, claims 1 and 5-10 remain rejected over Hester II’ 473 and Taub.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant’s argument based on the interpretation of XRPD pattern is similar to Park Declaration, please see Response to Park Declaration. Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 USC § 102/103 as being unpatentable over Hester II’ 473 and Taub in absence of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-10 of copending U.S application No 18/949,309 are cancelled, thus the statutory double patenting rejection over 18/949,309 is withdrawn. Claims 1, and 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-20 of copending Application No. 18/949,309.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hester II et al.(US 2015/0203473 A1, Hester II’ 473, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/01/2025, corresponding to US 9,266,861 B2).
Hester II’ 473 discloses preparation of pyridazinone compounds(e.g. Compound A), solvate, pharmaceutical salt, morphic forms thereof, and pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned as thyroid hormone analogs for treating resistance to thyroid hormone (RTH) (See abstract, [0031], claims 1-5, 11-13). Hester II’ 473 teaches embodiments of pharmaceutically acceptable salts with base (e.g. lysine, arginine, alkali metal, etc.), wherein pharmaceutically acceptable salts include solvent addition forms (solvates) or crystal forms (polymorphs) of the same salt (See [0175],0176]).
Hester II’ 473 explicitly discloses preparation of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2.3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6-carbonitrile (Compound
A), and conversion of Compound A to solid Form I characterized by XRPD (See Example 4-6, [0213]-0215], [0222]-[0224], Table 11 and Fig. 1). Hester II’ 473 also discloses conversion of Compound A solvate to solid Form I characterized by XRPD , which was further analyzed for interaction between Compound A and thyroid hormone receptor(See Example 7, [0226]-[0230]). Hester II’ 473 teaches the XRPD peaks of morphic Form I, at about 8.2, 10.5, 11.2, 15.7, 16.4, 17.7, 18.7, 22.9, 23.6, 24.7, 30.0, and 32.2 degrees 2θ (See [0048]-[0052], Fig.1, Table 11).
Regarding claims 5-7, Hester II’ 473 teaches the morphic form has a purity of 95% or greater , e.g. 99.6% by HPLC (See [0060]-[0061], [0073]-0074], [0214], [0226], Example 7, claim 4) .
Regarding claim 8 and 9, Hester II’ 473 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising morphic form of Compound A and a variety of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (See [0161], [0167]-[0168], claim 5).
Regarding claim 10, Hester II’ 473 teaches therapeutic composition can be in variety of dosage forms, e.g. tablets, suspension, etc. for administration(See [0166]-[0167]).
Hester II’ 473 teaches XRPD of Compound A Form I that is substantially similar to instant claims. Please note X-ray diffraction pattern/peaks are the property of morphic form /polymorph once the morphic form is obtained and could be easily measured by a person skilled in the art through a normal measurement method as taught by Hester II’ 473. It is well recognized in the art that X-ray diffraction patterns may have different appearance(e.g. peak locations, intensities, and/or presence) due to artifacts and solvent. One of skilled in the art would have known XRPD data might not produce exactly the same peaks even for the same crystalline form due to instrumental variation, sample preparation, scientific error, etc.
Even if the Form I taught by Hester II’ 473 is slight different from instant claimed form λ , the difference between Form I and instant form λ is within the meaning of obviousness under 35 USC 103. It is common practice in the pharmaceutical industry to explore different polymorphs of active compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc. as illustrated by Hester II’ 473. It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to explore different polymorphs of compound A based on the collective teaching of Hester II’ 473 and general knowledge of crystallography and pharmaceutical composition, and arrive at instantly claimed invention with reasonably expectation of success.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions".
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Taub et al.(US 2016/0243126 A1, hereafter Taub’ 126, corresponding to US 9,968,612 B2, Applicant’s IDS dated 10/01/2025).
Taub’ 126 is continuation of Hester II’ 473. Taub’ 126 discloses preparation of pyridazinone compounds(e.g. compound A), solvate, pharmaceutical salt, morphic forms thereof, and pharmaceutical composition comprising aforementioned as thyroid hormone analogs for treating resistance to thyroid hormone (RTH) ( See abstract, [0036], claims 1, 4-15). Taub’ 126 teaches embodiments of pharmaceutically acceptable salts with an base (e.g. lysine, arginine, alkali metal, etc.), and pharmaceutically acceptable salts include solvent addition forms (solvates) or crystal forms (polymorphs) of the same salt (See [0177],[0178]).
Taub’ 126 explicitly discloses preparation of compound A, conversion of Compound A to solid Form I characterized by XRPD (See Example 4- 6, [0227]-[0238], Table 11 and Fig. 1). Taub’ 126 also discloses conversion of Compound A solvate to solid Form I characterized by XRPD, which was further analyzed for interaction between compound A and thyroid hormone receptor (See Example 7, [0240]-[0243]).
Regarding claims 5-7, Taub’ 126 teaches the morphic form has a purity of greater than 95% or greater than 99%, greater than 99.2%, greater than 99.5%, or greater than 99.8% (See [0061]-[0062], [0240], Example 7, claims 7, 11) .
Regarding claim 8-10, Taub’ 126 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising morphic form of compound A and a variety of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the composition can be in a variety of dosage form (e.g. tablet) (See [0162]-[0169]).
Please note X-ray diffraction pattern/peaks are the property of morphic form /polymorph once the morphic form is obtained and could be easily measured by a person skilled in the art through a normal measurement method as taught by Taub’ 126. Taub’ 126 teaches XRPD of Compound A morphic form Hester II’ 473 teaches XRPD of Compound A Form I that is substantially similar to instant claims. Please note X-ray diffraction pattern/peaks are the property of morphic form /polymorph once the morphic form is obtained and could be easily measured by a person skilled in the art through a normal measurement method as taught by Taub’ 126. It is well recognized in the art that X-ray diffraction patterns may have different appearance(e.g. peak locations, intensities, and/or presence) due to artifacts and solvent. One of skilled in the art would have known XRPD data might not produce exactly the same peaks even for the same crystalline form due to instrumental variation, sample preparation, scientific error, etc.
Even if the Form I taught by Taub’ 126 is slight different from instant claimed form λ , the difference between Form I and instant form λ is within the meaning of obviousness under 35 USC 103. It is common practice in the pharmaceutical industry to explore different polymorphs of active compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc. as illustrated by Taub’ 126. It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to explore different polymorphs of compound A based on the collective teaching of Taub’ 126 and general knowledge of crystallography and pharmaceutical composition, and arrive at instantly claimed invention with reasonably expectation of success.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions".
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of US 9,266, 861 B2 (corresponding to US 2015/0203473 A1 in preceding 103 rejection).
Reference claims 1-5 are directed to a morphic form of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2.3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6-carbonitril(Compound A) characterized by the same set of XRPD peaks at about 10.5, 18.7, 22.9, 23.6, and 24.7 degrees 2θ (claim 1), further including peaks at about 8.2, 11.2, 15.7 16.4, 17.7, 30.0, and 32.2 degrees 2θ(claim 2).
Reference claim 4 recites the morphic form has a purity of 95% or greater(which reads on instant claims 5 and 6).
Reference claim 5 recites pharmaceutical composition comprising a morphic form and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (which reads on instant claim 8 and 9 ).
It is common practice in the pharmaceutical industry to explore different polymorphs of active compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc.. It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to explore different polymorphs of compound A as taught by reference claims and general knowledge of crystallography and pharmaceutical composition. Instant claimed form λ is considered as routine experimentation/optimization of polymorph taught by reference claims. As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions".
The instant application shares at least one common applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-15 of US 9,968,612 B2 in view of Hester II et al.(US 2015/0203473 A1, Hester II’ 473).
Reference claims 1 and 4-15 are directed to method for treating a resistance to thyroid hormone
(RTH) syndrome with morphic form of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6-carbonitril (compound A) characterized by XRPD peaks.
Reference claims 4-5, and 8-9 recite XRPD peaks , 10.5, 18.7, 22.9, 23.6, and 24.7 degrees 2θ (claim 4), further including peaks at about 8.2, 11.2, 15.7 16.4, 17.7, 30.0, and 32.2 degrees 2θ(claim 5). The XRPD peaks of reference morphic form read on ± 10% of peaks recited in instant claims.
Reference claims 7 and 11 recite the morphic form has a purity of 95% or greater(which reads on instant claims 5 and 6).
Reference claims are silent about the pharmaceutical composition. It’s common practice for an ordinary skilled in the art to formulate the active compound and pharmaceutical acceptable excipients into pharmaceutical composition.
The collective teachings of Hester II is elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Hester II’ 473 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising morphic form of compound A characterized by XRPD peaks. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore different crystalline/morphic forms of compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc. as taught by Hester II’ 473 and arrive at instantly claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.".
The instant application shares at least one common applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 11-22 of US 10,376,517 B2.
Reference claims are directed to morphic form of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6-carbonitril (Compound A) characterized by XRPD peaks and method for treating nonalcoholic steatohepatitis with aforementioned morphic form. Reference claims 12-13 recite XRPD peaks at 10.5, 18.7, 22.9, 23.6, and 24.7 degrees 2θ , further including peaks at about 8.2, 11.2, 15.7 16.4, 17.7, 30.0, and 32.2 degrees 2θ.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions".
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and/or applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, and 5-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-20 of copending Application No. 18/949,309 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reference claims are directed to morphic form of 2-(3,5-dichloro-4-((5-isopropyl-6-oxo-1,6-dihydropyridazin-3-yl)oxy)phenyl)-3,5-dioxo-2.3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine-6-carbonitril, characterized by the XRPD peaks, including peaks at about 10.1, about 10.4, about 11.4, about 13.9, about 16.2, about 16.4, about 17.1, about 22.0 about 23.8, and about 29.5 degrees 2θ.
Reference claims 15 -17 recite the morphic form has a purity of 90% or 95% or 99%, or greater(which reads on instant claims 5-7).
Reference claims 18-20 recite pharmaceutical composition that read on instant claims 8-10.
It is common practice in the pharmaceutical industry to explore different polymorphs of active compounds for purpose of solubility, stability, and bioavailability etc.. It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to explore different polymorphs of compound A as taught by reference claims and general knowledge of crystallography and pharmaceutical composition. Instant claimed form λ is considered as routine experimentation/optimization of polymorph taught by reference claims. As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions".
Instant application is continuation of reference application 18/949,309. There is no restriction requirement on the record of reference application 18/949,309. There is no shield under 35 USC§121.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628