DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11202351 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the statutory categories are different between some claims of the current application and the Patent, the limitations are being anticipated.
Current Application
PN US 11202351 B2
1. A control device configured for use in a load control system to control one or more electrical loads external to the control device, the control device comprising:
a base portion;
a rotating portion rotatable with respect to the base portion; an actuation portion comprising a front surface; a control circuit configured to generate first control data for changing a first characteristic of a first electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane, the control circuit further configured to generate second control data for changing a second characteristic of a second electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the second plane; and a wireless communication circuit configured to transmit a first control signal based on the first control data and a second control signal associated with the second control data.
1. A control device configured for use in a load control system to control one or more electrical loads external to the control device, the control device comprising:
a base portion configured to be mounted to an electrical wallbox or over a mechanical switch;
a rotating portion rotatable with respect to the base portion; an internal switch; an actuation portion comprising a front surface, the actuation portion configured to not actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is in a first plane and to actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is moved into a second plane parallel to the first plane; and a control circuit configured to generate first control data for changing a first characteristic of the one or more electrical loads in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated and the internal switch is not being actuated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane, the control circuit further configured to generate second control data for changing a second characteristic of the one or more electrical loads in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated and the internal switch is being actuated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the second plane and the internal switch is being actuated.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12418964 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the statutory categories are different between some claims of the current application and the Patent, the limitations are being anticipated.
Current Application
US 12418964 B2
1. A control device configured for use in a load control system to control one or more electrical loads external to the control device, the control device comprising:
a base portion;
a rotating portion rotatable with respect to the base portion; an actuation portion comprising a front surface; a control circuit configured to generate first control data for changing a first characteristic of a first electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane, the control circuit further configured to generate second control data for changing a second characteristic of a second electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the second plane; and a wireless communication circuit configured to transmit a first control signal based on the first control data and a second control signal associated with the second control data.
1. A control device for controlling a lighting load in a load control system, the control device comprising:
a base portion;
a rotating portion rotatable with respect to the base portion; an actuation portion having a front surface, the front surface of the actuation portion configured to be in a first plane along an axis perpendicular to the base portion and in a second plane parallel to the first plane, wherein the second plane is located closer to the base portion than the first plane, and the front surface of the actuation portion is configured to be moved from the first plane to the second plane when the rotating portion is pushed in towards the base portion; and a control circuit configured to generate first control data for changing one of color or intensity of the lighting load in response to rotations of the rotating portion when the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane, the control circuit further configured to generate second control data for changing the other of color or intensity of the lighting load in response to rotations of the rotating portion when the front surface of the actuation portion is in the second plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US 20130328503 A1) in view of Minsky (US 20160192461 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Toda disclose(s):
A control device (figs 1-6b) configured for use in a load control system to control one or more electrical loads (2r, 2g, 2b; fig 1) external to the control device, the control device comprising:
a base portion (41);
a rotating portion (5, 7) rotatable [0043, 0048] with respect to the base portion;
an actuation portion comprising a front surface (outside surface of 5 which can be moved);
a control circuit (“controller” [0048]) configured to generate first control data for changing a first characteristic of a first electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane (plane in dotted lines representing 5 in fig 6b; [0049]), the control circuit further configured to generate second control data for changing a second characteristic of a second electrical load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the second plane (plane in solid lines representing 5 in fig 6b; [0049]);
and a
Toda does not disclose(s):
the communication circuit being a wireless communication circuit
Minsky teaches:
the communication circuit being a wireless communication circuit (see 29; fig 3; [0041-0042]; see fig 4e; [0060])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Toda by implementing the communication circuit being a wireless communication circuit as disclosed by Minsky in order to transmit command over a wireless network in a building as taught/suggested by Minsky ([003, 0041]).
With regards to claim 5. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Toda further disclose(s):
wherein the first characteristic of the first electrical load is an intensity of a first lighting load, such that the control circuit is configured to generate the first control data for changing the intensity of the first lighting load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the first plane (see curve of a first plane controlling at least 33R; figs 1 and 2a; see curves in fig 3 which involves changing intensity of the three LEDs 33R/33G/33B including 33R; [0048]);
and wherein the second characteristic of the second electrical load is an intensity of a second lighting load, such that the control circuit is configured to generate the second control data for changing the intensity of the second lighting load in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated while the front surface of the actuation portion is located in the second plane (see curve of a first plane controlling at least 33G; figs 1 and 2a; see curves in fig 3 which involves changing intensity of the three LEDs 33R/33G/33B including 33G; [0048]).
With regards to claim 17. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Minsky further disclose(s):
wherein the control circuit is configured to toggle at least one of the one or more electrical loads from off to on, or vice versa, in response to an actuation of the actuation portion [0056].
With regards to claim 18. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Minsky further disclose(s):
wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit a command to adjust a characteristic of at least one electrical load of the one or more electrical loads in response to a double tap of the actuation portion (see second press [0063]).
With regards to claim 19. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Toda further disclose(s):
wherein the second plane is located closer to the base portion than the first plane, and the front surface of the actuation portion is configured to be moved from the first plane to the second plane when the rotating portion is pushed in towards the base portion (see movement of front surface of 5 in fig 6b; see pushing actuation moving from one plane to a different plane; [0048]).
Claim(s) 10-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US 20130328503 A1) in view of Minsky (US 20160192461 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raposo (US 20170006693 A1)
With regards to claim 10. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Toda as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the actuation portion is separate from the rotating portion and wherein the actuation portion is received in a central opening of the rotating portion.
Raposo teaches
wherein the actuation portion is separate from the rotating portion and wherein the actuation portion is received in a central opening of the rotating portion (see 424, 426 in fig 6; [0084]; ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Toda by implementing the actuation portion is separate from the rotating portion and wherein the actuation portion is received in a central opening of the rotating portion as disclosed by Raposo in order to encode control values while dialing a rotatable shaft and pushing a button switch as taught/suggested by Raposo ([003, 0041]; see rotary encoder being a PEC12R which involves a central switch with a rotary shaft ; [0073]).
With regards to claim 11. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Toda as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the control device defines a circular surface within an opening defined by the rotating portion, and wherein the actuation portion comprises a part of a central area of the circular surface.
Raposo teaches
wherein the control device defines a circular surface (see 424 in figs 5 and 6) within an opening defined by the rotating portion (see opening around knob in fig 5), and wherein the actuation portion comprises a part of a central area of the circular surface (see rotary encoder being a PEC12R which involves a central switch with a rotary shaft passing from body of control module to knob; [0073]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Toda by implementing the control device defines a circular surface within an opening defined by the rotating portion, and wherein the actuation portion comprises a part of a central area of the circular surface as disclosed by Raposo in order to encode control values while dialing a rotatable shaft and pushing a button switch as taught/suggested by Raposo ([003, 0041]; see rotary encoder being a PEC12R which involves a central switch with a rotary shaft ; [0073]).
With regards to claim 12. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Toda as modified does not disclose(s):
further comprising:
one or more light sources; and one or more visual indicators configured to be illuminated by the one or more light sources.
Raposo teaches
one or more light sources (248; [0085]); and one or more visual indicators (428a-q; fig 6; [0085]) configured to be illuminated by the one or more light sources [0085].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Toda by implementing the one or more light sources; and one or more visual indicators configured to be illuminated by the one or more light sources as disclosed by Raposo in order to visually indicate one or more settings associated with parameters of a control module as taught/suggested by Raposo ([0085]).
With regards to claim 13. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 12,
Raposo disclose(s):
wherein the control circuit is configured to illuminate the one or more visual indicators to display feedback information regarding the one or more electrical loads [0085].
With regards to claim 14. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 12,
Raposo disclose(s):
wherein the one or more visual indicators are located around a periphery of the actuation portion (see 428a-q; fig 6).
With regards to claim 15. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 12,
Raposo disclose(s):
wherein, when the rotating portion is being rotated to adjust the first characteristics of the first electrical load, the control circuit is configured to illuminate the one or more visual indicators to display feedback information regarding the first characteristic of the first electrical load [0085].
With regards to claim 16. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 15,
Raposo disclose(s):
wherein, when the rotating portion is being rotated to adjust the second characteristics of the second electrical load, the control circuit is configured to illuminate the one or more visual indicators to display feedback information regarding the second characteristic of the second electrical load [0085].
With regards to claim 20. Toda as modified disclose(s):
The control device of claim 1,
Minsky further discloses:
wherein the control circuit is configured to generate the first control data for changing the first characteristic of the one or more electrical loads in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated and the internal actuator
and wherein the control circuit is configured to generate second control data for changing the second characteristic of the one or more electrical loads in response to detecting that the rotating portion is being rotated and the internal actuator actuator is being actuated (see pressed status of 95; figs 4d/4e; [0051]);.
Toda as modified does not disclose(s):
an internal switch, wherein the actuation portion is configured to not actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is in a first plane and to actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is moved into a second plane parallel to the first plane;
Raposo teaches
an internal switch (see rotary encoder 244; [0073]; see switch across pins 1 and 2 in element 244; fig 3D), wherein the actuation portion is configured to not actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is in a first plane (see when position of no activation of push button; [0073]) and to actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is moved into a second plane parallel to the first plane (see activation of push button; [0073]);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Toda by implementing the internal switch, wherein the actuation portion is configured to not actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is in a first plane and to actuate the internal switch when the front surface of the actuation portion is moved into a second plane parallel to the first plane as disclosed by Raposo in order to visually indicate one or more settings associated with parameters of a control module as taught/suggested by Raposo ([0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-4, and 6-9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lichtinghagen WO 2007122143 A1 discloses: The adjusting knob 13 can be rotated to adjust the brightness of a lamp connected to the dimmer or also pressed to perform a switching operation.
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845