DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 8/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the image capturing situation" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the identification information that has been selected " in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no clearly defined, previously set forth “selection” within the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the image capturing situation" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the identification information that has been selected " in lines 23-24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no clearly defined, previously set forth “selection” within the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the image capturing situation" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the identification information that has been selected " in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no clearly defined, previously set forth “selection” within the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the image capturing situation" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the identification information that has been selected " in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no clearly defined, previously set forth “selection” within the claim.
Claims dependent upon rejected claims are also rejected for indefiniteness. Therefore, dependent claims 2-9 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nadadur et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20040267122) hereinafter Nadadur.
Regarding claim 1, Nadadur teaches:
A medical image processing device (abstract) comprising:
processing circuitry configured to
sequentially generate ultrasound still images associated with time information indicating an elapsed time until a reflected wave signal is collected from a reference time based on a reflected wave signal when an ultrasound signal transmitted toward a subject is reflected inside a body of the subject ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
generate an ultrasound moving image including the ultrasound still images for a period according to a predetermined image capturing situation for a purpose of an ultrasound examination ([0008]-[0009], the live cine clip image 110 forms an ultrasound moving image that is generated from the still image thumbnails 210 according to an image capturing situation for examination of cardiac imaging based upon heartbeats and current time or heartbeat number being processed; This is depicted in figure 1 and shows the ultrasound images; [0010]-[0013]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
identify the image capturing situation based on the time information associated with the ultrasound still images included in the ultrasound moving image ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]; figure 1);
output identification information indicating the identified image capturing situation ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]); and
cause a display device to display an ultrasound image of at least one of the ultrasound moving image and the ultrasound still images, the time information, and the identification information in association with one another ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]),
wherein the processing circuitry causes the display device to display the ultrasound image corresponding to the identification information that has been selected and the time information ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
cause the display device to display an identification information area in which the identification information is arranged and displayed in chronological order in which ultrasound images were captured ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]), and
wherein the identification information area includes an identification information selection area for selecting the identification information ([0008]-[0009], user selectable features; [0010]-[0014]; [0015]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. The selected points are provided by a user, which forms a selection area for selecting the identification information; [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
cause the display device to display an image display area in which a plurality of ultrasound images selected in the identification information selection area are arranged and displayed in chronological order in which the ultrasound images were captured ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image forms a chronological order, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
cause the display device to display a time axis area in which a total examination time from the reference time in the ultrasound examination is represented on a time axis and in which at least one of an imaging period of the ultrasound moving image indicated in the time information and times at which the ultrasound images were captured are represented on the time axis ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition and are associated with a time axis “heartbeat (or time)” axis that corresponds to when the ultrasound images are captured, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
display different time display aspects shown in the time axis area so that the ultrasound image displayed in the image display area and the ultrasound image not displayed in the image display area are distinguished ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. Images displayed are highlighted by the selected time points and images not displayed do not correspond to the selected time point, [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein, when any one ultrasound image included in the ultrasound moving image is specified in the ultrasound moving image displayed in the image display area ([0008]-[0009], the live cine clip image 110 forms an ultrasound moving image that is generated from the still image thumbnails 210 according to an image capturing situation for examination of cardiac imaging based upon heartbeats and current time or heartbeat number being processed; This is depicted in figure 1 and shows the ultrasound images; [0010]-[0013]; see also [0014]-[0023]),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
output the identification information for identifying the image capturing situation based on the time information associated with the specified ultrasound image ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]; figure 1);
add a sub-number to the identification information of the specified ultrasound image ([0008]-[0009], user selectable features; [0010]-[0014]; [0015]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. The selected points are provided by a user, which forms a selection area for selecting the identification information and refer to a sub-number of the images for selection; [0023]);
display the identification information with the sub-number and the identification information selection area in the identification information area ([0008]-[0009], user selectable features; [0010]-[0014]; [0015]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. The selected points are provided by a user, which forms a selection area for selecting the identification information and refer to a sub-number of the images for selection; [0023]);
replace the ultrasound moving image displayed in the image display area with the specified ultrasound image ([0008]-[0009], user selectable features; [0010]-[0014]; [0015]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. The selected points are provided by a user, which forms a selection area for selecting the identification information and provides for the current moving image to be displayed and replaces the previous image; [0020]-[0023]); and
make a change from a time display aspect corresponding to the ultrasound moving image displayed in the time axis area to a time display aspect corresponding to the specified ultrasound image ([0008]-[0009], user selectable features; [0010]-[0014]; [0015]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. The selected points are provided by a user, which forms a selection area for selecting the identification information and provides for the current moving image to be displayed and replaces the previous image; [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 7, Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
provide the ultrasound still image displayed in the image display area, the time information of the ultrasound still image, and the identification information of the ultrasound still image as examination information in the ultrasound examination ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Nadadur teaches:
An ultrasound diagnostic device (abstract) comprising:
an ultrasound probe configured to transmit an ultrasound signal to a subject, detect a reflected wave signal when the ultrasound signal is reflected inside a body of the subject, and output the detected reflected wave signal ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]); and
a medical image processing device including processing circuitry configured to acquire the reflected wave signal output by the ultrasound probe ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
start time measurement in accordance with an instruction to output time information indicating a measured time ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
sequentially generate ultrasound still images associated with time information indicating an elapsed time until a reflected wave signal is collected from a reference time based on the reflected wave signal ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023])
generate an ultrasound moving image including the ultrasound still images for a period according to a predetermined image capturing situation for a purpose of an ultrasound examination ([0008]-[0009], the live cine clip image 110 forms an ultrasound moving image that is generated from the still image thumbnails 210 according to an image capturing situation for examination of cardiac imaging based upon heartbeats and current time or heartbeat number being processed; This is depicted in figure 1 and shows the ultrasound images; [0010]-[0013]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
identify the image capturing situation based on the time information associated with the ultrasound still images included in the ultrasound moving image ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]; figure 1);
output identification information indicating the identified image capturing situation ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]); and
cause a display device to display an ultrasound image of at least one of the ultrasound moving image and the ultrasound still images, the time information, and the identification information in association with one another ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
cause the display device to display the ultrasound image corresponding to the identification information that has been selected and the time information ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Nadadur teaches:
A medical image processing method (abstract) comprising:
sequentially generating, by a computer, ultrasound still images associated with time information indicating an elapsed time until a reflected wave signal is collected from a reference time based on a reflected wave signal when an ultrasound signal transmitted toward a subject is reflected inside a body of the subject ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
generating, by the computer, an ultrasound moving image including the ultrasound still images for a period according to a predetermined image capturing situation for a purpose of an ultrasound examination ([0008]-[0009], the live cine clip image 110 forms an ultrasound moving image that is generated from the still image thumbnails 210 according to an image capturing situation for examination of cardiac imaging based upon heartbeats and current time or heartbeat number being processed; This is depicted in figure 1 and shows the ultrasound images; [0010]-[0013]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
identifying, by the computer, the image capturing situation based on the time information associated with the ultrasound still images included in the ultrasound moving image ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]; figure 1);
outputting, by the computer, identification information indicating the identified image capturing situation ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]); and
causing, by the computer, a display device to display the ultrasound image corresponding to the identification information that has been selected and the time information when an ultrasound image of at least one of the ultrasound moving image and the ultrasound still images, the time information, and the identification information are displayed in association with one another ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Nadadur teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (abstract) for causing a computer to
sequentially generate ultrasound still images associated with time information indicating an elapsed time until a reflected wave signal is collected from a reference time based on a reflected wave signal when an ultrasound signal transmitted toward a subject is reflected inside a body of the subject ([0008]-[0009], image frames 210 in the second display area 200 of thumbnail versions of the live cine clip image 110 form sequentially generated still images that are associated with time information as each of the thumbnails are acquired at different time points. This is depicted in figure 1, and each ultrasound image, [0011]-[0013], is related to the reflected wave signal received by the transducer; [0010]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
generate an ultrasound moving image including the ultrasound still images for a period according to a predetermined image capturing situation for a purpose of an ultrasound examination ([0008]-[0009], the live cine clip image 110 forms an ultrasound moving image that is generated from the still image thumbnails 210 according to an image capturing situation for examination of cardiac imaging based upon heartbeats and current time or heartbeat number being processed; This is depicted in figure 1 and shows the ultrasound images; [0010]-[0013]; see also [0014]-[0023]);
identify the image capturing situation based on the time information associated with the ultrasound still images included in the ultrasound moving image ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]; figure 1);
output identification information indicating the identified image capturing situation ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]); and
cause a display device to display the ultrasound image corresponding to the identification information that has been selected and the time information when an ultrasound image of at least one of the ultrasound moving image and the ultrasound still images, the time information, and the identification information are displayed in association with one another ([0008]-[0019], as shown in figure 1, the live cine video image 110, the thumbnails 210, and the indicators 325, 326, 327 are all displayed simultaneously on the display device and are associated with one another regarding the timed acquisition and reception of ultrasound image data. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, [0020]-[0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadadur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220104788) hereinafter Ji.
Regarding claim 8, primary reference Nadadur teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Nadadur further fails to teach:
wherein the reference time is a timing at which a contrast agent is injected into the subject when the ultrasound examination is performed.
However, the analogous art of Ji of an ultrasound imaging and image processing system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the reference time is a timing at which a contrast agent is injected into the subject when the ultrasound examination is performed ([0036], starting frame refers to the injection time of the contrast agent; [0042], time of injection; [0046]-[0047], displaying of dynamic images and image frames including following the injection of the contrast agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ultrasound imaging and combined still images and video image display device of Nadadur to incorporate the timing at the start of contrast agent injection as taught by Ji because it provides it provides sequenced imaging relative to the contrast agent injection, leading to higher signal quality of the target regions of interest (Ji, [0036]; [0046]-[0047]). This provides improved diagnostics and better clinical outcomes.
Regarding claim 9, the combined references of Nadadur and Ji teach all of the limitations of claim 8. Primary reference Nadadur further teaches:
wherein the image capturing situation is a time phase indicating a situation of an examination target area within the body of the subject determined by the elapsed time from the reference time ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition, relative to the start time which is the reference time in the combined prior art invention, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]), and
wherein the identification information is a time phase name indicating the time phase that has been identified ([0008]-[0017]; [0018]-[0019], the indicators 325, 326, 327 shown in figure 1 and provided as a display output show time information associated with the ultrasound still images and the selected point. These form an image capturing situation that corresponds to the heartbeat or cardiac information associated with the acquisition including end-diastolic and end-systolic volume stages, [0012]-[0014] and [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Caluser et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20150051489) teaches to an automated 3D mapping and ultrasound imaging system that incorporates 2D images frames to generate cine loops and video sequences corresponding to imaged three-dimensional target volumes of interest.
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798