DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/417,756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Jha discloses a speech processing system, method and medium, hereinafter referenced as a system comprising memory having instructions stored thereon and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to: apply one or more machine learning models to first input audio data to generate accent features associated with a first accent of a first user; analyze second input audio data associated with a second accent of a second user to generate vocal characteristics that are distinct to the second user and comprise a voice quality or one or more phonetic patterns, prosodic features, articulation styles, or intonation patterns; modify the second input audio data based on the vocal characteristics and the accent features; and generate output audio data based on the modified second audio data and output the output audio data (claims 1, 7 and 14).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Jha discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to extract from the first input audio data one or more other prosodic features, linguistic features, or global speaker characteristics (claims 2, 9 and 16).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Jha discloses a system wherein the accent features comprise one or more pitch contours, other intonation patterns, or phoneme pronunciations and the pitch contours comprise variations in pitch throughout the first input speech, the other intonation patterns comprise the rise and fall of pitch at the ends of phrases or sentences, or the phoneme pronunciations comprise a unique production of phonemes in the first accent (claim 3, 10 and 17).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18 Jha discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to apply a mel frequency cepstral coefficient (MFCC) analysis to extract a unique fingerprint of a voice of the second user, wherein the vocal characteristics comprise the unique fingerprint (claims 4, 11 and 18).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Jha discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to apply a speaker identity encoding technique to encode speaker-specific voice characteristics, wherein the vocal characteristics comprise the speaker-specific voice characteristics (claims 5, 12 and 19).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Jha discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to receive the second input audio data via one or more communication networks and from a user computing device that is remote from the speech processing system and the second input audio data is captured at the user computing device (claims 6, 13 and 20).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Jha discloses a system wherein the modified second input audio data preserves aspects of a natural voice of the second user and mimics the first accent (claims 8 and 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feinauer et al. (PGPUB 2020/0193971), hereinafter referenced as Feinauer.
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Fainauer discloses a speech processing system, method and medium, hereinafter referenced as a system comprising memory (figure 1, element 122) having instructions stored thereon and one or more processors (figure 1, element 103) coupled to the memory (figure 1, element 122) and configured to execute the instructions to:
apply one or more machine learning models (trained machine learning models; p. 0062) to first input audio data to generate accent features (vocal feature of a range of accents; p. 0065, 0080) associated with a first accent of a first user (first participant; fig. 2A, element 200 with p. 0041-0046);
analyze second input audio data associated with a second accent of a second user to generate vocal characteristics that are distinct to the second user and comprise a voice quality or one or more phonetic patterns, prosodic features (prosody; p. 0095-0100), articulation styles, or intonation patterns (second participant; fig. 2B, element 240 with p. 0041-0046, 0074);
modify the second input audio data based on the vocal characteristics and the accent features (duplicating accent/optimal accent; p. 0005-0007, 0054); and
generate output audio data based on the modified second audio data and output the output audio data (accent and dialect modifier modifies the voice of the user into an accent or dialect desired or target for the participant; p. 0007, 0046).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Feinauer discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to extract from the input audio data one or more prosodic features (prosodic features; p. 0095-0100), linguistic features, or global speaker characteristics.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Feinauer discloses a system wherein the accent features comprise one or more pitch contours (pitch; p. 0057), intonation patterns (p. 0074), or phoneme pronunciations and the pitch contours comprise variations in pitch throughout the first input speech (characteristics of pitch; p. 0057), the intonation patterns comprise the rise and fall of pitch at the ends of phrases or sentences, or the phoneme pronunciations comprise a unique production of phonemes in the first accent (p. 0040, 0065, 0073, 0091, 0117).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Feinauer discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to receive the second input audio data via one or more communication networks and from a user computing device that is remote from the speech processing system (remote), wherein the second input audio data is captured at the user computing device (figs. 2-3 with p. 0051-0052).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Feinauer discloses a system wherein the modified second input audio data preserves aspects of a natural voice of the second user and mimics the first accent (duplicating accent/optimal accent; p. 0005-0007, 0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinauer in view of Kashtan et al. (PGPUB 2016/0275952), hereinafter referenced as Kashtan.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Feinauer discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to apply a mel frequency cepstral coefficient (MFCC) analysis (p. 0095), but does not specifically teach to extract a unique fingerprint of the voice of the second user, wherein the generated characteristics comprise the unique fingerprint.
Kashtan discloses a system comprising extracting a unique fingerprint of the voice of the second user, wherein the generated characteristics comprise the unique fingerprint (p. 0037-0045), to assist with identifying a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to provide a tailored user’s experience.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Kashtan discloses a system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to apply a speaker identity encoding technique to encode speaker-specific voice characteristics, wherein the generated characteristics comprise the speaker-specific voice characteristics (speech characteristics; p. 0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657