DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/26/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-24 is/are now pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have addressed all informalities as previously set forth in the non-final action mailed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREGORY ET AL. (US 11976636 B1) (hereinafter “GREGORY”) in view of GHAFFARI ET AL. (US 20160371957 A1) (hereinafter “GHAFFARI”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
A monitoring system (See, e.g., ABSTRACT)
for
a wind turbine system, wherein the wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements including: a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a tower and/or a base (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
the monitoring system comprising:
a plurality of sensor modules each disposed proximate to an element of the wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor module comprising:
one or more sensor units
each including a plurality of sensors including
a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
and including
a vibration sensor for measuring vibration at the wind turbine, and/or a strain gauge sensor for measuring strain in the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor unit being disposed closely adjacent to the element of the wind turbine (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a controller processor coupled to each of the one or more sensor units and configured to receive data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
and
a monitoring server (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
configured to
process at least thickness data of parts of the wind turbine elements whereat the one or more sensor units of the plurality of sensor modules are disposed to determine the thickness thereof (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
and to
compare the determined data thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor, wherein the monitoring server is configured to process results of comparing the determined data to standardized data exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data;
the controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged;
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level (See, e.g., ¶ 0012-0014; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data; a controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged; a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands; The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 4, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
A monitoring system (See, e.g., ABSTRACT)
for
a wind turbine system, wherein the wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements including: a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a tower and/or a base (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
the monitoring system comprising:
a thickness sensor disposed adjacent to the elements of the wind turbine system for measuring thicknesses of parts of the wind turbine elements over periods of time (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a vibration sensor disposed adjacent to elements of the wind turbine system for measuring vibration data at the wind turbine elements over periods of time, the vibration data including frequency domain data and time domain data (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
plural controller processors wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective group of sensors, each group of sensors including ones of the thickness sensor and ones of the vibration sensor (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each controller processor being configured to receive data sensed by the respective group of sensors coupled thereto (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
and
a monitoring server configured to process at least thickness data of parts of the wind turbine elements whereat one or more of the thickness sensor are disposed to determine the thickness thereof and to compare the determined data thereof to standardized data exception data therefor, wherein the monitoring server is configured to process results of comparing the determined data to standardized data exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a multiplicity of sensors;
plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors for providing location data representative of the location thereof and date-time data;
wherein
each of the plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors of its respective group of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors is geo-tagged; and
plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors associated therewith and for receiving control commands.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a multiplicity of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the sensors, whereby the data sensed by the sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6); and
plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting data sensed by the sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level (See, e.g., ¶ 0012-0014; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a multiplicity of sensors; plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors; a plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the sensors, whereby the data sensed by the sensors is geo-tagged; and plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting data sensed by the sensors and for receiving control commands; The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 7, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
a monitored wind turbine system, wherein the monitored wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements, the wind turbine elements including: a structure, a platform, a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a base, a foundation, an anchor, a facility, a pipe or tubing, an equipment, a motor, an electric motor, an electrical generator, a gear or gears, a pump, a vane or vanes, a valve, a solenoid device, a hydraulic device, a conduit, a tank, a container, or any combination thereof (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a monitoring system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
comprising:
a sensor module disposed proximate to an element of the monitored wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor module comprising:
one or more sensor units each including a plurality of different sensors including at least a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element and a vibration sensor for measuring vibration at the wind turbine element, each sensor unit being disposed closely adjacent to the element of the wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a controller processor coupled to each of the one or more sensor units and configured to receive data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the monitored wind turbine system; analyze data from the thickness sensors to determine a thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and to compare the determined data thereof to standardized data exception data therefor; analyze data from the vibration sensors to determine the magnitude and frequencies of vibration at the element and to compare the determined data of the vibration to standardized data exception data therefor; process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a plurality of sensor modules and processors;
a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data;
associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged;
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands; and
a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules;
one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results,
and
a display and/or human interface device.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a plurality of sensor modules and processors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a communication device for transmitting the data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6); and
a communication device for receiving the transmitted sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results determined data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
and
a display and/or human interface device (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level (See, e.g., ¶ 0012-0014; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a plurality of sensor modules and processors; a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data; associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged; a communication device for transmitting the data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands; and a communication device for receiving the transmitted sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules; one or more servers configured to process the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results determined data, and a display and/or human interface device; The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system; analyze data from the thickness sensors to determine the thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and to compare the determined thickness thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor; analyze data from the vibration sensors to determine the magnitude and frequencies of vibration at the wind turbine element and to compare the determined magnitude and frequencies of the vibration to standardized vibration exception data therefor; and/or analyze strain data from the strain gauge sensors to determine the magnitude of strain in the wind turbine element and to compare the determined strain to standardized strain exception data therefor; comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
monitoring servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
the monitoring servers including:
a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level (See, e.g., ¶ 0012-0014; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include monitoring servers, the monitoring servers including: a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules; one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 5, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the structural system;
analyze data from each of the thickness sensors to determine the thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and the rate of change in the thickness thereof as a function of time, and to compare the determined thickness thereof and the rate of change thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor; analyze data from each of the vibration sensors to determine the magnitudes and frequencies and times of vibration at the wind turbine element and to compare the determined magnitudes and frequencies of the vibration in the frequency domain and/or the determined magnitudes and times thereof in the time domain to standardized vibration exception data therefor; process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
monitoring servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
the monitoring servers including:
a communication device for receiving the data from the multiplicity of sensors that is transmitted by the plural communication devices and for transmitting control commands thereto (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received data from the multiplicity of sensors and to store the received data from the multiplicity of sensors in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data from the multiplicity of sensors stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data from the multiplicity of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include monitoring servers, the monitoring servers including: a communication device for receiving the data from the multiplicity of sensors that is transmitted by the plural communication devices and for transmitting control commands thereto; one or more servers configured to process the received data from the multiplicity of sensors and to store the received data from the multiplicity of sensors in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data from the multiplicity of sensors stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data from the multiplicity of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 23, 24, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device of the monitoring server, the one or more servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device of the monitoring server.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 8, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the controller processor of the sensor module is coupled to the one or more sensor units by a physical electrical conductor or by a wireless communication link (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
a wind turbine element has first and second sides: wherein a first sensor unit thickness sensor is disposed on the first side of the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
the wind turbine element at its first side. (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
thickness data sensed by the respective thickness sensors of the first (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein a first sensor unit sensor is disposed on the first side of the wind turbine element and a second sensor unit sensor is disposed on the second side of the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Fig(s). 5)
erosion at the surface of the element is determined from sensing data sensed by the respective sensors of the sensor units (See, e.g., ¶ 0034; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include erosion at the surface of the element is determined from sensing data sensed by the respective sensors of the sensor units.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 10, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the location device includes a memory device and/or one or more global positioning system devices including a US GPS system device, a Russian GLONASS system device, a European Galileo system device, an Indian IRNSS system device, or a Chinese BDS system device, or any combination thereof (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the location device includes a memory device and/or one or more global positioning system devices including a US GPS system device, a Russian GLONASS system device, a European Galileo system device, an Indian IRNSS system device, or a Chinese BDS system device, or any combination thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 11, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the communication devices of the sensor modules and the further communication device communicate via one or more communication networks including a cellular network, satellite communication a Wi-If network, LoRAN, a wireless mesh network, and/or any combination thereof (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the communication devices of the sensor modules and the further communication device communicate via one or more communication networks including a cellular network, satellite communication a Wi-If network, LoRAN, a wireless mesh network, and/or any combination thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 12, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at a predetermined time, and/or analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a predetermined time, determine when an exception exists therein at the predetermined time (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 13, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times, and analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times; wherein the standardized thickness exception data and the standardized vibration exception data have exception data limits for rates of change of thickness and of vibration, respectively; and determine when an exception exists from the rate of change of the data geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 14, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at a first plurality of predetermined times to determine a rate of change of thickness of the part of the wind turbine element as a function of time; analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a second plurality of predetermined times to determine characteristics of vibration data in the frequency domain to determine vibration-inducing events occurring at a given time and/or over a period of time; analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a third plurality of predetermined times to determine characteristics of vibration data in the time domain to determine vibration-inducing events occurring at a given time and/or over a period of time; wherein the standardized thickness exception data and the standardized vibration exception data have exception data limits for rates of change of thickness and of vibration, respectively; and determine when an exception exists from the rate of change of the data geo-tagged at the first, second and third predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 15, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the thickness sensor
includes
an ultrasonic sensor and/or a magnetic sensor (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 18 : Col 6 Line(s) 5; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
and/or
the vibration sensor
includes
a sound transducer, a shock transducer, a vibration transducer, and/or an accelerometer (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 18 : Col 6 Line(s) 23; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 16, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units
further includes:
a temperature sensor; a strain gage sensor; a flow sensor, a leak sensor, and/or a galvanic potential sensor (See, e.g., Col 7 Line(s) 4-61; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 17, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
process geo-tagged data sensed by the sensors of claim 16 to:
analyze data from the temperature sensor to determine the temperature of the wind turbine element and/or of material in the element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times, and to compare the analyzed temperature to standardized temperature exception data therefor; analyze data from the strain gage sensor to determine the strain in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed strain to standardized strain exception data therefor; analyze data from the flow sensor to determine the flow in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed flow to standardized flow exception data therefor; analyze data from the leak sensor to determine a leak in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed leak to standardized leak exception data therefor; and/or analyze data from the galvanic potential sensor to determine the galvanic potential at the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed galvanic potential of the wind turbine element to standardized galvanic potential exception data therefor; process results of comparing the analyzed data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists at the predetermined time and/or at the predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 7 Line(s) 4-61; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
the one or more servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include the one or more servers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 18, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system that is stored in the memory includes standardized routine exception data and standardized urgent exception data (See, e.g., ¶ 0036, 0055; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
wherein
the one or more servers are configured to compare the exceptions to the standardized routine exception data and to the standardized urgent exception data when an exception exists, and to generate a routine alert when a routine exception exists and to generate an urgent alert when an urgent exception exists.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system that is stored in the memory includes standardized routine exception data and standardized urgent exception data; wherein the one or more servers are configured to compare the exceptions to the standardized routine exception data and to the standardized urgent exception data when an exception exists, and to generate a routine alert when a routine exception exists and to generate an urgent alert when an urgent exception exists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 19, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the sensor modules and sensor units are physically attached to elements of the monitored wind turbine system, wherein the sensor modules and sensor units are encapsulated and are bonded to the wind turbine elements with encapsulating materials and bonding materials that block moisture and corrosives from the contact area between the sensor module and sensor unit and the wind turbine element whereat each is attached (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include
a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6), and
wherein
the one or more servers that are configured to
process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors: analyze data from the flow sensors to determine the direction and velocity of the flow of material in the element and to compare the determined direction and velocity of the flow of material to standardized flow exception data therefor; and analyze conductivity data from the leak sensors to determine the occurrence of a leak of material in the wind turbine system element and to compare the determined conductivity to standardized conductivity exception data therefor; and process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data for the flow sensors and the leak sensors to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via the display, the human interface device and/or the further communication device (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include
a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, and wherein the one or more servers that are configured to process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors: analyze data from the flow sensors to determine the direction and velocity of the flow of material in the element and to compare the determined direction and velocity of the flow of material to standardized flow exception data therefor; and analyze conductivity data from the leak sensors to determine the occurrence of a leak of material in the wind turbine system element and to compare the determined conductivity to standardized conductivity exception data therefor; and process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data for the flow sensors and the leak sensors to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via the display, the human interface device and/or the further communication device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 21, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, wherein: the flow sensor includes an ultrasonic flow sensor; and/or the leak detector includes a leak detection sensor element having a pair of electrical conductors in physical contact within a rubber or rubber-like material that absorbs the material carried in the wind turbine element (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include one or more of the sensor units further include a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, wherein: the flow sensor includes an ultrasonic flow sensor; and/or the leak detector includes a leak detection sensor element having a pair of electrical conductors in physical contact within a rubber or rubber-like material that absorbs the material carried in the wind turbine element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 22, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the further communication device, the one or more servers and the memory associated therewith are disposed in a central facility (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the further communication device, the one or more servers and the memory associated therewith are disposed in a central facility.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 03/26/2026, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 15-22, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. Q103:
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over US 11,976,636 to Gregory in view of US 2016/0371957 to Ghaffari.
The rejection is respectfully traversed.
Gregory relates to a controller and method for a wind turbine in which a controller 20 for an ice removal system 24 receives output voltage and output current data indicative of generated output power, wind speed data, ambient temperature data, ice sensor data and air pressure data from various sensors 30, 32, 34, 28 & 36 from which the presence of ice is deduced. (Fig. 2, 3). The method of Fig. 3 of Gregory is utilized to determine whether ice accumulation has stopped or is continuing (120, 126), and triggers (122, 128) an ice removal system 24 if ice accumulation has stopped. (Fig. 2; Col. 7, line 4, to col. 11, line 6, and alternatively to line 47. See particularly, col. 10, lines 46-52, and 60-65).
Contrary to the assertion that Gregory describes a thickness sensor as claimed, Gregory actually describes an ice thickness sensor at col. 6, lines 24-29, that necessarily measures thickness in the direction away from the surface of the rotor blade where ice can accumulate. That measurement is in the opposite direction to that in which one could measure thickness of a part of the wind turbine element itself. Accordingly, Gregory thereby teaches away from Applicant's claimed thickness sensor.
It is submitted that one skilled in the art would not be led by Gregory to employ a thickness sensor to measure thickness of the wind turbine element because the Gregory prior art teaches away from this feature of the invention, i.e. the art teaches towards measuring external ice. It is "error to find obviousness where [the] references 'diverge from and teach away from the invention at hand'." In re Fine, 5 U.S.P.Q.2d 1596, 1599 (Fed. Cir. 1988) citing W. L. Gore &Assoc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 1550, 220 U.S.P.Q. 303, 311 (Fed. Cir. 1983).”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Previously rejected Independent Claim 1 states:
“…
a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element
…”
Previously rejected Independent Claim(s) 4, 7 state similar language.
The Specification states:
[0150] For example, sensor modules may also sensors that include…ice and ice thickness sensors…for monitoring…the mechanical elements thereof that have moving parts…
GREGORY teaches “an ice sensor that detects the thickness of ice on the blade”.
Examiner BRI of the claimed limitation is a sensor capable of measuring the thickness of “a part” of a wind turbine “element”. An accumulation of ice on a wind turbine element is interpreted as being a part of the wind turbine element.
Therefore, in light of the specification, GREGORY teaches the BRI of the claimed structure and function.
-Applicant states
“The vibration sensor of Gregory is specifically directed to detecting ice accumulation (e.g., col. 6, lines 6-15) and Applicant submits that there is no suggestion of it being utilized to measure or detect changes to the physical structure of any part of the wind turbine.
Applicant has not found any mention in Gregory of strain or a strain gauge as Applicant claims, and no reference thereto in Gregory is asserted in the Office Action.
Gregory is simply a system and method for activating an ice removal system 24 and nothing more. Gregory activates its ice removal system 24 based upon a determination of whether or not ice is present and/or is still accumulating, and is not seen to describe or suggest measuring or monitoring any part of the elements of the wind turbine, as Applicant claims.
Nothing in Gregory describes and neither is it seen to suggest any sensing, measuring or monitoring beyond that of sensing and removing ice at a present time.
Nothing in Gregory is seen to even be concerned with any other aspect of wind turbine monitoring as described and claimed by Applicant, and certainly not any physical element or characteristic of the wind turbine itself either in a present time or over time.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Previously rejected Independent Claim 1 states:
“…
one or more sensor units each including a plurality of sensors including a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element, a vibration sensor for measuring vibration at the wind turbine element, and/or a strain gauge sensor for measuring strain in the wind turbine element,
…”
Examiner would like to first note that the BRI of claim language only require 1 of the 3 sensors listed.
Examiner’s amendment(s) now require both: a thickness sensor; and a vibration sensor or strain gauge sensor.
Previously rejected Independent Claim 4, 7 require both a thickness sensor and a vibration sensor
Regardless, GREGORY further teaches a blade-based sensing device that measures “the vibration pattern or frequency response of the wind turbine blades”.
Therefore, in light of the specification, GREGORY teaches the BRI of the claimed structure and function.
-Applicant states
“Ghaffari relates to a method and system for structural health monitoring wherein one or more sensing devices monitor certain present operating parameters of a system to modify the operation of the system, e.g., using the system's control system, when a present operating condition or event is either present or is seen as being near. (Paras. [0008], [0011]-[0015], [0027], [0029]). A wind turbine is among the disclosed systems. (Id.; e.g., Fig. 5).
Further, Ghaffari never mentions a thickness of any element of a wind turbine. Ghaffari does not contain "thickness" as a word search of the U.S.P.T.O. published text will readily confirm. Ghaffari never mentions and does not suggest sensing a thickness of any element of a wind turbine as Applicant claims. Ghaffari does not provide or suggest what Gregory lacks.
The present Application clearly describes a controller 830 that exercises operational control over the various electrical and mechanical elements of wind turbine 700 (See paragraph [131]) and a separate and different controller processor 210 which is associated with monitoring system 200.
Ghaffari is seen to be directed to operating a wind turbine which is a completely different aspect from the ice removal aspect of Gregory. Nothing in Gregory or Ghaffari or in the record provides any suggestion that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them.
Thus their combination is improper under the law because the record lacks a proper suggestion or motivation for its combination with the other. "It can be important to identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the claimed new invention does." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418; 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Absent some statement or suggestion that the references should be combined, there is no nexus which could substantiate the suggested combination.
…
Moreover, even if arguendo Gregory and Ghaffari could properly be combined, that combination would not be Applicant's invention. The resulting combination would be merely the operating wind turbine of Ghaffari with an ice removal system of Gregory, and not Applicant's claimed system for monitoring the physical integrity of the elements of the wind turbine by measuring the physical characteristics of the elements of the wind turbine.
On the other hand, Applicant's claimed invention is a monitoring system that measures physical characteristics of elements of a wind turbine to monitor wear, damage and other physical characteristics for the purpose of determining when an exception exists regarding such elements.
To that end, Applicant's claimed invention includes thickness sensors that measure the thickness of wind turbine elements to produce related data that includes the date and time as well as location. Applicant's system then processes such "geo-tagged" data to determine whether an exception exists relative to standardized exception levels, e.g., levels that would require maintenance or repair.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
Examiner never relied on GHAFFARI to teach a thickness sensor.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, GREGORY is directed towards techniques, apparatus and methods for monitoring a wind turbine structure, and GHAFFARI is directed towards methods and systems for monitoring physical and structural characteristics of one or more objects or things.
GREGORY and GHAFFARI are analogous art as for being from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem) and/or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
-Applicant states
“The system of Applicant's independent claim 1 is patentable at least because it recites:
…
which is not described or suggested by Gregory and/or Ghaffari, whether taken individually or properly combined.
The system of Applicant's independent claim 4 is patentable at least because it recites:
…
which is not described or suggested by Gregory and/or Ghaffari, whether taken individually or properly combined.
The system of Applicant's independent claim 7 is patentable at least because it recites:
…
which is not described or suggested by Gregory and/or Ghaffari, whether taken individually or properly combined.
Applicant's claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8-22 are patentable at least because they depend from one of patentable claims 1, 4 and 7.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
See above response.
-Applicant states
“In addition, claims 2 and 5 recite inter alia certain data analyzing of geo tagged thickness data; claim 9 recites thickness sensors disposed on the first and second sides of the wind turbine element, claims 13 and 14 recite analyzing thickness data and vibration data over time wherein exception data includes respective exceptions for rates of change thereof, claims 16, 17, 20 and 21 recite a flow sensor; claims 17 and 20 recite a flow sensor and a leak sensor and respective standardized flow and leak exception data therefor, claims 18 recites the standardized exception data includes standardized routine exception data and standardized urgent exception data; and claim 20 recites leak sensors providing conductivity data and standardized conductivity exception data, none of which are described or suggested by Gregory and/or Ghaffari, whether taken individually or in proper combination.
Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is overcome and should be withdrawn.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
GREGORY teaches:
the necessary structure to obtain thickness data.
In combination with GREGORY,
GRAFFARI teaches:
[0010] The sensors can measure conditions including environmental, physical, and structural conditions, such as location, motion, vibration and impact of the object or a part of the object. The conditions can include the mechanical, electrical, physical, thermal and/or structural aspects of functions and/or operations of the object and/or its environment.
[0051] the sensing device can process the data to generate one or more higher order metrics, by processing the raw data to determine, for example, event type detection, object-specific or location-specific performance indicators, and sensor quality.
[0012-0014] The algorithm can compare one or more parameters representative of one or more sensed conditions to a predefined threshold value (or range) and based on the outcome of the comparison, take no further action or proceed to interact with a control system to cause a change in the operating environment, the control system of the object or the operation of a machine associated with the object…can determine a trend or a rate of change of one or more parameters and use the rate of change to predict an event time in the future when a specific parameter could exceed a threshold and require intervention. The system can also check the parameter one or more times prior to the event time to confirm that the rate of change of the specific parameter has not changed and the event time has not changed. Where the rate of change of the parameter has changed, the event time can be re-calculated using the new rate of change or as a function of two or more previously determined rates of change. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, the system can interact with the control system prior to the event time, in order to cause a change in the environment or the operation of the machine prior to the specific parameter coming close to the threshold level.
[0031, 0050, 0061] leak detection
[Fig. 5] the sensing device(s) being located on a plurality of surfaces on the wind turbine.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 20, 21 only require one of a flow sensor or leak sensor.
Therefore, the combination of GREGORY, GRAFFARI teaches the BRI of geo tagged / location data, comparing the sensed/determined data to a threshold to determine condition of attached object, leak detection, placing sensing devices on a plurality of ‘sides’ of the wind turbine.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit