DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREGORY ET AL. (US 11976636 B1) (hereinafter “GREGORY”) in view of GHAFFARI ET AL. (US 20160371957 A1) (hereinafter “GHAFFARI”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
a wind turbine system, wherein the wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements including: a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a tower and/or a base (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a monitoring system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
comprising:
a plurality of sensor modules each disposed proximate to an element of the wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor module comprising:
one or more sensor units each including a plurality of sensors including a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element, a vibration sensor for measuring vibration at the wind turbine element, and/or a strain gauge sensor for measuring strain in the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor unit being disposed closely adjacent to the element of the wind turbine (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a controller processor coupled to each of the one or more sensor units (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
and
configured to
receive data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data;
the controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged;
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a location device for providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and date-time data; a controller processor associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged; a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 4, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
a wind turbine system, wherein the wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements including: a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a tower and/or a (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
a monitoring system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
comprising:
a thickness sensor disposed adjacent to the elements of the wind turbine system for measuring thicknesses of parts of the wind turbine elements over periods of time (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a vibration sensor disposed adjacent to elements of the wind turbine system for measuring vibration data at the wind turbine elements over periods of time, the vibration data including frequency domain data and time domain data (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
plural controller processors (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
wherein
each one thereof is coupled to a respective group of sensors (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each group of sensors
including
ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each controller processor
being configured to
receive data sensed by the respective group of sensors coupled thereto (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a multiplicity of sensors;
plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors for providing location data representative of the location thereof and date-time data;
wherein
each of the plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors of its respective group of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors is geo-tagged; and
plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the ones of the multiplicity of thickness sensors and the ones of the multiplicity of vibration sensors associated therewith and for receiving control commands.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a multiplicity of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the sensors, whereby the data sensed by the sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6); and
plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting data sensed by the sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a multiplicity of sensors; plural location devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controller processors; a plural controller processors associates the location data and the date-time data thereof with data sensed by the sensors, whereby the data sensed by the sensors is geo-tagged; and plural communication devices wherein each one thereof is coupled to a respective one of the plural controllers processors for transmitting data sensed by the sensors and for receiving control commands.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 7, GREGORY teaches a controller and method for a wind turbine and the BRI of:
a monitored wind turbine system, wherein the monitored wind turbine system includes a plurality of wind turbine elements, the wind turbine elements including: a structure, a platform, a rotor, blades, a nacelle, a base, a foundation, an anchor, a facility, a pipe or tubing, an equipment, a motor, an electric motor, an electrical generator, a gear or gears, a pump, a vane or vanes, a valve, a solenoid device, a hydraulic device, a conduit, a tank, a container, or any combination thereof (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a monitoring system (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
comprising:
a sensor module disposed proximate to an element of the monitored wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2),
each sensor module comprising:
one or more sensor units each including a plurality of different sensors including at least a thickness sensor for measuring a thickness of a part of the wind turbine element and a vibration sensor for measuring vibration at the wind turbine element, each sensor unit being disposed closely adjacent to the element of the wind turbine system (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
a controller processor coupled to each of the one or more sensor units and configured to receive data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof (See, e.g., Col 6 Line(s) 30-53; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the monitored wind turbine system; analyze data from the thickness sensors to determine a thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and to compare the determined thickness thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor; analyze data from the vibration sensors to determine the magnitude and frequencies of vibration at the element and to compare the determined magnitude and frequencies of the vibration to standardized vibration exception data therefor; process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
However, GREGORY is lacking the explicit language of:
a plurality of sensor modules and processors;
a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data;
associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged;
a communication device for transmitting the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands; and
a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules;
one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results,
and
a display and/or human interface device.
GHAFFARI teaches a system for monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object can include one or more sensing devices affixed or mounted to the object. The sensing devices produce sensor data (e.g. motion, vibration, impact, temperature, stress and strain) that can be used to anticipate failure or for operation and/or maintenance purposes. The sensing devices can positioned on moving devices such as wind turbines and the BRI of:
a plurality of sensor modules and processors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
a communication device for transmitting the data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6); and
a communication device for receiving the transmitted sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results determined data (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
and
a display and/or human interface device (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a plurality of sensor modules and processors; a device providing location data representative of the location of the sensor module and providing date-time data; associates the location data and the date-time data with data sensed by the plurality of sensors, whereby the data sensed by the plurality of sensors is geo-tagged; a communication device for transmitting the data sensed by the plurality of sensors and for receiving control commands; and a communication device for receiving the transmitted sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules; one or more servers configured to process the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors of the sensor modules and to store the received data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the geo-tagged sensor data stored therein; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results determined data, and a display and/or human interface device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system; analyze data from the thickness sensors to determine the thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and to compare the determined thickness thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor; analyze data from the vibration sensors to determine the magnitude and frequencies of vibration at the wind turbine element and to compare the determined magnitude and frequencies of the vibration to standardized vibration exception data therefor; and/or analyze strain data from the strain gauge sensors to determine the magnitude of strain in the wind turbine element and to compare the determined strain to standardized strain exception data therefor; comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
monitoring servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
the monitoring servers including:
a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include monitoring servers, the monitoring servers including: a communication device for receiving the transmitted geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and for transmitting control commands to the plurality of sensor modules; one or more servers configured to process the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors of sensor modules and to store the received geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors thereof in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the sensed by the plurality of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 5, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the structural system;
analyze data from each of the thickness sensors to determine the thickness of the part of the wind turbine element and the rate of change in the thickness thereof as a function of time, and to compare the determined thickness thereof and the rate of change thereof to standardized thickness exception data therefor; analyze data from each of the vibration sensors to determine the magnitudes and frequencies and times of vibration at the wind turbine element and to compare the determined magnitudes and frequencies of the vibration in the frequency domain and/or the determined magnitudes and times thereof in the time domain to standardized vibration exception data therefor; process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
monitoring servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6),
the monitoring servers including:
a communication device for receiving the data from the multiplicity of sensors that is transmitted by the plural communication devices and for transmitting control commands thereto (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
one or more servers configured to process the received data from the multiplicity of sensors and to store the received data from the multiplicity of sensors in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data from the multiplicity of sensors stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data from the multiplicity of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include monitoring servers, the monitoring servers including: a communication device for receiving the data from the multiplicity of sensors that is transmitted by the plural communication devices and for transmitting control commands thereto; one or more servers configured to process the received data from the multiplicity of sensors and to store the received data from the multiplicity of sensors in a relational database; wherein memory associated with the one or more servers contains the relational database and the sensor data from the multiplicity of sensors stored therein, wherein the one or more servers are configured to process the data from the multiplicity of sensors; wherein the one or more servers are configured to process results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 3, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device of the monitoring server, the one or more servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include a display and/or human interface device, the display, the human interface device and/or the communication device of the monitoring server.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 8, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the controller processor of the sensor module is coupled to the one or more sensor units by a physical electrical conductor or by a wireless communication link (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
a wind turbine element has first and second sides: wherein a first sensor unit thickness sensor is disposed on the first side of the wind turbine element and a second sensor unit thickness sensor is disposed on the second side of the wind turbine element (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
the wind turbine element at its first side and/or at its second side. (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2)
thickness data sensed by the respective thickness sensors of the first and/or second sensor units (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
erosion at the surface of the element is determined from sensing data sensed by the respective sensors of the sensor units (See, e.g., ¶ 0034; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include erosion at the surface of the element is determined from sensing data sensed by the respective sensors of the sensor units.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 10, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the location device includes a memory device and/or one or more global positioning system devices including a US GPS system device, a Russian GLONASS system device, a European Galileo system device, an Indian IRNSS system device, or a Chinese BDS system device, or any combination thereof (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the location device includes a memory device and/or one or more global positioning system devices including a US GPS system device, a Russian GLONASS system device, a European Galileo system device, an Indian IRNSS system device, or a Chinese BDS system device, or any combination thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 11, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the communication devices of the sensor modules and the further communication device communicate via one or more communication networks including a cellular network, satellite communication a Wi-If network, LoRAN, a wireless mesh network, and/or any combination thereof (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the communication devices of the sensor modules and the further communication device communicate via one or more communication networks including a cellular network, satellite communication a Wi-If network, LoRAN, a wireless mesh network, and/or any combination thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 12, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at a predetermined time, and/or analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a predetermined time, determine when an exception exists therein at the predetermined time (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 13, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times, and analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times; wherein the standardized thickness exception data and the standardized vibration exception data have exception data limits for rates of change of thickness and of vibration, respectively; and determine when an exception exists from the rate of change of the data geo-tagged at the first and second predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 14, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
analyze data from the thickness sensors that is geo-tagged at a first plurality of predetermined times to determine a rate of change of thickness of the part of the wind turbine element as a function of time; analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a second plurality of predetermined times to determine characteristics of vibration data in the frequency domain to determine vibration-inducing events occurring at a given time and/or over a period of time; analyze data from the vibration sensors that is geo-tagged at a third plurality of predetermined times to determine characteristics of vibration data in the time domain to determine vibration-inducing events occurring at a given time and/or over a period of time; wherein the standardized thickness exception data and the standardized vibration exception data have exception data limits for rates of change of thickness and of vibration, respectively; and determine when an exception exists from the rate of change of the data geo-tagged at the first, second and third predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 43 : Col 6 Line(s) 29; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the one or more servers configured to process the data sensed by the plurality of sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 15, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein:
the thickness sensor
includes
an ultrasonic sensor and/or a magnetic sensor (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 18 : Col 6 Line(s) 5; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2);
and/or
the vibration sensor
includes
a sound transducer, a shock transducer, a vibration transducer, and/or an accelerometer (See, e.g., Col 5 Line(s) 18 : Col 6 Line(s) 23; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 16, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units
further includes:
a temperature sensor; a strain gage sensor; a flow sensor, a leak sensor, and/or a galvanic potential sensor (See, e.g., Col 7 Line(s) 4-61; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 17, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
process geo-tagged data sensed by the sensors of claim 16 to:
analyze data from the temperature sensor to determine the temperature of the wind turbine element and/or of material in the element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times, and to compare the analyzed temperature to standardized temperature exception data therefor; analyze data from the strain gage sensor to determine the strain in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed strain to standardized strain exception data therefor; analyze data from the flow sensor to determine the flow in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed flow to standardized flow exception data therefor; analyze data from the leak sensor to determine a leak in the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed leak to standardized leak exception data therefor; and/or analyze data from the galvanic potential sensor to determine the galvanic potential at the wind turbine element at a predetermined time and/or at predetermined times and to compare the analyzed galvanic potential of the wind turbine element to standardized galvanic potential exception data therefor; process results of comparing the analyzed data to standardized exception data to determine when an exception exists at the predetermined time and/or at the predetermined times (See, e.g., Col 7 Line(s) 4-61; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
the one or more servers (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include the one or more servers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 18, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system that is stored in the memory includes standardized routine exception data and standardized urgent exception data (See, e.g., ¶ 0036, 0055; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6);
wherein
the one or more servers are configured to compare the exceptions to the standardized routine exception data and to the standardized urgent exception data when an exception exists, and to generate a routine alert when a routine exception exists and to generate an urgent alert when an urgent exception exists.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the standardized exception data relating to safe operation of the wind turbine system that is stored in the memory includes standardized routine exception data and standardized urgent exception data; wherein the one or more servers are configured to compare the exceptions to the standardized routine exception data and to the standardized urgent exception data when an exception exists, and to generate a routine alert when a routine exception exists and to generate an urgent alert when an urgent exception exists.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 19, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GREGORY further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the sensor modules and sensor units are physically attached to elements of the monitored wind turbine system, wherein the sensor modules and sensor units are encapsulated and are bonded to the wind turbine elements with encapsulating materials and bonding materials that block moisture and corrosives from the contact area between the sensor module and sensor unit and the wind turbine element whereat each is attached (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include
a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6), and
wherein
the one or more servers that are configured to
process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors: analyze data from the flow sensors to determine the direction and velocity of the flow of material in the element and to compare the determined direction and velocity of the flow of material to standardized flow exception data therefor; and analyze conductivity data from the leak sensors to determine the occurrence of a leak of material in the wind turbine system element and to compare the determined conductivity to standardized conductivity exception data therefor; and process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data for the flow sensors and the leak sensors to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via the display, the human interface device and/or the further communication device (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include
a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, and wherein the one or more servers that are configured to process the geo-tagged data sensed by the plurality of sensors: analyze data from the flow sensors to determine the direction and velocity of the flow of material in the element and to compare the determined direction and velocity of the flow of material to standardized flow exception data therefor; and analyze conductivity data from the leak sensors to determine the occurrence of a leak of material in the wind turbine system element and to compare the determined conductivity to standardized conductivity exception data therefor; and process results of comparing the determined data to standardized exception data for the flow sensors and the leak sensors to determine when an exception exists, and wherein when an exception exists, generate an alert therefrom and communicate the alert via the display, the human interface device and/or the further communication device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 21, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one or more of the sensor units further include a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, wherein: the flow sensor includes an ultrasonic flow sensor; and/or the leak detector includes a leak detection sensor element having a pair of electrical conductors in physical contact within a rubber or rubber-like material that absorbs the material carried in the wind turbine element (See, e.g., ¶ 0031, 0050, 0061; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include one or more of the sensor units further include a flow sensor for sensing flow of a material in the system element and/or a leak sensor for detecting leaks of the material from the system element, wherein: the flow sensor includes an ultrasonic flow sensor; and/or the leak detector includes a leak detection sensor element having a pair of electrical conductors in physical contact within a rubber or rubber-like material that absorbs the material carried in the wind turbine element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 22, GREGORY, GHAFFARI teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
GHAFFARI further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the further communication device, the one or more servers and the memory associated therewith are disposed in a central facility (See, e.g., ¶ 0037, 0047, 0051; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-2C, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify GREGORY to include wherein the further communication device, the one or more servers and the memory associated therewith are disposed in a central facility.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify GREGORY because it would be beneficial to monitoring physical and environmental conditions of an object. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit