DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1-11 are pending.
The prior art submitted on 8/20/25, 11/21/25, and 7/20/26 has been considered.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent No. 12415272 (refers as ‘272). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because subject matters of the invention defined in claim 1 in 19/304601 would have been anticipated by the invention defined in claim 1 of (272). Claim 1 of the present application recites:
A teaching device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to: cause a display to display a program creation screen for creating a control program by arranging a plurality of icons; extract two or more icons having a mutual relationship among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen, based on information in relation to the plurality of icons; and cause the display to display information in relation to the mutual relationship between the extracted two or more icons.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12415272 disclose a teaching device for performing creation by an icon representing a function constituting a control program of an industrial machine, the teaching device comprising: a screen display creation unit configured to generate a program creation screen including a predetermined region for creatin the control program by arranging a plurality of icons; and a relationship display creation unit configured to extract two or more icons having a mutual relationship in regard to processing contents among the plurality of icons arranged in the predetermined region, based on information about each of the plurality of icons, and perform display in which the relationship between the two or more extracted icons can be visually recognized. Claim 1 of (‘272) obviously have all the limitations of claim 1 of current application.
Claims 2-10, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-10 of US Claims Patent No. 12415272 (refers as ‘272). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because subject matters of the invention defined in claims 2-10 in 19/304601 would have been anticipated by the invention defined in claims 2-10 of (272). Claims 2-10 of (‘272) obviously have all the limitations of claims 2-10 of current application.
Claim 11 is a method claim corresponding to device claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, and 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hagio et al. (US 2022/0226982 A1).
As per claim 1, Hagio et al. disclose a teaching device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to: cause a display to display a program creation screen for creating a control program by arranging a plurality of icons (see at least para. [0024-0026] disclose figure 4 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a teaching processing window W10 containing the operation window. The teaching processing window W10 contains a robot select field RF for selection of the robot type, a program select field PF for designation of the program name of the robot control program, a robot display window W11, a jog operation window W12, a program monitor W13, a vision window W14, and an I/O monitor W15); extract two or more icons having a mutual relationship among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen, based on information in relation to the plurality of icons; and cause the display to display information in relation to the mutual relationship between the extracted two or more icons (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 2, Hagio et al. disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to extract, as icons regarded to have the mutual relationship, two or more icons that satisfy at least any of conditions of (1) using same data, and(2) using same hardware, among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 3, Hagio et al. disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to add an image representing a same identification symbol to the extracted two or more icons having the mutual relationship in the program creation screen (see at least [0039-0041], and figure 7, when the user presses the captured image display button of one teaching point within the teaching point list PL, as shown in the lower part of figure 7, a captured image CIM associated with the teaching point is displayed on the display unit 350).
As per claim 4, Hagio et al. disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the extracted two or more icons having the mutual relationship in such a way that the extracted two or more icons are more emphasized than another icon in the program creation screen (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 5, Hagio et al. disclose the one or more processors are configured to add an image that connects the extracted two or more icons having the mutual relationship in the program creation screen (see at least [0039-0041], and figure 7, when the user presses the captured image display button of one teaching point within the teaching point list PL, as shown in the lower part of figure 7, a captured image CIM associated with the teaching point is displayed on the display unit 350).
As per claim 6, Hagio et al. disclose the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the information in relation to the mutual relationship, in response to a selection operation being performed on one of the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 7, Hagio et al. disclose the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the information in relation to the mutual relationship, only for the one selected icon and one or more icons having the mutual relationship with the one icon (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 8, Hagio et al. disclose the one or more memories are configured to store the information in relation to the plurality of icons in such a manner that the information is categorized into a plurality of categories (see at least [0030 and figure 4, disclose the I/O monitor W15 have at least 3 categories named “bit”, “status”, and “label”), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the display to display the information in relation to the mutual relationship, for two or more icons belonging to a category specified in advance and having the mutual relationship among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” category displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
As per claim 9, Hagio et al. disclose the one or more processors are configured, in response to a selection operation being performed on one of the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen, to cause the display to display the information in relation to the mutual relationship, for two or more icons belonging to a category to which the one selected icon belongs and having the relationship among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen (see at least [0030] disclose in figure 4, the I/O monitor W15 is a window for displaying I/O information representing input and output statuses in the control apparatus 200 of the robot 100 with respect to the teaching point to be edited. Note, in this I/O monitor W15 display the “bit” column displaying information in relation to the mutual relationship between the input and output port, because it uses the same bit data information).
Claim 11 is a method claim corresponding to device claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagio et al. (US 2022/0226982 A1).
As per claim 10, Hagio et al. do not explicitly disclose display warning for an icon with which no icon has the mutual relationship. However, this is just an engineering design choice of the purpose of use of the invention. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teach of Hagio et al. by combining to cause the display to display warning for an icon with which no icon has the mutual relationship, among the plurality of icons arranged in the program creation screen, in order to create a teaching display device with icon have related function can be visually recognized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
. Gupta et al. (US 2017/0236446 A1)
. Nagasaka et al. (US 2021/0110735 A1)
. Meier et al. (US 2016/0279790A1)
. Connell, II et al. (US 2015/0336274 A1)
/DALENA TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657