DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim limitation “the respective plurality of passive components for a first constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters is different than the respective plurality of passive components for a second constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters” is not disclosed by the spec
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Pries et al (US 2022/0085652).
Re Claim 1; Pries disclose a device for wireless power transfer, the device comprising: a segmented coil comprising a plurality of resonant coil segments, (The polyphase inductive transmitter transfers power to a receiver; ¶¶[0075]–[0079].
Figure 10A and ¶[0108] identify phase coils La,Lb,Lc, each with series resonant capacitance. The coils form the claimed segments under the broadest reasonable reading of “segmented coil.”)
each adjacent pair of resonant coil segments of the plurality of resonant coil segments being separated from one another by a respective passive element (the capacitors), the plurality of resonant coil segments being arranged in a loop; (Fig. 10a Figure 10A depicts the closed delta path with La,Lb,Lc and intervening Ca,Cb,Cc. Each capacitor is a passive element. Pries also describes the phase windings’ circumferential placement; ¶[0084].)
a plurality of constituent converters coupled to the segmented coil, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being coupled to a respective resonant coil segment of the plurality of resonant coil segments, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being configured to drive the respective resonant coil segment; (Pries identifies the switching pairs S1/S2, S3/S4, and S5/S6 for phases a, b, and c; ¶¶[0080], [0136]. Each pair acts as a DC-to-AC phase switching stage coupled to and driving its associated resonant phase branch.) and
a processor configured to generate switch control signals for each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters; (Controller 20 can be a microcontroller, CPU, or FPGA and controls the switching pairs; ¶[0083].)
wherein the switch control signals for a first constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters are configured differently relative to the switch control signals for a second constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters to spatially shape the wireless power transfer.( Pries offsets the switching times of the phase pairs and changes switching-state durations in response to receiver translation. Those changes alter where the magnetic flux is concentrated; ¶¶[0094]–[0106], [0139], [0167] and Figures 6A–9B.)
Re Claim 2; Pries disclose wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter are phase-shifted relative to the switch control signals for the second constituent converter. (Pries further describes switching-time offsets between its phase pairs, including quadrature phase shifts and other usable shifts; ¶[0167] and Figure 20.)
Re Claim 3; Pries disclose wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter have a different duty cycle than the switch control signals for the second constituent converter. (Fig. 20 Par 0160 The relative timing of the switching may be adjusted to control the duty cycle. The closer of the relative switching timing reduces the duty cycle. The duty cycle and phase shift are mathematically and functionally related)
Re Claim 4; Pries disclose wherein the switch controls for the first and second constituent converters are configured such that the first and second constituent converters are not operated synchronously. (Fig. 20)
Re Claim 7; Pries disclose wherein: each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters comprises a plurality of switches controlled by the switch control signals; and the plurality of switches of the first constituent converter have a different drain voltage than the plurality of switches of the second constituent converter. (Fig. 20 the drain voltage in an amplifier or transistor circuit can have a direct relationship with phase shift, primarily because a standard common-source transistor amplifier inherently introduces a 180-degree phase inversion between the input gate voltage and the output drain voltage. In a basic AC MOSFET or JFET amplifier, when the input voltage at the gate goes up, the drain current increases. This larger current creates a bigger voltage drop across the drain resistor, which causes the overall drain voltage to go down. This opposite movement creates a 180° phase shift between input and output.)
Re Claim 8; Pries disclose wherein :each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters comprises first and second switches controlled by the switch control signals; the switch control signals for each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters establishes a zero voltage duration during which the first switch and the second switch are both on; and the switch control signals for the first constituent converter establish that the zero voltage duration for the first constituent converter is different than the zero voltage duration for the second constituent converter.(Fig. 20)
Re Claim 9; Pries discloses wherein: each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters comprises a plurality of switches controlled by the switch control signals; and each switch of the plurality of switches is ground-referenced. (Fig. 19)
Re Claim 10; Pries discloses wherein: each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters comprises first and second switches controlled by the switch control signals; and the switch control signals for the first switch and the second switch are complementary. (PE 0083)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pries in view of Mao (US 20190089197)
Re Claim 5; Pries disclose adjustment of phase excitation in response to alignment; ¶¶[0139], [0167].
Pries does not disclose wherein the plurality of constituent converters are controlled such that the first constituent converter provides a different amount of power to the segmented coil than the second constituent converter.
Mao discloses Power control at transmitter-module level, including selectively disabling modules while others supply power and controlling module output.(Par 0046)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have the relative contribution of spatially displaced coils affects the field at a misaligned receiver. Independently reducing one stage’s contribution and increasing or retaining another’s is a predictable way to implement the alignment response Pries seeks. Mao’s selective-module and module-level controls provide the specific unequal-power operation.
Re Claim 6; Mao discloses wherein the first constituent converter has a different DC voltage source than the second constituent converter. (Par 0045, Fig. 3)
Re Claim 11. (New) A device for wireless power transfer, the device comprising: a segmented coil comprising a plurality of resonant coil segments, each adjacent pair of resonant coil segments of the plurality of resonant coil segments being separated from one another by a respective passive element, the plurality of resonant coil segments being arranged in a loop; and a plurality of constituent converters coupled to the segmented coil, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being coupled to a respective resonant coil segment of the plurality of resonant coil segments, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being configured to drive the respective resonant coil segment; wherein a first constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters is configured to provide a different amount of power to the segmented coil than a second constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters. (This claim is analogous to claim 1 and 5 and therefore the same rejection is applied)
Re Claim 12; Mao discloses wherein the first constituent converter has a different DC voltage source than the second constituent converter. (Par 0045, Fig. 3)
Re Claim 13; Pries discloses wherein: each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters comprises a plurality of switches controlled by the switch control signals; and the plurality of switches of the first constituent converter have a different drain voltage than the plurality of switches of the second constituent converter. (Fig. 20 the drain voltage in an amplifier or transistor circuit can have a direct relationship with phase shift, primarily because a standard common-source transistor amplifier inherently introduces a 180-degree phase inversion between the input gate voltage and the output drain voltage. In a basic AC MOSFET or JFET amplifier, when the input voltage at the gate goes up, the drain current increases. This larger current creates a bigger voltage drop across the drain resistor, which causes the overall drain voltage to go down. This opposite movement creates a 180° phase shift between input and output.)
Re Claim 14; Pries discloses further comprising a processor to generate switch control signals for each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters, wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter are configured differently relative to the second constituent converter. .( Pries offsets the switching times of the phase pairs and changes switching-state durations in response to receiver translation. Those changes alter where the magnetic flux is concentrated; ¶¶[0094]–[0106], [0139], [0167] and Figures 6A–9B.)
Re Claim 15; Pries disclose wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter are phase-shifted relative to the switch control signals for the second constituent converter. (Fig. 20)
Re Claim 16; Pries disclose wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter have a different duty cycle than the switch control signals for the second constituent converter. (Fig. 20 Par 0160 The relative timing of the switching may be adjusted to control the duty cycle. The closer of the relative switching timing reduces the duty cycle. The duty cycle and phase shift are mathematically and functionally related)
Re Claim 17; Pries disclose wherein the switch controls for the first and second constituent converters are configured such that the first and second constituent converters are not operated synchronously. (Fig. 20)
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pries in view of Masquelier et al. (US 2018/0351415)
Re Claim 18; Pries disclose a device for wireless power transfer, the device comprising: a segmented coil comprising a plurality of resonant coil segments, each adjacent pair of resonant coil segments of the plurality of resonant coil segments being separated from one another by a respective passive element, the plurality of resonant coil segments being arranged in a loop; and a plurality of constituent converters coupled to the segmented coil, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being coupled to a respective resonant coil segment of the plurality of resonant coil segments, each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters being configured to drive the respective resonant coil segment; wherein :each constituent converter comprises a respective plurality of passive components coupled to the respective coil segment; (see the rejection of claim 1) and
Pries does not disclose the respective plurality of passive components for a first constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters is different than the respective plurality of passive components for a second constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters.
Masquelier discloses the power converters includes an adjustable tuning apparatus which comprises passive elements, such as a rectifier, low pass filter, etc. The adjustable passive elements for each converters is different than the respective plurality of passive components for a second constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters based on the load. That is the impedance matched my the passive elements is unique to the load/receiver present.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have Pries identifies unequal phase impedances. Providing phase-specific, differently configured passive output networks of Masquelier type would allow each driven branch to be matched or filtered for its own impedance at the chosen transfer frequency.
Re Claim 20; Pries disclose further comprising a processor to generate switch control signals for each constituent converter of the plurality of constituent converters, wherein the switch control signals for the first constituent converter are configured differently relative to the second constituent converter.( Pries offsets the switching times of the phase pairs and changes switching-state durations in response to receiver translation. Those changes alter where the magnetic flux is concentrated; ¶¶[0094]–[0106], [0139], [0167] and Figures 6A–9B.)
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pries in view of Masquelier et al. (US 2018/0351415) and further in view of Mao
Re Claim 19; Pries disclose adjustment of phase excitation in response to alignment; ¶¶[0139], [0167].
Pries does not disclose wherein the plurality of constituent converters are controlled such that the first constituent converter provides a different amount of power to the segmented coil than the second constituent converter.
Mao discloses Power control at transmitter-module level, including selectively disabling modules while others supply power and controlling module output.(Par 0046)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have the relative contribution of spatially displaced coils affects the field at a misaligned receiver. Independently reducing one stage’s contribution and increasing or retaining another’s is a predictable way to implement the alignment response Pries seeks. Mao’s selective-module and module-level controls provide the specific unequal-power operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
09/24/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836