This communication is in response to Application filed on August 20, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of Patent # 12430321 contain(s) every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claims 1-20 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recite:
identify a pool of individuals for potential communications with one or more entities;
determine, based on one or more characteristics associated with individuals, of the pool of individuals, or the one or more entities, a predicted outcome for at least a portion of the individuals with respect to at least a portion of the one or more entities;
allocate communications to at least a subset of the individuals based on the predicted outcome;
transmit, to an entity device associated with an entity, of the one or more entities, information indicating the communication allocation, wherein transmitting the information causes the information to be presented in a user interface displayed on the entity device, and wherein the user interface includes an input element for accepting the communication allocation; and
update, in response to the communication allocation being accepted via the user interface presented on the entity device, the communication allocation.
Step 1: The claims as a whole fall within one or more statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1: At least claims 1, 8, 15 recite limitations that are abstract ideas.
The limitations ““identify a pool of individuals for potential communications with one or more entities” and “determine, based on one or more characteristics associated with individuals, of the pool of individuals, or the one or more entities, a predicted outcome for at least a portion of the individuals with respect to at least a portion of the one or more entities” are mental steps. One can mentally determine which individuals are on a mailing list and determine based on specific criteria which ones are likely to respond to communications sent to them. Thus, the claimed limitations can be performed by the human mind.
The limitations ““allocate communications to at least a subset of the individuals based on the predicted outcome” and “accepting the communication allocation” and “update, in response to the communication allocation being accepted, the communication allocation” are mental steps. One can send written or telephone communications to selected individuals, in response to the receiver responding, a sender could decide a frequency with which to keep sending the receiver communications- as in mailing lists. Thus, the claimed limitations can be performed by the human mind.
Step 2A prong 2:
Claims 1, 8, 15 recite the limitation “transmit, to an entity device associated with an entity, of the one or more entities, information indicating the communication allocation, wherein transmitting the information causes the information to be presented in a user interface displayed on the entity device” is an additional element and is insignificant extra-solution activity as selecting information for analysis and display such as 'selecting information' as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Furthermore, Claims 1, 8 and 16 recite the following additional elements “system”, “one or more memories”, “one or more processors”, “entity device”, “user interface”, “computer storage medium storing instructions”, note that these recited additional elements are a high-level recitation of generic computer components to perform the mental process and applied on a computer as in MPEP 2106.05(f), which does not provide integration into a practical application.
Step 2B: the conclusions for the additional elements representing mere implementation using a computer are carried over and do not provide significantly more.
With respect to the "transmit” and “display” limitations identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);" and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
Therefore, the claims as a whole do not change this conclusion and the claims are ineligible.
Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 depend from claims 1, 8 and 15 and thus include all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, therefore claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 recite the same abstract ideas of "mental processes".
Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 furthermore recite:
(claims 2,9,16): wherein the predicted outcome is based on a responsiveness association, a probability of transaction, or a historical interaction between individuals and the entity.
(claims 3,10,17): wherein updating the communication allocation comprises removing individuals from the pool based on association with the accepted communication allocation.
(Claims 4,11, 18): wherein allocating the communications is performed over multiple iterations, and wherein each iteration, of the multiple iterations, is initiated by a change to the pool of individuals or acceptance of an allocation by an entity, of the one or more entities.
(Claims 5,12,19): wherein determining the predicted outcome is further based on a responsiveness association between an individual and an entity, of the one or more entities.
Step 1: Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 as a whole fall within one or more statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1: Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 recite limitations that are abstract ideas.
In claims 2,9,16, the limitation “wherein the predicted outcome is based on a responsiveness association, a probability of transaction, or a historical interaction between individuals and the entity” is a mental step that further defines the ”determining” step in claims 1, 8 and 15. Thus, the claimed limitation can be performed by the human mind.
In claims 3,10,17, the limitation “wherein updating the communication allocation comprises removing individuals from the pool based on association with the accepted communication allocation” is a mental step. One can manually remove individuals from consideration with respect to a mailing list once they respond. Thus, the claimed limitation can be performed by the human mind.
In claims 4,11, 18, the limitation “wherein allocating the communications is performed over multiple iterations, and wherein each iteration, of the multiple iterations, is initiated by a change to the pool of individuals or acceptance of an allocation by an entity, of the one or more entities” is a mental step that further defines the ”allocating” step in claims 1, 8 and 15. Thus, the claimed limitation can be performed by the human mind.
In claims 5,12,19, the limitation “wherein determining the predicted outcome is further based on a responsiveness association between an individual and an entity, of the one or more entities” is a mental step that further defines the ”determining” step in claims 1, 8 and 15. Thus, the claimed limitation can be performed by the human mind.
Step 2A prong 2: Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 do not recite any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 do not recite any additional elements that would provide significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 as a whole do not change this conclusion and the claims are ineligible.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 depend from claims 1, 8 and 15 and thus include all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, therefore claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 recite the same abstract ideas of "mental processes".
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 furthermore recite:
(Claims 6,13,20): wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on the communication allocation being accepted, transmission of the communications in accordance with the communication allocation.
(Claims 7,14): wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission of the communications, are configured to: generate a link for a user interface for an individual, or generate a communication session between the individual and the entity.
Step 1: Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 as a whole fall within one or more statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1: Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 recite limitations that are abstract ideas because they depend from claims 1, 8 and 15 that recite mental steps.
Step 2A prong 2:
The limitations “cause, based on the communication allocation being accepted, transmission of the communications in accordance with the communication allocation” and “generate a link for an individual, or generate a communication session between the individual and the entity” are additional elements and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity as ‘presenting offers’ as an outputting step as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Furthermore, Claims 7 and 14 recite the following additional element “user interface”, note that these recited additional elements are a high-level recitation of generic computer components to perform the mental process and applied on a computer as in MPEP 2106.05(f), which does not provide integration into a practical application.
Step 2B: the conclusions for the additional elements representing mere implementation using a computer are carried over and do not provide significantly more.
With respect to the " transmission” and “generating” limitations identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);" and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
Therefore, claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 as a whole are ineligible.
To expedite a complete examination of the instant application, the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 (nonstatutory} above are further rejected as set forth below in anticipation of applicant amending these claims to place them within the four statutory categories of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0273050 by Doherty.
Referring to claim 1, Doherty discloses a system [computing device, para 76, Fig 5], comprising:
one or more memories [memories, para 76]; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories [CPU 500, para 76, Fig 5], configured to:
identify a pool of individuals for potential communications with one or more entities [set of customers in customer data 112, para 24, 27, Fig 1A];
determine, based on one or more characteristics associated with individuals, of the pool of individuals [customer attributes 114 regarding present customers of the subject provider, para 27, Fig 1A], or the one or more entities, a predicted outcome for at least a portion of the individuals with respect to at least a portion of the one or more entities [wherein customer attributes 114 are obtained and analyzed by churn risk analysis engine 106 to determine set of customer risk weightings 122 representing relative propensity for each customer to churn away from the subject provider and classifies the customer risk weightings 122 into at least a set of likely to churn customers 126a and a set of unlikely to churn customers 126b, para 30-31, Fig 1A-B];
allocate communications to at least a subset of the individuals based on the predicted outcome [ wherein the set of customers likely to churn 126a are obtained by response recommendation engine 132 for generating one or more recommended actions 134 to mitigate the risk of churn among the customer set 126a, para 34, Fig 1B];
transmit, to an entity device associated with an entity, of the one or more entities, information indicating the communication allocation [recommended actions 134 are presented to user via GUI engine 136 at a remote computing device display 138, para 35, Fig 1B],
wherein transmitting the information causes the information to be presented in a user interface displayed on the entity device [GUI display on remote device, para 35], and
wherein the user interface includes an input element for accepting the communication allocation [user interface has a control configured to, upon selection, automate implementation of the recommended action or select different actions on a per customer/customer grouping basis, para 35]; and
update, in response to the communication allocation being accepted via the user interface presented on the entity device, the communication allocation [selection of the control results in implementation of recommended action e.g. automating the implementation of the recommended action, para 35].
Claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 in the form of a method [Abstract]. As such, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations to claim 1 in the form of a computer readable medium storing instructions [storage medium comprising instructions, para 76, Fig 5]. As such, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Referring to claims 2,9,16, Doherty discloses wherein the predicted outcome is based on a responsiveness association, a probability of transaction [subscriber churn predictions calculated as percentage likelihood or value representing relative propensity for each customer to churn away from the subject provider, para 30-31], or a historical interaction between individuals and the entity [process 100 may be performed during a calendar period recognized to historically suffer from “seasonal flux” where churn is more likely to occur, para 24; subscriber churn may occur when subscribers elect to churn to a different provider for a variety of reasons such as disappointment in customer service, para 24].
Referring to claims 3,10,17, Doherty discloses wherein updating the communication allocation comprises removing individuals from the pool based on association with the accepted communication allocation [subject provider may choose to focus on a set of likely to churn customers 126a as opposed to the set of unlikely to churn customers 126b, para 31, Fig 1B].
Referring to claims 4,11, 18, Doherty discloses wherein allocating the communications is performed over multiple iterations, and wherein each iteration, of the multiple iterations, is initiated by a change to the pool of individuals or acceptance of an allocation by an entity, of the one or more entities [user-specified likelihood thresholds are dynamically adjusted based on changing attributes of customers and likelihood of churn, para 31].
Referring to claims 5,12,19, Doherty discloses wherein determining the predicted outcome is further based on a responsiveness association between an individual and an entity, of the one or more entities [subscriber churn predictions calculated as percentage likelihood or value representing relative propensity for each customer to churn away from the subject provider, para 30-31].
Referring to claims 6,13,20, Doherty discloses cause, based on the communication allocation being accepted, transmission of the communications in accordance with the communication allocation [wherein interventions pertaining to the recommended actions are sent to the subscriber such as telephone or email contact, from a subscription provider representative, a promotional offer or introduction of a promotional campaign for subscription renewal, a gift such as an item provided in the mail, and/or a promotional offer or introduction of a promotion campaign for subscription expansion to supply greater options, benefits, or services to the subscriber or automatically launching a promotional campaign intervention to entice those subscribers most likely to churn to stay, para 6; promotional offers, para 43].
Referring to claims 7,14, Doherty discloses wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmission of the communications, are configured to: generate a link for a user interface for an individual, or generate a communication session between the individual and the entity [intervention includes personal contact (e.g., telephone contact, video chat session, real time text messaging session, etc.) with one or more customers, para 43].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hoerenz (US 2004/0267611) directed to: targeting an offer to users based on user metrics [entire document];
Day (US Pat 5857175) directed to: offering target discounts to customers [Fig 7, 9, 10 and related portions of specification];
Lane (US 20230351515) directed to: operation of wealth management platform that includes client engagement [Fig 11, 12 and related portions of specification].
CHERYL M SHECHTMANPatent Examiner
Art Unit 2164
/C.M.S/
/AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164