DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 8/20/2025.
Claim 1 is presented for examination.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,406,266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example:
Claim 1 of the present application recites:
producing a feature vector from an item image captured of an item during a transaction at a transaction terminal;
weighting the feature vector based on transaction history data for an entered item code received from the transaction terminal for the item or for available item codes that are available to the transaction terminal; and
providing a list of candidate item codes based on the feature vector and the weighting or providing a verification for the item based on the entered item code, the feature vector, and the weighting.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,406,266 recites:
receiving, by a processor of a server, item images of an item captured by cameras during a transaction at a transaction terminal, wherein receiving further includes receiving at least one of the item images from a certain overhead camera of the cameras, wherein the certain overhead camera is focused down on a top surface of a weigh scale and provides the at least one of the item images when an item is placed on the weigh scale during the transaction; producing, by the processor, a feature vector based on the item images, image captured of an item by cameras during a transaction at a transaction terminal, wherein at least one item image captured by an overhead camera of a weigh scale for the transaction terminal with the item placed on the weigh scale during the transaction, wherein producing further includes processing the item images using a trained Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) model to generate the feature vector, wherein the trained CNN model is configured to output a low-dimensionally, discriminative feature vector for produce items, and wherein the trained CNN model and Bayesian produce recognition engines are leveraged across a plurality of disparate retailers and a plurality of stores associated with each retailer for purposes of identifying and verifying the produce items during transactions at terminals; wherein the Bayesian produce recognition engines each utilize an equation that sums elements of the feature vector and sales data for each Produce Look Up (PLU) code to produce a probability that the feature vector and sales data for a corresponding image of a particular produce item is or is not the PLU code associated with a corresponding Bayesian produce recognition engine; weighting, by the processor, the feature vector based on transaction history data for an entered item code received from the transaction terminal for the item or for available item codes that are available to the transaction terminal; and providing, by the processor, a list of candidate item codes based on the feature vector and the weighting and iterating back to producing the feature vector when a specific item code that is not included in the list of candidate item codes is provided by an operator of the transaction terminal or providing a verification for the item based on the entered item code or the specific item code selected by the operator, the feature vector, and the weighting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, under Step 2A, recites a judicial exception (abstract idea) that is not integrated into a practical application and does not provide significantly more.
Under Step 2A (prong 1), claim 1 recites:
producing a feature vector from an item image captured of an item during a transaction at a transaction terminal;
weighting the feature vector based on transaction history data for an entered item code received from the transaction terminal for the item or for available item codes that are available to the transaction terminal; and
providing a list of candidate item codes based on the feature vector and the weighting or providing a verification for the item based on the entered item code, the feature vector, and the weighting.
The claims as a whole recite processing of item information. Accordingly, under step 2A (prong 1) the claim recites an abstract idea exception of “Mathematical Concepts”. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Under BRI in light of specification, the weighting encompasses a mathematical calculation. The specification describes supplying the feature vector and sales data to Bayesian inference engines that generate probabilities for items codes. The recited weighted analysis is therefore a mathematical concept.
Under Step 2A (prong 2), viewed individually or as a whole the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. The Examiner acknowledges that claim 1 recites additional limitations item image captured during a transaction at a transaction terminal and that a list of candidate item codes or verification is provided. The captured image supplies the data for the calculation, the transaction terminal identifies the setting in which the calculation is used and providing the list or verification communicates its result.
The additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim.
In view of the above, under Step 2A (prong 2), claim 1 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application (see again: 2019 PEG).
Under Step 2B, examiners should evaluate additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). In this case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements do not impose a specific implementation beyond those data input and result output functions.
Returning to claim 1 taken individually or as a whole the additional elements do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. they do not amount to “significantly more” than the exception itself). As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed process amount to no more than the mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Further, see MPEP 2106.05(f), “Other examples where the courts have found the additional elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process include: i. A commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 1357, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 64, 175 USPQ 673, 674 (1972); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015);”.
See MPEP 2106.05(d), “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));”
In view of the above, claim 1 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and is therefore ineligible
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jennings et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,592,033), in view of Gu (U.S. Patent No. 6,409,085).
Regarding claim 1, Jennings teaches producing a feature vector from an item image captured of an item during a transaction at a transaction terminal; (See fig. 4, Feature vector 44 represents a weighted combination of these descriptors, the weighting being selected according to the particular application, Col.6 ln 41-55).
providing a list of candidate item codes based on the feature vector and the weighting or providing a verification for the item based on the entered item code, the feature vector, and the weighting, (See Fig. 5 steps 51-52, The recognition step results in a list of candidates, and a results sorting step 52 then generates a product candidate list, which may be, say, a top-5 or top-15 list. Finally, these candidates are passed to a display system 23 for appropriate display of a visual representation of the products in the candidate list to a checkout operator, the visual representation being a sample image of each product, a description and an associated barcode from parts database 12, Col. 7 ln 5-30).
Jennings substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, does not explicitly disclose weighting the feature vector based on transaction history data for an entered item code received from the transaction terminal for the item or for available item codes that are available to the transaction terminal. Jenning shows feature vector 44 as a weighted combination of image descriptors and it discloses that the weighting is selected according to the application.
However, Gu teaches in step 123, produce recognition software determines a posteriori probability for each class, i.e., that produce item 18 belongs to a any given class 36, from the class-conditional probability density and checkout frequency data from database 35 using Bayes rule, Fig. 6, Col.10 ln 7-15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify feature vector based recognition process disclosed by Jennings to include checkout frequency probability calculation as taught by Gu, in order to improve speed and accuracy or recognizing produce items, (Gu, Col.1 ln 52-55).
Conclusion
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627