NON-FINAL REJECTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 14 recite “wherein the arrangement manner of the at least one data block and the at least one channel-associated information block is one of a plurality of data blocks plus a plurality of channel-associated information blocks, the plurality of channel-associated information blocks plus the plurality of data blocks, a single data block plus a single channel-associated information block, or the single channel-associated information block plus the single data block.” It is not clear what the difference is between “a plurality of data blocks plus a plurality of channel-associated information blocks” and “the plurality of channel-associated information blocks plus the plurality of data blocks” because both limitations recite the “plurality of data blocks” and the “plurality of channel-associated information blocks.” The elements appear to be a duplication of limitations. Similarly, “a single data block plus a single channel-associated information block” and “the single channel-associated information block plus the single data block” appear to be a duplication of limitation elements. For examination, claims 7 and 14 will be interpreted as the arrangement manner of the at least one data block and the at least one channel-associated information block is one of a plurality of data blocks plus a plurality of channel-associated information blocks or a single data block plus a single channel-associated information block.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a receiver configured to receive” and “a transmitter configured to send” in claims 15-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uchida (US 2016/0070470).
Regarding claim 1, Uchida discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving a first ready-to-transfer frame (FIG. 2 Initiator receives RTT 1 from Target) wherein the first ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer first target data and comprises channel-associated control information for controlling transfer of first channel-associated information of the first target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2); and
sending a first data frame (FIG. 2 Initiator sends Data Out 1 to Target), wherein the first data frame comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 2, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending a write command frame (FIG. 2 Initiator sends Write Command to Target) wherein the write command frame is for requesting to write the first target data and comprises the channel-associated control information ([0027] First, the initiator 2 transmits a write command in a format of Command UPIU to the target 1. As described above, the write command includes a field of Logical Unit Number (LUN), a field of Task Tag, a field of logical address, a field of data length, and the like. The LUN designates a partition number on the NAND 4. The Task Tag is information for identifying the Command UPIU); and
receiving a response frame (FIG. 2 Initiator receives Response from Target) wherein the response frame is for responding to the write command frame ([0031] When the target 1 receives all the data to be written, the target 1 transmits the Response UPIU to the initiator 2. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the Response UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2).
Regarding claim 3, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein the write command frame (FIG. 2 Write Command )is further for requesting to write second target data (FIG. 2 Data Out 2; [0031] The transmission and the reception of the RTT UPIU and the divided small data are repeated until the transfer of all the write data designated by the write command has been finished), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a second ready-to-transfer frame (FIG. 2 Initiator receives RTT 2 from Target) wherein the second ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer the second target data and comprises the channel-associated control information, and wherein the channel-associated control information is further for controlling transfer of second channel-associated information of the second target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2); and
sending a second data frame (FIG. 2 Initiator sends Data Out 2 to Target) wherein the second data frame comprises the second target data and the second channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 6, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first target data comprises at least one data block ([0016] The NAND 4 includes one or more memory chips having memory cell arrays. The memory cell array has a plurality of memory cells arranged in a matrix form. Each of memory cell arrays has a plurality of blocks arranged therein; [0023] When write data is received from the initiator 2, the CPU 9 controls the initiator I/F 5 to temporarily store the write data to the internal memory 6. The CPU 8 reads the write data from the internal memory 6, and writes the read data to the NAND 4 via the NAND I/F 7. The CPU 8 updates the management information in the internal memory 6 in accordance with the write processing), wherein the first channel-associated information comprises at least one channel-associated information block ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2),
wherein the at least one data block corresponds in a one-to one manner to the at least one channel-associated information block ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2), and wherein the channel-associated control information indicates at least one of a first granularity of the data block ([0028] data size DS), a second granularity of the channel-associated information block, or an arrangement manner of the data block and the channel-associated information block.
Regarding claim 7, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 6, wherein the arrangement manner of the at least one data block and the at least one channel-associated information block is one of a plurality of data blocks ([0016] The NAND 4 includes one or more memory chips having memory cell arrays. The memory cell array has a plurality of memory cells arranged in a matrix form. Each of memory cell arrays has a plurality of blocks arranged therein) plus a plurality of channel-associated information blocks ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2), the plurality of channel-associated information blocks plus the plurality of data blocks, a single data block plus a single channel-associated information block, or the single channel-associated information block plus the single data block.
Regarding claim 8, Uchida discloses:
A method comprising:
sending a first ready-to-transfer frame (FIG. 2 Target sends RTT 1 to Initiator) wherein the first ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer first target data and comprises channel-associated control information for controlling transfer of first channel- associated information of the first target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2); and
receiving a first data frame (FIG. 2 Target receives Data Out 1 from Initiator) wherein the first data frame comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 9, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a write command frame (FIG. 2 Target receives Write Command from Initiator) wherein the write command frame is for requesting to write the first target data and comprises the channel-associated control information ([0027] First, the initiator 2 transmits a write command in a format of Command UPIU to the target 1. As described above, the write command includes a field of Logical Unit Number (LUN), a field of Task Tag, a field of logical address, a field of data length, and the like. The LUN designates a partition number on the NAND 4. The Task Tag is information for identifying the Command UPIU);
sending a response frame (FIG. 2 Target sends Response to Initiator) wherein the response frame is for responding to the write command frame ([0031] When the target 1 receives all the data to be written, the target 1 transmits the Response UPIU to the initiator 2. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the Response UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2).
Regarding claim 10, Uchida further discloses:
The method of claim 9, wherein the write command frame (FIG. 2 Write Command) is further for requesting to write second target data (FIG. 2 Data Out 2; [0031] The transmission and the reception of the RTT UPIU and the divided small data are repeated until the transfer of all the write data designated by the write command has been finished), and wherein the method further comprises:
sending a second ready-to-transfer frame (FIG. 2 Target second RTT 2 to Initiator), wherein the second ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer the second target data and comprises the channel-associated control information, and wherein the channel-associated control information is further for controlling transfer of second channel-associated information of the second target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2); and
receiving a second data frame (FIG. 2 Target receives Data Out 2 from Initiator) wherein the second data frame comprises the second target data and the second channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 15, Uchida discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a first ready-to-transfer frame (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the hardware implementation described in the instant specification at paragraphs [0143] and [0150]; FIG. 2 Initiator receives RTT 1 from Target; [0015] initiator 2) wherein the first ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer first target data and comprises channel-associated control information for controlling transfer of first channel-associated information of the first target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2); and
a transmitter configured to send a first data frame (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the hardware implementation described in the instant specification at paragraphs [0143] and [0150]; FIG. 2 Initiator sends Data Out 1 to Target; [0015] initiator 2) wherein the first data frame comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 16, Uchida further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the transmitter is further configured to send a write command frame (FIG. 2 Initiator sends Write Command to Target) wherein the write command frame is for requesting to write the first target data and comprises the channel-associated control information ([0027] First, the initiator 2 transmits a write command in a format of Command UPIU to the target 1. As described above, the write command includes a field of Logical Unit Number (LUN), a field of Task Tag, a field of logical address, a field of data length, and the like. The LUN designates a partition number on the NAND 4. The Task Tag is information for identifying the Command UPIU), and wherein the receiver is further configured to receive a response frame wherein the response frame (FIG. 2 Initiator receives Response from Target) wherein the response frame is for responding to the write command frame ([0031] When the target 1 receives all the data to be written, the target 1 transmits the Response UPIU to the initiator 2. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the Response UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2).
Regarding claim 17, Uchida further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the write command frame (FIG. 2 Write Command) is further for requesting to write second target data (FIG. 2 Data Out 2; [0031] The transmission and the reception of the RTT UPIU and the divided small data are repeated until the transfer of all the write data designated by the write command has been finished), wherein the receiver is further configured to receive a second ready-to-transfer frame (FIG. 2 Initiator receives RTT 2 from Target) wherein the second ready-to-transfer frame indicates to transfer the second target data and comprises the channel-associated control information, and wherein the channel-associated control information is further for controlling transfer of second channel-associated information of the second target data ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2), and wherein the transmitter is further configured to send a second data frame (FIG. 2 Initiator sends Data Out 2 to Target) wherein the second data frame comprises the second target data and the second channel-associated information ([0030] When this RTT UPIU is received, the initiator 2 extracts, from the write data designated by the write command, data starting from the write address WAD and having a size designated by the data size DS, and transmits the extracted data to the target 1, using the Data Out UPIU as a header. The Data Out UPIU includes the same LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD as the LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD included in the corresponding RTT UPIU. Thus, RTT UPIU requests data transfer to the initiator and specifies contents of Data Out UPIU).
Regarding claim 20, Uchida further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first target data comprises at least one data block ([0016] The NAND 4 includes one or more memory chips having memory cell arrays. The memory cell array has a plurality of memory cells arranged in a matrix form. Each of memory cell arrays has a plurality of blocks arranged therein; [0023] When write data is received from the initiator 2, the CPU 9 controls the initiator I/F 5 to temporarily store the write data to the internal memory 6. The CPU 8 reads the write data from the internal memory 6, and writes the read data to the NAND 4 via the NAND I/F 7. The CPU 8 updates the management information in the internal memory 6 in accordance with the write processing), wherein the first channel-associated information comprises at least one channel-associated information block ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2), wherein the at least one data block corresponds in a one-to one manner to the at least one channel-associated information block ([0028] The RTT UPIU includes LUN, Task Tag, data size DS, and write address WAD. The LUN and the Task Tag included in the RTT UPIU are the same as the LUN and the Task Tag included in the corresponding write command UPIU from the initiator 2), and wherein the channel-associated control information indicates at least one of a first granularity of the data block ([0028] data size DS), a second granularity of the channel-associated information block, or an arrangement manner of the data block and the channel-associated information block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0034364) and Sela et al. (US 2020/0356280).
Regarding claim 4, Uchida does not appear to explicitly teach while Lee et al. disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first ready-to-transfer frame comprises a frame header (FIG. 13 RRT UPIU_1 Header H), wherein the frame header comprises a reserved field wherein the reserved field comprises the channel-associated control information ([0108] Referring to FIG. 13, the header region H of the RTT UPIU_1 may include a reserved region. A buffer address indicating a location of a data buffer in which write unit data has been stored may be included in at least part of the reserved region. The information CWA indicating that the buffer address is included and the information CWA_LENGTH indicating the size of a region, in which the buffer address is stored, may also be included in the reserved region),
Uchida and Lee et al. are analogous art because Uchida teach data transfer to a non-volatile memory and Lee et al. teach a storage device for interfacing with a host.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Uchida and Lee et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of Uchida with the teachings of Lee et al. because using the reserved field of the frame header to include channel-associated information would enable the buffer address to be included in the ready-to-transfer frame. The combination would provide the location the data buffer in which write unit data has been stored.
Uchida and Lee et al. do not appear to explicitly teach the frame trailer comprises “wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information.” However, Sela et al. disclose:
wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0062] the transaction specific payload 566 of the UPIU for Data Out Transfer Message 534 (Data Out UPIU) and for Data In Transfer Message 536 (Data In UPIU). The payload includes a Data Transfer Count and Data. The Data Transfer Count indicate the number of bytes being transferred. This value is the number of bytes that are contained within the Data Segment of the UPIU).
Uchida, Lee et al., Sela et al. are analogous art because Uchida teach data transfer to a non-volatile memory; Lee et al. teach a storage device for interfacing with a host; and Sela et al. teach a hybrid command for interacting with a non-volatile memory device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Uchida, Lee et al., and Sela et al. before him/her, to modify the combined teachings of Uchida and Lee et al. with the teachings of Sela et al. because including a frame trailer that includes the first target data and the first channel-associated information would indicate the number of bytes that are contained in the accompanying data segment.
Regarding claim 11, Uchida does not appear to explicitly teach while Lee et al. disclose:
The method of claim 8, wherein the first ready-to-transfer frame comprises a frame header (FIG. 13 RRT UPIU_1 Header H), wherein the frame header comprises a reserved field wherein the reserved field comprises the channel-associated control information ([0108] Referring to FIG. 13, the header region H of the RTT UPIU_1 may include a reserved region. A buffer address indicating a location of a data buffer in which write unit data has been stored may be included in at least part of the reserved region. The information CWA indicating that the buffer address is included and the information CWA_LENGTH indicating the size of a region, in which the buffer address is stored, may also be included in the reserved region),
The motivation for combining is based on the same rationale presented for rejection of claim 4.
Uchida and Lee et al. do not appear to explicitly teach the frame trailer comprises “wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information.” However, Sela et al. disclose:
wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0062] the transaction specific payload 566 of the UPIU for Data Out Transfer Message 534 (Data Out UPIU) and for Data In Transfer Message 536 (Data In UPIU). The payload includes a Data Transfer Count and Data. The Data Transfer Count indicate the number of bytes being transferred. This value is the number of bytes that are contained within the Data Segment of the UPIU).
The motivation for combining is based on the same rationale presented for rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Uchida further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first ready-to- transfer frame comprises a frame header (FIG. 13 RRT UPIU_1 Header H), wherein the frame header comprises a reserved field wherein the reserved field comprises the channel-associated control information ([0108] Referring to FIG. 13, the header region H of the RTT UPIU_1 may include a reserved region. A buffer address indicating a location of a data buffer in which write unit data has been stored may be included in at least part of the reserved region. The information CWA indicating that the buffer address is included and the information CWA_LENGTH indicating the size of a region, in which the buffer address is stored, may also be included in the reserved region),
The motivation for combining is based on the same rationale presented for rejection of claim 4.
Uchida and Lee et al. do not appear to explicitly teach the frame trailer comprises “wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information.” However, Sela et al. disclose:
wherein the first data frame further comprises a frame trailer, and wherein the frame trailer comprises the first target data and the first channel-associated information ([0062] the transaction specific payload 566 of the UPIU for Data Out Transfer Message 534 (Data Out UPIU) and for Data In Transfer Message 536 (Data In UPIU). The payload includes a Data Transfer Count and Data. The Data Transfer Count indicate the number of bytes being transferred. This value is the number of bytes that are contained within the Data Segment of the UPIU).
The motivation for combining is based on the same rationale presented for rejection of claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While one or more reasons are offered below citing reasons that the claims are allowable over the prior art, it is each claim taken as a whole, including interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements, which are allowable over the prior art of record and not any individual limitation of a claim. The prior art of ..., when taken alone or in combination with each other, fail to anticipate and/or make obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not disclose the following limitations, as claimed, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
“The method of claim 4, wherein a length of the reserved field is two bytes.”
Regarding claim 12, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not disclose the following limitations, as claimed, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
“The method of claim 11, wherein a length of the reserved field is two bytes.”
Regarding claim 19, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not disclose the following limitations, as claimed, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
“The apparatus of claim 18, wherein a length of the reserved field is two bytes.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because they disclose transferring data between a host and a device:
Hamo et al. (US 2024/0094948)
Matsuura (US 2022/0291994)
Kang et al. (US 2022/0147254)
Yun et al. (US 2011/0276725)
Gyllenskog (US 2022/0342572)
/TRACY A WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137