DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 of U.S. Application No. 19/305,012 filed on 08/20/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isami et al. (US20220041070A1) in view of Oh et al. (US20220089035A1), hereinafter referred to as Isami and Oh035 respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Isami discloses a vehicle control system to be applied to a vehicle including an electric motor as a drive source, the vehicle control system comprising one or more processors configured to execute a virtual mobility simulation process of simulating virtual mobility in the vehicle(“Here, in the torque control of the electric motor 2, the ECU 50 performs a calculation assuming that a traveling condition of the electric vehicle 10 is realized by a virtual engine, and a virtual MT vehicle mounted with a virtual transmission and a virtual clutch mechanism. … Then, the ECU 50 calculates a transmission output torque Tgout output from the virtual transmission, and uses the calculated transmission output torque Tgout as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” [0053])
Examiner’s Note: Isami discloses a vehicle control system for an electric motor vehicle that executes a virtual mobility simulation process. The ECU uses a virtual engine/transmission/clutch model to calculate parameters and control the actual electric motor torque based on the virtual model. This teaches the claimed vehicle control system and virtual mobility simulation process.
wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in a sensation amplification mode: acquire an operation input value corresponding to a driving operation by a driver of the vehicle (“The electric vehicle 10 includes an accelerator pedal 22 for inputting an acceleration request and a brake pedal 24 for inputting a braking request as an operation request input device for inputting an operation request to the electric vehicle 10 by a driver. The accelerator pedal 22 is provided with an accelerator position sensor 32 for detecting an accelerator opening Pap (%). Further, the brake pedal 24 is provided with a brake position sensor 34 for detecting the pedal depression amount. Each of signals detected by the accelerator position sensor 32 and the brake position sensor 34 is output to the ECU 50 to be described later.” [0044]).
calculate an amplified vehicle parameter for the virtual mobility simulation process by inputting the amplified operation input value to a model of the virtual mobility (“The virtual engine speed Ne is the rotational speed of the virtual engine when it is assumed that the torque transmitted from the electric motor 2 to the driving wheels 8 is the torque transmitted from the virtual engine through the virtual clutch mechanism and the virtual transmission. While the electric vehicle 10 is traveling, the ECU 50 dynamically calculates the virtual engine speed Ne based on a driving condition. For example, the ECU 50 performs inverse calculation of the virtual engine speed Ne during traveling from the following equation (1) using a shaft rotational speed “Np” of the propeller shaft 5, a gear ratio “r” corresponding to the shift position Gp, and a slip ratio “slip” of the virtual clutch mechanism calculated from the clutch pedal depression amount Pc or the like.Ne = Np × (1/r) × slip (1)” [0055]).
Examiner’s Note: Isami teaches inputting driver operation values (including accelerator and virtual clutch/gear inputs) into a virtual mobility model to calculate amplified or modified vehicle parameters (e.g., virtual engine speed Ne and transmission output torque). This supports calculating an amplified vehicle parameter by feeding the (amplified) operation input into the virtual model.
and execute the virtual mobility simulation process based on the amplified vehicle parameter (“Here, in the torque control of the electric motor 2, the ECU 50 performs a calculation assuming that a traveling condition of the electric vehicle 10 is realized by a virtual engine, and a virtual MT vehicle mounted with a virtual transmission and a virtual clutch mechanism. … Then, the ECU 50 calculates a transmission output torque Tgout output from the virtual transmission, and uses the calculated transmission output torque Tgout as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” See at least [0053]).
Examiner’s Note: Isami teaches executing the virtual mobility simulation by using the parameters calculated from the virtual model (including amplified/modified torque values) to control the electric motor and produce the simulated driving characteristics. This supports executing the simulation process based on the amplified vehicle parameter.
Isami does not explicitly teach set an amplified operation input value based on the operation input value, the amplified operation input value being larger than the operation input value;
However, Oh035 does teach set an amplified operation input value based on the operation input value, the amplified operation input value being larger than the operation input value (“the virtual engine speed becomes an input speed of a virtual transmission if the virtual internal combustion engine model including a virtual engine and the virtual transmission is to be used. The virtual engine speed may be calculated by a variable multiple value of the actual driving system speed detected by the speed detecting unit, where the driving system speed may be the motor speed. At this time, to calculate the virtual engine speed, a value of the coefficient multiplied by the motor speed may be a value determined by the virtual transmission, a gear ratio model, and a virtual current shift stage.” [0046] and “Here, the basic motor torque instruction may be replaced with the accelerator pedal input value (APS value) detected by the accelerator pedal detecting unit, and as the accelerator pedal input value decreases, the vibration magnitude (amplitude) of the vibration torque instruction before the correction may be determined as a smaller value.” [0083] and “Further, according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the vibration frequency (or cycle) of the vibration torque instruction before the correction may be obtained by the driving system speed or the virtual engine speed. At this time, as the driving system speed or the virtual engine speed increases, the vibration frequency may be determined as a larger value.” [0083]).
Both Isami and Oh035 teach methods for simulating virtual mobility in a vehicle. However, Oh035 explicitly teaches set an amplified operation input value based on the operation input value, the amplified operation input value being larger than the operation input value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the simulation method of Isami to also include set an amplified operation input value based on the operation input value, the amplified operation input value being larger than the operation input value, as taught by Oh035, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves simulating mobility operations in electric vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, See at least [Oh035, 0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Isami discloses The vehicle control system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, in a normal simulation mode: calculate a vehicle parameter for the virtual mobility simulation process by inputting the operation input value to the model of the virtual mobility; and execute the virtual mobility simulation process based on the vehicle parameter (“The electric vehicle 10 may be configured to be switchable between an MT travel mode that performs traveling with a pseudo manual gear change operation and an EV travel mode that performs general EV traveling without a pseudo manual gear change operation.” [0078]).
Examiner’s Note: Isami discloses a normal simulation mode (EV travel mode) in which the system uses the original operation input directly with the virtual model (or standard EV control) without the special simulation overrides or amplification. This teaches the normal simulation mode that uses the unamplified operation input value to calculate and execute the simulation process.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isami in view of Oh035, and further in view of Draganic (US20150199955A1), hereinafter referred to as Isami, Oh035 and Draganic respectively.
Regarding claim 2,
Isami in view of Oh035 does not explicitly teach wherein: the virtual mobility simulation process includes a second simulation process of providing a user of the vehicle with driving environment information including at least one of sound and state information of the virtual mobility.
the amplified vehicle parameter includes a second amplified vehicle parameter for the second simulation process; and the one or more processors are configured to, in the sensation amplification mode, generate the driving environment information corresponding to the second amplified vehicle parameter.
However, Draganic does teach wherein: the virtual mobility simulation process includes a second simulation process of providing a user of the vehicle with driving environment information including at least one of sound and state information of the virtual mobility (“method can be used to simulate the sound and feel of a fuel vehicle engine accelerating, which can include engine sounds, transmission sounds, exhaust sounds, or any other acceleration sounds of a fuel vehicle. This can provide a cognitive satisfaction to drive the electric vehicle that simulates the sound and/or feel of the fuel vehicle during acceleration. This can be beneficial to drives that learned or are/were used to traditional fuel engine vehicles. During the acceleration phase, the system and method can obtain data related to the acceleration and rate of acceleration from the sensors, so that the acceleration data can be processed by the computing system in order to identify simulated acceleration sound and/or feel to be provided to the driver and passengers.” [0021]).
Examiner’s Note: Draganic discloses a second simulation process that provides the user with driving environment information in the form of sound (synthetic engine, transmission, and exhaust noises) that corresponds to the virtual/traditional driving conditions. This teaches the second simulation process for sound and state information of the virtual mobility.
the amplified vehicle parameter includes a second amplified vehicle parameter for the second simulation process; and the one or more processors are configured to, in the sensation amplification mode, generate the driving environment information corresponding to the second amplified vehicle parameter (“The system and method can pitch shift the audio according of an actual fuel engine vehicle to simulated fuel engine RPM to the electric vehicle. The system and method can obtain driving data from the sensors so that the driving style can be analyzed and a corresponding traditional driving experience simulation can be output. For example, the sensors can include GPS for speed, and an accelerometer for cornering and acceleration. ” See at least [0031]).
Examiner’s Note: Draganic teaches generating the driving environment information (sound) using parameters derived from the processed/amplified operation input (via pitch-shifting and mapping to virtual RPM). This supports using a second amplified vehicle parameter to generate the sound and state information in the sensation amplification mode.
Both Isami in view of Oh035 and Draganic teach methods for simulating virtual mobility in a vehicle. However, Draganic explicitly teaches wherein: the virtual mobility simulation process includes a second simulation process of providing a user of the vehicle with driving environment information including at least one of sound and state information of the virtual mobility; the amplified vehicle parameter includes a second amplified vehicle parameter for the second simulation process; and the one or more processors are configured to, in the sensation amplification mode, generate the driving environment information corresponding to the second amplified vehicle parameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the simulation method of Isami in view of Oh035 to also include wherein: the virtual mobility simulation process includes a second simulation process of providing a user of the vehicle with driving environment information including at least one of sound and state information of the virtual mobility; the amplified vehicle parameter includes a second amplified vehicle parameter for the second simulation process; and the one or more processors are configured to, in the sensation amplification mode, generate the driving environment information corresponding to the second amplified vehicle parameter, as taught by Draganic, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves simulating mobility operations in electric vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, See at least [Draganic, 0021 and 0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Isami discloses The vehicle control system according to claim 2, wherein: the virtual mobility simulation process further includes a first simulation process of controlling the electric motor so as to simulate a driving characteristic of the virtual mobility (“Here, in the torque control of the electric motor 2, the ECU 50 performs a calculation assuming that a traveling condition of the electric vehicle 10 is realized by a virtual engine, and a virtual MT vehicle mounted with a virtual transmission and a virtual clutch mechanism. … Then, the ECU 50 calculates a transmission output torque Tgout output from the virtual transmission, and uses the calculated transmission output torque Tgout as the required electric motor driving torque Tpreq.” See at least [0053]);
Examiner’s Note: Isami discloses a first simulation process in which the electric motor is controlled using parameters from the virtual mobility model to simulate the driving characteristics (torque output) of the virtual MT vehicle. This teaches the first simulation process for controlling the electric motor.
the amplified vehicle parameter includes a first amplified vehicle parameter for the first simulation process; and the one or more processors are configured to, in the sensation amplification mode, simulate the driving characteristic of the virtual mobility in accordance with a first suppressed vehicle parameter that is smaller than the first amplified vehicle parameter (“The torque transmission gain k is a gain for calculating a torque transmission degree corresponding to the virtual clutch mechanism depression amount of the virtual engine. … As shown in FIG. 4, the torque transmission gain k is specified so that the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 1 in the range from pc0 to pc1, and gradually decreases toward 0 as the clutch pedal depression amount Pc increases in the range from Pc1 to Pc2 and the clutch pedal depression amount Pc becomes 0 in the range from Pc2 to Pc3.” See at least [0059])
“In the clutch output torque calculation unit 506, the clutch output torque Tcout is calculated using the following equation (2) in which the virtual engine output torque Teout is multiplied by the torque transmission gain k. … Tcout = Teout × k (2)” See at least [0061]).
Examiner’s Note: Isami teaches calculating a suppressed vehicle parameter (Tcout = Teout × k, where k is reduced toward 0) that is smaller than the full virtual engine output torque (the amplified parameter) and using the suppressed value to control the actual electric motor. This teaches using a first suppressed vehicle parameter (smaller than the first amplified vehicle parameter) for the first simulation process of motor control.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isami in view of Oh035, and further in view of Oh et al. (US 20210387531 A1), hereinafter referred to as Isami, Oh035 and Oh531 respectively.
Regarding claim 4,
Isami does not explicitly teach wherein: a predetermined upper limit value is set for the operation input value;
set the amplified operation input value to the predetermined upper limit value.
However, Oh035 does teach wherein: a predetermined upper limit value is set for the operation input value (“setting the backlash occurring area to a torque range having a predetermined negative (−) torque value as a minimum value and a predetermined positive (+) torque value as a maximum value.”[CLM 6]);
set the amplified operation input value to the predetermined upper limit value (“the torque value Tbls*of the backlash occurring area closest to the current value of the Tbase may be one of two boundary values (lower limit value and upper limit value) of the backlash occurring area, and means the torque value of the backlash occurring area in which the difference with the current value of the Tbase is the minimum. That is, when the basic motor torque instruction value is a positive value larger than the backlash occurring area (driving torque instruction value), the value of the Tbls* becomes the maximum value (upper limit value) (Tbls,high) of the torque values of the backlash occurring area.” [0090]).
Both Isami and Oh035 teach methods for simulating virtual mobility in a vehicle. However, Oh035 explicitly teaches wherein: a predetermined upper limit value is set for the operation input value; set the amplified operation input value to the predetermined upper limit value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the simulation method of Isami to also include wherein: a predetermined upper limit value is set for the operation input value; set the amplified operation input value to the predetermined upper limit value, as taught by Oh035, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves simulating mobility operations in electric vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, See at least [Oh035, 0082, 0090]).
Isami in view of Oh035 does not explicitly teach wherein: a predetermined upper limit value is set for the operation input value;
set the amplified operation input value to the predetermined upper limit value.
However, Oh531 does teach the one or more processors are further configured to calculate the amplified operation input value by multiplying the operation input value by a coefficient that is larger than 1, and when a value obtained by multiplying the operation input value by the coefficient exceeds the predetermined upper limit value (“the virtual vehicle speed SpdVir is multiplied by a scale factor greater than 1, the virtual vehicle speed for downshift SpdVirDn may be determined as a value obtained by adding a positive offset value to the above multiplied value.”[0062] and “the target input speed based on virtual target gear shift stage OmegaTar may be obtained using the virtual vehicle speed SpdVir and the virtual gear ratio rGi of the virtual target gear shift stage TarGe when the target gear shift stage is changed.” [0084]). Both Isami in view of Oh035 and Oh531 teach methods for simulating virtual mobility in a vehicle. However, Oh531 explicitly teaches the one or more processors are further configured to calculate the amplified operation input value by multiplying the operation input value by a coefficient that is larger than 1, and when a value obtained by multiplying the operation input value by the coefficient exceeds the predetermined upper limit value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the simulation method of Isami in view of Oh035 to also include the one or more processors are further configured to calculate the amplified operation input value by multiplying the operation input value by a coefficient that is larger than 1, and when a value obtained by multiplying the operation input value by the coefficient exceeds the predetermined upper limit value, as taught by Oh531, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves simulating mobility operations in electric vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, See at least [Oh531, 0062, 0084]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668