In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-23 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
The application has claimed priority based on U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/690886 filed on September 5, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 20, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-16, 18, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363 in view of Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132.
Consider claim 1, Gotoh teaches a method comprising: at a head mounted device (see Gotoh figure 1, element 10 and paragraph 0073; figure 5, element 30 and paragraphs 0123-0124) (HMD) having a processor (see Gotoh figure 9, element 121 data processing unit) and one or more sensors (see Gotoh figure 9, element 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115): obtaining first sensor data from the one or more sensors in a physical environment (see Gotoh figure 16, element S301);
based on the first sensor data, determining a direction of gravity (see Gotoh figure 16, element S302 and paragraphs 0346-0352 where device posture analysis unit 124 of the data processing unit 120 calculates the gravity direction by using the sensor detection information from a gyro, an acceleration sensor, and the like constituting the motion sensor 113)
selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity (implicit see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected);
obtaining second sensor data from the subset (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected); and
determining characteristics of the physical environment based on the second sensor data (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Gotoh does not specify selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity. One of ordinary skill would have found it implicit and obvious because, for example, Gotoh teaches external imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0163 where external imaging camera 111 of the data input unit 110 captures an external image. For example, an image is captured of an outside scene or the like in an environment where the user wearing the HMD is present) and internal imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0164 where internal imaging camera 112 basically is a component unique to the HMD, and captures an image of an area of the eyes of the user for analyzing a line-of-sight direction of the user).
Gotoh does not specifically disclose the arrangement of the external imaging camera, in the interest of compact prosecution, in the same field of endeavor, Stafford teaches a head mounted display having a plurality of cameras mounted on the unit for capturing different field of view including floor, ceiling, walls and other environmental features so as to determine a position and orientation of the HMD with respect to a real-world environment (see Stafford figure 1D, element 108, figure 12 and paragraphs 0062, 0137, 0140, 0179-0186 specifically for example paragraphs 0137, 0140 where cameras to capture a field of view towards the floor and different cameras to capture a field of view toward the ceiling and paragraph 0180 where for example camera 1202A has a FOV 1208A that faces to the right of the user 106 and the camera 1202B has an FOV 1208B that faces to the left of the user 106. Comparatively, the FOV 110 faces down towards the floor F.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh to have multiple cameras having different fields of view as disclosed by Stafford so as to use cameras having a field of view of the ground/floor to capture images for generating a three-dimensional map (see Gotoh paragraph 0092-0097, 0171-0176) using an image analysis unit to detect the ground/floor surface using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 2, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the characteristics of the physical environment comprise ground plane characteristics of the ground (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Consider claim 3, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the ground plane characteristics comprise a ground plane location (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Consider claim 4, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the ground plane characteristics comprise a ground plane orientation (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Consider claim 12, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the subset of the one or more sensors comprises a single sensor (see Gotoh figure 9, element 111, Stafford, figure 7A, element 710).
Consider claim 13, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the subset of the one or more sensors comprises a plurality of sensors (see Stafford figure 7C, element 710, 752A, 752B).
Consider claim 14, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises an accelerometer (see Gotoh figure 9, element 113 and paragraph 0160 a motion sensor (gyro, acceleration sensor, or the like) 113).
Consider claim 15, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a gyroscope (see Gotoh figure 9, element 113 and paragraph 0160 a motion sensor (gyro, acceleration sensor, or the like) 113).
Consider claim 16, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a camera (see Gotoh figure 9, element 111, 112).
Consider claim 18, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the second sensor data comprises depth data (see Stafford paragraph 0057 where examples of the camera 108 include a depth camera, and LED camera, an infrared LED camera, and an image capturing device).
Consider claim 22, Gotoh teaches a head mounted device (see Gotoh figure 1, element 10 and paragraph 0073; figure 5, element 30 and paragraphs 0123-0124) (HMD) comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Gotoh paragraph 0038, 0494);
one or more sensors (see Gotoh figure 9, element 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115); and
one or more processors (see Gotoh figure 9, element 121 data processing unit) coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Gotoh paragraph 0038, 0494),
wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform operations (see Gotoh paragraph 0038, 0494) comprising:
obtaining first sensor data from the one or more sensors in a physical environment (see Gotoh figure 16, element S301);
based on the first sensor data, determining a direction of gravity (see Gotoh figure 16, element S302 and paragraphs 0346-0352 where device posture analysis unit 124 of the data processing unit 120 calculates the gravity direction by using the sensor detection information from a gyro, an acceleration sensor, and the like constituting the motion sensor 113);
selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity (implicit see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected);
obtaining second sensor data from the subset (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected); and
determining characteristics of the physical environment based on the second sensor data (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Gotoh does not specify selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity. One of ordinary skill would have found it implicit and obvious because, for example, Gotoh teaches external imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0163 where external imaging camera 111 of the data input unit 110 captures an external image. For example, an image is captured of an outside scene or the like in an environment where the user wearing the HMD is present) and internal imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0164 where internal imaging camera 112 basically is a component unique to the HMD, and captures an image of an area of the eyes of the user for analyzing a line-of-sight direction of the user).
Gotoh does not specifically disclose the arrangement of the external imaging camera, in the interest of compact prosecution, in the same field of endeavor, Stafford teaches a head mounted display having a plurality of cameras mounted on the unit for capturing different field of view including floor, ceiling, walls and other environmental features so as to determine a position and orientation of the HMD with respect to a real-world environment (see Stafford figure 1D, element 108, figure 12 and paragraphs 0062, 0137, 0140, 0179-0186 specifically for example paragraphs 0137, 0140 where cameras to capture a field of view towards the floor and different cameras to capture a field of view toward the ceiling and paragraph 0180 where for example camera 1202A has a FOV 1208A that faces to the right of the user 106 and the camera 1202B has an FOV 1208B that faces to the left of the user 106. Comparatively, the FOV 110 faces down towards the floor F.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh to have multiple cameras having different fields of view as disclosed by Stafford so as to use cameras having a field of view of the ground/floor to capture images for generating a three-dimensional map (see Gotoh paragraph 0092-0097, 0171-0176) using an image analysis unit to detect the ground/floor surface using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 23, Gotoh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing program instructions executable by one or more processors to perform operations (see Gotoh paragraph 0038, 0494); comprising:
at a head mounted device (see Gotoh figure 1, element 10 and paragraph 0073; figure 5, element 30 and paragraphs 0123-0124) (HMD) having a processor (see Gotoh figure 9, element 121 data processing unit) and one or more sensors (see Gotoh figure 9, element 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115):
obtaining first sensor data from the one or more sensors in a physical environment (see Gotoh figure 16, element S301);
based on the first sensor data, determining a direction of gravity (see Gotoh figure 16, element S302 and paragraphs 0346-0352 where device posture analysis unit 124 of the data processing unit 120 calculates the gravity direction by using the sensor detection information from a gyro, an acceleration sensor, and the like constituting the motion sensor 113);
selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity (implicit see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected);
obtaining second sensor data from the subset (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected); and
determining characteristics of the physical environment based on the second sensor data (see Gotoh figure 16, element S303 and paragraphs 0354-0359 where object identification unit 126 detects the horizontal surface area in the three-dimensional map by using the three-dimensional map generated by the three-dimensional map generation unit 122 and gravity direction information input from the device posture analysis unit 124. Specifically, for example, the ground surface, the floor surface, or the like is detected).
Gotoh does not specify selecting a subset of the one or more sensors based on the direction of gravity. One of ordinary skill would have found it implicit and obvious because, for example, Gotoh teaches external imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0163 where external imaging camera 111 of the data input unit 110 captures an external image. For example, an image is captured of an outside scene or the like in an environment where the user wearing the HMD is present) and internal imaging camera (see Gotoh paragraph 0164 where internal imaging camera 112 basically is a component unique to the HMD, and captures an image of an area of the eyes of the user for analyzing a line-of-sight direction of the user).
Gotoh does not specifically disclose the arrangement of the external imaging camera, in the interest of compact prosecution, in the same field of endeavor, Stafford teaches a head mounted display having a plurality of cameras mounted on the unit for capturing different field of view including floor, ceiling, walls and other environmental features so as to determine a position and orientation of the HMD with respect to a real-world environment (see Stafford figure 1D, element 108, figure 12 and paragraphs 0062, 0137, 0140, 0179-0186 specifically for example paragraphs 0137, 0140 where cameras to capture a field of view towards the floor and different cameras to capture a field of view toward the ceiling and paragraph 0180 where for example camera 1202A has a FOV 1208A that faces to the right of the user 106 and the camera 1202B has an FOV 1208B that faces to the left of the user 106. Comparatively, the FOV 110 faces down towards the floor F.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh to have multiple cameras having different fields of view as disclosed by Stafford so as to use cameras having a field of view of the ground/floor to capture images for generating a three-dimensional map (see Gotoh paragraph 0092-0097, 0171-0176) using an image analysis unit to detect the ground/floor surface using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 5-6, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363 and Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132 in view of Holz et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200294311.
Consider claim 5, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Gotoh is silent regarding wherein the ground plane characteristics comprise boundaries between rooms of the physical environment.
In a related field of endeavor, Holz teaches detecting boundaries between rooms of the physical environment and other obstacles so as to facilitate a user safely traversing the physical environment while staying fully-immersed in a virtual environment (see Holtz figure 2, element 230A, 230B and paragraphs 0003, 0025, 0031 where computing device can determine that physical walls of a physical room exists, or that objects completely block a navigable path of the user).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh with the teachings of Holz to detect boundaries between rooms of a physical environment and other obstacles so as to facilitate a user safely traversing the physical environment while staying fully-immersed in a virtual environment using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 6, Gotoh as modified by Stafford and Holz teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the ground plane characteristics comprise obstacles in the physical environment (see Holtz figure 2, element 230A, 230B and paragraphs 0003, 0025, 0031 where computing device can determine that physical walls of a physical room exists, or that objects completely block a navigable path of the user).
Consider claim 19, Gotoh as modified by Stafford and Holz teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: executing an action associated with the characteristics of the physical environment (see Holtz figure 2, element 230A, 230B and paragraphs 0003, 0025, 0031 where computing device can determine that physical walls of a physical room exists, or that objects completely block a navigable path of the user and display a deterrent to guide user along a different path).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363 and Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132 in view of Kemmerer et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220400329.
Consider claim 7, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the subset comprises downward-facing sensors (see Stafford figure 1D, element 108, figure 12 and paragraphs 0062, 0137, 0140, 0179-0186 specifically for example paragraphs 0137, 0140 where cameras to capture a field of view towards the floor and different cameras to capture a field of view toward the ceiling and paragraph 0180 where for example camera 1202A has a FOV 1208A that faces to the right of the user 106 and the camera 1202B has an FOV 1208B that faces to the left of the user 106. Comparatively, the FOV 110 faces down towards the floor F.)
Gotoh is silent regarding selection based on determining that a sensor of the one or more sensors is oriented in an upright position relative to the direction of gravity. In a related field of endeavor, Kemmerer teaches determining when a wearable device is worn based on a head in a normal upright head position causing a steady-state acceleration due to gravity in one direction, which may be called the “vertical” direction, and no acceleration in the two orthogonal directions and when a wearable device is removed the steady state acceleration will not be in the original axis (see Kemmerer paragraph 0063) thereby determining when a wearable device is being worn by a user.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Gotoh to have selected appropriately facing sensors in response to determining that a wearable device is being worn by a user so as to map environmental objects when the device is being used.
Consider claim 8. Gotoh as modified by Stafford and Kemmerer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the subset comprises outward-facing sensors selected based on determining that a sensor of the one or more sensors is oriented in a tilted forward position relative to the direction of gravity (see Stafford figure 1D, element 108, figure 12 and paragraphs 0062, 0137, 0140, 0179-0186 specifically for example paragraphs 0137, 0140 where cameras to capture a field of view towards the floor and different cameras to capture a field of view toward the ceiling and paragraph 0180 where for example camera 1202A has a FOV 1208A that faces to the right of the user 106 and the camera 1202B has an FOV 1208B that faces to the left of the user 106. Comparatively, the FOV 110 faces down towards the floor F. and paragraph 0062 where a lens of the camera 108 has an aperture that receives light that is reflected from the floor. In this example, the aperture does not receive light reflected from any wall of the real-world environment unless the user 106 lifts his/her head up so that the aperture faces the wall. When the user 110 is facing the wall, the aperture of the camera 108 is facing downward towards the floor and so the FOV 110 extends downward towards the floor. And paragraph 0215 where Of course, during HMD use, the user 106 is moving about, turning his head, looking in various directions, as is needed to take advantage of the dynamic interactive scenes rendered by the HMD 104. And Kemmerer paragraph 0063) .
Consider claim 9, Gotoh as modified by Stafford and Kemmerer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the subset comprises specified sensors selected in response to determining that a user is in a horizontal position with respect to a plane (see Stafford figure 1D, element W1, W2 and paragraph 0088 where user position with respect to walls is determined) and a sensor of the one or more sensors is oriented in an alternative position relative to the direction of gravity (see And Kemmerer paragraph 0063 where at least one of the orthogonal axis accelerometers would be in an alternative position relative to the direction of gravity).
Claim(s) 10-11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363, Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132 and Holz et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200294311 in view of Gomez Gonzalez et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210343087 and Petrovskaya et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160148433.
Consider claim 10, Gotoh as modified by Stafford and Holz teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Gotoh is silent regarding wherein the orientation of the sensor is used to restrict a search space associated with a plane with respect to a prediction that an orientation of the plane is parallel to the direction of gravity within a specified margin of error.
In a related field of endeavor, Gomez Gonzalez teaches generating and maintaining spatial information in a format in which an orientation with respect to gravity may be determined so as to accelerate finding correspondence between spatial information (see Gomez Gonzalez paragraph 0090 where For example, a localization service that maintains persistent maps oriented with respect to gravity may receive spatial information from a portable device for which an orientation with respect to gravity may be determined. By constraining the search for a transformation that localizes the spatial information with respect to a persistent map to only those transformations that result in the direction of gravity with respect to the spatial information from the device being aligned with the direction of gravity of the persistent map, the search space may be reduced from six degrees of freedom to four degrees of freedom. With such processing, the time for a localization result to be returned may be reduced to less than 10 seconds.)
Gotoh teaches generating a three dimensional spatial map of the real world so as to perform self-position estimation and environment three dimensional map generation (see Gotoh paragraph 0086, 0092-0100). Holz teaches using environment information to guide a user away from object that block navigable path of a user (see Holz paragraph 0031).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Gotoh with the teachings of Gomez Gonzalez to restrict a search space associated with a plane with respect to a prediction that an orientation of the plane is parallel (wall or object blocking a path) to the direction of gravity
Gotoh/Stafford/Holz/Gomez Gonzalez is silent regarding a specified margin of error. In a related field of endeavor, Petrovskaya teaches different sensor data measurements may include sensor data warping and estimation errors which may be addressed by various computing techniques for limiting and/or capping error values (see Petrovskaya paragraph 0135-0138, 0174, 0194, 0216-0230 specifically for example paragraph 0230 where If a data scan point is too far from any model point, then either (a) the correspondence should not be made at all (this is called outlier filtering described in greater detail herein with respect to the tracking algorithm) or (b) the error value en should be capped as described herein regarding Measurement Models.) so as to minimize computing time and reduce error. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have a specified margin of error so as to reduce computing time and minimize errors using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 11, Gotoh as modified by Stafford, Holz, Gomez Gonzalez and Petrovskaya teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein an orientation of a sensor of the one or more sensors is used to restrict a search space associated with a plane with respect to a prediction that an orientation of the plane is not parallel (flat planar surface such as floor, walking surface or ground) to the direction of gravity (see Gomez Gonzalez paragraph 0090; Gotoh paragraph 0086, 0092-0100; Holz paragraph 0031) within a specified margin of error (see Petrovskaya paragraph 0135-0138, 0174, 0194, 0216-0230 specifically for example paragraph 0230 where If a data scan point is too far from any model point, then either (a) the correspondence should not be made at all (this is called outlier filtering described in greater detail herein with respect to the tracking algorithm) or (b) the error value en should be capped as described herein regarding Measurement Models.).
Consider claim 20, Gotoh as modified by Stafford, Holz, Gomez Gonzalez and Petrovskaya teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: determining an orientation of a first sensor of the one or more sensors with respect to the direction of gravity relative to the first sensor (see Gomez Gonzalez paragraph 0090 where For example, a localization service that maintains persistent maps oriented with respect to gravity may receive spatial information from a portable device for which an orientation with respect to gravity may be determined. By constraining the search for a transformation that localizes the spatial information with respect to a persistent map to only those transformations that result in the direction of gravity with respect to the spatial information from the device being aligned with the direction of gravity of the persistent map, the search space may be reduced from six degrees of freedom to four degrees of freedom. With such processing, the time for a localization result to be returned may be reduced to less than 10 seconds.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363 and Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132 in view of Petrovskaya et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160148433.
Consider claim 17, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Gotoh is silent regarding wherein the second sensor data comprises RGB data.
In a related field of endeavor, Petrovskaya teaches camera-feed display embodiments may assume that the feed being displayed comes from a RGBD camera so as to provide an augmented view device (see Petrovskaya paragraph 0299). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh to have an RGBD camera so as to provide camera-captured image display device of Gotoh’s figure 5 using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotoh et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220270363 and Stafford et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220253132 in view of Thoresen et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200309944 and Marell et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160349044.
Consider claim 21, Gotoh as modified by Stafford teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Gotoh is silent regarding wherein the subset is selected based on predicting that the subset will capture sensor data corresponding to a plane of the physical environment better than one or more of the other sensors not included in the subset.
In a related field of endeavor, Thoresen teaches combining sensor data from different sensors to better estimate depth of objects so as to minimize depth estimation error (see Thoresen paragraph 0042-0043). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gotoh with the teachings of Thoresen to select different sensor data set to better estimate depth of objects so as to minimize depth estimation error.
Thoresen is silent regarding predicting. In a related field of endeavor, Marell teaches using predicted information to determine reliability, accuracy and stability so as to identify suspect measured data (see Marell paragraph 0050). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have used predicted information to select sensor data set based on predicted information so as to determine reliability, accuracy and stability so as to identify suspect measured data using known techniques with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Best et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20250212724 paragraph 0015), Reid, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060095207 (obstacle detection using stereo vision), Yamagishi et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130328928 (obstacle avoidance), Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150355709 (wearable device), Da Veiga et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160027212 (anti-trip when immersed in a virtual reality environment), Burns et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180003982 (ground plane adjustment in a virtual reality environment), Wang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190043259 (depth sensor aided estimation of virtual reality environment boundaries), Watari et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190089946 (head mounted device), Iyer et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200065584 (context aware hazard detection using world facing cameras in virtual, augmented and mixed reality applications),
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625