DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1-7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,417,227. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use similar limitations to produce the same end result of providing the user access to the filtered table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,417,227 to arrive at the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application because one would realize that the remaining elements would perform the same functions as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Dorne et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0173851 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, Dorne teaches:
a computer system comprising: one or more computer readable storage devices configured to store at least a plurality of computer readable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the plurality of computer readable instructions to cause the computer system to perform operations comprising: ingesting a dataset, wherein the dataset comprises a table of rows and columns; (Dorne [0062, 0066, FIG. 2])
parsing at least a column of the table to determine, for each row of the table, a list of permissions markings; (Dorne [0087-0093, FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B])
Dorne teaches [0081] determining permissions based on access permissions functionality. Dorne teaches [0081] that a user may only have permissions to access certain rows of data tables or permissions based on the user’s role.
and in response to a request, from a user, to access the dataset: determining permissions associated with the user; (Dorne [0087, 0101, FIG. 2, FIG. 3])
determining an evaluated policy associated with the user based on the permissions, wherein the evaluated policy comprises a single expression; (Dorne [0101, FIG. 5])
filtering the table based on applying the evaluated policy associated with the user to the permissions markings of each row of the table; (Dorne [0103, 0109, FIG. 5])
Dorne teaches [FIG. 5] generation of queries which filters the table, wherein the table data is generated based on permissions associated with a particular user.
and providing the user access to the filtered table (Dorne [0104, FIG. 5])
As per Claim 2, Dorne teaches:
wherein the filtering further comprises applying one or more filtering rules to the evaluated policy and the permissions markings, and wherein the filtering rules comprise a customizable set of filtering rules (Dorne [0103, 0109, FIG. 5])
As per Claim 3, Dorne teaches:
wherein the single expression comprises one or more logical operators (Dorne [0101, FIG. 5])
As per Claim 5, Dorne teaches:
wherein the lists of permissions markings are determined from unstructured strings of permissions information (Dorne [0087-0093, FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B])
As per Claim 6, Dorne teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the user, a search query; combining the evaluated policy associated with the user with the search query; and filtering the filtered table based on the combined evaluated policy and search query (Dorne [FIG. 5, 0100-0104])
As per Claim 7, Dorne teaches:
providing one or more user interfaces configured to allow user-specification of one or more filtering rules, wherein user-specification of the filtering rules comprises specifying at least one of: a user attribute, a column of a dataset, or a specific value (Dorne [FIG 7A, FIG. 7B, 0114-0115])
Claims 8-10 & 12-14 are the system claims corresponding to claims 1-3 & 5-7 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claims 15-17 & 19-20 are the method claims corresponding to claims 1-3 & 5-6 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorne in view of Elliot et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0359379 A1).
As per Claim 4, Elliot teaches:
wherein the single expression comprises a Boolean expression (Elliot [0035, 0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Elliot into the system of Dorne. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system where access permission may include operations that are specific to the application from which the access request was received (Elliot [0019]).
Claim 11 is the system claim corresponding to claim 4, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claim 18 is the method claim corresponding to claim 4, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 August 22, 2026