DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application, filed 20 August 2025, is a Continuation of U.S. Patent App. No. 18/795,630, filed 06 August 2024, which is a Continuation-in-Part of U.S. Patent App. No. 18/655,609, filed 05 May 2024. Additionally, U.S. Patent App. No. 18/795,630 claims benefit to Provisional U.S. Patent App. No. 63/560,381, filed 01 March 2024, and U.S. Patent App. No. 18/655,609 claims benefit to Provisional U.S. Patent App. No. 63/571,352, filed 28 March 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 October 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23, 25-29, and 35-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12, 13, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12416930. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference Patent anticipate the claims of the present application. See the table below for further details.
Present Application
Reference Patent No. 12416930
21. An autonomous mobile robot comprising:
A plurality of sensors including a plurality of visible light cameras;
A handlebar unit including a handlebar and a force sensor configured to detect a translational force and a rotational force exerted on the handlebar;
A holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit configured to cause the autonomous mobile robot to move along a planar surface; and
A control system configured to:
Transmit a first one or more instructions to the holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit to autonomously navigate a physical environment to execute one or more navigation goals based on sensor data received from the plurality of sensors,
Determine an output force vector by applying a force multiplier to an input force vector including the translational force and the rotational force so that a force of interaction exerted by the handlebar falls below a designated threshold, and
Transmit a second one or more instructions to the holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit to cause the autonomous mobile robot to move translationally and rotationally in a direction corresponding to the output force vector.
1. An autonomous robotic cart comprising:
A chassis including one or more shelves;
A plurality of sensors coupled with the chassis, the plurality of sensors including a plurality of visible light cameras;
A holonomic, omnidirectional, and backdriveable mechanical drive unit coupled with the chassis and being configured to cause the autonomous robotic cart to move along a planar surface;
A handlebar unit coupled with the chassis, the handlebar unit including a handlebar and a force sensor configured to detect a translational force and a rotational force exerted on the handlebar, the handlebar being vertically positioned orthogonal to the planar surface;
A processor configured to:
Transmit one or more instructions to the holonomic, omnidirectional, and backdriveable mechanical drive unit to autonomously navigate a physical environment to execute one or more navigation goals determined based on communication with a remote computing system configured to manage a fleet of robots including the autonomous robotic cart,
Determine an output force vector based on the translational force, the rotational force, sensor data received from a plurality of sensors, and a force multiplier applied to the translational force and the rotational force such that a translational force of interaction and a rotational force of interaction exerted by the handlebar falls below a designated threshold,
Transmit a second one or more instructions to the holonomic, omnidirectional, and backdriveable mechanical drive unit to cause the autonomous robotic cart to move translationally and rotationally in a direction corresponding to the output force vector; and
A communication channel communicatively coupling the processor with the holonomic, omnidirectional, and backdriveable mechanical drive unit, the plurality of visible light cameras, and the force sensor.
22. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, wherein the holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit includes two powered bidirectional wheels coupled with a turntable rotating about an axis.
12. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein the holonomic, omnidirectional, and backdriveable mechanical drive unit includes two powered bidirectional wheels coupled with a turntable rotating about an axis.
23. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 22, wherein an unpowered freely rotating caster wheel is coupled with the turntable.
13. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 12, wherein an unpowered freely rotating caster wheel is coupled with the turntable.
25. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, wherein the force sensor detects the translational force and the rotational force based on a potential difference across an electrical conductor that is transverse to an electric current in the electrical conductor and to an applied magnetic field perpendicular to the electric current.
9. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein the force sensor detects the translational force and the rotational force based on a potential difference across an electrical conductor that is transverse to an electric current in the electrical conductor and to an applied magnetic field perpendicular to the electric current.
26. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, further comprising:
A chassis including one or more vertical support elements supporting one or more shelves, the handlebar being incorporated into a vertical support element of the one or more vertical support elements.
1. … a chassis including one or more shelves…
6. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein the shelves are positioned in two or more layers, and wherein the chassis includes one or more vertical support elements supporting the layers, and wherein the handlebar is incorporated into a vertical support element of the one or more vertical support elements.
27. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, wherein the control system is further configured to update a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on an obstacle avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with an obstacle represented in the scene graph.
2. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to update a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on an obstacle avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous robotic cart from a designated direction corresponding with an obstacle represented in the scene graph.
28. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 27, wherein the obstacle avoidance vector has a magnitude that increases in inverse proximity of the autonomous mobile robot with the obstacle.
3. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 2, wherein the obstacle avoidance vector has a magnitude that increases in inverse proximity of the autonomous robotic cart with the obstacle.
29. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 27, wherein the one or more navigation goals are determined based on communication with a remote computing system, and wherein the control system is further configured to update the scene graph based at least in part on communication with the remote computing system.
1. … determined based on communication with a remote computing system configured to manage a fleet of robots including the autonomous robotic cart,…
4. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to update the scene graph based at least in part on the communication with the remote computing system.
35. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, wherein the control system is further configured to detect a human within the physical environment based on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on a human avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with the human.
5. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to detect a human within the physical environment based on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on a human avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous robotic cart from a designated direction corresponding with the human.
36. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, wherein autonomously navigating the physical environment involves moving along a nominal trajectory that includes one or more waypoints while avoiding objects encountered along the nominal trajectory.
16. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 1, wherein autonomously navigating the physical environment involves moving along a nominal trajectory that includes one or more waypoints while avoiding objects encountered along the nominal trajectory.
37. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 36, wherein the objects include one or more humans moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to identify the one or more humans as humans based on the sensor data.
7. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 6, wherein the objects include one or more humans moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous robotic cart is configured to identify the one or more humans as humans based on sensor data received from the plurality of sensors.
38. The autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 36, wherein the objects include one or more autonomous mobile robots moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to avoid the autonomous mobile robots based at least in part on location information received from a remote computing system.
8. The autonomous robotic cart recited in claim 6, wherein the objects include one or more autonomous mobile robots moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to avoid the autonomous mobile robots based at least in part on location information received from the remote computing system.
Further, although not specifically indicated in the table above, claims 39 and 40 of the present application are commensurate in scope with claim 21, and are thus similarly rejected over claims 1, 17, and 18 of the reference Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25, 30, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210011484 A1), hereafter Park, in view of Keivan (US 20190179329 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses an autonomous mobile robot comprising:
A plurality of sensors including a plurality of visible light cameras (0185-0186, The robot 100 can acquire at least one of internal information of the robot 100, information on surrounding environment of the robot 100, and user information using various types of sensors. Examples of the sensors included in the c-robot 100 include a proximity sensor, an illuminance sensor, an acceleration sensor, a magnetic sensor, a gyro sensor, an inertia sensor, an RGB sensor, an IR sensor, a fingerprint recognition sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an optical sensor, a microphone, a LADAR sensor, an obstacle sensor 220, a camera sensor 260, and a radar.);
A handlebar unit including a handlebar and a force sensor configured to detect a translational force and a rotational force exerted on the handlebar (0040, The handle assembly 120 is disposed on one surface of the robot and senses, when the user applies the force during controlling of the robot 100, the force applied by the user. The control module 150 controls the movement of the robot 100. The control module 150 determines a direction, speed, and the like of movement of the robot and moves a moving part 190, based on the force sensed by the handle assembly 120. Accordingly, the user can push the robot 100 forward and rearward or can change the direction of the robot 100 using the handle assembly 120. The control module 150 controls the movement of the robot 100.);
A mechanical drive unit configured to cause the autonomous mobile robot to move along a planar surface (0039-0040, A robot 100 includes a receiving portion (storage portion) 110, a handle assembly 120, a control module 150, and moving parts 190a and 190b (e.g., wheels). The object is stored or loaded, by the user, in the receiving portion 110. The handle assembly 120 enables a user to manually control the movement of the robot 100 or to semi-automatically control the movement of the robot 100. The embodiments of the present disclosure, the robot can comprise a cart. The embodiments of the present disclosure, the robot can be combined with a cart. The embodiments of the present disclosure, the cart can move automatically or semi-automatically, and it can be implemented as a robot. The handle assembly 120 is disposed on one surface of the robot and senses, when the user applies the force during controlling of the robot 100, the force applied by the user. The control module 150 controls the movement of the robot 100. The control module 150 determines a direction, speed, and the like of movement of the robot and moves a moving part 190, based on the force sensed by the handle assembly 120. Accordingly, the user can push the robot 100 forward and rearward or can change the direction of the robot 100 using the handle assembly 120. The control module 150 controls the movement of the robot 100.); and
A control system (0041, The control module 150 controls the autonomous travelling of the robot 100 to follow the user, using a transmission module 500, in the autonomous mode. Further, the control module 150 assists the user in pushing or pulling the robot with a less magnitude of force in the power assist mode to control semi-autonomous travelling (the power assist) in which the robot travels.) configured to:
Transmit a first one or more instructions to the mechanical drive unit to autonomously navigate a physical environment to execute one or more navigation goals based on sensor data received from the plurality of sensors (0041, The control module 150 controls the autonomous travelling of the robot 100 to follow the user, using a transmission module 500, in the autonomous mode. Further, the control module 150 assists the user in pushing or pulling the robot with a less magnitude of force in the power assist mode to control semi-autonomous travelling (the power assist) in which the robot travels. 0046-0047, Further, a positioning sensor 210 that tracks a position of a user to follow a user can be disposed in various areas of the robot 100. The positioning sensor 210 can detect the transmission module 500 that outputs a specific signal. That is, the robot 100 can be remotely placed and can identify a predetermined position of the transmission module 500 carried by the user and can move while following the user. The robot 100 can optionally perform a function for identifying the position of the user and following the user.),
Determine an output force vector by applying a force multiplier to an input force vector including the translational force and the rotational force so that a force of interaction exerted by the handlebar falls below a designated threshold (0042, Therefore, when the user applies the force to the handle assembly 120 to control the robot, a force sensor 240 senses the force applied to the handle assembly 120. The force sensor 240 can sense a magnitude of force applied to the handle assembly 120 or changes in the forces in a time of unit. The force sensor 240 is disposed in the handle assembly 120. A controller 250 of the control module 150 determines a magnitude, a direction of the force, and an increasing speed of the force sensed by the force sensor 240. That is, the force sensor 240 is physically disposed in the handle assembly 120 and logically interacts with the controller 250 of the control module 150.), and
Transmit a second one or more instructions to the mechanical drive unit to cause the autonomous mobile robot to move translationally and rotationally in a direction corresponding to the output force vector (0068, Further, the controller 250 controls the moving direction or the moving speed of the moving part based on the change or magnitude of a force sensed by the force sensor 240. Alternatively, the controller 250 can control the moving part 190 such that a lot of magnitude of electric energy is supplied to a motor of the moving part to control the moving speed of the moving part.).
Park fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein the mechanical drive system is holonomic and backdriveable.
Keivan, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the mechanical drive system is holonomic and backdriveable (0047, FIG. 1D shows an exploded view of a drive train unit 104. The drive train unit includes a steer motor 122 that turns a wheel mounted on a vertical axis. It also includes an encoder block that can measure the number of rotations of an axis coupled to steer motor in order to provide an indication of how far the cart has moved and how fast it is moving or has moved. A load cell 126 mounted in or on the drive train unit measures force exerted on the cart as explained in greater detail below. The load cell 126 can be located next to the encoder within a single block of aluminium, on the opposite side of the steering motor, on the output shaft, or in any other suitable position. The drive train unit 104 may include a brake (not shown) to slow the cart or keep it from moving. The drive train unit may also turn the wheel slightly inward, much like snowplowing when skiing, to slow or stop the cart or to keep it stopped. Turning the wheels slightly inward is relatively easy to control and very effective, even on an incline. Each wheel includes a drive train unit and a steering motor and can drive and turn independently, enabling holonomic motion of the autonomous cart.).
Park and Keivan are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the holonomic and backdriveable drive unit of Keivan in order to increase the maneuverability of the robotic system. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic system is able to be guided as effectively as possible.
Claims 39 and 40 are similar in scope to claim 21, and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, and Park further teaches wherein the force sensor detects the translational force and the rotational force based on a potential difference across an electrical conductor that is transverse to an electric current in the electrical conductor and to an applied magnetic field perpendicular to the electric current (0051, The force sensor 240 includes various types of sensors, for example, a hall sensor, a magnetic-type sensor, and a button-type sensor.).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, and Park further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to determine a functional input force vector providing haptic feedback, wherein the output force vector incorporates the functional input force vector (0087, As shown in Table 1, when the magnitude of the force of the user in the H-Power group is double from 5 to 10, speed of movement of the robot is doubled from 10 cm/sec to 20 cm/sec without electric energy. In power-assist mode, the controller 250 can control mapping of the force and speed of movement of the robot based on a set point of the H-Power group, when the magnitude of the force of the user in the H-Power group is 5 o 10 in the power assist mode. As a result, when sensed magnitude of the force is 5, speed of movement of the robot is mapped as 30 cm/sec while when sensed magnitude of the force is 10, the speed of the movement of the robot is mapped as 50 cm/sec. Mapping can be adjusted in various manners in power-assist mode with respect to the force applied to the robot, and a speed or direction of movement of the robot.).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan, and further in view of Canuto Gil (US 20220194763 A1), hereafter Canuto.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit includes two powered bidirectional wheels coupled with a turntable rotating about an axis.
Canuto, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the holonomic and backdriveable mechanical drive unit includes two powered bidirectional wheels coupled with a turntable rotating about an axis (0100, The first drive assembly 10 includes a first drive motor 11 connected by means of a transmission belt 15 with a first gearbox 13 which is in turn connected to a first drive wheel 11. 0106, The second drive assembly 20 includes a second drive wheel 21, a second gearbox 23 connected to a second motor 22 through a second belt 24, with the construction of the second drive assembly 20 being identical to that of the first drive assembly 10, and with the second drive wheel 21 also being concentric with the mentioned horizontal geometric axis EH, the first drive assembly 10 and the second drive assembly 20 facing one another. 0127, As mentioned above, according to an additional embodiment shown in FIGS. 3 and 5, the transport platform 60 is a rotary transport platform. This allows, at the same time the autonomous omnidirectional drive unit causes rotation, the rotary transport platform 60 to constantly correct its relative angular position with respect to the rest of the autonomous omnidirectional drive unit in order to counter said rotation and remain in the same orientation, thereby obtaining lateral translation of the transport platform 60 without any change to its orientation, and therefore allowing goods supported on said transport platform 60 to be moved by means of lateral translation without rotation, even when the autonomous omnidirectional drive unit must perform complex rotation maneuvers. Said relative rotation between the transport platform 60 and the rest of the drive unit is achieved with the actuation of a rotary motor 62.).
Park, Keivan, and Canuto are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the powered wheels and turntable of Canuto in order to provide a means of more effectively navigating the robotic system in the environment. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the drive system is able to orient itself properly in space.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Canuto teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 22, and Canuto further teaches wherein an unpowered freely rotating caster wheel is coupled with the turntable (0132, The aforementioned caster wheels 50 will be placed in the rear third 43 of the chassis 40, providing stability to the autonomous omnidirectional drive unit as a result of the distance existing between said caster wheels 50 and the first and second drive wheels 11, 21.).
Park, Keivan, and Canuto are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included caster wheels of Canuto in order to provide a means of increasing the stability and maneuverability of the robotic system. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic system remains stable and maneuverable in the environment.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan and Canuto, and further in view of Alfaro (US 20180072212 A1), hereafter Alfaro.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Canuto teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 22, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes four payload support elements in addition to the two powered bidirectional wheels, the four payload support elements being arranged so as to contact the planar surface when the autonomous mobile robot moves along the planar surface.
Alfaro, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes four payload support elements in addition to the two powered bidirectional wheels, the four payload support elements being arranged so as to contact the planar surface when the autonomous mobile robot moves along the planar surface (0036, To support the loads carried by the AGV 10 and the frame structure 12 of the AGV itself, freely rotating support members may be attached at peripheral portions of the base frame structure 12. The freely rotating support members may be support wheel assemblies, such as shown with four casters 18a, 18b, 18c, 18d attached at the corner portions of the base frame structure 12. The casters are configured to movably support the base frame structure 12 away from a ground surface and generally support the weight of the AGV 10 and any loaded material or item or the like.).
Park, Keivan, Canuto, and Alfaro are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the four payload elements of Alfaro in order to provide further means of stabilizing the payload. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the payload remains stable during movement.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan, and further in view of Goldberg (US 20060232032 A1), hereafter Goldberg.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to teach it further comprising:
A chassis including one or more vertical support elements supporting one or more shelves, the handlebar being incorporated into a vertical support element of the one or more vertical support elements.
Goldberg, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach a chassis including one or more vertical support elements supporting one or more shelves, the handlebar being incorporated into a vertical support element of the one or more vertical support elements (0022, FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a knockdown construction utility cart 100. The utility cart 100 includes a top shelf 102, a middle shelf 104, a bottom shelf 106, vertical posts 132 (a, b, c, d), handle 108, and wheels 110 (a, b, c, d). The shelves 102, 104, and 106 are attached to vertical posts 132 (a, b, c, d) (post 132d is not show in FIG. 1) using bolts (screws, clips, adhesives or any other attachment methods) 120. The handle 108 is attached to posts 132a and 132b. The wheels 110 (a, b, c, d) are attached to an underside of the bottom panel 106 (wheel 110d is not shown in FIG. 1).).
Park, Keivan, and Goldberg are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the vertical supports of Goldberg in order to increase the stability of the transportation system. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the transportation system remains stable throughout use.
Claims 27-29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan, and further in view of Weaver (US 20200189120 A1), hereafter Weaver.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system is further configured to update a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on an obstacle avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with an obstacle represented in the scene graph.
Weaver, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the control system is further configured to update a scene graph representing the physical environment based at least in part on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on an obstacle avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with an obstacle represented in the scene graph (0046, As depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 monitors the position of objects in the surrounding environment relative to the robotic system 100, shared payload, and the human collaborator based on feedback from proximity sensors 105A-D, image capture devices 108, or a combination thereof. In the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 compares the measured position of object 125 relative to two virtual boundaries 135 and 140 maintained around robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 135 is considered a “hard” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should not navigate to any position that would allow an object in the surrounding environment to penetrate virtual boundary 135. Virtual boundary 140 is considered a “soft” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should navigate to a position that reduces the penetration of an object in the surrounding environment within virtual boundary 140. Virtual boundaries 135 and 140 are defined by predetermined threshold distance values from robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 140 is defined by a larger set of predetermined threshold distance values than virtual boundary 135.).
Park, Keivan, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the obstacle avoidance vector of Weaver in order to provide further means of ensuring that the robotic system does not contact an obstacle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic system does not run into object in the environment.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Weaver teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 27, and Weaver further teaches wherein the obstacle avoidance vector has a magnitude that increases in inverse proximity of the autonomous mobile robot with the obstacle (0048-0049, However, when object 125 begins to impinge on virtual boundary 140, robotic system 100 behaves differently. Rather, than completely following the navigational cues provided by human collaborator 120, robotic system 100 modifies the desired trajectory to avoid collision with object 125… In this manner, if robotic system 100 is approaching object 125 at a relatively high rate of speed, the depth of the buffer zone is increased to provide time to navigate around object 125. Similarly, if robotic system 100 is approaching object 125 at a relatively low rate of speed, the depth of the buffer zone is decreased to allow human collaborator 120 to move desk 130 closer to object 125 without robotic system 100 overriding the navigational cues provided by human collaborator 120.).
Park, Keivan, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the inverse vector relationship of Weaver in order to provide further means of ensuring that the robotic system does not contact an obstacle. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic system does not run into object in the environment.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Weaver teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 27, and Weaver further teaches wherein the one or more navigation goals are determined based on communication with a remote computing system, and wherein the control system is further configured to update the scene graph based at least in part on communication with the remote computing system (0046, As depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 monitors the position of objects in the surrounding environment relative to the robotic system 100, shared payload, and the human collaborator based on feedback from proximity sensors 105A-D, image capture devices 108, or a combination thereof. In the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 compares the measured position of object 125 relative to two virtual boundaries 135 and 140 maintained around robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 135 is considered a “hard” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should not navigate to any position that would allow an object in the surrounding environment to penetrate virtual boundary 135. Virtual boundary 140 is considered a “soft” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should navigate to a position that reduces the penetration of an object in the surrounding environment within virtual boundary 140. Virtual boundaries 135 and 140 are defined by predetermined threshold distance values from robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 140 is defined by a larger set of predetermined threshold distance values than virtual boundary 135. 0039, In some examples, processor 220 is configured to store digital signals generated by sensor interface 210 onto memory 230. In addition, processor 220 is configured to read the digital signals stored on memory 230 and transmit the digital signals to wireless communication transceiver 250. In some embodiments, wireless communications transceiver 250 is configured to communicate the digital signals from computing system 200 to an external computing device (not shown) over a wireless communications link. As depicted in FIG. 3, wireless communications transceiver transmits a radio frequency signal 252 over antenna 251. The radio frequency signal 252 includes digital information indicative of the digital signals to be communicated from computing system 200 to the external computing device. In one example, sensor data generated by computer system 200 are communicated to an external computing system (not shown) for purposes of monitoring and redirecting the collaborative robotic system 100 based on the sensor data.).
Park, Keivan, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the remote computing system of Weaver in order to provide additional means of navigating the robotic system. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic system has as much relevant information for navigating an environment as possible.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system is further configured to detect a human within the physical environment based on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on a human avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with the human.
Weaver, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the control system is further configured to detect a human within the physical environment based on the sensor data, and wherein the output force vector is determined based at least in part on a human avoidance vector representing a virtual force on the autonomous mobile robot from a designated direction corresponding with the human (0046, As depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 monitors the position of objects in the surrounding environment relative to the robotic system 100, shared payload, and the human collaborator based on feedback from proximity sensors 105A-D, image capture devices 108, or a combination thereof. In the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 compares the measured position of object 125 relative to two virtual boundaries 135 and 140 maintained around robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 135 is considered a “hard” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should not navigate to any position that would allow an object in the surrounding environment to penetrate virtual boundary 135. Virtual boundary 140 is considered a “soft” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should navigate to a position that reduces the penetration of an object in the surrounding environment within virtual boundary 140. Virtual boundaries 135 and 140 are defined by predetermined threshold distance values from robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 140 is defined by a larger set of predetermined threshold distance values than virtual boundary 135. 0039, In some examples, processor 220 is configured to store digital signals generated by sensor interface 210 onto memory 230. In addition, processor 220 is configured to read the digital signals stored on memory 230 and transmit the digital signals to wireless communication transceiver 250. In some embodiments, wireless communications transceiver 250 is configured to communicate the digital signals from computing system 200 to an external computing device (not shown) over a wireless communications link. As depicted in FIG. 3, wireless communications transceiver transmits a radio frequency signal 252 over antenna 251. The radio frequency signal 252 includes digital information indicative of the digital signals to be communicated from computing system 200 to the external computing device. In one example, sensor data generated by computer system 200 are communicated to an external computing system (not shown) for purposes of monitoring and redirecting the collaborative robotic system 100 based on the sensor data. 0048, However, when object 125 begins to impinge on virtual boundary 140, robotic system 100 behaves differently. Rather, than completely following the navigational cues provided by human collaborator 120, robotic system 100 modifies the desired trajectory to avoid collision with object 125.).
Park, Keivan, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the human avoidance of Weaver in order to provide a means of ensuring a user is not hit by the transportation system. The motivation to combine is to increase the safety of the system overall.
Claims 31, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan, and further in view of Tiwari (US 20230098524 A1), hereafter Tiwari.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more navigation goals are determined based on a workflow involving interoperation between the autonomous mobile robot and a human.
Tiwari, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the one or more navigation goals are determined based on a workflow involving interoperation between the autonomous mobile robot and a human (0033, The server determines, for each of a plurality of locations included in the storage facility, a current level of availability of a corresponding location. For example, the server determines whether each of the plurality of location is currently empty or occupied. Further, the server determines, for each of the plurality of locations, a level of throughput of the movable operator station at a corresponding location. In other words, the server determines or estimates, for each of the plurality of locations, an expected level of throughput of the movable operator station at the corresponding location. Based on the expected level of throughput at each of the plurality of locations and the current level of availability of each of the plurality of locations, the server determines, from the plurality of locations, a first location for installation of the movable operator station. Based on the determination of the first location, the server may communicate, to a first AGV of the set of AGVs, a set of instructions to transport the movable operator station from a current location of the movable operator station to the first location. The set of instructions may be indicative of the identification marker of the movable operator station. The first AGV may, based on the reception of the set of instructions, transport the movable operator station from a current location of the movable operator station to the first location.).
Park, Keivan, and Tiwari are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the collaborative item movement of Tiwari in order to provide a means of better utilizing the transportation system. The motivation to combine is to increase the efficiency of a warehousing logistics system.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Tiwari teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 31, and Tiwari further teaches wherein the physical environment is a warehouse, and wherein the workflow includes collaboratively moving items between physical locations within the warehouse (0038, The first movable operator station 106a may be a pick-and-put station (PPS) that is movable between various locations in the storage facility 102. In other words, the first movable operator station 106a is a dynamic PPS or a dynamic workstation that acts as an interface between the storage facility 102 and a goods-to-person system. For the sake of brevity, the term “movable operator station” and “dynamic PPS” are used interchangeably throughout the disclosure. The first movable operator station 106a facilitates pick and put operations by an operator (e.g., a human operator, a robotic operator, or a combination thereof) at the storage facility 102. Pick and/or put operations may be performed by the operator for various purposes such as, but not limited to, order fulfilment, inventory replenishment, item retrieval from the plurality of storage units, or the like. The operator may perform the pick and/or put operations, based on instructions or commands from the control server 108. Based on the received commands or instructions, the operator at the first movable operator station 106a may place inventory items in the plurality of storage units or retrieve inventory items from the plurality of storage units. An item retrieval operation may involve retrieving one or more inventory items from a storage unit (e.g., the plurality of storage units) and placing the retrieved inventory items in one or more order bins (e.g., boxes, cartons, totes, or the like) at the first movable operator station 106a.).
Park, Keivan, and Tiwari are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the collaborative item movement of Tiwari in order to provide a means of better utilizing the transportation system. The motivation to combine is to increase the efficiency of a warehousing logistics system.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Tiwari teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 32, and Tiwari further teaches wherein the autonomous mobile robot includes a light component configured to illuminate a region of one or more shelves on an autonomous mobile robot corresponding to a current or intended location of an object designated for placement or retrieval or to illuminate a region of the physical environment corresponding to a current or intended location of an item designated for placement or retrieval (0072, The first movable operator station 106a further includes a vertical frame 220 (e.g., an upright frame) that is attached to one end of the first base plate 202 and oriented parallel to “XZ” plane. In one embodiment, mounted on top of the vertical frame 220 is an imaging device 222 that is configured to provide a set of visual cues to an operator (e.g., a human operator or a robotic operator) performing pick and/or put operations at the first movable operator station 106a. For example, when an item (e.g., apparel) is to be picked (e.g., pick operation) from the first movable operator station 106a and placed in a nearby storage unit, the imaging device 222 may, based on a set of instructions received from the control server 108, project a beam of light on the item that is to be picked from the first movable operator station 106a. The operator may, based on the projected beam of light, pick the item from the first movable operator station 106a and place it in the nearby storage unit. In another example, when an item (e.g., apparel) is to be picked (e.g., pick operation) from a nearby storage unit and placed in the first movable operator station 106a (e.g., put operation) and placed in a nearby storage unit, the imaging device 222 may, based on a set of instructions received from the control server 108, project a beam of light on a designated location, in the first movable operator station 106a, at which the item is to be placed. The operator may, based on the projected beam of light, pick the item from the nearby storage unit and place it at the designated location, based on the projected beam of light. In one embodiment, a wavelength of the projected beam of light may differ based on a type of operation that is to be performed. For example, the projected beam of light may correspond to a first wavelength or a first color (e.g., green) when a pick operation is to be performed by the operator. Similarly, the projected beam of light may correspond to a second wavelength or a second color (e.g., blue) when a put operation is to be performed by the operator. Further, the wavelength of the projected beam of light may differ based on a priority level of an operation that is to be performed by the operator. For example, when an operation (e.g., a pick operation, a put operation, or the like) that is to be performed by the operator corresponds to a first priority level (e.g., a high priority level), the projected beam of light may correspond to a first wavelength or a first color (e.g., red). Similarly, when an operation (e.g., a pick operation, a put operation, or the like) that is to be performed by the operator corresponds to a second priority level (e.g., a low priority level), the projected beam of light may correspond to a second wavelength or a second color (e.g., yellow).).
Park, Keivan, and Tiwari are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the lighting indication of Tiwari in order to provide a means of pointing out an item to be transferred. The motivation to combine is to improve the efficiency of the transportation system by specifically pointing out to a user an item to be gathered.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park In view of Keivan and Tiwari, and further in view of Skaaksrud (US 20190287063 A1), hereafter Skaaksrud.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Tiwari teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 32, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the workflow includes collaboratively moving items between the autonomous mobile robot and a second autonomous mobile robot.
Skaaksrud, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the workflow includes collaboratively moving items between the autonomous mobile robot and a second autonomous mobile robot (1234, At step 6930, method 6900 proceeds with transferring at least one item (which may include a payload container) as payload from the first node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle to the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle at a waypoint location of the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle. For example, as shown in FIGS. 68B-68B, exemplary items 6750a, 6750b in payload container 6755 are shown transferred from node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700a to the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700b at a waypoint location of the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700b.).
Park, Keivan, Tiwari, and Skaaksrud are analogous because they are in an analogous field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the payload transferring of Skaaksrud in order to provide a means of more effectively transporting an item to a destination. The motivation to combine is to ensure that an item is able to be transported to a particular destination as efficiently as possible.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan, and further in view of Skaaksrud.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Park and Keivan teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 21, but fails to explicitly teach wherein autonomously navigating the physical environment involves moving along a nominal trajectory that includes one or more waypoints while avoiding objects encountered along the nominal trajectory.
Skaaksrud, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein autonomously navigating the physical environment involves moving along a nominal trajectory that includes one or more waypoints while avoiding objects encountered along the nominal trajectory (1101, In more detail, an embodiment may have the autonomous controller 5730 of the modular mobile cart autonomy control module 5725 being further programmatically adapted and configured to be operative to, in response to receiving the override control input from the localized guidance input detector, to generate the steering control command and the propulsion control command based at least upon (a) the sensed external contact with the local personnel to provide power-assisted movement of the modular mobility base at the direction of the local personnel, (b) the received information on the base feedback sensor data from the mobility controller, and (c) the onboard sensor data as received by the autonomous controller from the autonomy module sensors so as to provide the power-assisted movement of the modular mobility base 5705 at the direction of the local personnel while avoiding collisions and objects in the path of the modular mobility base 5705 using the received information on the base feedback sensor data and the onboard sensor data. Thus, in response to detecting an object in the path of the modular mobility base 5705 while in this manual override mode, the autonomous controller 5730 of the modular mobile cart autonomy control module 5725 may be further programmatically adapted and configured to be operative to alter at least one of the steering control command and the propulsion control command to implement a type of collision avoidance intervention despite the manual override mode. 1234, At step 6930, method 6900 proceeds with transferring at least one item (which may include a payload container) as payload from the first node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle to the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle at a waypoint location of the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle. For example, as shown in FIGS. 68B-68B, exemplary items 6750a, 6750b in payload container 6755 are shown transferred from node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700a to the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700b at a waypoint location of the second node-enabled autonomous transport vehicle 6700b.).
Park, Keivan, and Skaaksrud are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the waypoint navigation of Skaaksrud in order to provide a means of further navigating the robotic system. The motivation to combine is to ensure that a particular item is able to be transported to a particular location.
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Keivan and Skaaksrud, and further in view of Weaver.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Skaaksrud teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 36, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the objects include one or more humans moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to identify the one or more humans as humans based on the sensor data.
Weaver, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the objects include one or more humans moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to identify the one or more humans as humans based on the sensor data (0046, As depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 monitors the position of objects in the surrounding environment relative to the robotic system 100, shared payload, and the human collaborator based on feedback from proximity sensors 105A-D, image capture devices 108, or a combination thereof. In the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 compares the measured position of object 125 relative to two virtual boundaries 135 and 140 maintained around robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 135 is considered a “hard” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should not navigate to any position that would allow an object in the surrounding environment to penetrate virtual boundary 135. Virtual boundary 140 is considered a “soft” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should navigate to a position that reduces the penetration of an object in the surrounding environment within virtual boundary 140. Virtual boundaries 135 and 140 are defined by predetermined threshold distance values from robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 140 is defined by a larger set of predetermined threshold distance values than virtual boundary 135. 0039, In some examples, processor 220 is configured to store digital signals generated by sensor interface 210 onto memory 230. In addition, processor 220 is configured to read the digital signals stored on memory 230 and transmit the digital signals to wireless communication transceiver 250. In some embodiments, wireless communications transceiver 250 is configured to communicate the digital signals from computing system 200 to an external computing device (not shown) over a wireless communications link. As depicted in FIG. 3, wireless communications transceiver transmits a radio frequency signal 252 over antenna 251. The radio frequency signal 252 includes digital information indicative of the digital signals to be communicated from computing system 200 to the external computing device. In one example, sensor data generated by computer system 200 are communicated to an external computing system (not shown) for purposes of monitoring and redirecting the collaborative robotic system 100 based on the sensor data.).
Park, Keivan, Skaaksrud, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the obstacle avoidance of Weaver in order to provide a means of avoiding obstacles in the environment of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure the robotic platform is able to be operated safely and efficiently in an environment.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Park, Keivan, and Skaaksrud teaches the autonomous mobile robot recited in claim 36, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the objects include one or more autonomous mobile robots moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to avoid the autonomous mobile robots based at least in part on location information received from a remote computing system.
Weaver, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the objects include one or more autonomous mobile robots moving throughout the physical environment, and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to avoid the autonomous mobile robots based at least in part on location information received from a remote computing system (0046, As depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 monitors the position of objects in the surrounding environment relative to the robotic system 100, shared payload, and the human collaborator based on feedback from proximity sensors 105A-D, image capture devices 108, or a combination thereof. In the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 4A-D, robotic system 100 compares the measured position of object 125 relative to two virtual boundaries 135 and 140 maintained around robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 135 is considered a “hard” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should not navigate to any position that would allow an object in the surrounding environment to penetrate virtual boundary 135. Virtual boundary 140 is considered a “soft” boundary, i.e., robotic system 100 should navigate to a position that reduces the penetration of an object in the surrounding environment within virtual boundary 140. Virtual boundaries 135 and 140 are defined by predetermined threshold distance values from robotic system 100, shared payload 130, and human collaborator 120. Virtual boundary 140 is defined by a larger set of predetermined threshold distance values than virtual boundary 135. 0039, In some examples, processor 220 is configured to store digital signals generated by sensor interface 210 onto memory 230. In addition, processor 220 is configured to read the digital signals stored on memory 230 and transmit the digital signals to wireless communication transceiver 250. In some embodiments, wireless communications transceiver 250 is configured to communicate the digital signals from computing system 200 to an external computing device (not shown) over a wireless communications link. As depicted in FIG. 3, wireless communications transceiver transmits a radio frequency signal 252 over antenna 251. The radio frequency signal 252 includes digital information indicative of the digital signals to be communicated from computing system 200 to the external computing device. In one example, sensor data generated by computer system 200 are communicated to an external computing system (not shown) for purposes of monitoring and redirecting the collaborative robotic system 100 based on the sensor data. 0048, However, when object 125 begins to impinge on virtual boundary 140, robotic system 100 behaves differently. Rather, than completely following the navigational cues provided by human collaborator 120, robotic system 100 modifies the desired trajectory to avoid collision with object 125.).
Park, Keivan, Skaaksrud, and Weaver are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotic transportation systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the obstacle avoidance of Weaver in order to provide a means of avoiding obstacles in the environment of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure the robotic platform is able to be operated safely and efficiently in an environment.
Conclusion
/BLAKE A WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658