DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of group/invention I in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups/inventions II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 09/09/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to because the drawings are not proper black and white drawings, as required by 37 CFR 1.84 and MPEP §608, requiring solid and clear black lines for the purposes of reproduction.
6. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
a. Claim 1: the “one or more of the plurality of networks”, the “connectors for connecting to one or more of the plurality of networks in the backbone support structure” and the “one or more of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network”;
b. Claim 2: the “standardized interface” and the “the connectors for connecting to the one or more of the power distribution network, the data transmission network, and the thermal fluid network” and the “one or more of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network”;
c. Claim 4: the “the second connector providing … a connection to one or more of the power distribution network, the data transmission network, and the thermal fluid network between connected modules”;
d. Claim 5: the “standardized driving interface”;
e. Claim 6: the “two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations include a T-shaped configuration, a triangular configuration, a rectangular configuration, and a polyhedral configuration”;
f. Claim 8: the “the plurality of modules are arranged in a wedge- or cone-shaped modular layout”.
g. Claim 9: the “each module of the plurality of modules and the robotic system expose a standardized hardware-software interface” and “third-party vendors”.
No new matter should be entered.
7. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show following as described in the specification:
a. “The modular spacecraft includes a backbone support structure configured to provide structural support and host a plurality of networks; and a plurality of modules connected to the backbone support structure. The plurality of modules includes mechanical connectors for securing the plurality of modules to the backbone support structure, and one or more of the plurality of modules further include connectors for connecting to one or more of the plurality of networks in the backbone support structure, wherein the one or more of the plurality of networks include one or more of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network”;
b. “The standardized interface system is further defined by a published specification that encompasses both hardware and software layers. The hardware specification defines mechanical tolerances, pinouts for electrical connections, data protocols, thermal couplings, and physical features required for robotic handling. The software specification establishes a common application programming interface (API) that each module and robotic system exposes. This API may include functions for module identification, self- description of capabilities, negotiation of power and data network access, reporting of health and status, and execution of configuration or deployment commands. By conforming to these published specifications, third-party vendors can develop modules that are interoperable with the modular spacecraft backbone support structure and robotic systems without requiring special accommodations. Plug-and-play compatibility is achieved because compliance with the interface specification ensures that modules will automatically integrate mechanically, electrically, thermally, and logically into the spacecraft. The backbone support structure and robotic systems may further include verification routines that confirm module identity and compliance with the published profile before completing final engagement of the connectors. [77] This interoperability framework allows the spacecraft architecture to operate as an open ecosystem, supporting certified third-party modules and reducing integration barriers.”
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
8. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
9. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
10. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 5, line 2: the term “backbone” should be rewritten as --the backbone support structure-- for the purpose of clarity.
b. Claim 5, line 4: the term “another module” should be rewritten as --another module of the plurality of modules-- for the purpose of clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
13. Claim 1 recites the limitations “a backbone support structure configured to provide structural support and host a plurality of networks” (emphasis added) and “wherein one or more of the plurality of modules further include connectors for connecting to one or more of the plurality of networks in the backbone support structure, wherein the one or more of the plurality of networks include one or more of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network” (emphasis added) which renders the intended scope of the claim unascertainable, since it is unclear as to whether the applicant intends on positively claiming the plurality of networks as part of the claimed invention. Further stated, each of the plurality of networks is merely recited as part of a functional limitation, thus it is unclear as to whether the plurality of networks as well as the of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network are required by the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the networks are not being interpreted as being a part of the claimed invention. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
14. Claim 1, lines 7-8, recites the limitation “wherein one or more of the plurality of modules further include connectors for connecting to one or more of the plurality of networks in the backbone support structure” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear based upon the applicant’s specification as to whether such connectors are considered to be the same as or different from the mechanical connectors as recited in the claim. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
15. Claim 2, line 3, recites the limitation “a standardized interface” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly what is considered to be a standardized interface. There is currently no interface, in particular interfaces in space application, that is considered to be a standardized interface. Furthermore, irrespective of any standard, standards are periodically revised and having contrasting revision dates. Therefore, the examiner suggests removing the term “standardized” such that the metes and bounds of the claim is clearly set forth.
16. Claim 2, line 4, recites the limitation “the connectors” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to whether the connectors are considered to be the mechanical connectors or the connectors for connecting to one or more of the networks as recited in claim 1.
17. Claim 3 recites the phrase "specific" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
18. Claim 3 recites the limitation “other modules” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
19. Claim 2, lines 2-3, recites the limitation “a standardized driving interface” which renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly what is considered to be a standardized interface. There is currently no interface, in particular interfaces in space application, that is considered to be a standardized driving interface. Furthermore, irrespective of any standard, standards are periodically revised and having contrasting revision dates. Therefore, the examiner suggests removing the term “standardized” such that the metes and bounds of the claim is clearly set forth.
20. Claim 7 recites the limitation “the backbone support structures” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
21. The term “maximize spatial packing efficiency” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximize” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to exactly how great the spatial packing efficiency is required in order for the spatial packing efficiency to be considered as being a maximized spatial packing efficiency. Similarly, the term “efficiency” is also a relative term which renders the clam indefinite. The examiner suggests removing all relative terminologies that are not supported by a standard in the specification.
22. Claim 9, lines 1-3, recites the limitation “each module of the plurality of modules and the robotic system expose a standardized hardware-software interface configured to support interoperability with modules developed by third-party vendors” which renders the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear as to exactly what is considered to be a standardized hardware-software and exactly what and whom are the third-party vendors. As discussed above, regarding claim 2, there are no standards defined in the specification and there are no known standards for hard-software interfaces. Furthermore, what are the defined boundaries for being considered as a third-party vendor and what exactly are their standards? The applicant’s specification does not remedy such short comings. The examiner strongly suggests the removal of all instances of “standardized” as well as any reference made to “third-party vendors” that are not specifically defined in the applicant’s disclosure.
Claims not addressed are rejected based on their dependency from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
24. Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Plante (US 2025/0136303 A1).
25. Regarding Claim 1, Plante discloses a modular spacecraft (Abstract and para. [0046]; spacecraft configured to accommodate modular components as seen in FIGS. 1-2) comprising:
a backbone support structure (1) configured to provide structural support and host a plurality of networks (para. [0052] structural block 1 having a unit section in the form of a truss, configured to support payloads as well as power and data conduits 2/3 which permit power and data communication services distributed throughout spacecraft, further blocks 1 are configured to support docking devices 5 as seen in FIGS. 1-2 and 4, therefore block 1 is structurally capable of supporting and hosting a plurality of networks); and
a plurality of modules (5) connected to the backbone support structure (1),
wherein the plurality of modules includes mechanical connectors for securing the plurality of modules to the backbone support structure (Abstract and paras. [0011], [0046] and [0048]-[0049]; docking devices 5 connect to block 1 via locking mechanism that enable a removable connection, and engaging mechanisms that drive a mechanical mating of power and data, accordingly the devices 5 must include mechanical connectors configured to secure the devices 5 to block 1 as seen in FIGS. 4 and 6), and
wherein one or more of the plurality of modules further include connectors for connecting to one or more of the plurality of networks in the backbone support structure (Abstract and paras. [0011], [0046] and [0048]-[0049]; the docking devices provide a stand interface for connecting the payloads to the block 1, therefore the docking devices much include connectors structurally capable of connecting the payloads to the block 1),
wherein the one or more of the plurality of networks include one or more of a power distribution network, a data transmission network, and a thermal fluid network (para. [0046]-[0051]; payloads including battery payload, sensor payloads, processor payload, control payload, radar payloads, sun sensor payload, antenna payloads, phased array payloads and magnetically sensitive payloads).
26. Regarding Claim 2, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of modules is configured to be detachably connectable to the backbone support structure (paras. [0011], [0046] and [0049]), wherein each module comprises a standardized interface that includes the mechanical connectors, and the connectors for connecting to the one or more of the power distribution network, the data transmission network, and the thermal fluid network (Abstract and paras. [0011], [0046] and [0048]-[0049]).
27. Regarding Claim 3, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 2, wherein each of the modules is configured to contain one or more spacecraft subsystems or payloads, wherein each of the modules is configured to perform specific functions individually and/or in combination with other modules (Abstract and paras. [0046]-[0051]; docking devices 5 provide a standard interface for connecting payloads to block 1, such payloads include a battery payload, sensor payloads, processor payload, control payload, radar payloads, sun sensor payload, antenna payloads, phased array payloads and magnetically sensitive payloads, each of which by definition are configured to perform specific functions individually and therefore each docking device containing such payload is by definition configured to perform specific functions at least individually).
28. Regarding Claim 4, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 2, wherein each of the modules further comprises a second connector for enabling inter-module connection, the second connector providing at least a mechanical connection and connection to one or more of the power distribution network, the data transmission network, and the thermal fluid network between connected modules (paras. [0046]-[0049], [0051]-[0052]; the docking device engage mechanism that drive a mechanical mating of power and data connectors within each device that provide the payload module access to the spacecraft power and data infrastructure, further power and date conduits 2/3 attached and pass through structure 1 in order to facilitate communication between different subsystems and the spacecraft power and data infrastructure, accordingly the docking devices must include at a second connector enabling inter-module connection, and the second connector must provide at a least a mechanical connection and connection to one or more of power distribution network and transmission network).
29. Regarding Claim 8, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 1, wherein the modular spacecraft in a launch configuration is arranged in a way such that the plurality of modules are arranged in a wedge- or cone-shaped modular layout to maximize spatial packing efficiency (para. [0046]; the spacecraft in the stowed configuration as seen in FIG. 1, therefore the spacecraft is configured for a launch configuration and the docking devices and payloads are structurally capable of being arranged in a manner that maximize spatial packing efficiency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
31. Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plante (US 2025/0136303 A1), in view of Dula (US 2020/0361642 A1).
32. Regarding Claim 5, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 1.
Plante is silent regarding a robotic system configured to perform one or more of: moving along the backbone using a standardized driving interface; connecting and disconnecting one or more of the plurality of modules from the backbone support structure and/or from another module; reconfiguring one or more of the modules.
Dula disclose a modular spacecraft (Dula Abstract, paras. [0003], [0009], [0017] and FIG. 1).
a robotic system configured to perform one or more of: moving along the backbone using a standardized driving interface; connecting and disconnecting one or more of the plurality of modules from the backbone support structure and/or from another module; reconfiguring one or more of the modules (paras [0018] and [0021]-[0022]; equipment modules 124 configured to be translated along support track 112 via articulated robotic arm system 207 as seen in FIG. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Plante as taught by Dula such that a robotic system configured to perform one or more of: reconfiguring one or more of the modules in order to enable controlled manipulation of the modules that are intended to be disengaged and disposed as well as controlled attachment of modules intended to be connected to the backbone support structure.
33. Regarding Claim 9, modified Plante discloses (see Plante unless otherwise specified) the modular spacecraft of claim 5, wherein each module of the plurality of modules and the robotic system (Dula robotic system as discussed above, regarding claim 5) expose a standardized hardware-software interface configured to support interoperability with modules developed by third-party vendors (paras. [0049] and [0052]; with consideration of the blocks 1 including main power and data conduits 2/3 on each side that accommodates docking devices 5 that are configured to disengage and release payloads for disposal, the main power and data conduits 2/3 are by definition exposed and structurally capable of supporting interoperability with modules developed by third-party vendors as seen in FIGS. 4 and 6-7).
34. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plante (US 2025/0136303 A1), in view of Chen et al. (CN 110182388 A), hereinafter “Chen” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
35. Regarding Claim 6, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft according to claim 1.
Plante is silent regarding wherein the backbone support structure is configured to be connected to other backbone support structures to form two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations, wherein the two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations include a T-shaped configuration, a triangular configuration, a rectangular configuration, and a polyhedral configuration.
Chen discloses a modular spacecraft (Chen pp. 3 and 5; modular spacecraft as seen in FIG. 1) wherein the backbone support structure is configured to be connected to other backbone support structures to form two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations (pp. 4; truss structure 1 formed by at least four support structures forming a two and three-dimensional configurations as clearly seen in FIG. 1), wherein the two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations include a T-shaped configuration, a triangular configuration, a rectangular configuration, and a polyhedral configuration pp. 4-5; the truss structure 1 formed via a plurality of truss modules 111 that are configured to connect too one another and therefore capable of forming T-shaped, triangular and rectangular configurations as seen in FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Plante as taught by Chen such that the backbone support structure is configured to be connected to other backbone support structures to form two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations, wherein the two-dimensional or three-dimensional configurations include a T-shaped configuration, a triangular configuration, a rectangular configuration, and a polyhedral configuration in order to increase the usability and capability of the modular spacecraft such that the spacecraft is capable of supporting a greater number of modules as necessitated by the mission requirements.
36. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plante (US 2025/0136303 A1).
37. Regarding Claim 7, Plante discloses the modular spacecraft of claim 1, wherein the backbone support structures are arranged for launch in a cylindrical or polygonal configuration with the plurality of modules attached on both interior and exterior sides of the backbone support structure (para. [0046]; the spacecraft in the stowed configuration as seen in FIG. 1 is therefore capable of being arranged in a launch configuration with the plurality of docking devices 5 and payloads attached to both sides of the blocks 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2).
Plante is silent regarding a cylindrical or polygonal configuration. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Plante to make the different portions of the backbone support structure of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, in order to provide a stable and efficient structural arrangement for supporting the modules during spaceflight. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Duron et al. (US 11873119 B1), Jaeger (US 2020/0354091 A1), Craig et al. (US 12221235 B2), Field et al. (US 10486837 B2) and Palisoc (US 2025/0206468 A1) individually disclose a modular spacecraft comprising a backbone support structure, a plurality of modules connected to the backbone support structure, the modules including mechanical connectors configured to support a plurality of networks.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642