DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on July 29, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-15, and 21-28 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on April 29, 2026. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102(a)(2) rejections of claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-15, and 21-28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informality: “directs lubricant” in line 2 should read “directs lubricant to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 13, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (US 2009/0223690), hereinafter Sugimoto.
Regarding claim 1, Sugimoto discloses an impact tool (1 in Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (2 and 6 collectively in Figure 1); and
an impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) disposed within the housing (2 and 6 collectively) (apparent from Figure 1), the impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) including:
a split anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) including:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 9 to the left of the smaller-diameter cylindrical portion of 9 in Figure 2, which is shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in an annotated version of Figure 2 of Sugimoto, hereinafter Figure 2x, below) fully disposed inside the housing (2 and 6 collectively) (it is apparent from Figure 2x below that the “internal anvil portion” is fully disposed inside part 6 of the housing), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x below) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (the portion of 29 that is part of the “internal anvil portion” in Figure 2x below; or 26 in Figure 2);
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x below) (Paragraphs 0031 and 0034); and
a front lubrication assembly (the gable-top-house-shaped passage shown bubbled and labeled “front lubrication assembly” in Figure 2x below) having a lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 2x below) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0035) from a lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x below) to the impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) (Paragraph 0035).
Figure 2x: an annotated version of Figure 2 of Sugimoto
Regarding claim 2, Sugimoto discloses that the split anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) further includes at least one lubrication channel (32 in Figures 2 and 1) extending away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035-0037), the at least one lubrication channel (32) having a channel outlet (the bottom opening of 32 in Figures 2 and 1) located adjacent to at least one of an anvil jaw (28 in Figures 1 and 2) or a hammer jaw (the portion of 21 which engages 28 as described in Paragraphs 0029, 0030, and 0034) of the impact tool (1) (apparent from Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sugimoto discloses that the at least one lubrication channel (32) extends radially away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Sugimoto discloses that the lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x above) is disposed within the internal anvil portion cavity (26) (apparent from Figure 2x above).
Regarding claim 8, Sugimoto discloses an impact tool (1 in Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (2 and 6 collectively in Figure 1);
an impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) disposed within the housing (2 and 6 collectively) (apparent from Figure 1), the impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) including:
an anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) including a front lubrication assembly (the gable-top-house-shaped passage shown bubbled and labeled “front lubrication assembly” in Figure 2x above) having a lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) that extends longitudinally along the axis (longitudinal axis of 9) (apparent from Figure 2x above), the lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0035) from a lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x above) to the impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) (Paragraph 0035); and
wherein the anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) comprises:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 9 to the left of the smaller-diameter cylindrical portion of 9 in Figure 2, which is shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in Figure 2x above) fully disposed inside the housing (2 and 6 collectively) (it is apparent from Figure 2x above that the “internal anvil portion” is fully disposed inside part 6 of the housing), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (the portion of 29 that is part of the “internal anvil portion” in Figure 2x above; or 26 in Figure 2); and
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) (Paragraphs 0031 and 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Sugimoto discloses that the anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) further includes at least one lubrication channel (32 in Figures 2 and 1) extending away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035-0037), the at least one lubrication channel (32) having a channel outlet (the bottom opening of 32 in Figures 2 and 1) located adjacent to at least one of an anvil jaw (28 in Figures 1 and 2) or a hammer jaw (the portion of 21 which engages 28 as described in Paragraphs 0029, 0030, and 0034) of the impact tool (1) (apparent from Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Sugimoto discloses that the at least one lubrication channel (32) extends perpendicularly away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Sugimoto discloses that the lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x above) is disposed within the internal anvil portion cavity (26) (apparent from Figure 2x above).
Regarding claim 21, Sugimoto discloses a split anvil assembly (9 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) comprising:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 9 to the left of the smaller-diameter cylindrical portion of 9 in Figure 2, which is shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in Figure 2x above) fully disposed inside a housing (2 and 6 collectively in Figure 1) of a power tool (1 in Figure 1) (it is apparent from Figure 2x above that the “internal anvil portion” is fully disposed inside part 6 of the housing), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x below) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (26 in Figure 2);
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) (Paragraphs 0031 and 0034); and
a front lubrication assembly (the gable-top-house-shaped passage shown bubbled and labeled “front lubrication assembly” in Figure 2x above) having a lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) disposed within the internal anvil portion cavity (26) (apparent from Figure 2x above), the front lubrication assembly (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) extending longitudinally along an axis (longitudinal axis of 9) (apparent from Figure 2x above), the lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 2x above) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0035) from a lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x above) to an impact assembly (8, 9, 25, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0031 and 0034, collectively) of the power tool (1) (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 22, Sugimoto discloses that the power tool (1) is an impact tool (1) (Paragraphs 0027 and 0029).
Regarding claim 23, Sugimoto discloses that the lubrication port (the opening at the left end of the “lubrication passage” shown in Figure 2x above) is disposed within the internal anvil portion cavity (26) (apparent from Figure 2x above).
Regarding claim 24, Sugimoto discloses a lubrication channel (32 in Figures 2 and 1) extending away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035-0037), the lubrication channel (32) having a channel outlet (the bottom opening of 32 in Figures 2 and 1) located adjacent to at least one of an anvil jaw (28 in Figures 1 and 2) or a hammer jaw (the portion of 21 which engages 28 as described in Paragraphs 0029, 0030, and 0034) of the power tool (1) (apparent from Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 25, Sugimoto discloses that the lubrication channel (32) extends perpendicularly away from the lubrication passage (apparent from Figure 2x above, Paragraphs 0032 and 0035).
Claims 1, 6-8, 14, 15, 21, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawai (US 2020/0269407).
Regarding claim 1, Kawai discloses an impact tool (1 in Figure 3) comprising:
a housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively in Figure 4);
an impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) disposed within the housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively) (apparent from Figure 3), the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) including:
a split anvil assembly (14 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) including:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 14 shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in an annotated version of Figure 4 of Kawai, hereinafter Figure 4x, below, which portion is to the left of the “groove” in 14 shown in Figure 4x below) fully disposed inside the housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively) (apparent from Figure 4x below), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x below) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (the portion of 92 that is part of the “internal anvil portion” in Figure 4x below);
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x below) (Paragraphs 0050 and 0051); and
a front lubrication assembly (91 in Figure 4) having a lubrication passage (91) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049) from a lubrication port (open left end of 91 in Figure 4) to the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) (Paragraph 0049).
Figure 4x: an annotated version of Figure 4 of Kawai
Regarding claim 6, Kawai discloses that the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) further includes a hammer (75 in Figures 3 and 4) configured to engage with the split anvil assembly (14 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) (Paragraphs 0053, 0054, and 0044), cam shaft (12 in Figure 3) and an impact bearing (balls 79 in Figure 3, collectively), wherein the cam shaft (12) is coupled to the hammer (75) through the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (Paragraph 0043), wherein the cam shaft (12) includes at least one cam shaft channel (81 in Figure 3) extending away from a cam shaft passage (69 in Figure 3) (Paragraph 0043), the at least one cam shaft channel (81) having a cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81 in Figure 3, which is flush with the outer peripheral surface of 12) adjacent to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (apparent from Figure 3), and wherein the cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81) is configured to deliver lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (“grease” is supplied to 79 when 81 supplies “grease” to “the space between the hammer 75 and the spindle 12” as described in Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 7, Kawai discloses that motion of the hammer (75) with respect to the cam shaft (12) directs lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049 and/or the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to at least one of an anvil jaw (83 in Figures 3 and 4) or a hammer jaw (77 in Figure 4) of the impact tool (1) (clear when Figure 3 and Paragraph 0049 and/or Paragraph 0043 are considered together).
Regarding claim 8, Kawai discloses an impact tool (1 in Figure 3) comprising:
a housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively in Figure 4); and
an impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) disposed within the housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively) (apparent from Figure 3), the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) including:
an anvil assembly (14 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) including a front lubrication assembly (91 in Figure 4) having a lubrication passage (91) that extends longitudinally along an axis (longitudinal axis of 14) (apparent from Figure 4), the lubrication passage (91) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049) from a lubrication port (open left end of 91 in Figure 4) to the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) (Paragraph 0049); and
wherein the anvil assembly (14 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) further comprises:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 14 shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in Figure 4x above, which portion is to the left of the “groove” in 14 shown in Figure 4x above) fully disposed inside the housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively) (apparent from Figure 4x above), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x above) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (the portion of 92 that is part of the “internal anvil portion” in Figure 4x above); and
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x above) (Paragraphs 0050 and 0051).
Regarding claim 14, Kawai discloses that the impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) further includes a cam shaft (12 in Figure 3) and an impact bearing (balls 79 in Figure 3, collectively), wherein the cam shaft (12) is coupled to a hammer (75 in Figures 3 and 4) through the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (Paragraph 0043), wherein the cam shaft (12) includes at least one cam shaft channel (81 in Figure 3) extending away from a cam shaft passage (69 in Figure 3) (Paragraph 0043), the at least one cam shaft channel (81) having a cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81 in Figure 3, which is flush with the outer peripheral surface of 12) adjacent to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (apparent from Figure 3), and wherein the cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81) is configured to deliver lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (“grease” is supplied to 79 when 81 supplies “grease” to “the space between the hammer 75 and the spindle 12” as described in Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 15, Kawai discloses that motion of the hammer (75) with respect to the cam shaft (12) directs lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049 and/or the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to an anvil jaw (83 in Figures 3 and 4) or a hammer jaw (77 in Figure 4) of the impact tool (1) (clear when Figure 3 and Paragraph 0049 and/or Paragraph 0043 are considered together).
Regarding claim 21, Kawai discloses a split anvil assembly (14 and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) comprising:
an internal anvil portion (the portion of 14 shown bubbled and labeled “internal anvil portion” in Figure 4x above, which portion is to the left of the “groove” in 14 shown in Figure 4x above) fully disposed inside a housing (4, 7, and 8 collectively in Figure 4) of a power tool (1 in Figure 3) (apparent from Figure 4x above), the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x above) defining an internal anvil portion cavity (91 in Figure 4) (Paragraph 0049);
an external anvil portion (the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053) configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x above) (Paragraphs 0050 and 0051); and
a front lubrication assembly (the smaller-diameter groove at the right end of 91 shown bubbled and labeled “front lubrication assembly” in a second annotated version of Figure 4 of Kawai, hereinafter Figure 4y, below) having a lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 4y below) disposed within the internal anvil portion cavity (91) (apparent from Figure 4y below), the front lubrication assembly (shown bubbled in Figure 4y below) extending longitudinally along an axis (longitudinal axis of 14) (apparent from Figure 4y below), the lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 4y below) configured to direct a lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049) from a lubrication port (open left end of the “lubrication passage” in Figure 4y below) to an impact assembly (12-14, 79, and the “bit” described in Paragraphs 0050-0053, collectively) of the power tool (1) (Paragraph 0049).
Figure 4y: a second annotated version of Figure 4 of Kawai
Regarding claim 26, Kawai discloses that the internal anvil portion (shown bubbled in Figure 4x above) engages with a cam shaft (12 in Figure 3) coupled to an impact bearing (balls 79 in Figure 3, collectively) (apparent when Figure 4x is viewed in relation to Figure 3), and wherein the cam shaft (12) is coupled to a hammer (75 in Figures 3 and 4) of the power tool (1) through the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (Paragraph 0043), the cam shaft (12) including a cam shaft passage (69 in Figure 3) fluidly connected to the lubrication passage (shown bubbled in Figure 4y above) (apparent from Figure 4y above).
Regarding claim 27, Kawai discloses that the cam shaft (12) includes at least one cam shaft channel (81 in Figure 3) extending away from the cam shaft passage (69) (Paragraph 0043), the at least one cam shaft channel (81) having a cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81 in Figure 3, which is flush with the outer peripheral surface of 12) adjacent to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (apparent from Figure 3), and wherein the cam shaft channel outlet (the outer opening of 81) is configured to deliver lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to the impact bearing (balls 79 collectively) (“grease” is supplied to 79 when 81 supplies “grease” to “the space between the hammer 75 and the spindle 12” as described in Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 28, Kawai discloses that motion of the hammer (75) with respect to the cam shaft (12) directs lubricant (the “grease” described in Paragraph 0049 and/or the “grease” described in Paragraph 0043) to an anvil jaw (83 in Figures 3 and 4) or a hammer jaw (77 in Figure 4) of the power tool (1) (clear when Figure 3 and Paragraph 0049 and/or Paragraph 0043 are considered together).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102(a)(2) rejections of claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-15, and 21-28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that:
“Applicant respectfully disagrees. The anvil described in Sugimoto is a unitary anvil that extends out of the housing and engages with the bit, which is an accessory different and separate from the anvil. The Office Action points at the back end of the anvil in Sugimoto that is within the hammercase 6 but there is no teaching or suggestion that this is ever in contact with the bit. As shown in annotated Figure 2x, reproduced below, Sugimoto only refers to elements that are outside or protruding from the hammercase to describe the attachment of the bit and the anvil. Sugimoto recites "[the] anvil 9 protrudes from the hammer case 6, and an insertion hole 29 for attaching a bit (not shown) is formed at the front end of the anvil 9. Further, in order to prevent the bit inserted into the insertion hole 29 from coming off from the anvil 9, a chuck mechanism, which includes balls 30, 30 and a sleeve 31, is provided at the front end of the anvil 9." See Sugimoto, Par. 0031. The anvil is internally engaged to the impact mechanism and externally protruding from the hammercase at all times and only the protruding elements of it engage with the bit. Therefore, Sugimoto fails to disclose, teach or otherwise suggest "an internal anvil portion fully disposed inside the housing" and "an external anvil portion configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion" as recited in claims 1, 8, and 21.”,
the examiner asserts that it is implied, inherent, and well known in the art that the “bit” of Sugimoto extends into and contacts the portion of hole 29 of Sugimoto which is part of the “internal anvil portion” shown in Figure 2x of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/29/2026. If the “bit” of Sugimoto did not extend into and contact the portion of hole 29 of Sugimoto which is part of the “internal anvil portion”, the “bit” would be unstably held by anvil 9 of Sugimoto, the “bit” would be at high risk of being intentionally detached from anvil 9 during operation of tool 1 of Sugimoto, and the invention of Sugimoto would be inoperable. Furthermore, even if the “bit” of Sugimoto did not extend into and contact the portion of hole 29 of Sugimoto which is part of the “internal anvil portion”, the “bit” would still be indirectly engaged with “internal anvil portion” because balls 30 of Sugimoto contact both the “bit” and the external portion of anvil 9 which is rigidly attached to the “internal anvil portion”. Thus, Sugimoto does teach the argued limitation.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that:
“While the bit is not shown in any of the figures, the elements 92, 93, and 94 described as engaging with the bit are all outside of the housing, as shown in the partial view of FIG. 3 of Kawai, reproduced below. Therefore, Kawai fails to disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest "an internal anvil portion fully disposed inside the housing" and "an external anvil portion configured to be removably engaged with the internal anvil portion" as recited in claims 1, 8, and 21.”,
the examiner asserts that it is implied, inherent, and well known in the art that the “bit” of Kawai extends into and contacts the portion of hole 92 of Kawai which is part of the “internal anvil portion” shown in Figure 4x of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/29/2026. If the “bit” of Kawai did not extend into and contact the portion of hole 92 of Kawai which is part of the “internal anvil portion”, the “bit” would be unstably held by anvil 14 of Kawai, the “bit” would be at high risk of being intentionally detached from anvil 14 during operation of tool 1 of Kawai, and the invention of Kawai would be inoperable. Furthermore, even if the “bit” of Kawai did not extend into and contact the portion of hole 92 of Kawai which is part of the “internal anvil portion”, the “bit” would still be indirectly engaged with “internal anvil portion” because balls 93 of Kawai contact both the “bit” and the external portion of anvil 14 which is rigidly attached to the “internal anvil portion”. Thus, Kawai does teach the argued limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANZIM IMAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731