DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding each of claims 1 and 17, from which all other claims depend, “moving the obliquely extending second end of the first elongate arm toward the first end” is indefinite, as it is unclear whether the claim requires moving the second end of the first arm toward the first end of the first arm (which there does not appear to be written description support for, and does not appear to be possible from the configuration shown in the present application), or the claim requires moving the second end of the first arm toward a first end of the second arm (which is described in the present application and shown, for example, in Figs. 6B and 6C). For the purpose of examination, both interpretations are considered in the alternative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0096624 (Di Lauro) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0294206 (Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Di Lauro discloses a method of derotation comprising: providing a derotation system (see Figs. 19 and 20), the derotation system including: first, second, and third derotation towers (see Figs. 19 and 20, eight derotation assemblies 120 shown; four assemblies 120 in one construct assembly 200 and four assemblies 120 in another construct assembly 200), wherein each derotation tower includes a proximal derotation tube (122; it is noted that derotation tube 180 may be used instead, see paragraphs [0101] and [0109\ and Fig. 22) coupled to a distal engagement assembly (124) that is configured to engage an anchor member (70); first and second clamp members (170 and 170S), wherein each clamp member is configured to receive at least two derotation tubes (see Figs. 19 and 20 and paragraphs [0099], [0106], and [0107]), wherein the first clamp member (170) includes: a first elongate arm (178) having first (172) and second (end of arm 178 hingedly connected to arm 176, see Fig. 17B and paragraph [0100]) ends; and a second elongate arm (176) pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm at the first end (see Fig. 17B and paragraph [0100]), the second end of the first elongate arm extending at an oblique angle and being received in the second elongate arm (see marked-up Fig. 17B below, paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 18E, and 18F); and coupling the first clamp member (170) to the first and second derotation tubes along a first axis (see Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0099] and [0106]; clamp member 170 is coupled to four derotation tubes 122 of a first construct assembly 200); and coupling the second clamp member (170S) to the first and third derotation tubes along a second axis that is skewed relative to the first axis (see Fig. 20 and paragraph [0107]; clamp member 170S couples one of the derotation tubes of a first construct assembly 200 coupled by clamp member 170 to a derotation tube of a second construct assembly 200; clamp member 170S extends along an axis that is skewed relative to the axis along which clamp member 170 extends, see Figs. 19 and 20); moving the obliquely extending second end of the first elongate arm toward a first end of the second elongate arm to cause the first elongate arm to move towards the second elongate arm to clamp the first and second derotation tubes to the first clamp member (see paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 17B, 18E, and 18F). Alternatively, Di Lauro discloses moving a first arm of clamp member closer to a second arm of the clamp member when an obliquely extending second end of the first arm moves toward the first end of the first arm (pivoting of end 172 toward hinged end of arm 178 moves first arm closer to second arm 176 as pivoting end 172 is received in end 174; see paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 17B, 18E, and 18F)
Further regarding claim 1, Di Lauro fails to disclose a handle assembly configured to engage one of the clamp members. However, Choi discloses a method of derotation in which a derotation system (see Fig. 5) is provided that includes a handle assembly (45) configured to engage a clamp member (31) that is coupled to derotation tubes (21). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Di Lauro to include a handle assembly to engage one of the clamp members as part of the derotation system as Choi suggests a handle assembly can assist in closing the jaws of the clamp member for initial rotation of derotation tubes coupled by the clamp member, and allow manipulation of the clamp member for final rotation of derotation tubes coupled by the clamp member (see Choi, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Di Lauro discloses wherein each derotation tube comprises a longitudinal axis (along the length of each tube 122/182) and a variable transverse outer surface thereabout (outer surface of each tube 122 is variable in that part of the tube has a knurled surface 126 and another part of the tube is smooth, see Figs. 13A and 17A; outer surface of each tube 182 is variable in that there are threads 186 interrupted with flats 184, see Fig. 18A).
Regarding claim 3, Di Lauro discloses wherein the variable transverse outer surface comprises a plurality of angled surfaces (128).
Regarding claim 4, Di Lauro discloses wherein the at least one derotation tube comprises first and second rotatable members (188) in series along the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 18C and 22).
Regarding claim 5, Di Lauro discloses wherein the variable transverse outer surface comprises a knurled surface (126).
Regarding claim 12, Di Lauro discloses wherein: the second clamp member comprises a first elongate arm (178) coupled to an actuator assembly (172) and a second elongate arm (176) having a receiving portion (174) extending therefrom, wherein the first and second elongate arms are pivotably coupled at a first end of the second clamp member (see Fig. 17B and paragraph [0100]); and at least a portion of the actuator assembly of the first elongate arm is configured to be reversibly received within a receptacle in the receiving portion of the second elongate arm (see paragraphs [0099] and [0100] and Fig. 17B).
Regarding claim 13, Di Lauro discloses wherein an inner surface of each of the first and second elongate arms comprises a retaining feature that is a padded surface (177). Di Lauro fails to disclose the padded surface being a polymer surface. However, Choi discloses a clamp member (31) wherein an inner surface of each of first and second elongate arms (33) comprises a retaining feature that is a polymer padded surface (35, see paragraph [0036] and Fig. 7). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the padded surface of each Di Lauro to be polymer as such a material is compliant to conform to a derotation tube clamped by the clamping member, thus helping to retain the derotation tube between the arms of the clamping member (see Choi, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Di Lauro is silent regarding the actuator assembly being pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm. However, Choi discloses a method of derotation in which a derotation system (see Fig. 5) is provided that a clamp member (31) that comprises a first elongate arm (33) coupled to an actuator assembly (43) and a second elongate arm (33) having a receiving portion (ratchet, see Figs. 5-7 and paragraph [0043]) extending therefrom, wherein the first and second elongate arms are pivotably coupled (via hinge 41) at a first end of the clamp member; and at least a portion of the actuator assembly of the first elongate arm is configured to be reversibly received within a receptacle (openings between teeth of ratchet) in the receiving portion of the second elongate arm (see paragraph [0043] and Figs. 5-7), wherein the actuator assembly (43) is pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm (latch 43 is pivoted on end of arm 33 such that it can be pivotably depressed and released to disengage and engage ratchet on opposing arm, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0043]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the actuator assembly pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm as such a modification merely involves a simple substitution of one known clamp latching mechanism for another known clamp latching mechanism without any unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Di Lauro discloses a method of derotation comprising: providing a derotation system (see Figs. 19 and 20), the derotation system including: a plurality of derotation towers (see Figs. 19 and 20, eight derotation assemblies 120 shown; four assemblies 120 in one construct assembly 200 and four assemblies 120 in another construct assembly 200), wherein each derotation tower comprises a derotation tube (122); a plurality of clamp members (170 and 170S) each having a longitudinal axis (see Figs. 19 and 20; each clamp member 170 and 170S extends along a respective longitudinal axis), wherein each clamp member is configured to receive at least two derotation tubes (see Figs. 19 and 20 and paragraphs [0099], [0106], and [0107]), wherein at least one of the clamp members (170, e.g.) includes: a first elongate arm (178) having first (172) and second (end of arm 178 hingedly connected to arm 176, see Fig. 17B and paragraph [0100]) ends; and a second elongate arm (176) pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm at the first end (see Fig. 17B and paragraph [0100]), the second end of the first elongate arm extending at an oblique angle and being received in the second elongate arm (see marked-up Fig. 17B above, paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 18E, and 18F); and coupling the at least one clamp member (170) to two of the pluraility of derotation tubes along a first axis (see Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0099] and [0106]; clamp member 170 is coupled to four derotation tubes 122 of a first construct assembly 200); and coupling another one of the plurality of clamp members (170S) to two of the plurality of derotation tubes along a second axis that is skewed relative to the first axis (see Fig. 20 and paragraph [0107]; clamp member 170S couples one of the derotation tubes of a first construct assembly 200 coupled by clamp member 170 to a derotation tube of a second construct assembly 200; clamp member 170S extends along an axis that is skewed relative to the axis along which clamp member 170 extends, see Figs. 19 and 20); moving the obliquely extending second end of the first elongate arm toward a first end of the second elongate arm to cause the first elongate arm to move towards the second elongate arm to clamp the two derotation tubes to the at least one clamp member (see paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 17B, 18E, and 18F). Alternatively, Di Lauro discloses moving a first arm of clamp member closer to a second arm of the clamp member when an obliquely extending second end of the first arm moves toward the first end of the first arm (pivoting of end 172 toward hinged end of arm 178 moves first arm closer to second arm 176 as pivoting end 172 is received in end 174; see paragraphs [0099] and [0100], and Figs. 17A, 17B, 18E, and 18F).
Further regarding claim 17, Di Lauro fails to disclose a handle assembly configured to engage one of the clamp members. However, Choi discloses a method of derotation in which a derotation system (see Fig. 5) is provided that includes a handle assembly (45) configured to engage a clamp member (31) that is coupled to derotation tubes (21). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Di Lauro to include a handle assembly to engage one of the clamp members as part of the derotation system as Choi suggests a handle assembly can assist in closing the jaws of the clamp member for initial rotation of derotation tubes coupled by the clamp member, and allow manipulation of the clamp member for final rotation of derotation tubes coupled by the clamp member (see Choi, paragraph [0040]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Choi, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0200132 (Chao).
Regarding claim 6, Di Lauro fails to disclose wherein the distal engagement assembly comprises an outer sleeve slideably disposed over an inner sleeve, wherein the inner sleeve comprises a distal end configured to engage the anchor member. However, Chao discloses a derotation system (see Fig. 9, e.g.) used in a method of derotation (see Abstract), the derotation system including derotation towers (10B and 10C, e.g.), wherein each derotation tower comprises a proximal derotation tube (16) coupled to a distal engagement assembly (12/14/24) that is configured to engage an anchor member (60), wherein the distal engagement assembly comprises an outer sleeve (24) slideably disposed over an inner sleeve (12), wherein the inner sleeve comprises a distal end (14) configured to engage the anchor member. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the distal engagement assembly of Chao for the distal engagement assembly of Di Lauro as such a modification merely involves substituting one known anchor engagement assembly from a known derotation tower for another known anchor engagement assembly from another known derotation tower without any unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Di Lauro and Choi are silent regarding wherein the receiving portion extends at an oblique angle relative to the second elongate arm. However, Chao discloses wherein: the clamp member comprises a first elongate arm (204) coupled to an actuator assembly (214) and a second elongate arm (206) having a receiving portion (212) extending therefrom, wherein the first and second elongate arms are pivotably coupled (via hinge 208) at a first end of the clamp member; and at least a portion of the actuator assembly of the first elongate arm is configured to be reversibly received within a receptacle (222) in the receiving portion of the second elongate arm (see paragraph [0043]), wherein the receiving portion (212) extends at an oblique angle relative to the second elongate arm (see marked-up Fig. 8 of Chao below). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receiving portion to extend at an oblique angle as Chao suggests such a receiving portion configuration is an obvious matter of design choice suitable for receiving an actuation assembly of an opposing arm of a clamp member, and such a modification merely involves substituting one known type of clamp member locking mechanism for another know type of clamp member locking mechanism without any unpredictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Choi and Chao, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0029580 (Solitario).
Regarding claim 7, Di Lauro, Choi, and Chao fail to disclose or suggest wherein the outer sleeve comprises at least two concave gripping surfaces. However, Solitario discloses a spinal fixation rod implantation tool (8) wherein an outer surface of a handle (40) of the tool comprises at least two concave gripping surfaces (43). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outer sleeve of Di Lauro in view or Choi and Chao to have at least two concave gripping surfaces to facilitate gripping of the outer sleeve by the surgeon.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Choi, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0316475 (Parikh).
Regarding claims 8-11, Di Lauro and Choi fail to disclose or suggest wherein the distal engagement assembly comprises a rod reducer assembly, wherein the rod reducer assembly is configured to reduce a rod engaged with the anchor member (claim 8); wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises: a connector member; a clip reducer configured to be reversibly coupled with the connector member and comprising a reduction member and a distal end configured to engage the anchor member; and a threaded driver configured to actuate the reduction member (claim 9); wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises: a clip reducer comprising a translatable reduction member and a distal end configured to engage the anchor member; and a threaded driver configured to actuate the reduction member (claim 10); and wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises an inner sleeve comprising a distal end configured to engage the anchor member; an outer sleeve slideably disposed over the inner sleeve and configured to reduce the rod; and a rotatable handle configured to actuate the outer sleeve (claim 11). However, Parikh discloses spinal deformity derotation tube (100) wherein the tube comprises a rod reducer assembly (102/104), wherein the rod reducer assembly is configured to reduce a rod engaged with an anchor member (see paragraph [0058]); wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises: a connector member (102); a clip reducer (104) configured to be reversibly coupled with the connector member and comprising a reduction member (130) and a distal end configured to engage the anchor member (distal end of 104 engages head of anchor member via rod reduced into anchor member, see paragraph [0058]); and a threaded driver (126) configured to actuate the reduction member; wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises: a clip reducer (104) comprising a translatable reduction member (130) and a distal end configured to engage the anchor member (distal end of 104 engages head of anchor member via rod reduced into anchor member, see paragraph [0058]); and a threaded driver (126) configured to actuate the reduction member; and wherein the rod reducer assembly comprises an inner sleeve (102) comprising a distal end (116) configured to engage the anchor member (see paragraph [0059]); an outer sleeve (104) slideably disposed over the inner sleeve and configured to reduce the rod (see paragraph [0058]); and a rotatable handle (126) configured to actuate the outer sleeve (see paragraph [0061]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the derotation tube of Di Lauro in view of Choi include a rod reducer assembly as suggested by Parikh in order to utilize one instrument to perform rod reduction and vertebral derotation, thereby reducing the number of instruments needed to perform these tasks (see Parikh, paragraph [0010]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Choi, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,986,349 (German).
Regarding claim 15, Di Lauro fails to disclose the derotation system further including a cantilever spring coupled to the first elongate arm and the actuator assembly. However Choi discloses a method of derotation in which a derotation system (see Fig. 5) is provided that a clamp member (31) that comprises a first elongate arm (33) coupled to an actuator assembly (43) and a second elongate arm (33) having a receiving portion (ratchet, see Figs. 5-7 and paragraph [0043]) extending therefrom, wherein the first and second elongate arms are pivotably coupled (via hinge 41) at a first end of the clamp member; and at least a portion of the actuator assembly of the first elongate arm is configured to be reversibly received within a receptacle (openings between teeth of ratchet) in the receiving portion of the second elongate arm (see paragraph [0043] and Figs. 5-7), wherein the actuator assembly (43) is pivotably coupled to the first elongate arm (latch 43 is pivoted on end of arm 33 such that it can be pivotably depressed and released to disengage and engage ratchet on opposing arm, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0043]), and the actuator assembly (43) is spring loadedly coupled to the first elongate arm (see paragraph [0043]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the actuator assembly spring loadedly coupled to the first elongate arm as such a modification merely involves a simple substitution of one known clamp latching mechanism for another known clamp latching mechanism without any unpredictable results.
Further regarding claim 15, Di Lauro and Choi fails to explicitly disclose a cantilever spring as the spring. However, German discloses systems and methods for correcting spinal deformities, wherein a cantilever spring (920) is used to bias a spring loaded arm (922) of a reduction tower (900). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a cantilever spring as the spring for biasing the actuator assembly in Di Lauro in view of Choi as suggested by German as such a spring is one of numerous feature or mechanisms suitable for spring biasing a component to return to a desired position (see German, co. 24, lines 57-64).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Parikh.
Regarding claim 17, Di Lauro discloses a method of derotation comprising: providing a derotation system (see Figs. 19 and 20), the derotation system including: a plurality of derotation towers (see Figs. 19 and 20, eight derotation assemblies 120 shown; four assemblies 120 in one construct assembly 200 and four assemblies 120 in another construct assembly 200), wherein each derotation tower comprises a derotation tube (122); a plurality of clamp members (170 and 170S) each having a longitudinal axis (see Figs. 19 and 20; each clamp member 170 and 170S extends along a respective longitudinal axis), wherein each clamp member is configured to receive at least two derotation tubes (see Figs. 19 and 20 and paragraphs [0099], [0106], and [0107]); and coupling one of the plurality of clamp members (170) to two of the pluraility of derotation tubes along a first axis (see Fig. 19 and paragraphs [0099] and [0106]; clamp member 170 is coupled to four derotation tubes 122 of a first construct assembly 200); and coupling another one of the plurality of clamp members (170S) to two of the plurality of derotation tubes along a second axis that is skewed relative to the first axis (see Fig. 20 and paragraph [0107]; clamp member 170S couples one of the derotation tubes of a first construct assembly 200 coupled by clamp member 170 to a derotation tube of a second construct assembly 200; clamp member 170S extends along an axis that is skewed relative to the axis along which clamp member 170 extends, see Figs. 19 and 20).
Further regarding claim 17 and regarding claims 18 and 19, Di Lauro fails to disclose a handle assembly configured to engage one of the clamp members (claim 17); wherein the handle assembly comprises an elongate member rotatably coupled to a plate member, wherein: the elongate member comprises a proximal handle-engaging portion, a first leg, and a cylindrical body therebetween; and the plate member comprises a body and a second leg extending orthogonally therefrom (claim 18); wherein the handle assembly is configured to receive one of the clamp members between the first and second legs (claim 19). However, Parikh discloses a derotation system (450) including derotation towers (500) and a clamp member (700), wherein a handle assembly (600) is configured to engage the clamp member (see paragraph [0075]), wherein the handle assembly comprises an elongate member (606) rotatably coupled to a plate member (602), wherein: the elongate member comprises a proximal handle-engaging portion (620), a first leg (618), and a cylindrical body therebetween (see Fig. 23); and the plate member comprises a body (604) and a second leg (608/622 or 640) extending orthogonally therefrom; wherein the handle assembly is configured to receive one of the clamp members between the first and second legs (see paragraph [0075]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the derotation system of the method of Di Lauro to include a handle assembly as suggested by Parikh in order to facilitate coupling of the derotation towers and clip members together (see Parikh, paragraphs [0019] and [0027]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Lauro in view of Choi or Parikh, and further in view of U.S. Patent application Publication No. 2010/0212460 (Buss).
Regarding claim 20, Di Lauro discloses further comprising a counter-torque device (140), but fails to disclose the counter-torque device comprising an elongate body having first and second prongs extending distally therefrom and defining a cavity therebetween, wherein the cavity comprises a curved section and a linear section. However, Buss discloses a counter-torque device (100) as part of a spinal fixation system (see paragraph [0001]), wherein the counter-torque device comprises an elongate body (130) having first and second prongs (134) extending distally therefrom and defining a cavity (136) therebetween, wherein the cavity comprises a curved section and a linear section (see Fig. 11, cavity between prongs 134 comprises a curved inner section to the right and a linear section to the left). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the counter-torque device of Buss for the counter-torque device of Di Lauro as such a modification merely involves substituting one known counter-torque device of a spinal fixation system for another known counter-torque device from another known spinal fixation system without any unpredictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the Remarks that Choi fails to disclose moving a first arm of clamp member closer to a second arm of the clamp member when an obliquely extending second end of the first arm moves toward the other end. First, it is unclear what “the other end” is referring to. Second, if the other end is referring to the first end of the second arm, Di Lauro discloses such a clamping member (see rejections of claims 1 and 17 above). Third, if the other end is referring to the first end of the first arm, Di Lauro discloses such a clamping member (see rejections of claims 1 and 17 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J PLIONIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773