DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12414638 (the ‘638 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application is broader than claim 1 of the ‘638 Patent (see table below).
Present Application
The ‘638 Patent
Explanation
Claim 1
A mattress comprising: a first air chamber;
a second air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber, wherein the second air chamber is fluidly connected to the first air chamber;
and a support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and a foot end of the mattress.
Claim 1
A mattress comprising: a first air chamber;
a second air chamber stacked directly beneath the first air chamber, wherein the second air chamber is fluidly connected to the first air chamber,
wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure when a user lies on the mattress; and
a support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and a foot end of the mattress.
Claim 1 of the present application is the same as claim 1 of the ‘638 Patent, except that claim 1 of the ‘638 Patent contains an additional limitation wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure when a user lies on the mattress and positioned directly under. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the ’638 Patent to not have common internal pressure between the first and second air chambers when a user lies on the mattress because doing so is an omission of a structural element, which would simplify the mattress and result in cheaper and easier manufacturing.
Claim 2
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a foam layer positioned at a top surface of the mattress above the first air chamber.
Claim 2
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a foam layer positioned at a top surface of the mattress above the first air chamber.
Claim 2 of the present application is the same as claim 2 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 2 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 3
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the first air chamber extends across a length of the mattress from a head end to the foot end of the mattress.
Claim 3
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the first air chamber extends across a length of the mattress from a head end to the foot end of the mattress.
Claim 3 of the present application is the same as claim 3 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 3 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 4
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the second air chamber is positioned at a shoulder region of the mattress.
Claim 4
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the second air chamber is positioned at a shoulder region of the mattress.
Claim 4 of the present application is the same as claim 3 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 3 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 5
The mattress of claim 1,
wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure.
Claim 1 (excerpt)
wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure
when a user lies on the mattress;
Claim 5 of the present application is the same as claim 1 of the ‘638 Patent with the exception of not having the limitation when a user lies on the mattress and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 5 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above. This is because the limitation when a user lies on the mattress adds additional structural limitations (e.g., two way interconnection) that adds additional complexity that is avoided when the limitation is omitted.
Claim 6
The mattress of claim 5,
wherein decreasing the common internal pressure in the first air chamber and the second air chamber causes the support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress to increase support at a lumbar region of the mattress.
Claim 5
The mattress of claim 1, and further comprising a hose or other suitable connector configured to extend between the first air chamber to the second air chamber and an air pump configured to be fluidly connected to one or more of the first air chamber and the second air chamber,
wherein decreasing the common internal pressure in the first air chamber and the second air chamber causes the support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress to increase support at a lumbar region of the mattress.
Claim 6 of the present application is the same as claim 5 of the ‘638 Patent with the exception of not having the limitation of a hose and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 6 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above. This is because the limitation of a hose adds additional structural limitations that adds additional complexity that is avoided when the limitation is omitted.
Claim 7
The mattress of claim 1, wherein one or more additional supports are positioned beneath the first air chamber and between at least one of (i) the second air chamber and a head end of the mattress, (ii) the second air chamber and the support, and (iii) the support and the foot end of the mattress.
Claim 6
The mattress of claim 1, wherein one or more additional supports are positioned beneath the first air chamber and between at least one of (i) the second air chamber and a head end of the mattress, (ii) the second air chamber and the support, and (iii) the support and the foot end of the mattress.
Claim 7 of the present application is the same as claim 6 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 7 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 8
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a third air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the support and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the third air chamber is positioned at a hip region of the mattress.
Claim 7
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a third air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the support and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the third air chamber is positioned at a hip region of the mattress.
Claim 8 of the present application is the same as claim 7 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 8 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 9
The mattress of claim 1, wherein an additional support is positioned beneath the second air chamber and the support and configured to extend across a length of a bottom surface of the mattress.
Claim 8
The mattress of claim 1, wherein an additional support is positioned beneath the second air chamber and the support and configured to extend across a length of a bottom surface of the mattress.
Claim 9 of the present application is the same as claim 8 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 9 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 10
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a foam rail structure including a head portion, a foot portion, and first and second side portions, the foam rail structure stacked beneath the first air chamber and configured to extend around a perimeter of the mattress to surround the second air chamber and the support.
Claim 9
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a foam rail structure including a head portion, a foot portion, and first and second side portions, the foam rail structure stacked beneath the first air chamber and configured to extend around a perimeter of the mattress to surround the second air chamber and the support.
Claim 10 of the present application is the same as claim 9 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 10 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 11
The mattress of claim 10, wherein the second air chamber extends from a location adjacent to an inner surface of the head portion of the foam rail structure to a shoulder region of the mattress.
Claim 10
The mattress of claim 10, wherein the second air chamber extends from a location adjacent to an inner surface of the head portion of the foam rail structure to a shoulder region of the mattress.
Claim 11 of the present application is the same as claim 10 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 11 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 12
The mattress of claim 10, wherein the support extends from a location adjacent to the second air chamber to a location adjacent to an inner surface of the foot portion of the foam rail structure.
Claim 11
The mattress of claim 10, wherein the support extends from a location adjacent to the second air chamber to a location adjacent to an inner surface of the foot portion of the foam rail structure.
Claim 12 of the present application is the same as claim 11 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 12 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 13
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the support comprises a rectangular open cell foam cushion positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress at a location exterior to the second air chamber.
Claim 12
The mattress of claim 1, wherein the support comprises a rectangular open cell foam cushion positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress at a location exterior to the second air chamber.
Claim 13 of the present application is the same as claim 12 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 13 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 14
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress, and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress, wherein the first section comprises the second air chamber and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber and a second support positioned between the third air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the second section.
Claim 13
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress, and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress, wherein the first section comprises the second air chamber and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber and a second support positioned between the third air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the second section.
Claim 14 of the present application is the same as claim 13 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 14 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 15
The mattress of claim 14, wherein: the second air chamber and the third air chamber have a different internal pressure, and the support within the first section has a first firmness level and the second support within the second section has a second firmness level, wherein the first firmness level is different than the second firmness level.
Claim 14
The mattress of claim 14, wherein: the second air chamber and the third air chamber have a different internal pressure, and the support within the first section has a first firmness level and the second support within the second section has a second firmness level, wherein the first firmness level is different than the second firmness level.
Claim 15 of the present application is the same as claim 14 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 15 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 16
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress, and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress, wherein the first section comprises the first air chamber, the second air chamber, and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber, a fourth air chamber, and a second support positioned between the fourth air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the third air chamber extends across a top surface of the second section.
Claim 15
The mattress of claim 1, further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress, and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress, wherein the first section comprises the first air chamber, the second air chamber, and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber, a fourth air chamber, and a second support positioned directly between the fourth air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the third air chamber extends across a top surface of the second section.
Claim 16 of the present application is the same as claim 15 of the ‘638 Patent and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 16 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above.
Claim 17
The mattress of claim 16, wherein the first air chamber and the third air chamber are fluidly connected
to share a first common pressure and the second air chamber and the fourth air chamber are fluidly connected
to share a second common pressure, wherein the first common pressure is different than the second common pressure.
Claim 16
The mattress of claim 16, wherein the first air chamber and the third air chamber are fluidly connected
via a first hose or other suitable connector
to share a first common pressure and the second air chamber and the fourth air chamber are fluidly connected via a second hose or other suitable connector
to share a second common pressure, wherein the first common pressure is different than the second common pressure.
Claim 17 of the present application is the same as claim 16 of the ‘638 Patent with the exception of not having the limitation of a first and second hose and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 17 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 1, detailed above. This is because the limitation of a first and second hose adds additional structural limitations that adds additional complexity that is avoided when the limitation is omitted.
Claim 18
A mattress comprising:
a first air chamber positioned on a first side of the mattress; a second air chamber positioned on a second side of the mattress;
a first lower air chamber positioned under the first air chamber,
wherein the first lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the second air chamber;
and a second lower air chamber positioned under the second air chamber,
wherein the second lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the first air chamber.
Claim 17
A mattress comprising:
a first air chamber positioned on a first side of the mattress; a second air chamber positioned on a second side of the mattress;
a first lower air chamber positioned directly under the first air chamber,
wherein the first lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the second air chamber
such that the first lower air chamber and the second air chamber share a first common pressure;
and a second lower air chamber positioned directly under the second air chamber,
wherein the second lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the first air chamber
such that the second lower air chamber and the first air chamber share a second common pressure.
Claim 18 of the present application is the same as claim 17 of the ‘638 Patent, except that claim 17 of the ‘638 Patent contains an additional limitation wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure when a user lies on the mattress and positioned directly under. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the ’638 Patent to not have common internal pressure between the first and second air chambers when a user lies on the mattress because doing so is an omission of a structural element, which would simplify the mattress and result in cheaper and easier manufacturing.
Claim 19
The mattress of claim 18,
wherein each of the first air chamber and the second air chamber are fluidly independent and independently adjustable.
Claim 18
The mattress of claim 18, and further comprising one or more air pumps configured to be fluidly connected to one or more of the first air chamber, the second air chamber, the first lower air chamber, and the second lower air chamber,
wherein each of the first air chamber and the second air chamber are fluidly independent and independently adjustable.
Claim 19 of the present application is the same as claim 18 of the ‘638 Patent with the exception of not having the limitation of a pump and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 19 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 18, detailed above. This is because the limitation of a pump additional structural limitations that adds additional complexity that is avoided when the limitation is omitted.
Claim 20
The mattress of claim 18,
wherein the mattress is configured to have a relatively level top sleep surface even when pressure is adjusted in the first air chamber and the second lower air chamber but not in the second air chamber and the first lower air chamber.
Claim 19
The mattress of claim 18, and further comprising one or more air pumps configured to be fluidly connected to one or more of the first air chamber, the second air chamber, the first lower air chamber, and the second lower air chamber,
wherein the mattress is configured to have a relatively level top sleep surface even when pressure is adjusted in the first air chamber and the second lower air chamber but not in the second air chamber and the first lower air chamber.
Claim 20 of the present application is the same as claim 19 of the ‘638 Patent with the exception of not having the limitation of a pump and therefore it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to result in claim 20 of the present application for similar reasons as claim 18, detailed above. This is because the limitation of a pump additional structural limitations that adds additional complexity that is avoided when the limitation is omitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9078795 B1 to Wilkinson in view of US 20020129448 A1 to Pirzada.
Re Claim 1, Wilkinson teaches:
A mattress (at least [Abstract] “cushioning device”.) comprising: a first air chamber (at least Figs. 2-3 and [Col. 5 lines 3-18] “first group of fluid cells 28 may include surface fluid cells 12a, 12b, 12e, 12f, along with a first counterbalance cells 24a and a third counterbalance cells 24c”.);
and a support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and a foot end of the mattress (at least Figs. 2-3 and [Col. 7 lines 8-15] “a first foam layer 46”.).
Wilkinson does not explicitly teach:
a second air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber, wherein the second air chamber is fluidly connected to the first air chamber.
However, Pirzada teaches:
a second air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber (at least Figs. 1-2 element 12E), wherein the second air chamber is fluidly connected to the first air chamber (at least Figs. 1-2 element 16 and [0033] “connecting pipe 16 which connects chambers 12 throughout system 10”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by Wilkinson with the second air chamber directly beneath and fluidly connected taught by Pirzada with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with two air chambers on top of each other. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it allows a user to “restrict the flow between chambers 12H, 12C, or 12F to manifold 16 connected to manual relief valve 22. With this connection, air would only be able to flow out of chambers 12H, 12C, or 12F and out of valve 22 and not in to chambers 12H, 12C or 12F from chambers 12A, 12B, 12D, 12G and 12E. Thus, if this one way valve 26 is placed in the system, it would virtually seal chambers 12A, 12B, 12D, 12G and 12E from chambers 12C, 12F, and 12H creating two separate air flow systems each having an air intake valve 20” (Pirzada [0036]) in order to adjust the mattress to the user’s preference.
Re Claim 2, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
further comprising a foam layer positioned at a top surface of the mattress above the first air chamber (at least Figs. 1-2 and [Col. 3 lines 15-20] “top pad 6 and outer walls 8, 9 may be made from a resilient material such as foam”.).
Re Claim 4, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein the second air chamber is positioned at a shoulder region of the mattress (at least Fig. 3).
Re Claim 5, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein the first air chamber and the second air chamber have a common internal pressure (at least Figs. 2-3 and [Col. 5 lines 3-18] “The first group of fluid cells 28 may be interconnected by a first manifold 32”.).
Re Claim 6, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 5 (detailed with respect to claim 5).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein decreasing the common internal pressure in the first air chamber and the second air chamber causes the support stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress to increase support at a lumbar region of the mattress (at least [Col. 8 lines 37-57] “Because the counterbalance fluid cell 24c is located directly below the surface fluid cells 12e, 12f, the increased firmness below these surface fluid cells 12e, 12f helps to support these cells 12e, 12f and thereby prevents a person from sliding down to the foot end 18 of the cushioning device 10 during articulation”.).
Re Claim 7, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein one or more additional supports are positioned beneath the first air chamber and between at least one of (i) the second air chamber and a head end of the mattress, (ii) the second air chamber and the support, and (iii) the support and the foot end of the mattress (at least Figs. 2-3 and [Col. 7 lines 8-15] “a first foam layer 46 and a second foam layer 48”.).
Re Claim 9, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein an additional support is positioned beneath the second air chamber and the support and configured to extend across a length of a bottom surface of the mattress (at least Figs. 2-3 and [Col. 7 lines 8-15] “a second foam layer 48”.).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of Pirzada and further in view of US 6804848 B1 to Rose.
Re Claim 3, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first air chamber extends across a length of the mattress from a head end to the foot end of the mattress.
However, Rose teaches:
wherein the first air chamber extends across a length of the mattress from a head end to the foot end of the mattress (at least Fig. 2 and [Col. 5 lines 5-10] “air chambers 54”,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada with the extension across a length of a mattress taught by Rose with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at an air chamber extending from head to foot end of a mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “air chambers 54, 56 are dimensioned to fit tightly between the opposite sidewalls of encasement 12 so that they overly the entire area of foundation assembly composed of edgewall bolsters 42a-42d, and foam blocks 44. In this way, an air posturizing surface is provided completely over the entire surface area of the mattress” (Rose [Col. 5 lines 15-25]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of Pirzada and further in view of US 20170156519 A1 to Cheng.
Re Claim 8, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a third air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the support and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the third air chamber is positioned at a hip region of the mattress.
However, Cheng teaches:
further comprising a third air chamber stacked beneath the first air chamber and positioned between the support and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the third air chamber is positioned at a hip region of the mattress (at least Fig. 10 and [0053] “may be more than one additional airbags stacked on the airbag 20” and [0054] “airbags illustrated in each of these drawings can be made in various sizes and shapes according to needs, or the airbags can be added in a flexible manner and arranged in any desired fashion and combination”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada with the third air chamber taught by Cheng with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a third air chamber at a hip region of a mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “airbags 1 according to the present invention may be arranged in a mat 50, so that, besides receiving a specific portion of the body of a user to rest thereon, the mat 50 also allows for adjustments of height, softness, and shapability thereof” (Cheng [0054]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of Pirzada and further in view of US 20220167753 A1 to Rasmussen.
Re Claim 10, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilkinson further teaches:
further comprising a foam rail structure including a head portion, a foot portion, and first and second side portions, and configured to extend around a perimeter of the mattress to surround the second air chamber and the support (at least Figs. 1-2 and [Col. 3 lines 15-20] “top pad 6 and outer walls 8, 9 may be made from a resilient material such as foam”.).
The combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
the foam rail structure stacked beneath.
However, Rasmussen teaches:
the foam rail structure stacked beneath (at least Fig. 3 element 126 and [0023] “sidewall 126 comprises a foam material”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada with the rail stacked underneath as taught by Rasmussen with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a rail located at the bottom of the stack. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it provides a foundation.
Re Claim 11, the combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, and Rasmussen teaches:
The mattress of claim 10 (detailed with respect to claim 10).
Pirzada further teaches:
wherein the second air chamber extends from a location adjacent to an inner surface of the head portion of the foam rail structure to a shoulder region of the mattress (at least Fig. 2).
Re Claim 12, the combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, and Rasmussen teaches:
The mattress of claim 10 (detailed with respect to claim 10).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein the support extends from a location adjacent to the second air chamber to a location adjacent to an inner surface of the foot portion of the foam rail structure (at least Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of Pirzada and further in view of US 20030192127 A1 to Cook.
Re Claim 13, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1),
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein the support comprises a rectangular cushion positioned between the second air chamber and the foot end of the mattress at a location exterior to the second air chamber (at least Fig. 3).
The combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
open cell foam.
However, Cook teaches:
open cell foam (at least [0022] “open cell polymeric foam”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress comprising foam taught by the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada with the open cell foam taught by Cook with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress comprising open cell foam. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “It conforms closely to the contours of a body resting on it and distributes the weight of the entire body evenly over the sleeping surface” (Cook [0022]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view Pirzada and Rose and further in view of US 20200268163 A1 to Duvert.
Re Claim 14, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress,
and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress,
wherein the first section comprises the second air chamber and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber and a second support positioned between the third air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the second section.
However, Rose teaches:
further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress (at least Fig. 2 element 54 and [Col. 5 lines 5-10] “air chambers 54 and 56 arranged side-by-side”.),
and a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress (at least Fig. 2 element 56 and [Col. 5 lines 5-10] “air chambers 54 and 56 arranged side-by-side”.), wherein the first section comprises the second air chamber and the support (at least Fig. 2),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada with the first and second sections across a length of a mattress taught by Rose with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at first and second sections with an air chamber extending from head to foot end of a mattress. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “air chambers 54, 56 are dimensioned to fit tightly between the opposite sidewalls of encasement 12 so that they overly the entire area of foundation assembly composed of edgewall bolsters 42a-42d, and foam blocks 44. In this way, an air posturizing surface is provided completely over the entire surface area of the mattress” (Rose [Col. 5 lines 15-25]).
The combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, and Rose does not explicitly teach:
and the second section comprises a third air chamber and a second support positioned between the third air chamber and the foot end of the mattress, wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the second section.
However, Duvert teaches:
and the second section comprises a third air chamber (at least Fig. 1 element 34 and [0142] “one inflatable cell 34 in the leg zone 34”.) and a second support positioned between the third air chamber and the foot end of the mattress (at least Fig. 1 element 24, lower level), wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the second section (at least Fig. 1 element 24, upper level and [0139] “Fifth and sixth segments comprise each sub-layer of the second inflatable cells 24 of the leg zone 16”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air chamber taught by the combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, and Rose with the third air chamber taught by Duvert with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with a third air chamber. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Each of the inflatable cells of the second layer 6 substantially extends across the entire length and width of the zone in which the cell is located. As such, each inflatable cell of the first layer 4 is arranged above an inflatable cell of the second layer 6” (Duvert [0142]), which provides additional support.
Re Claim 15, the combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, Rose, and Duvert teaches:
The mattress of claim 14 (detailed with respect to claim 14).
Wilkinson further teaches:
wherein: the second air chamber and the third air chamber have a different internal pressure, and the support within the first section has a first firmness level and the second support within the second section has a second firmness level, wherein the first firmness level is different than the second firmness level (at least [Col. 14 lines 30-41] “the first and second threshold pressures may be different. In yet another embodiment, the first and second threshold pressures may be changeable either automatically or manually. This may provide for an alternating pressure scenario which is useful in a hospital setting to prevent bedsores”.).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of Pirzada and further in view of US 20030221261 A1 to Torbet.
Re Claim 16, the combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada teaches:
The mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilkinson and Pirzada does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress, and
a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress,
wherein the first section comprises the first air chamber, the second air chamber, and the support, and the second section comprises a third air chamber, a fourth air chamber, and a second support positioned directly between the fourth air chamber and the foot end of the mattress,
wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the third air chamber extends across a top surface of the second section.
However, Torbet teaches:
further comprising a first section extending longitudinally between a head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a left side and a midline of the mattress (at least Fig. 13 left side), and
a second section extending longitudinally between the head end and the foot end of the mattress and extending laterally between a right side and the midline of the mattress (at least Fig. 13 right side),
wherein the first section comprises the first air chamber, the second air chamber (at least Fig. 13 and [0116] “inflatable lifts 12-1 , 12-2, 12-3 and 12-4”.), and the support (at least Fig. 6 element 14 and [0092] “base layer 14”.), and the second section comprises a third air chamber, a fourth air chamber (at least Fig. 13 and [0115] “lifts 12'-1, 12'-2, 12'-3 and 12'-4”.), and a second support positioned directly between the fourth air chamber and the foot end of the mattress (at least Fig. 13 element 24 and [0116] “foam material 24 extends around the left and right sides and along the foot of mattress”.),
wherein the first air chamber extends across a top surface of the first section and the third air chamber extends across a top surface of the second section (at least Fig. 13 elements 12 and 12’).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress comprising air chambers taught by Wilkinson with the third and fourth air chambers taught by Torbet with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with third and fourth air chambers. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “each of the other lifts 12 can be increased or decreased in pressure so that the vertical alignment of all of the lifts is under control of the person” (Torbet [0113]).
Re Claim 17, the combination of Wilkinson, Pirzada, and Torbet teaches:
The mattress of claim 16 (detailed with respect to claim 16).
Torbet further teaches:
wherein the first air chamber and the third air chamber are fluidly connected to share a first common pressure and the second air chamber and the fourth air chamber are fluidly connected to share a second common pressure (at least Fig. 13 element 39 and [0115] “pressure source 39”.), wherein the first common pressure is different than the second common pressure (at least Fig. 13 and [0113] “each of the other lifts 12 can be increased or decreased in pressure” and [0115] “each of the other lifts 12' can be increased or decreased in pressure”.).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torbet in view of US 20210378413 A1 to Ohno.
Re Claim 18, Torbet teaches:
A mattress (at least [Abstract] “mattress”.) comprising: a first air chamber positioned on a first side of the mattress (at least Fig. 13 left side); a second air chamber positioned on a second side of the mattress (at least Fig. 13 right side).
Torbet does not explicitly teach:
a first lower air chamber positioned under the first air chamber, wherein the first lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the second air chamber; and a second lower air chamber positioned under the second air chamber, wherein the second lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the first air chamber.
However, Ohno teaches:
a first lower air chamber positioned under the first air chamber (at least Figs. 3 and 7 element 130SL and [0105] “upper left sub-cell 130SL,”.), wherein the first lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the second air chamber (at least Figs. 3 and 7 and [0105] “the sub-cell 130 is connected to the pump 180 through separate lines from those of the main cell 120”. In other words, the pump 180 is what fluidly connects all the cells together); and a second lower air chamber positioned under the second air chamber (at least Figs. 3 and 7 element 130SR and [0105] “upper right sub-cell 130SR,”.), wherein the second lower air chamber is fluidly connected with the first air chamber (at least Figs. 3 and 7 and [0105] “the sub-cell 130 is connected to the pump 180 through separate lines from those of the main cell 120”. In other words, the pump 180 is what fluidly connects all the cells together).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress comprising air chambers taught by Torbet with the lower air chambers taught by Ohno with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with lower air chambers. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “sub-cell 130 is an air cell that is used to change the body position of the user and support the body of the user. The sub-cell 130 is sometimes also referred to as a support cell, a body position changing cell, or an SF cell” (Ohno [0087]).
Re Claim 19, the combination of Torbet and Ohno teaches:
The mattress of claim 18 (detailed with respect to claim 18).
Torbet further teaches:
wherein each of the first air chamber and the second air chamber are fluidly independent and independently adjustable (at least Fig. 13 and [0113] “each of the other lifts 12 can be increased or decreased in pressure” and [0115] “each of the other lifts 12' can be increased or decreased in pressure”.).
Re Claim 20, the combination of Torbet and Ohno teaches:
The mattress of claim 18 (detailed with respect to claim 18).
Ohno further teaches:
wherein the mattress is configured to have a relatively level top sleep surface even when pressure is adjusted in the first air chamber and the second lower air chamber but not in the second air chamber and the first lower air chamber (at least Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673