Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for an airfield generator” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
In this view, the “airfield generator” is neither claimed nor affirmatively recited in the claims of the present invention.
Therefore, the at least claim 2 has been interpreted as follows:
“A filter comprising: an elongate body extending from a proximal end to a terminal end opposite the proximal end, the body comprising a polygonal shape having sides and vertices, the sides extending from the proximal end to the terminal end between the vertices of the polygonal shape, the body further comprising a longitudinal length between the proximal end and the terminal end; a first end opening at the proximal end of the body; a second end opening at the terminal end of the body; one or more filters on the sides of the body, wherein the one or more filters extend along at least a portion of the length of the body; and wherein the body is configured to draw-in air through the first end opening and through the second end opening and to exhaust the drawn-in air out of the body through the one or more filtering portions on the sides of the body, wherein the one or more filtering portions are configured to filter the air passing through the one or more filtering portions.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ke et al (US 20170328590; hereinafter Ke).
As regarding claim 2, Ke discloses the claimed invention for a filter for an airfield generator, the filter comprising: an elongate body (annotated fig. 4) extending from a proximal end to a terminal end opposite the proximal end, the body comprising a polygonal shape having sides and vertices, the sides extending from the proximal end to the terminal end between the vertices of the polygonal shape, the body further comprising a longitudinal length between the proximal end and the terminal end; a first end opening at the proximal end of the body; a second end opening at the terminal end of the body; one or more filters on the sides of the body, wherein the one or more filters extend along at least a portion of the length of the body; and wherein the body is configured to draw-in air through the first end opening and through the second end opening and to exhaust the drawn-in air out of the body through the one or more filtering portions on the sides of the body, wherein the one or more filtering portions are configured to filter the air passing through the one or more filtering portions (annotated fig. 4).
As regarding claim 3, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention for wherein the one or more filtering portions each comprise an opening in the sides of the body and a filter material (416a-c) positioned over the opening.
As regarding claim 4, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention for the filter material (416c-a of fig. 5A-5C) is configured to expand radially outward through the one or more filter openings when air flows through the filter material.
As regarding claim 5, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention for wherein the filter (annotated fig. 4) is configured to be inserted into an internal cavity of the airfield generator (see claim interpretation above) so air enters the first end opening and the second end opening through inlets of the internal cavity of the airfield generator.
As regarding claim 6, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention for wherein the filter (annotated fig. 4) is configured to reduce vortices in the internal cavity of the airfield generator.
Examiner notes that the limitations of “configured to reduce vortices”, which pertains to the mode of operating a disclosed filter. However, it is well established that neither the mode of operating a disclosed device nor the material or article being processed imposes further limit an apparatus claim.
As regarding claim 7, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention for wherein the body comprises a triangular shape (annotated fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al (US 20170328590; hereinafter Ke).
As regarding claim 8, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention except for each of the sides comprises a plurality of filter portions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide each of the sides comprises a plurality of filter portions in order to enhance filter performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 9, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a first side of the body comprises a different number of filtering portions than a second side of the body. Nevertheless, providing the first side with a number of filtering portions different from the second side would have been obvious design choice to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to enhance filter performance.
As regarding claim 10, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the filter comprises a filter rating of at least MERV 13. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the filter comprises a filter rating of at least MERV 13 in order to provide a surface enhanced filter assembly, since it was known in the art as shown in Mashburn et al (US 20220297039; hereinafter Mashburn; [0074]).
As regarding claim 11, Ke discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ke discloses the claimed invention except for a combination comprising the filter and an airfield generator comprising a first air intake and a second air intake, the airfield generator configured to receive the filter such that air is drawn into the first end opening through the first air intake and into the second end opening through the second air intake. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a combination comprising the filter and an airfield generator comprising a first air intake and a second air intake, the airfield generator configured to receive the filter such that air is drawn into the first end opening through the first air intake and into the second end opening through the second air intake in order to enhance airfield generator, since it was known in the art as shown in Miller (US 20160001212; [0018], [0053]-[0055] and fig. 13).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773