DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Don (US 20040189022 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Don teaches a convertible door handle comprising: inner (8) and outer (7) handle parts; first and second threaded receptacles (832) on the inner handle part; first and second threaded receptacles (742) on the outer handle part; first and second threaded inner posts (9) for engagement with the inner handle part; and first and second threaded outer posts (735) for engagement with the outer handle part, wherein, the first and second inner and outer posts are engaged with the first and second threaded receptacles on the inner and outer handle parts (fig. 1), and positioned to extend in first and second notches (113), for installation of the door handle on a metal door (fig. 2), and wherein, the first and second inner and outer posts are removed from the inner and outer handle parts for installation of the door handle on a wood door (para. 0031).
Regarding claim 2, Don teaches the handle of claim 1 wherein the first and second inner posts and the first and second outer posts are threaded along a portion of the posts (9 is threaded, inner end of 735 contains internal threads and outer end includes a keyed recessed surface that is being interpreted as a single keyed thread in order to maintain engagement).
Regarding claim 3, Don teaches a convertible door handle system comprising: inner (8) and outer (7) handle parts; first and second inner threaded receptacles (832) on the inner handle part; first and second outer threaded receptacles on the outer handle part (742); first and second threaded inner posts (9) for engagement with the inner handle part; and first and second threaded outer posts (735) for engagement with the outer handle part, the first and second inner and outer posts threadably engageable with the first and second inner and outer threaded receptacles on the inner and outer handle parts (fig. 5, 8 and 735 threadably engage through the threaded receptacles), and positioned to extend in first and second notches (113) in a metal door, for installation of the door handle on a metal door.
Regarding claim 4, Don teaches the handle system of claim 3 wherein the first and second inner posts and the first and second outer posts are threaded along a portion of the posts (inner end contains internal threads and outer end includes a keyed recessed surface that is being interpreted as a single keyed thread in order to maintain engagement).
Regarding claim 5, Don teaches a method of converting a door handle for use with a wood door to a door handle for use with a metal door comprising: providing door handles with first and second receptacles (742, 832) on inner (8) and outer (7) handle parts; attaching the inner and outer handle parts to a wood door (para. 0031, door without holes 113); providing first and second inner and outer posts (9, 735); engaging the first and second inner and outer posts with the first and second receptacles on the inner and outer handle parts (fig. 2, with 9); aligning the first and second inner and outer posts with notches (113) on a handle aperture of a metal door; and attaching the inner and outer handle parts to a metal door with the inner and outer posts positioned within notches on a handle aperture of a metal door (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Don teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the first and second receptacles on the inner and outer handle parts and the first and second inner and outer posts are threaded (732, 832 threadingly receive 9 and 735), and engaging the first and second inner and outer posts with the first and second receptacles on the inner and outer handle parts comprises threading the posts into the receptacles (threading 9 and 735 together comprises threading the two parts inside the receptacles).
Conclusion
/J.E.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675