DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-163670, filed on 10/04/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the simple substance" in line 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ijije et al. (Adv. Manuf. ‘2016’ 4:23–32).
Considering claims 1 and 7, Ijije discloses a method for producing a metal carbide, comprising: preparing a molten salt containing a carbonate of a first metal (Na2CO3) contains at least one selected from the group consisting of alkali metals and alkaline earth metals; and molten salt (abstract); and obtaining precipitate containing a first metal carbide (Na2C2) by applying a voltage to the molten salt and carbon (page 31, Conclusions).
Considering claim 6, Ijije discloses the precipitates further contain carbon, carbonate and oxide (page 28, right column, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijije et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reid et al. (US 20190093246 A1).
Considering claims 2-4, Ijije does not disclose the molten salt further contains a halide of a second metal.
However, Reid discloses a method of electrolytic generation of carbon including an electrolyte comprising a molten salt including alkali metal carbonate including a mixture of two or more of lithium carbonate, sodium carbonate and potassium carbonate and may also include conductivity enhancing additives such as metal chlorides [0055]. Example metal chlorides include, but are not limited to, lithium chloride, sodium chloride and potassium chloride [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include metal chloride in the molten carbonate electrolyte, because Ijije teaches that carbon electro-deposition in molten Li2CO3-Na2CO3-K2CO3 has been widely reported in literature and Ijije mainly is focused on investigating the role of the alkali metals used and Reid discloses a method of electrolytic generation of carbon including an electrolyte comprising a molten salt including alkali metal carbonate including a mixture of two or more of lithium carbonate, sodium carbonate and potassium carbonate and may also include conductivity enhancing additives such as metal chlorides. Example metal chlorides include, but are not limited to, lithium chloride, sodium chloride and potassium chloride.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijije et al. and Reid et al. as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kandhasamy et al. (ACS Appl. Energy Mater. 2018, 1, 5386−5393).
Considering claim 5, Reid teaches that the metal chlorides may also be helpful in controlling the melting point of the electrolyte [0055].
Ijije and Reid do not disclose fluorine.
However, Kandhasamy teaches that addition of LiF to molten carbonate mixture reduces melting point (pate 5387, Table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include LiF in the molten carbonate electrolyte of Ijije and Reid, because Reid teaches that the metal chlorides may also be helpful in controlling the melting point of the electrolyte and teaches discloses that addition of LiF to molten carbonate mixture reduces melting point. Therefore, one would have been motivated to use LiF as an additive of Reid or in addition to it in order to lower the melting point of the electrolyte.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794