DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The preliminary amendments have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the second seal to be movable between an open state and a closed state. Dependent claims 5 and 14 require the first seal to be movable. It is not understood how the second seal is movable. It is understood that the first seal is movable and that the pivot door moves between an open state and closed state. Further, the disclosure shows the second seal being a flexible sealing lip and describes the first seal as being movable via the magnetic element when the pivot door moves. The claim fails to clearly claim what is understood to be the invention. Claim 1 also requires the first seal run along a longitudinal axis of the second main body. However, it is understood the first seal runs along a longitudinal axis of the first main body, not the second main body, as supported by the drawings. The disclosure supports the second seal running along a longitudinal axis of the second main body when the door is in a closed state. It is understood that the pivot door has a closed and open state. Claim 2 further requires the first seal comprises a magnetic strip, which can be deflected in a mount of the first main body, and it is not clear how the first seal can run along the second body. The claims therefore fail to clearly recite what is regarded as the invention.
Claims 2-20 inherit the issues above and are rejected for depending on rejected claim 1.
In view of the 112 issues the claims have been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Header (US 10,337,239).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the 112 issues discussed above, Header discloses a sealing system for a pivot door (290), wherein the sealing system (Fig 64) comprises:
a first elongate main body (201d),
a second elongate main body (201e),
a rotary bearing (242b),
a separating element (211),
a first seal (243),
a second seal (241),
wherein the first main body (201) is mechanically coupled to the second main body (203) by the separating element (211) (see annotated Fig 64),
wherein the rotary bearing (242b) is configured to bear a counter-bearing of a pivot door in a rotatable manner (Fig 64),
wherein the separating element (211) has a lower heat-transfer coefficient (thermally isolating material) than the first main body and the second main body (bodies are made of aluminum while the separating element is a thermally isolating material),
wherein the separating element (211) is arranged between the first main body (201d) and the second main body (201e) (Fig 64),
wherein the first seal (243) runs along a longitudinal axis of the first main body (201d),
wherein the second seal (241) is movable between an open state and a closed state (via movement of the door between an open state and a closed state),
wherein, in the closed state, the second seal (243) runs along a longitudinal axis of the sealing system (Fig 64), and the rotary bearing (242b) is located both between the first seal (241) and the second seal (243) and between the first main body (201) and the second main body (203) (Fig 64).
Regarding claim 3, Header discloses wherein the second seal (241) comprises a flexible sealing lip (Fig 64; 241 is blade gasket), which is configured to seal an interspace (202) between the pivot door (203 of door) and the second main body (201e) in relation to a surrounding area (Fig 64).
Regarding claim 6, Header discloses wherein the second main body (203e) comprises a second mount (where 241 is received), which is configured to receive at least part of the second seal (241).
Regarding claim 7, Header discloses wherein the sealing system (Figs 63) comprises a drainage channel (201f) for discharging water from the sealing system.
Regarding claim 11, Header discloses the sealing system comprises a number of profiles (see annotated Fig 64; “a number” includes the number 1), which cover over an interspace between the first main body (201d) and the second main body (201e) and form a planar surface both with the first main body and with the second main body (Fig 64).
Regarding claim 12, Header discloses a door system for a pivot door (209,290), wherein the door system comprises at least one of a lower sealing system and an upper sealing system as claimed in one of claim 1 (Figs 63 and 64).
Regarding claim 13, Header discloses wherein the door system comprises a door frame (Fig 62), which comprises at least one of the lower sealing system (Fig 64) and the upper sealing system (Fig 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Header, as applied in claims 1, 12, and 13 above, in further view of Frey (US 5,706,607).
Regarding claim 2, Header fails to disclose wherein the first seal comprises a magnetic strip, which can be deflected in a mount of the first main body, and a magnetic counter-strip, which is arranged on the pivot door, and wherein the magnetic strip can be deflected such that it seals an interspace between the pivot door and the first main body in relation to a surrounding area.
Frey teaches a magnetic door seal. The magnetic door seal includes a magnetic strip (53), the magnetic strip (53) is deflected in a mount (54) of a first main body (Fig 1), and a magnetic counter-strip (51), which is arranged on the door, and wherein the magnetic strip can be deflected such that it seals an interspace between the door and the first main body in relation to a surrounding area (Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first seal of Header such that it is provided as the magnetic seal of Frey including a mount in the first main body since such arrangement is known for providing a seal in a door. Such improvement closes gaps between the door and threshold. As modified, the first seal comprises a magnetic strip, which can be deflected in a mount of the first main body, and a magnetic counter-strip, which is arranged on the pivot door, and wherein the magnetic strip can be deflected such that it seals an interspace between the pivot door and the first main body in relation to a surrounding area.
Regarding claim 5, Header as modified in the same manner discussed above with claim 2, modified Header in view of Frey teaches wherein the first main body comprises a mount (54 of Frey), which, by means of a stop (protrusion above 6 that extends into 54 of Fig 1 of Frey), secures the first seal (53 of Frey) in a movable manner in the first main body (taught by Header), wherein the first mount is configured to receive the first seal such that the latter forms a planar surface with the first main body (the first seal of 53 provided in a mount taught by Frey is incorporated into the first main body taught by Header).
Regarding claim 14, Header discloses wherein the door system comprises a pivot door (290), wherein the pivot door comprises a seal. Header fails to disclose a magnetic strip, which is secured in a movable manner in the pivot door.
Frey teaches a magnetic door seal. The magnetic door seal includes a magnetic strip (53), the magnetic strip (53) is secured in a movable manner in a door (Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first seal of Header such that it is provided as the magnetic seal of Frey such that it is secured in a movable manner, as taught by Frey. Such improvement closes gaps between the door and threshold.
Regarding claim 15, Header discloses wherein the second seal (241) of a respective sealing system is arranged on the pivot door (201) (Fig 64).
Regarding claim 20, Header discloses wherein the door system comprises a pivot door (290), wherein the pivot door comprises a seal. Header fails to disclose a magnetic strip, which is secured in a movable manner in the pivot door.
Frey teaches a magnetic door seal. The magnetic door seal includes a magnetic strip (53), the magnetic strip (53) is secured in a movable manner in a door (Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first seal of Header such that it is provided as the magnetic seal of Frey such that it is secured in a movable manner, as taught by Frey. Such improvement closes gaps between the door and threshold.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Header, as applied in claim 1, in further view of Horgan, Jr. (US 4,956,954).
Regarding claim 4, Header discloses wherein the rotary bearing (242b) coupled to the second main body but fails to disclose it is screwed, adhesively bonded, riveted or clamped to the first main body or the second main body. However, Horgan, Jr. teaches that it is known for a rotary bearing to be screwed (Fig 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the rotary bearing so that it is screwed, adhesively bonded, riveted or clamped to the first main body or the second main body since they are known coupling means. Such modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Header, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Cornell (US 3,131,441).
Regarding claims 8-10, Header fails to disclose first and second insert elements such that a first insert element is on the first main body is rotatably connected to the first main body, and a second insert element on the second main body is rotatably connected to the second main body, wherein the first insert element and the second insert element form a planar tread surface and wherein the first insert element and the second insert element form an at least partially rounded tread surface. Cornell teaches an insert element (12) that is rotatably connected. The rotatably insert element provides an additional seal with adjustability. It would have been obvious to incorporate an insert element to the elements of Header in order to improve sealing.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Header and Frey, as applied in claims 14 and 15 above, in view of Vanesky et al. (US 5,452,550), hereinafter referred to as Vanesky.
Regarding claims 16-19, although modified Header teaches a pivot door, as discussed above, the pivot door is not disclosed to weigh more than 200 kilograms or more than 500 kilograms. The weight of a door is understood to be a characteristic and property of the door material chosen, which is understood to be an obvious design choice selection. Further, Vanesky teaches that it is known for swinging doors (pivot doors) to weigh between 800-1000 pounds, which is greater than 200kgs (col 2, lines 10-11). Vanesky also teaches that the weight depends on the details of construction. Therefore it is well within the knowledge and skill of one in the art to provide a pivot door that weighs more than 200kg or 500kg.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Header (US 2022/0106827) discloses a sealing system having many of the components claimed as shown in Fig 17.
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634