DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 20 remain as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,707,580, “Mancl.”
Regarding Claim 14: Mancl discloses a high-volume, low pressure inflator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The device of Mancl is capable of use as an inflator), comprising: a motor housing portion (Generally shown as bracket 42 in at least Figure 1); a battery receiving portion (As shown in at least Figure 1; The battery receiving portion is interpreted as the portion of the handle 26 shown accommodating the battery 12) configured to receive a battery (12) (As shown in at least Figure 1; At least Cl. 2, ln. 31 – 63); a handle (26) between the motor housing portion and the battery receiving portion (As shown in Figure 1); a fan housing portion (Generally shown as housing 25 which surrounds the fan wheel 22 as shown in at least Figure 1); a fan (22) in the fan housing portion, the fan configured to draw air in through the inlet and blow air out through the outlet (As shown in at least Figure 1); wherein the fan housing portion is generally cylindrical (As shown in at least Figure 1); wherein the inlet has a generally circular shaped cross-section (As shown in at least Figure 1), and wherein the outlet has a generally circular shaped cross-section (As shown in at least Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17: Mancl discloses the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 4; Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion has a larger outer diameter than the motor housing portion about the inlet axis (As shown in at least Figure 1; The bulbous portion of the housing is shown having a larger diameter, relative to the axis of rotation of the shaft, than the diameter of the housing portion of the motor).
Regarding Claim 18: Mancl discloses the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 14; Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion includes the air outlet (As shown in at least Figure 1; The air outlet 56 is interpreted as forming a portion of the air outlet of the combined apparatus).
Regarding Claim 19: Mancl discloses the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 18; Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion includes the air inlet (As shown in at least Figure 1; The fan housing 25 is shown forming the air inlet 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 13, 15, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,707,580, “Mancl,” in view of US 5,938,410, “Lee.”
Regarding Claim 1: Mancl discloses a high-volume, low pressure inflator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The device of Mancl is capable of use as an inflator), comprising: a motor (10); a trigger (28) configured to activate the motor (Cl. 2, ln. 5); an inlet (54) having an inlet axis that is generally parallel or concentric with a longitudinal axis of the motor (As shown in Figure 1; The axis through the longitudinal axis of the inlet is shown as being generally parallel or concentric with the longitudinal ais of the motor as indicated by at least motor shaft 50); and a fan (22) configured to draw air in through the inlet and blow air out through the outlet (Cl. 2, ln. 21, “Fan wheel 22 connects directly to shaft 50 such that fan wheel 22 and rotor 34 rotate as a unit and thus rotate at the same high speed. Fan wheel 22 forces a current of air 52 from an air inlet 54 in housing 25, around bracket 42, and out through an air outlet 56 of housing 25.”); however, Mancl fails to explicitly disclose an outlet which is transverse to the inlet; wherein the position of the outlet is rotatable to a plurality of operable positions.
Lee teaches a dust sucking and blowing device (Abstract; Figure 1; The device of Lee is capable of being used as an inflator) comprising a handle (12, 23), a motor (21), and an air outlet (5, 50, 50a, 51), and further teaches the outlet being flexibly directed such that the position of the outlet is rotatable to a plurality of operable positions (Cl. 3, ln. 54, “dust sucking/blowing tube 5 includes a tube body 50. A first end of the tube body 50 is formed with a fitting section 5a for fitting into the fitting hole 13 of the housing 1. A second end of the tube body 50 is formed with a connector section 5b for connecting with a head section 50a. The tube body 50 is flexible, whereby it can be extended into a working position in a curved state. The head section 50a can be a conic body or the like without limitation.”). The flexible nature of the outlet of Lee allows for the air outlet to be movable relative to the handle such that the flexible outlet is capable of being arranged such that the air outlet is placeable relative to the handle to a plurality of operable positions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet of Mancl to include the flexible outlet of Lee with the predicted results that such an outlet will be capable of providing an outlet flow and that such an outlet will be configurable to a working position in a curved state as taught by Lee.
Once combined, the device of Mancl in view of Lee teaches an arrangement wherein the outlet is capable of being arranged such that it is transverse to the inlet and to a plurality of operable positions.
Regarding Claim 2: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 1; once combined, Mancl in view of Lee further teaches wherein the outlet is rotatable about a rotation axis (Mancl Figure 1; The rotation axis is formed by the connection of the flexible tube of Lee onto the housing, at the outlet, of Mancl such that the connecting end of the flexible tube will remain static with, or swivel about, the outlet of Mancl as the outlet portion of the tube is configurable to a working position in a curved state as taught by Lee); and wherein the rotation axis is generally concentric or parallel to the longitudinal axis of the motor (Mancl Figure 1; The rotation axis is shown as extending in the longitudinal direction which is generally parallel or concentric with the longitudinal axis of the motor as indicated by at least motor shaft 50).
Regarding Claim 3: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 2; once combined, Mancl further discloses comprising a handle (26), wherein the rotation axis is generally transverse to the handle (As shown in Mancl Figure 1; The longitudinal axis of the rotation axis of the motor, via shaft 50, is shown as generally left-right across the figure while the extension direction of the handle 26 is generally up-down across the figure such that the rotation axis of the motor shaft is interpreted as being generally transverse to the handle).
Regarding Claim 4: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 3; once combined, Mancl further discloses wherein the inlet is generally transverse to the handle (As shown in Mancl Figure 1; The longitudinal axis of the inlet, at 54, and the motor are shown as generally left-right across the figure while the extension direction of the handle 26 is generally up-down across the figure such that the inlet is interpreted as being generally transverse to the handle).
Regarding Claim 5: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 1; once combined, Mancl further discloses comprising a handle (26), wherein the inlet is generally transverse to the handle (As shown in Figure 1; The longitudinal axis of the inlet and the motor are shown as generally left-right across the figure while the extension direction of the handle 26 is generally up-down across the figure such that the inlet is interpreted as being generally transverse to the handle).
Regarding Claim 6: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 1; once combined, Mancl further discloses wherein the motor is in a motor housing portion (Generally shown as bracket 42 in at least Figure 1) and the fan is in a fan housing portion (Generally shown as the bulbous portion of the housing 25 which surrounds the fan wheel 22 as shown in at least Figure 1), wherein the fan housing portion has a larger outer diameter than the motor housing portion about the inlet axis (As shown in at least Figure 1; The bulbous portion of the housing is shown having a larger diameter, relative to the axis of rotation of the shaft, than the diameter of the housing portion of the motor).
Regarding Claim 7: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 1; once combined, Lee further teaches an attachment holder (5b) configured to hold an inflator attachment (50a) (As shown in at least Figure 2 and as described in at least Cl. 3, ln. 54 – 66).
Regarding Claim 8: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 1; once combined, Mancl further discloses comprising a battery receiving portion (As shown in at least Figure 1; The battery receiving portion is interpreted as the portion of the handle 26 shown accommodating the battery 12) configured to receive a battery pack (As shown in at least Figure 1; At least Cl. 2, ln. 31 – 63).
Regarding Claim 9: Mancl discloses a high-volume, low pressure inflator (As shown in at least Figure 1; The device of Mancl is capable of use as an inflator), comprising: a motor housing portion (Generally shown as bracket 42 in at least Figure 1); a battery receiving portion (As shown in at least Figure 1; The battery receiving portion is interpreted as the portion of the handle 26 shown accommodating the battery 12) configured to receive a battery (12) (As shown in at least Figure 1; At least Cl. 2, ln. 31 – 63); a handle (26) between the motor housing portion and the battery receiving portion (As shown in Figure 1); a fan housing portion (Generally shown as housing 25 which surrounds the fan wheel 22 as shown in at least Figure 1); a fan (22) in the fan housing portion, the fan configured to draw air in through the inlet and blow air out through the outlet (As shown in at least Figure 1); wherein the fan housing portion is generally cylindrical (As shown in at least Figure 1); however, Mancl fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions.
Lee teaches a dust sucking and blowing device (Abstract; Figure 1; The device of Lee is capable of being used as an inflator) comprising a handle (12, 23), a motor (21), and an air outlet (5, 50, 50a, 51), and further teaches the outlet being flexibly directed such that at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions (Cl. 3, ln. 54, “dust sucking/blowing tube 5 includes a tube body 50. A first end of the tube body 50 is formed with a fitting section 5a for fitting into the fitting hole 13 of the housing 1. A second end of the tube body 50 is formed with a connector section 5b for connecting with a head section 50a. The tube body 50 is flexible, whereby it can be extended into a working position in a curved state. The head section 50a can be a conic body or the like without limitation.”). The flexible nature of the outlet of Lee allows for the air outlet to be movable relative to the handle such that the flexible outlet is capable of being arranged such that the air outlet is placeable relative to the handle to a plurality of operable positions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet of Mancl to include the flexible outlet of Lee with the predicted results that such an outlet will be capable of providing an outlet flow and that such an outlet will be configurable to a working position in a curved state as taught by Lee.
Once combined, the device of Mancl in view of Lee teaches an arrangement wherein the outlet is capable of being arranged such that at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions.
Regarding Claim 10: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 9; once combined, Mancl in view of Lee, further teaches wherein the plurality of operable positions comprises at least four operable positions (The flexible nature of the outlet as provided by the combination allows for the outlet to be positioned in at least four distinct positions).
Regarding Claim 11: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 9; once combined, Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion has a larger outer diameter than the motor housing portion about the inlet axis (As shown in at least Figure 1; The bulbous portion of the housing is shown having a larger diameter, relative to the axis of rotation of the shaft, than the diameter of the housing portion of the motor).
Regarding Claim 12: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 9; once combined, Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion includes the air outlet (As shown in at least Figure 1; The air outlet 56 is interpreted as forming a portion of the air outlet of the combined apparatus).
Regarding Claim 13: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 9; once combined, Mancl further discloses wherein the fan housing portion includes the air inlet (As shown in at least Figure 1; The fan housing 25 is shown forming the air inlet 54).
Regarding Claim 15: Mancl discloses the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 14; however, Mancl fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions.
Lee teaches a dust sucking and blowing device (Abstract; Figure 1; The device of Lee is capable of being used as an inflator) comprising a handle (12, 23), a motor (21), and an air outlet (5, 50, 50a, 51), and further teaches the outlet being flexibly directed such that at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions (Cl. 3, ln. 54, “dust sucking/blowing tube 5 includes a tube body 50. A first end of the tube body 50 is formed with a fitting section 5a for fitting into the fitting hole 13 of the housing 1. A second end of the tube body 50 is formed with a connector section 5b for connecting with a head section 50a. The tube body 50 is flexible, whereby it can be extended into a working position in a curved state. The head section 50a can be a conic body or the like without limitation.”). The flexible nature of the outlet of Lee allows for the air outlet to be movable relative to the handle such that the flexible outlet is capable of being arranged such that the air outlet is placeable relative to the handle to a plurality of operable positions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet of Mancl to include the flexible outlet of Lee with the predicted results that such an outlet will be capable of providing an outlet flow and that such an outlet will be configurable to a working position in a curved state as taught by Lee.
Once combined, the device of Mancl in view of Lee teaches an arrangement wherein the outlet is capable of being arranged such that at least one of the inlet and the outlet are rotatable to a plurality of operable positions.
Regarding Claim 16: Mancl in view of Lee, teaches the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 15; once combined, Mancl in view of Lee, further teaches wherein the plurality of operable positions comprises at least four operable positions (The flexible nature of the outlet as provided by the combination allows for the outlet to be positioned in at least four distinct positions).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,707,580, “Mancl,” in view US 2018/0187687, “Yakubova.”
Regarding Claim 7: Mancl discloses the high-volume, low pressure inflator of claim 14; however, Mancl fails to explicitly disclose or teach comprising an attachment holder configured to hold an inflator attachment. Mancl discloses an air outlet 56 which is interpreted as comprising an outlet which is usable as an inflator; however, Mancl fails to explicitly disclose the outlet being arranged to mate with an inflator attachment via an attachment holder.
Yakubova teaches an inflator (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 9; [Abstract], “inflator tool includes a handle portion extending between a battery receiving portion and a tool head portion”), the inflator comprising an air inlet (106), an air outlet (80), a handle (22), a motor (14), and further comprising an attachment holder ([0027], “air outlet 80 includes at least one retention member for engaging an inflation adapter 150”) configured to hold an inflator attachment (150) (As shown in at least Figures 3, 4, and 7 – 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an attachment holder with the air outlet of Mancl, as taught by Yakubova, with the predicted results that such an attachment holder will be capable of interfacing with a inflator attachment, as taught by Yakubova, such that various inflation nozzles can be utilized in a manner well known in the art (Yakubova, at least [0027] – [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,099,386 – Inflation device with rotatable outlet
/BENJAMIN DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
2026.06.10