Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippler et al. (US 20260012335 A1) in view of Sakurada et al. (US 20190205816 A1) and Su et al. (US 20260019282 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Hippler a method requesting by a first device for sharing a digital vehicle key by the server to a second terminal associated with the vehicle, for permission to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 43-45, 56, 75,77)
An apparatus for a digital vehicle key sharing server includes interface circuitry and processing circuitry. The processing circuitry is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The processing circuitry is also configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based at least in part on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. [Abst]
FIG. 1a shows a schematic diagram of an example of an apparatus 10 for a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 and of a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 comprising such an apparatus 10. The apparatus 10 comprises circuitry that is configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus 10. For example, the apparatus 10 of FIG. 1a comprises interface circuitry 12, processing circuitry 14 and (optional) storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be coupled with the interface circuitry 12 and with the storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus, in conjunction with the interface circuitry 12 (for exchanging information, e.g., with other devices, such as a first device 100, a second server 200 or a user device 250) and the storage circuitry 16 (for storing information, such as machine-readable instructions). In general, the functionality of the processing circuitry 14 may be implemented by the processing circuitry 14 executing machine-readable instructions. Accordingly, any feature ascribed to the processing circuitry 14 may be defined by one or more instructions of a plurality of machine-readable instructions. The apparatus 10 may comprise the machine-readable instructions, e.g., within the storage circuitry 16.[P-43]
The processing circuitry 14 is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry 12, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device 200, 250 from the first device 300. The processing circuitry 14 is configured to determine, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device 250 or a server 200. The processing circuitry is configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server.[P-44]
FIG. 1b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the digital vehicle key sharing server 100. The method comprises obtaining 110 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The method comprises determining 120, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The method comprises processing 130 the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. For example, the method may be performed by the digital vehicle key sharing server 100.[P-45]
In some cases, requests for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation) may be verified, to avoid the public key of the digital vehicle key of a “wrong” user device being signed (e.g., as the “wrong” user device has intercepted the invitation). For example, the request for sharing the digital vehicle key may comprise authentication verification information (a public key of the user device, information (e.g., a hash) derived from a user account identifier associated with the user device, and information (e.g., a hash) derived from a phone number associated with the user device). The digital vehicle key sharing server may use the authentication verification information to verify the request for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation). In other words, the processing circuitry may be configured to verify the request for signing the public key of the digital vehicle key (or attestation) from the user device based on the authentication verification information. For example, the public key of the digital vehicle key may be derived from a private key of a key pair comprising the public key of the user device. The public key of the digital vehicle key may thus be verified against the public key of the user device. Moreover, the public key of the digital vehicle key or the attestation may comprise, as metadata, more information about the user device, such as the user account identifier (or a hash thereof) and/or the phone number (or a hash thereof), which may be verified against the information derived from the user account identifier associated with the user device, and the information derived from the phone number associated with the user device, respectively[P-56]
FIG. 3b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the first device. The method comprises generating 310 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device, the request indicating whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. The method comprises providing 320 the request to a digital vehicle key sharing server. For example, the method may be performed by the first device 300.[P-75]
In the proposed concept, the first device 300 is the initiator of the sharing procedure, either directly to the user device, or to delegate sharing rights to the second server. Initially, the first device 300 is the entity holding the right to create a shared digital vehicle key of a vehicle, e.g., as the first device 300 is a user device of the Sharer/owner of the vehicle that is paired with the vehicle. To distinguish the aforementioned two cases, the processing circuitry is configured to generate the respective request such, that the request indicates whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. As shown in connection with FIG. 4, a “DeviceProfile” tag can be included in the request, with the tag having the two possible values “device” and “server”. The request may further comprise additional pieces of information, such as information on the one or more vehicles being shared and information on the second device (including the public key of the second device, for purposes of verification of the second device and/or generation of a signed version/certificate of the public key for authentication purposes). More information on possible fields of the request are discussed in connection with FIG. 4, and in particular action 1 of FIG. 4.[P-77]
Hippler’s disclosure fails to teach the request device, being the device requesting the access/permission to the vehicle
Sakurada on the other hand teaches receiving, by a server from a first terminal (terminal wanting access to the vehicle), a sharing request for sharing a digital key of a vehicle (Paragraphs 36, 39)
The authentication terminal 31 receives a one-time key which accompanies a locking request or an unlocking request for the vehicle 30 transmitted from the terminal 50 or the terminal 40 and which temporarily serves as an electronic key of the vehicle 30 by BLE communication. For example, the authentication terminal 31 may perform authentication when the received one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information registered in the memory or the like in advance and not perform authentication when the received one-time key does not correspond to the vehicle-side authentication information. The “case in which the one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information” includes a case in which the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 and the vehicle-side authentication information correspond to each other in a result of simple comparison and a case in which predetermined composite information is acquired by decoding the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 using the vehicle-side authentication information. The vehicle-side authentication information corresponding to the key information may be stored, for example, in a memory or the like in advance or may be authentication information generated by the authentication terminal 31 using the same algorithm as in the key information management server 20 based on time information or vehicle identification information. When the authentication has succeeded, locking or unlocking of the vehicle 30 corresponding to the form of use is performed.[P-36]
The request user includes a terminal 40 which is used by a person, a member of an organization, or the like. The terminal 40 is an information processing device such as a PC, a WS, or a server. Examples of the terminal 40 include portable information processing devices such as a mobile phone, a smartphone, and a tablet PC. The request user performs requester member registration for receiving a support service regarding demand for movement which is provided by the movement support server 10 via the terminal 40. The request user requests movement of the vehicle 30 which is a movement target via the terminal 40. The terminal 40 may include a communication interface that can communicate with the authentication terminal 31 of the vehicle 30. The request user can receive a delivery object stored in the trunk of the vehicle 30 or can store a delivery object in the trunk using the terminal 40.[P-39]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Sakurada’s teaching with Hippler’s teaching in order to enable a more robust way of evaluating request from various devices and enabling secure authorization and access to the vehicle.
Hippler modified fails to teach verifying, by the server, that the first terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle
Su on the other hand teaches verifying, by the server, that the terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle and controlling, by the server, limited access to the vehicle, using the shared key, for the maintenance process of the vehicle (Abstract; Paragraphs 4, 36, 45)
Provided are a digital key sharing method, a digital key authentication method, and a computing device. The digital key sharing method is executed by a first device and includes: sending to a second device a digital key creation request that includes valid space information for a digital key, so as to generate the digital key at the second device; receiving a digital key signature request from the second device, wherein the digital key signature request includes data to be signed of the digital key, and said data includes the valid space information; and on the basis that the signing of the digital key signature request is completed, sending a digital key import request to the second device, so as to indicate the second device to save the generated digital key. Therefore, the security of a digital key can be improved in a spatial dimension[Abst]
In many scenarios, it may be necessary to share a digital key from a first device to a second device so that the second device can be authorized to use the digital key to control a vehicle. For example, when the vehicle needs to be repaired, the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with a repair/maintenance person. At this time, the device (such as a mobile terminal) owned by the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with the device owned by the repair/maintenance person, so that the repair/maintenance person can use the shared digital key to control the vehicle.[P-4]
For example, the first device can send a digital key creation request to the server through an application program, and the digital key creation request can include the identification information of the first device and the identification information of the vehicle, so that after receiving the information, the server performs processing such as identity authentication verification, and generates configuration information and send it to the first device. The first device may generate a digital key for controlling (e.g., unlocking) the vehicle based on the configuration information, where the digital key may be constituted by a data structure.[P-36]
For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the vehicle owner shares the digital key with a repair and maintenance person, and hopes that the repair and maintenance person can use the digital key within the repair shop and cannot use the digital key outside the repair shop (for example, a shopping mall).[P-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Su’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable specified/customized authorized access to a specific vehicle
In regards to claim 2, Hippler modified via Su teaches the receiving of the sharing request comprises: receiving, from the first terminal, a request for information associated with the vehicle; determining, based on the information, whether the vehicle is capable of digital key sharing; and receiving, from the first terminal, an indication of a digital key sharing time amount for the maintenance process of the vehicle (Paragraphs 40, 71-73, Su)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
In regards to claim 3, Hippler modified teaches causing, by the server, the second terminal to output information associated with the sharing request; receiving, by the server from the second terminal, a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 90, 91, Hippler).
In action 1 (requesting sharing, i.e., providing the request for sharing a digital vehicle key), the Sharer sends information necessary for key creation to the Vehicle OEM Server. If the Instance CA public key (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) is known to the Sharer (e.g., pre-established trust relationship or trusted server lookup), the Sharer may add the Sharce-InstanceCaPk (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) to the request. The Sharer can optionally request the usage of a 2nd factor for activating the shared key by setting the activationRe-quired flag. If the sharing is destined to a Server instance (i.e., if the request indicates that the second device is a server, to enable a Sharee for delegated sharing), a tag (denoted “De-viceProfile” in the following) indicating that the Sharee is a server may be included in the request. The Sharer may specify a designated Relay Server to be used within the sharing. The request may be signed by the Sharer, e.g., according to an arbitrary data attestation with the Sharer key (i.e., the private key of the Sharer) using arbitrary data, such as a SHA-256 hash value of the request. For example, the request may comprise one or more of the following fields: a field comprising one or more vehicle identifiers of the one or more vehicles to be shared, a key configuration information field, a server key field, an activation required field, a device pin field, a maximum number of device pin attempts field, a Sharee one-time account identifier hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee one-time account identifier hash creation, a Sharee phone number Hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee phone number hash creation, and a Sharee Instance CA public key field (i.e., the public key of the Sharee). The latter entries may be used for Sharee authentication.[P-90]
The request, including one or more of the above fields, may be signed with a private key of the Sharer, and the signature may be transmitted together with the request.[P-91]
Here, we see Hippler discloses causing, by the server, the second terminal (in this case the sharer) to output information associated with the sharing request (signed/verification information of the sharee); receiving, by the server from the second terminal(sharer), a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (to the sharee).
In regards to claim 4, Hippler modified teaches transmitting, by the server to the vehicle, a notification that the shared key has been transmitted.(Paragraphs 85, 87, 90, Hippler)
In case of the Sharee being a server, no digital key might be created (at the time). Instead, the Sharee. InstanceCA-public key (i.e., the public key of the second server) may be be whitelisted in the Vehicle OEM Server (i.e., added to the storage comprising one or more public keys allowed to issue a request for sharing a digital vehicle key) for being allowed to request shared keys for the requested vehicleldentifier. In the proposed concept, the Vehicle OEM Server may create the key creation request that is sent to the Sharee. The Sharee may create a digital key and send a key signing request. After receiving the key signing request from the Sharee, the Vehicle OEM Server may sign it with its endpoint private key. As the endpoints public key of the vehicle OEM server is known in the vehicle, the vehicle can then verify the legitimacy of the shared key and allow access to the vehicle.[P-85]
In the example, the Vehicle OEM Server enables key sharing between devices, between servers and devices and the authorization of servers for sharing of keys for single or several vehicleldentifiers (e.g., Fleet Management server, Garages, Road Assistance, and such), i.e., for one or more vehicles. For authorizing a server (i.e., the second server) as potential Sharer a public key of the server is transmitted to the Vehicle OEM Server. The Vehicle OEM Server may maintain a database of vehicleldentifiers (representing corresponding vehicles) the authorized public key is allowed to request keys for. Buildup and maintenance of the database is out of scope of this disclosure.[P-87]
In action 1 (requesting sharing, i.e., providing the request for sharing a digital vehicle key), the Sharer sends information necessary for key creation to the Vehicle OEM Server. If the Instance CA public key (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) is known to the Sharer (e.g., pre-established trust relationship or trusted server lookup), the Sharer may add the Sharce-InstanceCaPk (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) to the request. The Sharer can optionally request the usage of a 2nd factor for activating the shared key by setting the activationRe-quired flag. If the sharing is destined to a Server instance (i.e., if the request indicates that the second device is a server, to enable a Sharee for delegated sharing), a tag (denoted “De-viceProfile” in the following) indicating that the Sharee is a server may be included in the request. The Sharer may specify a designated Relay Server to be used within the sharing. The request may be signed by the Sharer, e.g., according to an arbitrary data attestation with the Sharer key (i.e., the private key of the Sharer) using arbitrary data, such as a SHA-256 hash value of the request. For example, the request may comprise one or more of the following fields: a field comprising one or more vehicle identifiers of the one or more vehicles to be shared, a key configuration information field, a server key field, an activation required field, a device pin field, a maximum number of device pin attempts field, a Sharee one-time account identifier hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee one-time account identifier hash creation, a Sharee phone number Hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee phone number hash creation, and a Sharee Instance CA public key field (i.e., the public key of the Sharee). The latter entries may be used for Sharee authentication.[P-90]
In regards to claim 10, Hippler teaches a method requesting by a first device for sharing a digital vehicle key by the server to a second terminal associated with the vehicle, for permission to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 43-45, 56, 75,77)
An apparatus for a digital vehicle key sharing server includes interface circuitry and processing circuitry. The processing circuitry is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The processing circuitry is also configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based at least in part on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. [Abst]
FIG. 1a shows a schematic diagram of an example of an apparatus 10 for a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 and of a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 comprising such an apparatus 10. The apparatus 10 comprises circuitry that is configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus 10. For example, the apparatus 10 of FIG. 1a comprises interface circuitry 12, processing circuitry 14 and (optional) storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be coupled with the interface circuitry 12 and with the storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus, in conjunction with the interface circuitry 12 (for exchanging information, e.g., with other devices, such as a first device 100, a second server 200 or a user device 250) and the storage circuitry 16 (for storing information, such as machine-readable instructions). In general, the functionality of the processing circuitry 14 may be implemented by the processing circuitry 14 executing machine-readable instructions. Accordingly, any feature ascribed to the processing circuitry 14 may be defined by one or more instructions of a plurality of machine-readable instructions. The apparatus 10 may comprise the machine-readable instructions, e.g., within the storage circuitry 16.[P-43]
The processing circuitry 14 is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry 12, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device 200, 250 from the first device 300. The processing circuitry 14 is configured to determine, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device 250 or a server 200. The processing circuitry is configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server.[P-44]
FIG. 1b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the digital vehicle key sharing server 100. The method comprises obtaining 110 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The method comprises determining 120, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The method comprises processing 130 the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. For example, the method may be performed by the digital vehicle key sharing server 100.[P-45]
In some cases, requests for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation) may be verified, to avoid the public key of the digital vehicle key of a “wrong” user device being signed (e.g., as the “wrong” user device has intercepted the invitation). For example, the request for sharing the digital vehicle key may comprise authentication verification information (a public key of the user device, information (e.g., a hash) derived from a user account identifier associated with the user device, and information (e.g., a hash) derived from a phone number associated with the user device). The digital vehicle key sharing server may use the authentication verification information to verify the request for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation). In other words, the processing circuitry may be configured to verify the request for signing the public key of the digital vehicle key (or attestation) from the user device based on the authentication verification information. For example, the public key of the digital vehicle key may be derived from a private key of a key pair comprising the public key of the user device. The public key of the digital vehicle key may thus be verified against the public key of the user device. Moreover, the public key of the digital vehicle key or the attestation may comprise, as metadata, more information about the user device, such as the user account identifier (or a hash thereof) and/or the phone number (or a hash thereof), which may be verified against the information derived from the user account identifier associated with the user device, and the information derived from the phone number associated with the user device, respectively[P-56]
FIG. 3b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the first device. The method comprises generating 310 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device, the request indicating whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. The method comprises providing 320 the request to a digital vehicle key sharing server. For example, the method may be performed by the first device 300.[P-75]
In the proposed concept, the first device 300 is the initiator of the sharing procedure, either directly to the user device, or to delegate sharing rights to the second server. Initially, the first device 300 is the entity holding the right to create a shared digital vehicle key of a vehicle, e.g., as the first device 300 is a user device of the Sharer/owner of the vehicle that is paired with the vehicle. To distinguish the aforementioned two cases, the processing circuitry is configured to generate the respective request such, that the request indicates whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. As shown in connection with FIG. 4, a “DeviceProfile” tag can be included in the request, with the tag having the two possible values “device” and “server”. The request may further comprise additional pieces of information, such as information on the one or more vehicles being shared and information on the second device (including the public key of the second device, for purposes of verification of the second device and/or generation of a signed version/certificate of the public key for authentication purposes). More information on possible fields of the request are discussed in connection with FIG. 4, and in particular action 1 of FIG. 4.[P-77]
Hippler’s disclosure fails to teach the request device, being the device requesting the access/permission to the vehicle
Sakurada on the other hand teaches receiving, by a server from a first terminal (terminal wanting access to the vehicle), a sharing request for sharing a digital key of a vehicle (Paragraphs 36, 39)
The authentication terminal 31 receives a one-time key which accompanies a locking request or an unlocking request for the vehicle 30 transmitted from the terminal 50 or the terminal 40 and which temporarily serves as an electronic key of the vehicle 30 by BLE communication. For example, the authentication terminal 31 may perform authentication when the received one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information registered in the memory or the like in advance and not perform authentication when the received one-time key does not correspond to the vehicle-side authentication information. The “case in which the one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information” includes a case in which the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 and the vehicle-side authentication information correspond to each other in a result of simple comparison and a case in which predetermined composite information is acquired by decoding the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 using the vehicle-side authentication information. The vehicle-side authentication information corresponding to the key information may be stored, for example, in a memory or the like in advance or may be authentication information generated by the authentication terminal 31 using the same algorithm as in the key information management server 20 based on time information or vehicle identification information. When the authentication has succeeded, locking or unlocking of the vehicle 30 corresponding to the form of use is performed.[P-36]
The request user includes a terminal 40 which is used by a person, a member of an organization, or the like. The terminal 40 is an information processing device such as a PC, a WS, or a server. Examples of the terminal 40 include portable information processing devices such as a mobile phone, a smartphone, and a tablet PC. The request user performs requester member registration for receiving a support service regarding demand for movement which is provided by the movement support server 10 via the terminal 40. The request user requests movement of the vehicle 30 which is a movement target via the terminal 40. The terminal 40 may include a communication interface that can communicate with the authentication terminal 31 of the vehicle 30. The request user can receive a delivery object stored in the trunk of the vehicle 30 or can store a delivery object in the trunk using the terminal 40.[P-39]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Sakurada’s teaching with Hippler’s teaching in order to enable a more robust way of evaluating request from various devices and enabling secure authorization and access to the vehicle.
Hippler modified fails to teach verifying, by the server, that the first terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle
Su on the other hand teaches verifying, by the server, that the terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle and controlling, by the server, limited access to the vehicle, using the shared key, for the maintenance process of the vehicle (Abstract; Paragraphs 4, 36, 45)
Provided are a digital key sharing method, a digital key authentication method, and a computing device. The digital key sharing method is executed by a first device and includes: sending to a second device a digital key creation request that includes valid space information for a digital key, so as to generate the digital key at the second device; receiving a digital key signature request from the second device, wherein the digital key signature request includes data to be signed of the digital key, and said data includes the valid space information; and on the basis that the signing of the digital key signature request is completed, sending a digital key import request to the second device, so as to indicate the second device to save the generated digital key. Therefore, the security of a digital key can be improved in a spatial dimension[Abst]
In many scenarios, it may be necessary to share a digital key from a first device to a second device so that the second device can be authorized to use the digital key to control a vehicle. For example, when the vehicle needs to be repaired, the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with a repair/maintenance person. At this time, the device (such as a mobile terminal) owned by the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with the device owned by the repair/maintenance person, so that the repair/maintenance person can use the shared digital key to control the vehicle.[P-4]
For example, the first device can send a digital key creation request to the server through an application program, and the digital key creation request can include the identification information of the first device and the identification information of the vehicle, so that after receiving the information, the server performs processing such as identity authentication verification, and generates configuration information and send it to the first device. The first device may generate a digital key for controlling (e.g., unlocking) the vehicle based on the configuration information, where the digital key may be constituted by a data structure.[P-36]
For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the vehicle owner shares the digital key with a repair and maintenance person, and hopes that the repair and maintenance person can use the digital key within the repair shop and cannot use the digital key outside the repair shop (for example, a shopping mall).[P-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Su’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable specified/customized authorized access to a specific vehicle
In regards to claim 11, Hippler modified teaches the access request is one of a digital key sharing request or a card key registration request.(Abstract, Hippler)
An apparatus for a digital vehicle key sharing server includes interface circuitry and processing circuitry. The processing circuitry is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The processing circuitry is also configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based at least in part on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. [Abst]
In regards to claim 12, Hippler modified via Su teaches the receiving of the sharing request comprises: receiving, from the first terminal, a request for information associated with the vehicle; determining, based on the information, whether the vehicle is capable of digital key sharing; and receiving, from the first terminal, an indication of a digital key sharing time amount for the maintenance process of the vehicle (Paragraphs 40, 71-73)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
In regards to claim 13, Hippler modified teaches causing, by the server, the second terminal to output information associated with the sharing request; receiving, by the server from the second terminal, a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 90, 91, Hippler).
In action 1 (requesting sharing, i.e., providing the request for sharing a digital vehicle key), the Sharer sends information necessary for key creation to the Vehicle OEM Server. If the Instance CA public key (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) is known to the Sharer (e.g., pre-established trust relationship or trusted server lookup), the Sharer may add the Sharce-InstanceCaPk (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) to the request. The Sharer can optionally request the usage of a 2nd factor for activating the shared key by setting the activationRe-quired flag. If the sharing is destined to a Server instance (i.e., if the request indicates that the second device is a server, to enable a Sharee for delegated sharing), a tag (denoted “De-viceProfile” in the following) indicating that the Sharee is a server may be included in the request. The Sharer may specify a designated Relay Server to be used within the sharing. The request may be signed by the Sharer, e.g., according to an arbitrary data attestation with the Sharer key (i.e., the private key of the Sharer) using arbitrary data, such as a SHA-256 hash value of the request. For example, the request may comprise one or more of the following fields: a field comprising one or more vehicle identifiers of the one or more vehicles to be shared, a key configuration information field, a server key field, an activation required field, a device pin field, a maximum number of device pin attempts field, a Sharee one-time account identifier hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee one-time account identifier hash creation, a Sharee phone number Hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee phone number hash creation, and a Sharee Instance CA public key field (i.e., the public key of the Sharee). The latter entries may be used for Sharee authentication.[P-90]
The request, including one or more of the above fields, may be signed with a private key of the Sharer, and the signature may be transmitted together with the request.[P-91]
Here, we see Hippler discloses causing, by the server, the second terminal (in this case the sharer) to output information associated with the sharing request (signed/verification information of the sharee); receiving, by the server from the second terminal(sharer), a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (to the sharee).
In regards to claim 14, Hippler modified via Su teaches in response to the access request being the digital key sharing request, transmit, to the first terminal, a shared key of a digital key of the vehicle, wherein the shared key allows the first terminal to access the vehicle for the access time amount. (Paragraphs 40, 71-73)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippler et al. (US 20260012335 A1) in view of Sakurada et al. (US 20190205816 A1) and Su et al. (US 20260019282 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Nakatsugawa et al. (WO 2024106192 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Hippler modified fails to teach the sharing request comprises a request for registering a card key for the vehicle.
Nakatsugawa on the other hand teaches the sharing request comprises a request for registering a card key for the vehicle (Page 12, Paragraph 12)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[P-130]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Nakatsugawa’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable authorization or authentication of a specific terminal such as a card key.
In regards to claim 15, Hippler modified fails to teach transmitting, to the vehicle, a notification that the card key registration request has been granted, wherein the vehicle is further configured to: register a card key and allows access to the vehicle, using the registered card key, for the access time amount.
Nakatsugawa on the other hand teaches transmitting, to the vehicle, a notification that the card key registration request has been granted, wherein the vehicle is further configured to: register a card key and allows access to the vehicle. (Page 12, Paragraph 12; Page 13, Last Paragraph)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[Pg 12, Pgh 12]
When the identifier and access key are recorded in the access key storage unit 91, the secure element 82 generates a recording completion notification indicating that the recording of the identifier and access key has been completed, and supplies this to the network communication control unit 81.[Pg 13, Last Pgh]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Nakatsugawa’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable authorization or authentication of a specific terminal such as a card key.
Furthermore, Su teaches using the registered card key, for the access time amount(Paragraphs 40, 71-73, Su)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippler et al. (US 20260012335 A1) in view of Sakurada et al. (US 20190205816 A1), Su et al. (US 20260019282 A1) and Nakatsugawa et al. (WO 2024106192 A1)..
In regards to claim 6, Hippler a method requesting by a first device for sharing a digital vehicle key by the server to a second terminal associated with the vehicle, for permission to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 43-45, 56, 75,77)
An apparatus for a digital vehicle key sharing server includes interface circuitry and processing circuitry. The processing circuitry is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The processing circuitry is also configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based at least in part on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. [Abst]
FIG. 1a shows a schematic diagram of an example of an apparatus 10 for a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 and of a digital vehicle key sharing server 100 comprising such an apparatus 10. The apparatus 10 comprises circuitry that is configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus 10. For example, the apparatus 10 of FIG. 1a comprises interface circuitry 12, processing circuitry 14 and (optional) storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be coupled with the interface circuitry 12 and with the storage circuitry 16. For example, the processing circuitry 14 may be configured to provide the functionality of the apparatus, in conjunction with the interface circuitry 12 (for exchanging information, e.g., with other devices, such as a first device 100, a second server 200 or a user device 250) and the storage circuitry 16 (for storing information, such as machine-readable instructions). In general, the functionality of the processing circuitry 14 may be implemented by the processing circuitry 14 executing machine-readable instructions. Accordingly, any feature ascribed to the processing circuitry 14 may be defined by one or more instructions of a plurality of machine-readable instructions. The apparatus 10 may comprise the machine-readable instructions, e.g., within the storage circuitry 16.[P-43]
The processing circuitry 14 is configured to obtain, via the interface circuitry 12, a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device 200, 250 from the first device 300. The processing circuitry 14 is configured to determine, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device 250 or a server 200. The processing circuitry is configured to process the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server.[P-44]
FIG. 1b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the digital vehicle key sharing server 100. The method comprises obtaining 110 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device from a first device. The method comprises determining 120, whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. The method comprises processing 130 the request for sharing the digital vehicle key based on whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a server. For example, the method may be performed by the digital vehicle key sharing server 100.[P-45]
In some cases, requests for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation) may be verified, to avoid the public key of the digital vehicle key of a “wrong” user device being signed (e.g., as the “wrong” user device has intercepted the invitation). For example, the request for sharing the digital vehicle key may comprise authentication verification information (a public key of the user device, information (e.g., a hash) derived from a user account identifier associated with the user device, and information (e.g., a hash) derived from a phone number associated with the user device). The digital vehicle key sharing server may use the authentication verification information to verify the request for signing the public key of a digital vehicle key (or attestation). In other words, the processing circuitry may be configured to verify the request for signing the public key of the digital vehicle key (or attestation) from the user device based on the authentication verification information. For example, the public key of the digital vehicle key may be derived from a private key of a key pair comprising the public key of the user device. The public key of the digital vehicle key may thus be verified against the public key of the user device. Moreover, the public key of the digital vehicle key or the attestation may comprise, as metadata, more information about the user device, such as the user account identifier (or a hash thereof) and/or the phone number (or a hash thereof), which may be verified against the information derived from the user account identifier associated with the user device, and the information derived from the phone number associated with the user device, respectively[P-56]
FIG. 3b shows a flow chart of an example of a corresponding method for the first device. The method comprises generating 310 a request for sharing a digital vehicle key for one or more vehicles to a second device, the request indicating whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. The method comprises providing 320 the request to a digital vehicle key sharing server. For example, the method may be performed by the first device 300.[P-75]
In the proposed concept, the first device 300 is the initiator of the sharing procedure, either directly to the user device, or to delegate sharing rights to the second server. Initially, the first device 300 is the entity holding the right to create a shared digital vehicle key of a vehicle, e.g., as the first device 300 is a user device of the Sharer/owner of the vehicle that is paired with the vehicle. To distinguish the aforementioned two cases, the processing circuitry is configured to generate the respective request such, that the request indicates whether the second device specified by the request is a user device or a second server. As shown in connection with FIG. 4, a “DeviceProfile” tag can be included in the request, with the tag having the two possible values “device” and “server”. The request may further comprise additional pieces of information, such as information on the one or more vehicles being shared and information on the second device (including the public key of the second device, for purposes of verification of the second device and/or generation of a signed version/certificate of the public key for authentication purposes). More information on possible fields of the request are discussed in connection with FIG. 4, and in particular action 1 of FIG. 4.[P-77]
Hippler’s disclosure fails to teach the request device, being the device requesting the access/permission to the vehicle
Sakurada on the other hand teaches receiving, by a server from a first terminal (terminal wanting access to the vehicle), a sharing request for sharing a digital key of a vehicle (Paragraphs 36, 39)
The authentication terminal 31 receives a one-time key which accompanies a locking request or an unlocking request for the vehicle 30 transmitted from the terminal 50 or the terminal 40 and which temporarily serves as an electronic key of the vehicle 30 by BLE communication. For example, the authentication terminal 31 may perform authentication when the received one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information registered in the memory or the like in advance and not perform authentication when the received one-time key does not correspond to the vehicle-side authentication information. The “case in which the one-time key corresponds to the vehicle-side authentication information” includes a case in which the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 and the vehicle-side authentication information correspond to each other in a result of simple comparison and a case in which predetermined composite information is acquired by decoding the one-time key received by the authentication terminal 31 using the vehicle-side authentication information. The vehicle-side authentication information corresponding to the key information may be stored, for example, in a memory or the like in advance or may be authentication information generated by the authentication terminal 31 using the same algorithm as in the key information management server 20 based on time information or vehicle identification information. When the authentication has succeeded, locking or unlocking of the vehicle 30 corresponding to the form of use is performed.[P-36]
The request user includes a terminal 40 which is used by a person, a member of an organization, or the like. The terminal 40 is an information processing device such as a PC, a WS, or a server. Examples of the terminal 40 include portable information processing devices such as a mobile phone, a smartphone, and a tablet PC. The request user performs requester member registration for receiving a support service regarding demand for movement which is provided by the movement support server 10 via the terminal 40. The request user requests movement of the vehicle 30 which is a movement target via the terminal 40. The terminal 40 may include a communication interface that can communicate with the authentication terminal 31 of the vehicle 30. The request user can receive a delivery object stored in the trunk of the vehicle 30 or can store a delivery object in the trunk using the terminal 40.[P-39]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Sakurada’s teaching with Hippler’s teaching in order to enable a more robust way of evaluating request from various devices and enabling secure authorization and access to the vehicle.
Hippler modified fails to teach verifying, by the server, that the first terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle
Su on the other hand teaches verifying, by the server, that the terminal is associated with a maintenance process of the vehicle and controlling, by the server, limited access to the vehicle, using the shared key, for the maintenance process of the vehicle (Abstract; Paragraphs 4, 36, 45)
Provided are a digital key sharing method, a digital key authentication method, and a computing device. The digital key sharing method is executed by a first device and includes: sending to a second device a digital key creation request that includes valid space information for a digital key, so as to generate the digital key at the second device; receiving a digital key signature request from the second device, wherein the digital key signature request includes data to be signed of the digital key, and said data includes the valid space information; and on the basis that the signing of the digital key signature request is completed, sending a digital key import request to the second device, so as to indicate the second device to save the generated digital key. Therefore, the security of a digital key can be improved in a spatial dimension[Abst]
In many scenarios, it may be necessary to share a digital key from a first device to a second device so that the second device can be authorized to use the digital key to control a vehicle. For example, when the vehicle needs to be repaired, the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with a repair/maintenance person. At this time, the device (such as a mobile terminal) owned by the owner of the vehicle needs to share the digital key with the device owned by the repair/maintenance person, so that the repair/maintenance person can use the shared digital key to control the vehicle.[P-4]
For example, the first device can send a digital key creation request to the server through an application program, and the digital key creation request can include the identification information of the first device and the identification information of the vehicle, so that after receiving the information, the server performs processing such as identity authentication verification, and generates configuration information and send it to the first device. The first device may generate a digital key for controlling (e.g., unlocking) the vehicle based on the configuration information, where the digital key may be constituted by a data structure.[P-36]
For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the vehicle owner shares the digital key with a repair and maintenance person, and hopes that the repair and maintenance person can use the digital key within the repair shop and cannot use the digital key outside the repair shop (for example, a shopping mall).[P-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the to combine Su’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable specified/customized authorized access to a specific vehicle
Hippler modified fails to teach a registration request for registering a card key for a vehicle, as well as a notification that the registration request has been granted
Nakatsugawa on the other hand teaches a registration request for registering a card key for a vehicle, as well as a notification that the registration request has been granted (Page 12, Paragraph 12; Page 13, Last Paragraph)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[Pg 12, Pgh 12]
When the identifier and access key are recorded in the access key storage unit 91, the secure element 82 generates a recording completion notification indicating that the recording of the identifier and access key has been completed, and supplies this to the network communication control unit 81.[Pg 13, Last Pgh]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date to combine Nakatsugawa’s teaching with Hippler modified’s teaching in order to enable authorization or authentication of a specific terminal such as a card key.
In regards to claim 7, Hippler modified via Su receiving, from the first terminal, a request for information associated with the vehicle; determining, based on the information, whether the vehicle is capable of card key registration; and receiving, from the first terminal, an indication of a card key registration time amount for the maintenance process of the vehicle(Paragraphs 40, 71-73)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
Furthermore, Nakatsugawa teaches the registration of a card key for a vehicle (Page 12, Paragraph 12; Page 13, Last Paragraph)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[Pg 12, Pgh 12]
When the identifier and access key are recorded in the access key storage unit 91, the secure element 82 generates a recording completion notification indicating that the recording of the identifier and access key has been completed, and supplies this to the network communication control unit 81.[Pg 13, Last Pgh]
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to substitute Su’s digital key registration protocol with Nakatsugawa’s card key protocol accordingly.
In regards to claim 8, Hippler modified teaches causing, by the server, the second terminal to output information associated with the sharing request; receiving, by the server from the second terminal, a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (Paragraphs 90, 91, Hippler).
In action 1 (requesting sharing, i.e., providing the request for sharing a digital vehicle key), the Sharer sends information necessary for key creation to the Vehicle OEM Server. If the Instance CA public key (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) is known to the Sharer (e.g., pre-established trust relationship or trusted server lookup), the Sharer may add the Sharce-InstanceCaPk (i.e., the public key of the Sharee) to the request. The Sharer can optionally request the usage of a 2nd factor for activating the shared key by setting the activationRe-quired flag. If the sharing is destined to a Server instance (i.e., if the request indicates that the second device is a server, to enable a Sharee for delegated sharing), a tag (denoted “De-viceProfile” in the following) indicating that the Sharee is a server may be included in the request. The Sharer may specify a designated Relay Server to be used within the sharing. The request may be signed by the Sharer, e.g., according to an arbitrary data attestation with the Sharer key (i.e., the private key of the Sharer) using arbitrary data, such as a SHA-256 hash value of the request. For example, the request may comprise one or more of the following fields: a field comprising one or more vehicle identifiers of the one or more vehicles to be shared, a key configuration information field, a server key field, an activation required field, a device pin field, a maximum number of device pin attempts field, a Sharee one-time account identifier hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee one-time account identifier hash creation, a Sharee phone number Hash field, a field comprising a nonce used for Sharee phone number hash creation, and a Sharee Instance CA public key field (i.e., the public key of the Sharee). The latter entries may be used for Sharee authentication.[P-90]
The request, including one or more of the above fields, may be signed with a private key of the Sharer, and the signature may be transmitted together with the request.[P-91]
Here, we see Hippler discloses causing, by the server, the second terminal (in this case the sharer) to output information associated with the sharing request (signed/verification information of the sharee); receiving, by the server from the second terminal(sharer), a response indicating permission to grant the sharing request; and determining, by the server based on the response, whether to grant the sharing request (to the sharee).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art may take Nakatsugawa’s teaching of the registration of a card key for a vehicle (Page 12, Paragraph 12; Page 13, Last Paragraph)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[Pg 12, Pgh 12]
When the identifier and access key are recorded in the access key storage unit 91, the secure element 82 generates a recording completion notification indicating that the recording of the identifier and access key has been completed, and supplies this to the network communication control unit 81.[Pg 13, Last Pgh]
Further substituting Su’s digital key sharing protocol with Nakatsugawa’s card key registration protocol accordingly.
In regards to claim 9, Hippler modified via Su teaches causing, by the server, the vehicle to register the card key that allows the first terminal to access the vehicle for the card key registration time amount(Paragraphs 40, 71-73)
For example, the data structure of the digital key generated at the first device (e.g., the vehicle owner's digital key) is the left half part of data structure shown in FIG. 2 (generally considered to be the certificate of the digital key), which does not include information such as valid lifetime, and the data structure of the digital key at the second device (e.g., a friend's digital key) includes two parts of data structures shown in FIG. 2, that is, the right half part of data structure in FIG. 2 is an additional part unique to the digital key at the second device, and the Friend Public Key field and the Device Public Key field include the same content for associating the two parts of data structures. The content of the Validity Start/End field indicates the valid start time and end time (i.e., valid lifetime) of the digital key generated at the second device.[P-40]
Similarly, after the digital key sharing process is completed, that is, after the digital key has been generated at the second device, during actual usage, the expected usage time range of the digital key (indicated by the valid lifetime information for the digital key) may be smaller than the actual usage time range. For example, the maintenance of the vehicle needs more time than the maximum time of the expected usage time range. Therefore, when the digital key is used in the repair shop, because its usage time exceeds the expected usage time range, it cannot control the vehicle, and the owner of the vehicle is required to re-share the digital key, which affects the user experience.
Therefore, in order to avoid the first device from sharing the digital key multiple times, the validity configuration information may also include valid lifetime information and extended valid lifetime information for the digital key.[P-72]
As such, the digital key can correspond to two different durations of valid lifetime. When the usage time of the digital key is not within the valid lifetime with the smaller duration and the usage location is within the valid space, it can be further determined whether it is within the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration. For example, the valid lifetime with the smaller duration is 13:00-18:00, and the extended valid lifetime with the larger duration is 12:00-21:00. Alternatively, in some cases, the start time of the valid lifetime is unchanged and only the end time is extended, for example, the extended valid lifetime is 13:00-18:00.[P-73]
Furthermore, Nakatsugawa teaches the registration of a card key for a vehicle (Page 12, Paragraph 12; Page 13, Last Paragraph)
The registration request can therefore be said to be information requesting that the IC card 21 be registered as a backup digital key for the vehicle 24 indicated by the vehicle designation information..[Pg 12, Pgh 12]
When the identifier and access key are recorded in the access key storage unit 91, the secure element 82 generates a recording completion notification indicating that the recording of the identifier and access key has been completed, and supplies this to the network communication control unit 81.[Pg 13, Last Pgh]
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to substitute Su’s digital key registration protocol (time amount) with Nakatsugawa’s card key protocol accordingly.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686