DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “device of Claim X” should read “device of claim X”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a mechanism…for inflating the inflatable cuff” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially tubular” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not disclose to degree or range for how "substantially tubular" the intraluminal segment is. Claims 10-11 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buch (US 2024/0008727).
Regarding claim 1, Buch discloses an intraluminal navigation device (2, figure 1), comprising: an intraluminal segment (10, figure 1) extending from a proximal end to a distal end (see proximal and distal ends of 10, figure 1) and configured to be inserted into a body lumen (into the patient’s body cavity [0026]), a tip-mounted assembly (12, figures 1 and 3-4) coupled to the distal end of the intraluminal segment (see figure 1), said tip-mounted assembly comprising: a surface (see distal end surface of 26a, figure 3) having at least one opening (see opening for window 66, figure 3), at least one light source (62a-b, figure 7) configured to generate illumination light to be transmitted through said at least one opening (propagated by…through the window 66 [0089]), at least one video camera (38, figure 6) positioned to receive light entering the tip- mounted assembly through said at least one opening (optical direction OD through the lens barrel 44 [0087]; figure 6) and configured to generate video images for guiding insertion of said intraluminal segment into said body lumen (monitor 20 displays images and/or videos captured by the imaging device [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment comprises a recess (see hollow space 28 with a recess to accommodate the space for 24, figure 4 | assembled with the bending section 10 [0102]; figure 1) at said distal end thereof for receiving said tip-mounted assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Buch further discloses said tip-mounted assembly (see 26a-b, figures 3-4) comprises: a housing (see 26a-b, figures 3-4) having a recess cavity (28, figure 4 | see 46, figure 10 | see location of 38 within the recess of 46, figure 10) in which said video camera (38, figure 10) is disposed and a second recess (see location of 62a-b within the recess of 46, figure 9) in which said at least one light source (62a-b, figure 9) is disposed.
Regarding claim 4, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment is configured for insertion into a subject's trachea (into the patient’s body cavity [0025] | may be another specialized endoscope…[0011] | can be intended for the trachea).
Regarding claim 5, Buch further discloses said at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources surrounding said video camera (see 62a-b, figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 6, Buch further discloses said video camera is configured to transmit said video images wirelessly (wireless connection [0034]) to a display (20, figure 2) for presentation to a user.
Regarding claim 7, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment includes a polymeric material (endoscope…manufactured…polymer/plastic/resin [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Buch further discloses said device is single-use and disposable (endoscope…one single use [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment is substantially tubular (see figures 1, 4, and 8-10).
Regarding claim 10, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment has an outer diameter equal to or less than about 6.33mm (outer diameter of the insertion cord…less than 5 mm; between 4-4.5 mm [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Buch further discloses said outer diameter of the intraluminal segment is in a range of about 4-6mm (outer diameter of the insertion cord…less than 5 mm; between 4-4.5 mm [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Buch further discloses said intraluminal segment has a hollow lumen (an internal working channel…[0082]).
Regarding claim 16, Buch further discloses said tip-mounted assembly further comprises at least one red light source (light source…each configured for…red [0044]) generating red light and positioned such that the red light is transmitted through said opening in the intraluminal segment with at least a portion of the transmitted red light passing through a wall of said body lumen and surrounding tissue so as to be externally detectable (propagated by…through the window 66 [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buch (US 2024/0008727) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weeks (US 2022/0304559).
Regarding claim 12, Buch discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Buch is silent regarding a compartment for housing one or more batteries and/or circuitry.
Weeks teaches an endoscope (700, figures 17) which may couple to an image processor or another device via a wireless connection ([0121]). The body (702, figures 17) of the endoscope has a port (704, figures 17) that receives a cable for charging an internal battery for powering the endoscope ([0122]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Buch to have an internal battery as taught by Weeks ([0122]). Doing so would power the wireless endoscope/intraluminal navigation device ([0122]). The modified device would have a compartment for housing one or more batteries and/or circuitry (internal battery…[0122] | interpreted there to be a compartment for the internal battery).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buch (US 2024/0008727) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Tatsuta (US 2022/0313070).
Regarding claim 14, Buch discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 13. Buch is silent regarding said intraluminal segment includes one or more openings.
Tatsuta teaches an endoscope system (10, figure 1) with an insertion part (12a, figures 1-2), a bendable part (12c, figure 1) and a distal end part (12d, figure 1). The balloon (19, figures 1-2) is attachably and detachably mounted on the insertion part ([0062]). The balloon is inflated and deflated by a fluid pipe line (30, figure 2) that is used to supply fluid and suck fluid from the balloon ([0065]). The fluid pipe line communicates with an opening (31, figure 2) for the balloon that is formed on the outer peripheral surface of the insertion portion ([0066]). The balloon is controlled by the balloon control device (15, figure 1). Alternatively, a syringe or the like is connected to the fluid pipe line to supply fluid to the balloon and to suck fluid from the balloon ([0145]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Buch with a syringe ([0145]), a fluid pipe line (30, figure 2), an opening (31, figure 2), and a balloon (19, figures 1-2) as taught by Tatsuta. Doing so would affix a position of the insertion part with respect to the object to be examined ([0016]). The modified device would have said intraluminal segment includes one or more openings (31, figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Tatsuta further teaches an inflatable cuff (19, figures 1-2) coupled to said intraluminal segment upstream of said camera system (see figure 2) and in fluid communication with said one of the openings (see 31, figure 2) in said intraluminal segment, and a mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a syringe | syringe or the like is connected to the fluid pipe line to supply fluid to the balloon and to suck fluid from the balloon [0145]) coupled to the proximal end of the intraluminal segment (connected to the fluid pipe line [0145] | fluid pipe line is disposed in the insertion part 12, the operation part 12, the universal cable 12e, and the connector 29 [0065]; see figure 1) for inflating the inflatable cuff via said hollow lumen and said opening in said intraluminal segment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ali (US 2021/0161375) and Fonger (US 2017/0319233) for the tip mounted assembly.
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
September 23, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795