Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,435,818. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, the instant claim 1 reads on reference claims 1-3. The reference claims 1-3 recite first and second retainer clips that, when attached, define first and second apertures with an opening therebetween, and third and fourth apertures with a second opening therebetween. The first and third apertures are generally rectangular, and the second and fourth apertures are generally round. The reference claims do not recite how a single clip base divides that structure. Instant application claim 1 is drawn to one retainer clip of that patented assembly.
The reference claims 1-3 do not explicitly recite “a base defining a first rectangular slot located adjacent to a first arch-shaped wall and a second rectangular slot adjacent to a second arc-shaped wall”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to divide the patented assembly into halves at the mating plane between the first and second retainer clips. Each clip base would then define a portion of each rectangular aperture (a rectangular slot) and a portion of each round aperture (an arc-shaped wall).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim uses both “side wall” and “sidewall” for the same kind of structure. Consistent terminology is suggested. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the comparison between a height to a wall (“has a height equal to an outer side wall” and “a height greater than the outer side wall”) rather than to the height of a wall has rendered the claim indefinite. For examination, the claim is interpreted as comparing the heights of the respective walls.
Further, claim 2 recites the limitation "the height of the outer side wall of the second rectangular slot" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Izawa, US 2017/0175932.
Regarding claim 1, Izawa discloses a retainer clip (10) [configured to be attached to another retainer clip to form a first aperture and a second aperture with a first opening therebetween and form a third aperture and a fourth aperture with a second opening therebetween], comprising: a base (11) defining a first rectangular slot (left insertion space 13) located adjacent to a first arc-shaped wall (left arc-shaped receding portion 12) and a second rectangular slot (right insertion space 13) adjacent to a second arc-shaped wall (right arc-shaped receding portion 12).
Claim language set in brackets [] set forth above and below in this office action are considered by the examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of the retainer clip, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the examiner maintains that the clip device disclosed by Izawa, is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Izawa discloses the retainer clip according to claim 1, wherein the base (11) defines a straight wall (top surface of right space 13; see the annotated figure 6) that is arranged tangent to the second arc-shaped wall (right 12; the straight top surface of 13 leads up to arc-shaped wall 12 and meets it at a single point at the arc’s terminal edge, without intersecting the arc in figures 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa, US 2017/0175932 in view of Jobin et al., US 5,794,897.
Regarding claim 2, Izawa discloses the retainer clip according to claim 1, wherein an outer side wall (arc-side wall bounding left insertion space 13; see the annotated figure 6) of the first rectangular slot (left 13) has a height equal to an outer side wall (arc-side wall bounding right insertion space 13) of the second rectangular slot (right 13), an inner sidewall (central wall of holding portion 11 bounding left 13) of the first rectangular slot has a height greater than the outer side wall of the first rectangular slot (figure 6).
Izawa does not disclose wherein an inner sidewall of the second rectangular slot has a height less than the height of the outer side wall of the second rectangular slot.
Jobin teaches structurally identical gripping elements (10, 12), each having a first end (15) different from its second end (17). The first end of one element aligns with the second end of the other when the gripping elements are reversed and joined.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holding portion (11) of Izawa so that the inner sidewall of the rectangular slot is short than its outer side wall, making the slot walls complementary at opposite ends of the base as taught by Jobin, in order to allow two identical holding portions to be joined in reversed orientation, with the taller inner wall of one registering against the shorter inner wall of the other to close each slot, so that the clip requires only a single mold and no selection of halves by the installer.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa, US 2017/0175932 in view of Koreski, US 4,799,641.
Regarding claim 3, Izawa discloses the retainer clip according to claim 1, wherein the base (11) defines the first arc-shaped wall (left 12) and the second arc-shaped wall (right 12). Izawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the first arc-shaped wall has an arc length greater than an arc length of the second arc-shaped wall.
Koreski teaches a retainer clip wherein the base (10, 12) defines a first arc-shaped wall (18) and a second arc-shaped wall (14) of different radii, such that the first arch-shaped wall (18) has an arc length greater than the arc length of the second arc-shaped wall (14; figure 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the left arc-shaped wall (12) of Izawa to have a larger radius, and therefore a greater arc length, than the right arc-shaped wall, as taught by Koreski, in order to accommodate elongate members of different diameters in a single clip.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa, US 2017/0175932 in view of Bowen et al., US 5,409,396.
Regarding claim 5, Izawa discloses the retainer clip according to claim 1, wherein one end of the base (11) defines a flexible locking arm (elastic locking piece 16). Izawa does not explicitly disclose wherein each end of the base defines a flexible locking arm next to a rigid locking tab.
Bowen teaches a retainer clip (18) formed of identical strain relief members (20), comprising a base (54) wherein each end of the base defines a flexible locking arm (56) next to a rigid locking tab (64). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip main body (10) of Izawa by replacing hinge portion (22) with a latch connection at each end, so that each end of the base defines a flexible locking arm next to a rigid locking tab as taught by Bowen, in order to join the clip parts from identical members that assemble with reduced assembly forces and reduced stresses in the members.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Izawa and Bowen teaches the retainer clip according to claim 5. Bowen further teaches wherein the flexible locking arm (56) is on a same side of the retainer clip as the rigid locking tab (64) as viewed from each end of the base (64 projects in the same direction as 56; figures 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukumoto et al. (US 10,655,374) discloses a hinged pipe clamp whose V-shaped notches jointly form square openings for the pipes, with a latch end having a resilient claw next to a fixed engagement portion.
/R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677