DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Currently claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amerson (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0291696).
Regarding Claim 1, Amerson discloses an apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) comprising:
A drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) operable to position a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14); and
Means for aligning (Amerson: 32, 40) the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 2, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, wherein the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is a down-the-hole (“DTH”) tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 3, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, wherein the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) comprises a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 28 is rotatable) for holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30);
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to maintain the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 4, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 3, wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) comprises:
A bit holder (Amerson: 28); and
A pivoting component (Amerson: 22) rotationally coupled to the bit holder (Amerson: 28), wherein the pivoting component (Amerson: 22):
Engages the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) and rotates to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Maintains the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 5, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, further comprising:
At least one alignment clamp moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein the at least one alignment clamp is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30)(Amerson: Paragraph [0024], [0032], [0033]).
Regarding Claim 8, Amerson discloses a method for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The method comprising:
Positioning a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14);and
Engaging the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with Means for aligning (Amerson: 32, 40) the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 9, Amerson discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Inserting the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) into a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10); and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) during the inserting step.
Regarding Claim 10, Amerson discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Moving an alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) from an open position to a closed position; and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) as the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moves from the open position to the closed position (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Regarding Claim 11, Amerson discloses an apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14); the apparatus comprising:
A drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) operable to position a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14); and
A side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) operable to align the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 12, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, further comprising:
Means for aligning (Amerson: 32, 40) the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 13, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, wherein the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is a down-the-hole (“DTH”) tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 16, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, wherein the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) comprises a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) for holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30);
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to maintain the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 17, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, further comprising:
At least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein the at least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Regarding Claim 18, Amerson discloses a method for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The method comprising:
Positioning a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
Moving a side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) from a stowed configuration to an activated configuration;
Engaging the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with a roller (slewing system requires rotation of pipe holding apparatus) of the side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) in the activated configuration; and
Aligning the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 19, Amerson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Inserting the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) into a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10); and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) during the inserting step.
Regarding Claim 20, Amerson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Moving an alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) from an open position to a closed position; and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) as the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moves from the open position to the closed position (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amerson in view of Taylor (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0338973).
Regarding Claim 14, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11 but does not disclose wherein the side swinging drill string support comprises: a piston; and a roller pivotally coupled to the piston; wherein actuating the piston pivots the roller into position to engage and align the drill pipe with the selected drilling tool when the drilling tool changer assembly positions the selected drilling tool for attachment to the drill pipe.
Taylor discloses a side swinging string support comprising:
A piston (Taylor: 52); and
A roller (Taylor: 16) pivotally coupled to the piston;
Wherein actuating the piston pivots the roller into position to engage and align the drill pipe (Taylor: 14) with the selected drilling tool when the drilling tool changer assembly positions the selected drilling tool for attachment to the drill pipe.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the slewing/side swinging drill string support of Taylor in the position of the slewing/side singing drill string support disclosed by Amerson with the predictable result of supplying drill string sections in a readily available manner as disclosed in the invention of Taylor (Taylor: Paragraph [0003])
Regarding Claim 15, Amerson and Taylor render obvious the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 14, wherein the side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) is operatively moveable between a stowed configuration and an activated configuration by actuation of the piston (Taylor: Paragraph [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The use of language directed toward the construction and function of a clamp, specifically: “at least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) comprises: an actuating piston comprising a first end and a second end; a first arm pivotally coupled to the first end of the actuating piston, wherein the first arm comprises a first pad system; a second arm pivotally coupled to the second end of the actuating piston, wherein the second arm comprises a second pad system; and wherein operation of the actuating piston to move the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) between the open position and the closed position comprises pivoting the first arm and the second arm together such that the first pad system and the second pad system engage and align the selected drilling tool within the bit adaptor holding the selected drilling tool”, when combined with the other limitations of claim 6, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the applicant argues that Amerson fails to anticipate the side-swinging drill string support and alignment camps disclosed in the applicant’s specification that function as the means for aligning the drill pipe.
The examiner respectfully submits that, with the interpretation that the alignment means is inclusive of a side-swinging arm and a clamp, Amerson still appears to possess both a side swinging drill string support arm (Amerson: 32) as well as alignment clamps (Amerson: Figure 3: unlabeled support element supporting top portion of 30 within 40) as both of these features appear to function to align the drill bit, swingingly, to within range of the end of a drill string and to support it while the drill bit and drill string are connected or disconnected, as can be seen between Figures 6A and 6B of Amerson.
Regarding claims 11, 12, and 18, the applicant argues that Amerson fails to disclose a side swinging drill string support operable to align the drill pipe with the selected tool while holding the selected drilling tool.
The examiner respectfully submits that as can be seen between Figures 6A and 6B of Amerson, the element 40, and by extension the side-swinging nature of 40 allowed by swinging arm 32 along with the unlabeled clamping/holding element supporting 30 as seen in Figure 3, operates to align the drill pipe with the selected drilling tool and may therefore be seen as structurally comparable to the relevant portions of applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 11, the applicant argues that Amerson fails to disclose any component that functions to align the drill pipe with the selected drilling tool, and instead discloses a slew drive 38 that is operable to rotate and position the drill bit storage holder 22 so the drill pipe can connect with a new bit.
The examiner respectfully submits that the act of rotating and positioning the drill bit storage holder is the act of aligning the drill pipe with the selected drilling tool (by moving the drill tool into alignment with the drill pipe).
Regarding claim 12, the applicant argues that Amerson does not disclose a pivoting bit adapter or an alignment clamp that opens and closes.
The examiner respectfully submits that Amerson, in figure 6A shows both a rotary/pivoting bit adapter (27) and an alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 3: unlabeled support element supporting top portion of 30 within 40) that has open (facing toward the open section of the bit storage holder (22)) and closed (not facing toward the open section of the bit storage holder (22)) positions that are, at the very least, equivalents of the described portions of the applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672