DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amerson (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0291696).
Regarding Claim 1, Amerson discloses an apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) comprising:
A drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) operable to position a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14); and
Means for aligning (Amerson: 40) the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 2, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, wherein the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is a down-the-hole (“DTH”) tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 3, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, wherein the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) comprises a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 28 is rotatable) for holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30);
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to maintain the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 4, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 3, wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) comprises:
A bit holder (Amerson: 28); and
A pivoting component (Amerson: 22) rotationally coupled to the bit holder (Amerson: 28), wherein the pivoting component (Amerson: 22):
Engages the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) and rotates to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Maintains the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 5, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 1, further comprising:
At least one alignment clamp moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein the at least one alignment clamp is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30)(Amerson: Paragraph [0024], [0032], [0033]).
Regarding Claim 8, Amerson discloses a method for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The method comprising:
Positioning a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14);and
Engaging the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with Means for aligning (Amerson: 40) the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 9, Amerson discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Inserting the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) into a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10); and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) during the inserting step.
Regarding Claim 10, Amerson discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Moving an alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) from an open position to a closed position; and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) as the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moves from the open position to the closed position (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Regarding Claim 11, Amerson discloses an apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14); the apparatus comprising:
A drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) operable to position a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14); and
A side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) operable to align the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 12, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, further comprising:
Means for aligning (Amerson: 40) the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 13, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, wherein the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is a down-the-hole (“DTH”) tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 16, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, wherein the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) comprises a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) for holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30);
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) as the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) is inserted therein; and
Wherein the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) is operable to maintain the alignment of the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) when the drilling tool changer assembly (Amerson: 20) positions the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14).
Regarding Claim 17, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11, further comprising:
At least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moveable between an open position and a closed position, wherein the at least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) is operable to align the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Regarding Claim 18, Amerson discloses a method for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) for a drilling rig (Amerson: 10), wherein the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) comprises a drill tower (Amerson: 12) supporting a drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
The method comprising:
Positioning a selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) for attachment to the drill pipe (Amerson: 14);
Moving a side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) from a stowed configuration to an activated configuration;
Engaging the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with a roller (slewing system requires rotation of pipe holding apparatus) of the side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) in the activated configuration; and
Aligning the drill pipe (Amerson: 14) with the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30).
Regarding Claim 19, Amerson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Inserting the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) into a pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10); and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within the pivoting bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) during the inserting step.
Regarding Claim 20, Amerson discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Moving an alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) on the drilling rig (Amerson: 10) from an open position to a closed position; and
Aligning the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) within a bit adaptor (Amerson: 22, 28) holding the selected drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) as the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) moves from the open position to the closed position (Amerson: Paragraph [0032]: arm engaged and disengaged by deck wrench (not shown)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amerson in view of Taylor (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0338973).
Regarding Claim 14, Amerson discloses the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 11 but does not disclose wherein the side swinging drill string support comprises: a piston; and a roller pivotally coupled to the piston; wherein actuating the piston pivots the roller into position to engage and align the drill pipe with the selected drilling tool when the drilling tool changer assembly positions the selected drilling tool for attachment to the drill pipe.
Taylor discloses a side swinging string support comprising:
A piston (Taylor: 52); and
A roller (Taylor: 16) pivotally coupled to the piston;
Wherein actuating the piston pivots the roller into position to engage and align the drill pipe (Taylor: 14) with the selected drilling tool when the drilling tool changer assembly positions the selected drilling tool for attachment to the drill pipe.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the slewing/side swinging drill string support of Taylor in the position of the slewing/side singing drill string support disclosed by Amerson with the predictable result of supplying drill string sections in a readily available manner as disclosed in the invention of Taylor (Taylor: Paragraph [0003])
Regarding Claim 15, Amerson and Taylor render obvious the apparatus for changing a drilling tool (Amerson: 24, 30) of claim 14, wherein the side swinging drill string support (Amerson: Paragraph [0036]: drill pipe changer uses slewing system ) is operatively moveable between a stowed configuration and an activated configuration by actuation of the piston (Taylor: Paragraph [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The use of language directed toward the construction and function of a clamp, specifically: “at least one alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) comprises: an actuating piston comprising a first end and a second end; a first arm pivotally coupled to the first end of the actuating piston, wherein the first arm comprises a first pad system; a second arm pivotally coupled to the second end of the actuating piston, wherein the second arm comprises a second pad system; and wherein operation of the actuating piston to move the alignment clamp (Amerson: Figure 6A: end of alignment arm 40) between the open position and the closed position comprises pivoting the first arm and the second arm together such that the first pad system and the second pad system engage and align the selected drilling tool within the bit adaptor holding the selected drilling tool”, when combined with the other limitations of claim 6, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170044875 (TOOL IDENTIFICATION), US 20140083774 (DRILLING TOOL CHANGER APPARATUS), US 20060162963 (Drill frame with tool magazine), US 3741322 (DRILLING RIG WITH DRILL ROD MAGAZINE).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672