DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Ryu
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu(USPubN 2014/0098088).
As per claim 1, Ryu teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to obtain ambient information of a transparent display(“The first detector 120 may detect position of real objects placed in a first direction of the transparent display apparatus 100.” in Para.[0063]);
memory configured to store at least one instruction; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to(Para.[0083]):
obtain masking information corresponding to a real object adjacent to the transparent display based on the ambient information(“the controller 140 may estimate overlapping areas of real and virtual objects on the transparent display 110 from the position of the user's eyes. Specifically, the controller 140 may estimate area where real objects penetrate and show on the transparent display 110 by using positions of a user and real objects, and estimate the area where virtual objects show on the transparent display 110 by using the position of a user and the predetermined position of virtual objects. Based on areas where real and virtual objects penetrate and show, the controller 140 may estimate the overlapping area. A method of estimating overlapping area of real and virtual objects will be further described below by referring to FIGS. 4 to 6” in Para.[0068]);
obtain a virtual object image to be displayed on the transparent display(“FIGS. 5A and 5B are views provided to explain a method of estimating an area where a virtual object shows on a transparent display apparatus. Referring to FIG. 5A, a user 30 is at the front of a transparent display apparatus 100, and a virtual object 10' having virtual position on a 3D area is placed at the rear of the transparent display apparatus 100” in Para.[0071]);
generate a display image to be displayed on the transparent display by correcting a shape of the virtual object image based on the masking information(“Position of the virtual object 10' on the 3D area, position of the user 30, and position of the transparent display apparatus 100 should be recognized in order to estimate an area 10 where the virtual object 10' having predetermined position on the 3D area shows on the transparent display apparatus 100. As described above, since the transparent controller 140 already recognizes the predetermined position of the first detector 120 or the second detector 130, size of a transparent display, position of a user and relative distance from a real object, it is possible to calculate position of the transparent display apparatus 100 on the 3D area. Further, since the controller 140 recognizes the position of a user measured by the second detector 130 and the predetermined position of a virtual object, it is possible to estimate the area 10 where a virtual object shows on a display as illustrated in FIG. 5A. If the user 30 views the transparent display apparatus 100, the virtual object 10 on the transparent display apparatus 100 may be shown as illustrated in FIG. 5B.” in Para.[0072]); and
output the display image to the transparent display(“FIG. 6 is a view provided to explain a method of estimating an overlapping area of a real object and a virtual object on a transparent display apparatus. If an area penetrating and showing a real object and an area showing a virtual object are estimated, the transparent display apparatus 100 may calculate overlapping areas 40-1, 40-2 of the estimated real object area and the estimated virtual object area” in Para.[0073]).
As per claim 3, Ryu teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify movement of the real object; and obtain the virtual object image in which at least one of a location or the shape of a virtual object is changed based on the movement of the real object(Para.[0063], [0064], [0066], [0067], [0068]).
As per claim 5, Ryu teaches wherein the sensor comprises: a camera on at least one of an upper part, a left side surface, or a right side surface of the transparent display, and takes an image in a direction of a center part of the transparent display, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify the real object located within a frame space supporting the transparent display, and obtain layout information corresponding to a shape of the real object(Para.[0063], [0068]).
As per claim 6, Ryu teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: obtain a layout image corresponding to a shape of the real object; and obtain a masking layout by scaling the layout image based on size information of the real object(Para.[0057], [0068], Fig. 4A and 4B).
As per claim 7, Ryu teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: generate the display image with a virtual object extending from a location of the real object based on the masking information(Para.[0068]).
As per claim 8, Ryu teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: generate the display image with a size of a virtual object adjusted based on an arrangement of the virtual object and the real object(Para.[0068]).
As per claim 9, Ryu teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: based on a virtual object being arranged behind the real object, generate the display image with an area in the virtual object overlapping with the real object not displayed(Para.[0068]).
As per claim 11, Ryu teaches wherein the masking information comprises area information where the virtual object image is displayed, and the area information is an ambient area excluding the real object, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: obtain an event image with an image filter applied to the ambient area using the masking information(Para.[0068]).
As per claim 12, Ryu teaches wherein the masking information comprises area information where the virtual object image is displayed, and the area information is an object area comprising the real object, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: obtain an event image with an image filter applied to the object area using the masking information(Para.[0068]).
As per claim 13, Ryu teaches further comprising: the transparent display, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: control the transparent display to display the display image(Para.[0073]).
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, Ryu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for executing a method for controlling an electronic apparatus(Para.[0083]) and the other limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the limitations in the claim 20 has been discussed in the rejection claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Ryu in view of Tsurumi
Claims 2, 4, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu(USPubN 2014/0098088) in view of Tsurumi(USPubN 2014/0292809).
As per claim 2, Ryu teaches all of limitation of claim 1.
Ryu is silent about wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify a type of the real object; and obtain the virtual object image corresponding to the type.
Tsurumi teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify a type of the real object; and obtain the virtual object image corresponding to the type(“a technique for recognizing a real object A will be described. FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of a technique for recognizing a real object A from an image Im captured by the imaging part 120. Referring to FIG. 3, in an image Im captured by the imaging part 120, there is shown a real object A. Further, the real object A is recognized by the image recognition part 113, and a virtual object associated with the recognition result is placed in an AR space corresponding to the real space by the display controller 115” in Para.[0060], “when the image recognition part 113 recognizes the position and the attitude of the real object A, the display controller 115 identifies the position of the virtual object in accordance with the position of the real object A, also identifies the attitude of the virtual object in accordance with the attitude of the real object A, and places the virtual object in accordance with the identified position and attitude. The relationship between the position of the real object A and the position of the virtual object may be determined in advance. Further, the relationship between the attitude of the real object A and the attitude of the virtual object may also be determined in advance” in Para.[0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Ryu with the above teachings of Tsurumi in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 4, Ryu teaches all of limitation of claim 1.
Ryu teaches wherein the sensor comprises: a camera configured to image, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify the real object for which the masking information will be obtained by using an image taken at the camera; and obtain layout information corresponding to a shape of the real object(Para.[0063], [0068]).
Ryu is silent about wherein the sensor comprises: a camera configured to image a rear side of the transparent display.
Tsurumi teaches wherein the sensor comprises: a camera configured to image a rear side of the transparent display (Para.[0054], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Ryu with the above teachings of Tsurumi in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 16, the limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the limitations in the claim 18 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
Ryu in view of Nidaira
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu(USPubN 2014/0098088) in view of Nidaira et al.(USPubN 2020/0402310; hereinafter Nidaira).
As per claim 10, Ryu teaches all of limitation of claim 1.
Ryu is silent about wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to:obtain the masking information corresponding to a color area having color information of the real object; andobtain a color filter image that makes the color area of the virtual object image appear a different color from the color information.
Nidaira teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to:obtain the masking information corresponding to a color area having color information of the real object; andobtain a color filter image that makes the color area of the virtual object image appear a different color from the color information(Para.[0024], [0037], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Ryu with the above teachings of Nidaira in order to improve user experience.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484