DETAILED ACTION
1. This FINAL action in response to application No. 19/307,875 originally filed 08/22/2025. The amendment presented on 07/24/2026 which provides claims 10, 14 and 15 are currently amended and claims 18 - 20 are currently added is hereby acknowledged. Currently claims 1 - 20 are pending.
Response to Amendments
3. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 24 July 2026, wherein: claims 1 - 20 are currently pending. Claims 10, 14 and 15 have been amended. Claims 18 - 20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on July 24, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 18 - 20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
5. Applicant’s arguments filed on July 24, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 - 17 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 6 - 11 of the Remarks, Applicant respectfully submits that Yun does not teach or suggest “a sensor to detect a user contact with the hybrid structure display; and a processor to:
display the first channel of content on the hybrid structure display; determine a subset region of the hybrid structure display corresponding to the user contact;
determine a size of the subset region corresponding to a touch pattern of the user contact;” As recited in claims 1, 10 and 14.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument because: Yun teaches a sensor (par. [0093] The first and second sensors 112 and 113) to detect a user contact with the hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100); (pars. [0013], [0077] and [0092]) and
a processor to: (fig. 5; the controller 130 comprises a processor and a memory, for example a computer)
display the first channel of content on the hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100); (fig. 4 and 26 and pars. [0132] and [0323])
determine a subset region of the hybrid structure display corresponding to the user contact; (par. [0012] According to an aspect of an exemplary embodiment there is provided a transparent display apparatus including a transparent display, at least one sensor which senses a position of an object and a position of a user, and a controller which determines an area of the transparent display through which the object is viewable by the user, based on the position of the object and the position of the user, and controls the transparent display to display information on the transparent display based on the area).
determine a size of the subset region corresponding to a touch pattern of the user contact; (pars. [0029] The controller may change attributes of the information, while adjusting a position of the information and the attributes may be at least one of size, opacity, color, thickness, font, and background color. And [0077] The transparent display apparatus 100 may determine the position of the object 20 relative to the transparent display apparatus 100 and the position of the user 10 relative to the transparent display apparatus 100 and then determine attributes of the information to be displayed on the transparent display apparatus 100 based on the determined positions. The attributes of the information may be position, color, or size of the information. The transparent display apparatus 100 may then display the information according to the result of evaluation, for example setting a position, color, or size of the information displayed on the transparent display apparatus 100 to account for interference due to the presence of the object 20) and
cause the hybrid structure display to display a second channel of content as a picture-in-picture in the subset region over a portion of the first channel of content being displayed. (fig. 26; 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4,30-5,30-6 and 30-7 and pars. [0278] - [0279 and 0284-0286])
determine, based on the position, and a detected contact of the user on a surface of the hybrid structure display and a touch pattern associated therewith; (par. [0148] In one example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 according to an external input made by a person who places, brings, or uses the object. For example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 to detect the positions of the object and the user, if the user touches the surface of the transparent display 140,)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1 - 7 and 9 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun “US 2013/0265232”.
Re-claim 1, Yun teaches an apparatus, (fig. 1; 100) comprising:
a hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100) comprising a display component (fig. 1; 100) mounted to or integrated with an environmental structure (fig. 1; 100) to display a first channel of content; (fig. 4 and 26 and pars. [0132] and [0323])
a sensor (par. [0093] The first and second sensors 112 and 113) to detect a user contact with the hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100); (pars. [0013], [0077] and [0092]) and
a processor to: (fig. 5; the controller 130 comprises a processor and a memory, for example a computer)
display the first channel of content on the hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100); (fig. 4 and 26 and pars. [0132] and [0323])
determine a subset region of the hybrid structure display corresponding to the user contact; (par. [0012] According to an aspect of an exemplary embodiment there is provided a transparent display apparatus including a transparent display, at least one sensor which senses a position of an object and a position of a user, and a controller which determines an area of the transparent display through which the object is viewable by the user, based on the position of the object and the position of the user, and controls the transparent display to display information on the transparent display based on the area.)
determine a size of the subset region corresponding to a touch pattern of the user contact; (pars. [0029] The controller may change attributes of the information, while adjusting a position of the information and the attributes may be at least one of size, opacity, color, thickness, font, and background color. And [0077] The transparent display apparatus 100 may determine the position of the object 20 relative to the transparent display apparatus 100 and the position of the user 10 relative to the transparent display apparatus 100 and then determine attributes of the information to be displayed on the transparent display apparatus 100 based on the determined positions. The attributes of the information may be position, color, or size of the information. The transparent display apparatus 100 may then display the information according to the result of evaluation, for example setting a position, color, or size of the information displayed on the transparent display apparatus 100 to account for interference due to the presence of the object 20) and
cause the hybrid structure display to display a second channel of content as a picture-in-picture in the subset region over a portion of the first channel of content being displayed. (fig. 26; 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4,30-5,30-6 and 30-7 and pars. [0278] - [0279 and 0284-0286])
Claim 2, Yun teaches wherein the hybrid structure display (fig. 1; 100) includes content on a front side and a rear side of the environmental structure. (par. [0076])
Re-claim 3, Yun teaches wherein the processor determines a size of the subset region based on a distance between a user that provides the user contact and the hybrid structure display. (pars. [0087], [0088], [0161] and [0195])
Re-claim 4, Yun teaches wherein a smaller distance corresponds to a smaller size for the subset region. (fig. 10 and pars. [0181] and [0185])
Re-claim 5, Yun teaches wherein the environmental structure is an architectural structure. (par. [0222])
Re-claim 6, Yun teaches wherein the architectural structure is a wall. (par. [0079] As used herein, the `object` 20 may be any one or more of various objects including purchasable goods, animals, plants, furniture, walls, or wallpaper, etc.)
Re-claim 7, Yun teaches wherein the processor is to map the second channel of content based on identification information. (pars. [0282], [0283] and [0290])
Re-claim 9, Yun teaches wherein a source of the second channel of content is a mobile device carried by a user. (par. [0221])
Re-claim 10, Yun teaches an electronic device, (par. [0355] a laptop computer, a PC monitor, a TV, a PDA, an electronic frame, a tablet PC or a camera etc.) comprising:
a communication interface (par. [0355] a laptop computer, a PC monitor, a TV, a PDA, an electronic frame, a tablet PC or a camera etc.) to receive sensor data from a sensor; (par. [0093] The first and second sensors 112 and 113); (fig. 5 and par. [0135] - [0136]) and
a processor to: (fig. 5; the controller 130 comprises a processor and a memory, for example a computer)
determine, based on the sensor data, a position corresponding to a user relative to a hybrid structure display, (fig. 1; 100) the hybrid structure display comprising a display component (fig. 1; 100) mounted to or integrated with an environmental structure; (fig. 4 and pars. [0132] and [0323])
determine, based on the position and a detected contact of the user on a surface of the hybrid structure display and a touch pattern associated therewith (par. [0148] In one example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 according to an external input made by a person who places, brings, or uses the object. For example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 to detect the positions of the object and the user, if the user touches the surface of the transparent display 140,) a subset region of the hybrid structure display physically adjacent to the user; cause the hybrid structure display to display a first channel of content; (par. [0012] According to an aspect of an exemplary embodiment there is provided a transparent display apparatus including a transparent display, at least one sensor which senses a position of an object and a position of a user, and a controller which determines an area of the transparent display through which the object is viewable by the user, based on the position of the object and the position of the user, and controls the transparent display to display information on the transparent display based on the area.)
map a second channel of content to the subset region; and cause the hybrid structure display to display the second channel of content in the subset region concurrently with the first channel of content being displayed in the subset region with a semi-transparent effect. (fig. 26; 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4,30-5,30-6 and 30-7 and pars. [0278] - [0279] and [0284] - [0286])
Re-claim 11, Yun teaches wherein the hybrid structure display comprises furniture. (fig. 24 and par. [0079] As used herein, the `object` 20 may be any one or more of various objects including purchasable goods, animals, plants, furniture, walls, or wallpaper, etc.)
Re-claim 12, Yun teaches wherein the sensor data comprises video from an image sensor. (par. [0194])
Re-claim 13, Yun teaches wherein the processor is to:
identify the user based on the sensor data to produce an identification; and
map the second channel of content to the subset region based on the identification. (pars. [0282], [0283] and [0290])
Re-claim 14, Yun teaches a method, comprising:
displaying first content over an entire display component (fig. 1; 100) of a hybrid structure display, (fig. 1; 100) the hybrid structure display comprising the display component (fig. 1; 100) mounted to or integrated with an environmental structure; (fig. 4 and pars. [0132] and [0323])
detecting positional information of a user relative to the hybrid structure display; (pars. [0013], [0077] and [0092])
detecting contact of the user on a surface of the hybrid structure display and a touch pattern associated therewith; (par. [0148] In one example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 according to an external input made by a person who places, brings, or uses the object. For example, the controller 130 may drive the first and second sensors 110, 120 to detect the positions of the object and the user, if the user touches the surface of the transparent display 140,)
determining a subset region of the display component that is physically adjacent to the user based on the positional information and the touch pattern (fig. 1; mapping area 20'); (par. [0012] According to an aspect of an exemplary embodiment there is provided a transparent display apparatus including a transparent display, at least one sensor which senses a position of an object and a position of a user, and a controller which determines an area of the transparent display through which the object is viewable by the user, based on the position of the object and the position of the user, and controls the transparent display to display information on the transparent display based on the area.) and
displaying, on the display component of the hybrid structure display, second content as a picture-in-picture in the subset region concurrently with the first content being displayed over the entire display component except for the subset region. (fig. 26; 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4,30-5,30-6 and 30-7 and pars. [0278] - [0279] and [0284] - [0286])
Re-claim 15, Yun teaches wherein the touch pattern indicates a closed shape (fig. 1; 20’, 30). (pars. [0083] - [0084])
Re-claim 16, Yun teaches wherein determining the subset region comprises determining a size of the subset region based on the touch pattern. (pars. [0026], [0077], [0082] and [0088])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
11. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun “US 2013/0265232” in view of Sage “US 2020/0312279”.
Re-claim 8, Yun teaches all the limitations of claim 7 but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is to:
utilize the identification information to perform an authentication; and
access the second channel of content based on the authentication.
However, Sage teaches wherein the processor is to:
utilize the identification information to perform an authentication; (par. [0077]) and
access the second channel of content based on the authentication. (pars. [0078] and [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Sage to make displayed content at such a device easily and conveniently viewable without the need to reposition a device. (par. [0054])
Re-claim 17, Yun teaches all the limitations of claim 14 but does not explicitly teach authenticating the user to produce an authentication; and
accessing the second content based on the authentication.
However, Sage teaches authenticating the user to produce an authentication; (par. [0077]) and
accessing the second content based on the authentication. (par. [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Sage to make displayed content at such a device easily and conveniently viewable without the need to reposition a device. (par. [0054])
12. Claims 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun “US 2013/0265232” in view of Holguin “US 2023/0305661”.
Re-claim 18, Yun does not explicitly teach wherein the touch pattern comprises a closed shape drawn by the user on a surface of the hybrid structure display, and wherein the processor determines the subset region as an area within the closed shape.
However, Holguin teaches wherein the touch pattern comprises a closed shape drawn by the user on a surface of the hybrid structure display, and wherein the processor determines the subset region as an area within the closed shape. (par. [0038] the one or more interactive display devices 110 are configured to enable a user to interact with one or more displayed images as the user would interact with any other computing display device (e.g., by drawing on the one or more projected images), etc.) (par. [0067] For example, as a user works on the left side of the display surface 405 (e.g., writing, drawing, etc.), the system may gradually shift the set of menu items 415 to the left (e.g., such that the set of menu items 415 gradually moves closer to the portion of the display board 110 on which the user is working, thereby placing the set of menu items 415 within the reach of the user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Holguin to improve user interface generation. (par. [0027])
Re-claim 19, Yun does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is to remove the subset region in response to detecting an absence of the user for a threshold period.
However, Holguin teaches wherein the processor is to remove the subset region in response to detecting an absence of the user for a threshold period. (par. [0080] or example, cause the interactive touch-screen display device to return the interface elements (e.g., set of menu items) to the default position shown in FIG. 6 (e.g., because once enough time has passed since the last input)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Holguin to improve user interface generation. (par. [0027])
13. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun “US 2013/0265232” in view of Lee “US 2018/0074676”.
Re-claim 20, Yun teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is to display a first subset region corresponding to a first user and a second subset region corresponding to a second user concurrently on the hybrid structure display, wherein the first subset region displays a first personalized channel of content and the second subset region displays a second personalized channel of content.
However, Lee teaches wherein the processor is to display a first subset region corresponding to a first user and a second subset region corresponding to a second user concurrently on the hybrid structure display, wherein the first subset region displays a first personalized channel of content and the second subset region displays a second personalized channel of content. (par. [0090] The memory may be configured to store a first application program including a first user interface and a second application program including a second user interface, and the memory may include instructions which when executed by the processor cause the electronic device to perform: displaying the first user interface on the touchscreen display; receiving an input for providing at least one item through the first user interface; displaying the at least one item of the first user interface; sensing pressure applied to, and/or around, the at least one item on the display using the pressure sensor while the at least one item of the first user interface is displayed; and displaying the second user interface on the touchscreen display based on at least a part of the sensed pressure wherein the second user interface includes the at least one item and par. [0091] the at least one item may include at least one of: text, a number, an image, a symbol, and a video.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Lee the usability of the electronic device is improved. (par. [0013])
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 10/14/26