DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 3 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 21-22 are newly added claim.
Claims 11-15 and 17-20 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed on 06/18/2026, the following rejections are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on 03/26/2026.
Rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manuel et al. (US 2007/0067977)
New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manuel et al. (US 2007/0067977) in view of Miller et al. (US 2012/0286446).
As to claims 1, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) discloses a part formed by additive manufacturing, the part comprising:
- a first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) of a plurality of layers (tangible sectional members 12, 14, 15; ¶ [0033]);
[AltContent: textbox (A 3rd layer (15))][AltContent: textbox (A 2nd layer (14))][AltContent: textbox (A 1st layer (12))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( 1st, 2nd, and 3rd holes (120, 122))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A mold surface (17) )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vacuum chamber (100))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
- a second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]) of the plurality of layers (tangible sectional members 12, 14, 15; ¶ [0033]), the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) in contact with the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]) to form a portion of a mold surface (a tangible item formation surface 17 ¶ [0036] of a tool 10, ¶ [0033]) on an upper surface (the tangible item formation surface 17) of the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and on an upper surface (the tangible item formation surface 17) of the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]);
- a first hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed through the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]);
- a second hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed through the second layer, the first hole (120, ¶ [0040]) and the second hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) being at least partially aligned to form a portion of a vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]);
- a first opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) formed on the mold surface (on a formation surface 17 of the tool 10, ¶ [0036]), the first opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) extending from the mold surface (on a formation surface 17 of the tool 10, ¶ [0036]) to the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]), wherein the first opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) is a slot at an interface between the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]); and
- a second opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) connected to the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]), the second opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) being configured to connect the vacuum chamber (100) to a vacuum pump (vacuum source 70, ¶ [0040]).
As to claim 21, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) teach a part formed by additive manufacturing, the part comprising:
- a plurality of layers (tangible sectional members 12, 14, 15; ¶ [0033]) stacked along a stacking direction, the plurality of layers (tangible sectional members 12, 14, 15; ¶ [0033]) including a first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) adjacent to a second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]);
- a mold surface (a tangible item formation surface 17 ¶ [0036] of a tool 10, ¶ [0033]) formed on an upper surface (the tangible item formation surface 17) of the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and an upper surface (the tangible item formation surface 17) of the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]);
- a vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]) extending through the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]);
- a slot (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) at an interface between the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]), the slot (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) extending from the mold surface (a tangible item formation surface 17 ¶ [0036] of a tool 10, ¶ [0033]) to the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]);
- a vacuum connection extending from a bottom surface of the mold (on a formation surface 17 of the tool 10, ¶ [0036]) to the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]) extending through the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]).
[AltContent: textbox (Length of the openings)]Further, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) teaches the first opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) is formed in a shape of a slot, the slot having a length that is greater than a width of the slot.
[AltContent: textbox (Width of the openings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A length of the opening (slot) is greater than a width of the opening (slot))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
However, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) fail to disclose the length of the slot is greater than a depth of the slot, while the width of the slot is measured in a direction parallel to a stacking direction of the first layer and the second layer, as claimed in claims 1 and 21.
In the analogous art, Miller et al. (US ‘446) disclose a thermal die assembly (120) includes a die (100). The die 100 in this example embodiment has two cavities (100a and 100b) in which to form pockets of packages. (see ¶ [0019])
Further, the die (100) includes threaded bores (100c and 100d) that are used to couple the spacers (102-1 and 102-2) to the die (100). The spacers (102-1 and 102-2) can also be referred to as inserts. The inserts (102-1 and 102-2) are used to increase a depth of the cavities (100a and 100b) so that larger pockets of packages can be formed in the cavities (100a and 100b) of the die (100). (see ¶ [0020])
Moreover, each insert (102) includes an internal passage (102a and 102b) that has a shape that conforms to a respective opening to the cavities (100a and 100b) in the die (100). When the inserts (102) are coupled to the die (100), the internal passages (102a and 102b) align with the openings to the cavities (100a and 100b) thereby extending the depth of cavities, including die cavities (100a and 100b) and passages (102a and 102b) of the inserts (102), of the thermal die assembly (120). (see ¶ [0020])
Moreover, the passages 102a and 102b (i.e. surfaces 102e and 102f that define the passages 102a and 102b) are graduated in shape to conform to the shape of a product that is going to be placed in the pocket. That is, if a products width either increases or decreases in relation to its height, graduated passages 102a and 102b of the inserts 102 help form pockets to accommodate the shape of the increasing or decreasing width of the product. (see ¶ [0021])
[AltContent: textbox (A depth of the slot (102a or 102b))][AltContent: textbox (A 2nd layer 102-2)][AltContent: textbox (A 1st layer 102-1)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A width of the slot (102a or 102b))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A length of the slot (102a or 102b))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Slots (102a and 102b) )]
As to claims 1 and 21, Miller et al. (US ‘446) teach a slot (passages 102a or 102b, ¶ [0021]) at an interface between the first layer and the second layer (the spacers 102-1 and 102-2), wherein a length of the slot (passages 102a or 102b, ¶ [0021]) is greater than a width of the slot (passages 102a or 102b, ¶ [0021]), wherein the length of the slot is greater than a depth of the slot (a depth of the cavities 100a and 100b, ¶ [0020] and ¶ [0022] - ¶ [0023]), and wherein the width of the slot (passages 102a or 102b, ¶ [0021]) is measured in a direction parallel to the stacking direction. (See annotated fig. 1A)
It would have obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify a geometry of the formed slot on the mold surface, as taught by Manuel et al. (US ‘977), so a length of the slot is greater than a width of the slot and the length of the slot is greater than a depth of the slot in order to provide a vacuum pressure consistency applied within the mold surface by vacuum passages, as suggested by Miller et al. (US ‘446): ¶ [0022]).
As to claim 2, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) further disclose the second opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040], Fig. 5) extends from a bottom surface of the part (a tool 10, ¶ [0033], Fig. 5) to the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040], Fig. 5).
[AltContent: textbox (The 2nd opening (120) extends from a bottom surface (17) to the vacuum chamber (100))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 4, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) disclose the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) includes a wall extending from the first opening (the top portion of the vertical passages 120 of the tool 10, ¶ [0040]) to the mold surface (a tangible item formation surface 17 ¶ [0036] of a tool 10, ¶ [0033]).
As to claim 5, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) teach the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]) is a first vacuum chamber (internal passageway 42, ¶ [0040]) and the part includes a second vacuum chamber (a vacuum chamber 100, ¶ [0040]), the second vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]) extending through the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and through the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 2nd vacuum chamber (100))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 1st vacuum chamber (42))]
As to claim 6, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) disclose a third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed in the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]); and a fourth hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed in the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]), the third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]).
As to claim 7, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) teach a third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed in the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]); and a fourth hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed in the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]), the third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]), wherein the first hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) and the second hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) each have a first shape and the third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) and the fourth hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) each have a second shape that is different than the first shape. (see annotated figure below)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 4th hole (120) formed in the 2nd layer (14))][AltContent: textbox (A 1st hole (120))][AltContent: textbox (A 2nd hole (120))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A 3rd hole (120) formed in the 1st layer (12))]
As to claim 8, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) disclose a third hole (vertical passages 120, ¶ [0040]) formed in the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]); and a fourth hole (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) formed in the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]), the third hole (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]) being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]) to form a coolant channel (cooling passageway 44, ¶ [0038]). (See above annotated Fig. 4)
As to claim 9, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) teach the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]) are stacked along a stacking direction, the stacking direction being a horizontal direction. (See Figs. 4-6)
As to claim 10, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) disclose the mold surface (on a formation surface 17 of the tool 10, ¶ [0036]) is continuous along the upper surface of the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the upper surface of the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]).
As to claim 22, Manuel et al. (US ‘977) disclose the coolant channel (cooling passageway 44, ¶ [0038]) extending through the first layer (a tangible sectional member 12, ¶ [0033]) and the second layer (a tangible sectional member 14, ¶ [0033]), the coolant channel (cooling passageway 44, ¶ [0038]) fluidly isolated from the vacuum chamber (100, ¶ [0040]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 21-22 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
As to claims 1 and 21 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: a part formed by additive manufacturing (see US ‘698: claim 1, line 3 and claim 15, line 2), the part comprising:
-a first layer (see US ‘698: claim 1, line 3 and claim 15, line 2) of a plurality of layers;
-a second layer (see US ‘698: claim 1, line 4 and claim 15, line 2) of the plurality of layers, the first layer in contact with the second layer to form a portion of a mold surface on an upper surface of the first layer and on an upper surface of the second layer (see US ‘698: claim 1, lines 9-13 and claim 15, lines 7-10);
-a first hole formed through the first layer (see US ‘698: claim 1, line 14);
-a second hole formed through the second layer, the first hole and the second hole being at least partially aligned to form a portion of a vacuum chamber (see US ‘698: claim 1, lines 9-13);
-a first opening formed on the work surface, the first opening extending from the work surface to the vacuum chamber (see US ‘698: claim 4, lines 6-8 and claim 5, lines 6-10; claim 15, lines 19-22), wherein the first opening is a slot at an interface between the first layer and the second layer, wherein a length of the slot is greater than a width of the slot, wherein the length of the slot is greater than a depth of the slot, and wherein the width of the slot is measured in a direction parallel to a stacking direction of the first layer and the second layer (see US ‘698: claim 5, lines 9-10 and claim 20); and
-a second opening connected to the vacuum chamber, the second opening being configured to connect the vacuum chamber to a vacuum pump (see US ‘698: claim 4, lines 6-8 and claim 5, lines 6-10; claim 15, lines 19-22).
US ‘698 discloses all the structural limitations of a part formed by additive manufacturing. Even though US ‘698 is silent on explicitly disclosing that the disclosed work surface is actually a mold surface, as claimed in claims 1, 4, 10, and 21 of the instant application.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to consider the work surface, claimed by US ‘698, as a mold surface as this is considered to be more intended use of the work surface while intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determine the patentability of the apparatus and the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself and further a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
As to claim 2 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the second opening extends from a bottom surface of the part to the vacuum chamber. (see US ‘698: claim 4, lines 6-8 and claim 5, lines 6-10; claim 15, lines 19-22)
As to claim 4 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the first layer includes a wall extending from the first opening to the work surface. (see US ‘698: claim 1, lines 20 and claim 15, line 17; claim 4, lines 6-8 and claim 5, lines 6-10; claim 15, lines 19-22)
As to claim 5 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the vacuum chamber is a first vacuum chamber and the part includes a second vacuum chamber, the second vacuum chamber extending through the first layer and through the second layer. (see US ‘698: claim 13, lines 12-19 and claim 15, lines 19-22)
As to claim 6 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: a third hole formed in the first layer; and a fourth hole formed in the second layer, the third hole being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole. (See US ‘698: claims 2-5)
As to claim 7 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: a third hole formed in the first layer; and a fourth hole formed in the second layer, the third hole being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole, wherein the first hole and the second hole each have a first shape and the third hole and the fourth hole each have a second shape that is different than the first shape. (See US ‘698: claims 2-5)
As to claim 8 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: a third hole formed in the first layer; and a fourth hole formed in the second layer, the third hole being at least partially aligned with the fourth hole to form a coolant channel. (See US ‘698: claims 2-5)
As to claim 9 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the first layer and the second layer are stacked along a stacking direction, the stacking direction being a horizontal direction. (see US ‘698: claim 1, lines 4-5 and claim 15, lines 3-4; claims 16-17, lines 2-3)
As to claim 10 of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the work surface is continuous along the upper surface of the first layer and the upper surface of the second layer. (See US ‘698: claims 1 and 15)
As to claim 22, of the instant application, the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,427,698 disclose: the coolant channel extending through the first layer and the second layer, the coolant channel fluidly isolated from the vacuum chamber. (see US ‘698: claim 4, lines 6-8 and claim 5, lines 6-10; claim 15, lines 19-22)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/18/2026, with respect to prior art rejections of claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 have been considered but are moot in view of the above new grounds of rejections. Applicant’s arguments are mainly directed to the newly added limitations to claim 1 and that the prior art of Manuel et al. (US ‘977) fail to disclose those limitation. However, in the above new grounds of the rejections, a new prior art of Miller et al. (US ‘446) is introduced to fully address the newly added limitations to claim 1. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the above new grounds of the rejections.
Further, regarding Double Patenting Rejection, Applicant argues that “claims of the ‘698 patent do not recite a “wherein the length of the slot is greater than a depth of the slot, and wherein the width of the slot is measured in a direction parallel to a stacking direction of the first layer and the second layer,” as recited in independent claim 1 of the present application.”
This is not found persuasive. As also indicated above in the body of the rejection, claims 5 and 20 of the ‘698 patent recite “wherein the opening is formed in a shape of a slot having a length that is larger than a width of the slot”, which is currently claimed in claims 1 and 21. The other limitations of claims 1 and 21 that are not explicitly recited in claims 4-5, 15 and 20 would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to be a part of the claimed subject matter, as the ‘698 patent specification recites “slots 28 may have a depth 33, length 37, and width 36, length 37 being greater than depth 33 and greater than width 36.” (See specification: col. 8, lines 48 – 50)
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of claim rejections, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references by the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
07/10/2026