DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 15-16 remain pending in the application, and claims 4 and 13-14 have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every claim objection and 102 and 103 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 2/26/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on page 7 of Remarks that Yuds neither discloses nor suggests the power dolly of claim 1. In rejecting the "wireless communication receiver configured to receive a control signal and to output the received control signal to an automated lighting fixture via a control output connector" recited in claim 1, the Office Action cites Yuds' wireless communication module as providing a medical device with WLAN connectivity for control of the medical device. The Office Action then cites the task/reading light 228 of Yuds' cart as "configured to turn on automatically when the cart 200 is not being charged." Thus, Yuds teaches that the activation of the light 228 is controlled by a status of the cart, not by the WLAN signals controlling the medical device. Furthermore, the teaching of Yuds' light 228 would not be understood by a person of skill in theater production stage lighting equipment (see Specification ¶2 and ¶4) to disclose or even suggest an automated lighting fixture.
The examiner submits that the light 228 automatically turning on implies the light is being triggered on by an electronic signal. The signal's source originates from the charging circuit which wirelessly receives power as described in paragraphs 0007 and 0017. In addition Paragraph 0058 of Yuds describes the light is triggered to turn on via a microphone when an alarm is sounding. The examiner would interpret the microphone as another wireless communication module to control the light. The claim language is not limited to stage lighting equipment.
The applicant submits on page 8 that the previous Office Action does not identify where Yuds teaches an attachment point configured to mechanically couple the planar platform to another structure. The Applicant further submits that Yuds does not teach an attachment point configured to mechanically couple the planar platform to a frame, wherein the frame is separate from the planar platform and is configured to support the automated lighting fixture, wherein the attachment point is configured to securely hold the frame and automated lighting fixture attached to the power dolly while the power dolly is moved and to enable the automated lighting fixture to receive AC power via the inverter output connector and the control signal via the control output connector without interruption while the power dolly is moved.
The examiner respectfully submits that Yuds discloses all of the above mentioned limitations. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuds (US 20220203007 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yuds teaches a power dolly (Fig. 3 and ¶0048: cart 200), comprising:
a planar platform (Fig. 3: bottom surface 212) supported by at least three wheels (castors 204);
a battery (Fig. 3 and ¶0049: power supply 210 including one or more batteries) mechanically coupled to the planar platform (212) and located between the wheels (204);
a mains input connector configured to receive mains power and to charge the battery (¶0050: charging circuit can be plugged into a wall outlet to recharge the batteries);
a battery charger electrically coupled to the mains input connector and configured to charge the battery using mains power received at the mains input connector (¶0049: power supply 210 includes a charging circuit);
an inverter configured to receive direct current (DC) power from the battery and to provide alternating current (AC) power at an inverter output connector (¶0049: “an inverter can convert the DC power to an AC power (e.g., 120 VAC, 220 VAC, etc.) to run various equipment that may require AC power”);
a wireless communication receiver configured to receive a control signal and to output the received control signal to an automated lighting fixture via a control output connector (¶’s [35, 73, 92] and Fig. 5: wireless communication module communicating with a wireless access point such as a router. Control signals are used for controlling speed of pistons for the peritoneal dialysis machine (PD). Fig. 3 and ¶[58]: Cart 200 includes a light 228 which is configured to turn on automatically when the cart 200 is not being charged);
a display on a surface of the power dolly, the display comprising a user input device configured to control information displayed on the display and to control parameters of the wireless communication receiver (¶[61-62, 66, esp. 74] and Fig. 5: processor 510 is connected to an input/output module to interface with user interface elements such as an LED display); and
an attachment point configured to mechanically couple the planar platform (Fig. 3: bottom surface 212) to a frame (Fig. 3 and ¶[48]: legs of structure 202 and top surface 206), wherein the frame is separate from the planar platform (Fig. 3: bottom surface 212 is not the same as the legs of structure 202 and top surface 206, and therefore is interpreted as separate by the examiner) and is configured to support the automated lighting fixture (Fig. 3: light 228 supported from top surface 206), wherein the attachment point is configured
to securely hold the frame and automated lighting fixture attached to the power dolly while the power dolly is moved (¶[55-57]: legs and top surface are securely attached to bottom surface such that the cart can be pushed around without legs slipping off the bottom surface) and
to enable the automated lighting fixture to receive AC power via the inverter output connector and the control signal via the control output connector without interruption while the power dolly is moved (Fig. 3 and ¶0049: “an inverter can convert the DC power to an AC power (e.g., 120 VAC, 220 VAC, etc.) to run various equipment that may require AC power.” The examiner interprets that as the bottom surface is securely attached to the legs and top surface, the batteries in power supply 210 resting on the bottom surface 212 are securely wired to the inverter to power the light fixture without interruption even when the cart is not plugged into an external power source. Wheels allow movement of the cart).
Regarding claim 3, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, wherein the attachment point is configured to mechanically couple the planar platform to a truss and to physically support the power dolly from the truss (Fig. 3 and ¶0052: bottom surface 212 is mounted with a structure 202 that includes legs, panels, connectors. The examiner interprets the points where the legs are connected to the bottom surface 212 as a truss as it is a stable anchor point from which the legs and subsequently the rest of the cart structure is attached and securely stand on).
Regarding claim 6, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 5, wherein at least one of the wheels comprises a brake that is configured to be activated by a user of the power dolly to prevent rotation of the wheel (¶0054 and Fig. 3: manual brakes 222 on the castors 204 lock the wheels so the cart does not roll around).
Regarding claim 8, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, further comprising one or more handles (Fig. 3 and ¶0057: handle 226).
Regarding claim 10, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, wherein the inverter is configured to selectively provide 120V or 230V AC power at the inverter output connector (¶0034: inverter converts DC into AC (e.g. 120/220 AC voltage)).
Regarding claim 12, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, wherein the display is configured to display a current amount of charge in the battery (¶0035: “the power supply can send information to the medical device indicating a charge state of the power supply such that the medical device can display an indication of the charge state of the batteries in the cart (e.g., on a display of the medical device, using LEDs included in the medical device, using a speaker of the medical device, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 15, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, wherein the power dolly is configured to be positioned with an edge of the planar platform abutting another structure (Fig. 2: the dolly is configured to be positioned with a side pushed against a wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuds in view of Clarke et al. (US 20220123581 A1), hereinafter referred to as Clarke.
Regarding claim 2, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1.
Yuds does not teach the dolly further comprising a DC input connector electrically coupled to the battery charger, wherein the battery charger is further configured to charge the battery using DC power received at the DC input connector.
Clarke teaches a device comprising a DC input connector (Fig. 1c and ¶0081: DC input 154) electrically coupled to the battery charger (converter 184), wherein the battery charger is further configured to charge the battery (internal battery 160) using DC power received at the DC input connector (¶’s [80-81]).
Both Yuds and Clarke teach systems that charge and discharge batteries. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the DC input in Clarke into the system of Yuds to provide flexibility in the types of external power sources that can be used for charging the battery.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuds in view of Home Depot (“100 lbs. Capacity Furniture Dolly (2-Piece)“ < https://www.homedepot.com/p/Buffalo-Tools-1000-lbs-Capacity-Furniture-Dolly-2-Piece-807684/320370216 > , posted Nov. 13, 2021).
Regarding claim 5, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1.
Yuds does not explicitly teach wherein the wheels are configured not to protrude beyond a perimeter of the planar platform.
Home Depot teaches a dolly wherein the wheels are configured not to protrude beyond a perimeter of the planar platform (See Annotated Figure below).
Yuds and Home Depot teach dollies for transporting items. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate having wheels under and within the frame of the dolly in Home Depot into the dolly of Yuds to reduce the chance of the dolly user to trip on the wheels while moving the dolly.
Regarding claim 7, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1
Yuds does not teach a height of the power dolly is 40% or less of a longer of a width of the power dolly and a length of the power dolly, the height of the power dolly being a dimension of the power dolly measured in a perpendicular direction from a bottom of the planar platform to a planar surface on which the wheels rest.
Home Depot teaches a height of a dolly is 40% or less than a width of the dolly (Specifications: height is 4 in (less than 25%) of the width, which is 18.37 in).
Yuds and Home Depot teach dollies for transporting items. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the low height of the dolly in Home Depot into the dolly of Yuds to better support and carry tall or bulky equipment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuds in view of Cronin (US 20230173949 A1) as evidenced by Ledyi (“Everything You Need to Know About DMX512 Control” < https://www.ledyilighting.com/everything-you-need-to-know-about-dmx512-control/ > Updated Nov. 9, 2022).
Yuds does not teach the power dolly wherein the wireless communication receiver comprises a wireless 512-channel digital multiplex (DMX512) receiver.
Cronin teaches a device 16 with power packs 12 (Fig. 1A) wherein the communication uses DMX512 (¶0079).
Yuds and Cronin teach the charging and discharging of batteries. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the DMX512 protocol in Cronin into the dolly of Yuds to enable a fast communication speed of 250,000 bits per second as evidenced by Ledyi pages 2/28-3/28.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuds in view of Morton et al. (US 20230261331 A1), hereinafter referred to as Morton.
Regarding claim 11, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1.
Yuds does not teach the power dolly further comprising a membrane breather valve configured to allow air to pass through when the air is entering the power dolly.
Morton teaches a membrane breather valve configured to allow air to pass through (¶1468: an air vent made from air permeable , oleophobic membrane keeps water dust and dirt out of the battery module and preserves the IP 65 ingress protection rating of the sealed battery module).
Yuds and Morton teach an apparatus containing a battery. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the air vent of Morton into the power supply 210 of Yuds to prevent circuit or battery damage/degradation from water or dust.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuds in view of Lowe’s (“Interlocking Foam Gym Floor Mat” <https://www.lowes.com/pd/Fleming-Supply-Black-Square-Foam-Tile-Common-2-ft-x-2-ft-Actual-24-in-x-24-in/1002634202?irclickid=yjwzIcW-KxycU15UoQzmnWuEUkpy-hUuiQ6Mzk0&irgwc=1&cm_mmc=aff-_-c-_-prd-_-mdv-_-gdy-_-all-_-A560-_-390418-_-0> Posted May 31, 2020).
Regarding claim 16, Yuds teaches the power dolly of claim 1, wherein the power dolly is a first power dolly and the planar platform is a first planar platform, the first power dolly is configured to be positioned with an edge of the first planar platform abutting a second planar platform of a second power dolly (Fig. 2: each dolly is configured to be positioned with a side pushed against the side of another dolly).
Yuds does not teach one or more attachment points of each of the first power dolly and the second power dolly are configured to mechanically couple the first power dolly to the second power dolly.
Lowe’s teaches attachment points (Lowe’s page 2: rubber teeth along the edge of each gym mat) to mechanically couple a first gym mat to a second gym mat (when two mats are connected, moving one mat easily moves the mat it is connected to).
Yuds and Lowe’s teach surfaces for holding a load. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the rubber teeth of the gym mats in Lowe’s into the dolly of Yuds to increase the carrying, charge, and equipment capacity of the dolly while making it easy for the user to move more than one dolly at the same time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Overfield (US 20230057526 A1)
Smith et al. (US 20240010255 A1)
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 June 5, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859