DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman “Nuclear Powered CO2 Capture from the Atmosphere” Environmental Progress & Sustainable Energy Vol. 28 No. 1 p52-59 (hereinafter “Sherman”) in view of Hardy et al. US Patent 7,420,004 (hereinafter “Hardy”).
Regarding claim 1, Sherman teaches a method of sequestering carbon dioxide comprising:
a) forming a carbon containing reaction product (Na2CO3 sodium carbonate) by combining a capture solution (NaOH) with atmospheric carbon dioxide (air);
b) forming a carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3) by combining the carbon containing reaction product (Na2CO3 sodium carbonate) with a sequestration feedstock (Ca(OH)2 calcium hydroxide);
c) providing thermal energy from a nuclear reactor to break down the carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3 calcium carbonate), where the carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3 calcium carbonate) is broken down into a non-carbon residual product (CaO) and at least one of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide (pages 55-57).
Thus, Sherman teaches:
a) (air) CO-2 + NaOH → Na2CO3
b) Na2CO3 + Ca(OH)2 → CaCO3 + regenerated NaOH
c) CaCO3 + nuclear heat → CaO + CO2
Sherman does not explicitly teach d) a step of synthesizing a sequestered carbon product using additional thermal energy from the nuclear reactor to heat a product feedstock and at least one of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide.
However, Hardy teaches as process of producing synthetic hydrocarbons (abstract, column 3 lines 1-6) from carbon dioxide and hydrogen produced from nuclear reactor electricity (column 3 lines 37-38).
Thus, Hardy teaches:
d) CO2 + nuclear supplied H2 → liquid fuel
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to take the CO-2 produced from Sherman for the hydrocarbon synthesis process in Hardy to provide a sustainable route for carbon capture and liquid fuels. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to take the carbon dioxide from Sherman’s process as the source of the carbon dioxide and react it with the nuclear supplied hydrogen of Hardy to produce liquid fuels.
Reaction scheme of Sherman Figure 3. It is the Examiner’s position that it would be obvious to take the CO-2 from the lime kiln as the CO2 source in Hardy to produce liquid fuels.
Regarding claim 2, Sherman teaches reforming the sequestration feedstock (Ca(OH)2) from the non-carbon residual product (CaO) in the lime hydrator above (Sherman Figure 3 above). CaO + H2O → Ca(OH)2
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 8, Hardy uses a thermocatalyst for the reaction step (d) of a product feedstock (H2) and CO2. The catalyst comprises a combination of metals including Cu/CuO or Cu/ZnO (column 4 lines 62-63).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11 and 12, Hardy teaches a substrate (catalyst support) including iron, cobalt, and nickel including combinations (column 5 lines 5-11). This implies that at least two substrates may be used in combination.
Regarding claim 13, Hardy teaches a water gas shift step of converting CO2 and hydrogen into CO and H2O (column 4 line 33). Thus, Hardy teaches destabilizing the chemical bonds of CO2 by reacting CO2 with hydrogen in a reverse water gas shift reaction to form CO and water.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the capture solution is sodium hydroxide (NaOH) and is selected to react with CO2 (in the air contactor step of Sherman’s Figure 3) to produce Na2CO3, a capture reaction product that takes C from the carbon dioxide. CO-2 + NaOH → Na2CO3
Regarding claim 16, the sequestration feedstock comprises Ca(OH)2. CaO + H2O → Ca(OH)2
Claims 3, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman and Hardy and in further view of Mallow et al. WO 8403691.
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 5, for breaking down calcium carbonate (reaction c) Sherman does not explicitly teach:
(claim 3) using a first thermocatalyst with the sequestration reaction product.
(claim 4) wherein the first thermocatalyst comprises at least one of: a metal, a multi-metal catalyst complex, a metal oxide, an aluminosilicate, and a liquid metal.
(claim 5) wherein the first thermocatalyst comprises one or more of: platinum, copper, rubidium, gold, titanium and ruthenium.
However, Mallow teaches a method for accelerated decarboxylation of calcium carbonate in the presence of a catalyst comprising an alkali metal halide comprising rubidium (page 4 line 24). The catalysts have been found to reduce kiln temperatures and efficiently produce CaO and carbon dioxide from CaCO3. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sherman’s CaCO-3 decarboxylation step and use the thermocatalyst in Mallow because the combination would reduce the temperature for the reaction and provide an efficient route to CaO and carbon dioxide.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman and Hardy and in view of Tsai US Publication 2011/0250117.
Regarding claim 17, Sherman does not explicitly teach d2) a step of synthesizing a sequestered carbon product using additional thermal energy from the nuclear reactor to heat a product feedstock comprising silicon dioxide and at least one of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide.
d2) SiO2+ CO2 → SiC + oxygen.
Tsai teaches this reaction of taking recycle carbon dioxide and producing silicon carbide ([0005], [0014]), providing a method for producing silicon carbide that is cost effective, energy efficient, and environmentally friendly. Since Tsai uses recycle carbon dioxide for this process, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use additional captured carbon from Sherman to provide a profitable material (SiC) while providing a use for the excess carbon. One having ordinary skill in the art to use captured carbon as a source for the reactions in Hardy and/or Tsai to provide profitable materials while reducing carbon dioxide in the atmosphere.
Claim 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman in view of Tsai US Publication 2011/0250117.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Sherman teaches a method of sequestering carbon dioxide comprising:
a) forming a carbon containing reaction product (Na2CO3 sodium carbonate) by combining a capture solution (NaOH) with atmospheric carbon dioxide (air);
b) forming a carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3) by combining the carbon containing reaction product (Na2CO3 sodium carbonate) with a sequestration feedstock (Ca(OH)2 calcium hydroxide);
c) providing thermal energy from a nuclear reactor to break down the carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3 calcium carbonate), where the carbon containing sequestration reaction product (CaCO3 calcium carbonate) is broken down into a non-carbon residual product (CaO) and at least one of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide (pages 55-57).
Thus, Sherman teaches:
a) (air) CO-2 + NaOH → Na2CO3
b) Na2CO3 + Ca(OH)2 → CaCO3 + regenerated NaOH
c) CaCO3 + nuclear heat → CaO + CO2
Sherman does not explicitly teach d) a step of synthesizing a sequestered carbon product using additional thermal energy from the nuclear reactor to heat a product feedstock and at least one of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide. And with regards to claim 17, wherein the product comprises silicon dioxide.
d) SiO2+ CO2 → SiC + oxygen.
Tsai teaches this reaction of taking recycle carbon dioxide and producing silicon carbide ([0005], [0014]), providing a method for producing silicon carbide that is cost effective, energy efficient, and environmentally friendly. Since Tsai uses recycle carbon dioxide for this process, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the captured carbon from Sherman to provide a profitable material (SiC) while providing a use for the excess carbon.
Conclusion
/SHARON PREGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772