DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/27/2036 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Dougall does not teach the content encoded in the bitstream is produced on a physical reference display device.
In response, using broadest reasonable interpretation, when a reference display device displayed the content encoded in the bit stream, such displaying action can also be referred as the reference display device produced the content encoded in the bit stream on the display’s display screen. This is how the examiner originally interprets the claimed limitation “the content encoded in the bitstream is produced on a reference display device”. Applicant is now arguing that newly amended claimed limitation “produced on a physical reference display device” should be interpreted as the contend was first created by the physical reference display. A new reference Iizuka is used for the newly amended claimed limitation and its interpretation from the point of applicant. Please see detailed explanation below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dougall et al. (2012/0054664; IDS) in view of Ikizyan (2010/0073362; IDS) and further in view of Myers (2010/0073390; IDS) and Iizuku et al US 2013/0163994.]
Regarding claim 2, Dougall teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage media, wherein the storage media (e.g., it will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the block diagrams presented herein represent conceptual views of illustrative systemcomponents and/or circuitry embodying the principles of the invention. Similarly, it will be appreciated that any flow charts, flow diagrams, state transition diagrams, pseudocode, and the like represent various processes which can be substantially represented in computer readable media and so executed by a computer or processor, whether or not such computer or processor is explicitly shown. Dougall: [0026] L.1-10) comprises computer instructions which, when executed by a processor (e.g., The functions of the various elements shown in the figures can be provided through the use of dedicated hardware as well as hardware capable of executing software in association with appropriate software. When provided by a processor, the functions can be provided by a single dedicated processor, by a single shared processor, or by a plurality of individual processors, some of which can be shared. Dougall: [0025] L.4-11), allow the processor to:
receive video data as a bitstream (e.g., With reference now to FIG. 2 with continuing reference to FIG. 1, a content delivery system 200 in accordance with another exemplary embodiment of the present invention is illustrated. As in system 100, the receiver 204 can transmit the same device parameter indications along channel 110, as discussed above, and, optionally, as mentioned above, can transmit a request for certain video content along channel 108 to the remote sever 201 over network 126. As in system 100, the remote server 201 can include the ideal picture database 118 and the parameters database 120. However, as opposed to transmitting a tailored version of content, the server can transmit to the receiver 204 both the base content and a set of parameter settings along channel 212 in network 126. Dougall: [0032] L.1-13 and Fig. 2. Remote server 201 is the source. Fig. 2 illustrates delivering media content and a set of display device parameter setting that is optimized for a display device. Fig. 4 illustrates broadcasting media content and different sets of display device parameter settings that are optimized for different corresponding display devices; also see fig. 9, 908, broadcast the plurality of versions to a plurality of client receiver with indications of corresponding sets of display device parameters to permit receivers to select the appropriate version to display),
wherein content encoded in the bitstream, characteristics of the reference display device being identified in the bitstream by a set of one or more parameters (as mentioned above, such parameters can include video and sound decoding standard compatibility, color gamut, aspect ratio, screen size, processing power, video codec parameters, screen resolution, local storage capacity, two-dimensional vs. three-dimensional capabilities, etc. Dougall: [0029] L.14-19. In addition, the parameters database can cross-reference sets of such parameters to make and model numbers of various display devices or entertainment systems. Such cross-references can be employed to minimize the bandwidth resources used by the receiver to transmit the parameter indications. Dougall: [0029] L.19-24.. As in system 100, the remote server 201 can include the ideal picture database 118 and the parameters database 120. However, as opposed to transmitting a tailored version of content, the server can transmit to the receiver 204 both the base content and a set of parameter settings along channel 212 in network 126. For example, remote server 201 can include a settings generator 214 that employs the parameters stored in the ideal picture database 118 and the parameters stored in parameters database 120 to generate different sets of parameter settings. Dougall: [0032] L.4-20. For example, the sets of parameter settings can be stored in a settings storage device 216 with reference to a make and model number of corresponding display devices. Dougall: [0033] L.5-7. In accordance with exemplary aspects of the present invention, the original video content can be received in a DCI format, as with this format, a full color spectrum locus could be represented. Other considerations include the head-end or the remote server. Prior to delivering the video content to the network, the DCI content can be color processed to match a delivery format, such as Rec 709 and 4:2:2. Dougall: [0048] L.4-11; ),
and the video data is associated with corresponding video metadata (e.g., the server can transmit to the receiver 204 both the base content and a set of parameter settings along channel 212 in network 126. Dougall: [0032] L.11-13 and Fig. 2. “”in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106. For example, as discussed further below, such adaptation can include performing color transformations to tailor the content to the display device capabilities.” Dougall: [0032] L.33-37. The media content include a video signal. “each set of parameter settings can include metadata indicating how the parameter controller 226, discussed further below, in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106.” Dougall: [0032] L.31-35. “the remote server can transmit to the receiver video content that is encoded with the particular coding standards that is supported by the display device.” Dougall: [0042] L.18-20. “the content can be converted to the appropriate coding standard at the receiver using, for example, the set of parameters settings transmitted by the server, although this option can be less efficient with additional costs.” Dougall: [0042] L.21-24. It can be seen from Fig. 4 that content 412, sets of parameter settings 430-1 … 430-n and reference table 413 are sent from the server to the receiver illustrating that the image (video) content is transmitted with the sets of parameter settings that include metadata, also see fig. 9, 908, broadcast the plurality of versions to a plurality of client receiver with indications of corresponding sets of display device parameters);
decode the bitstream (e.g., “the set of parameters can include a description of video and audio decoding standards supported by the display device or the home network. Such decoding standards can include WMV (windows media video), VC1 (Video Coding 1), MPEG (moving pictures experts group), MPEG2, H.264/MPEG-4 AVC (advanced video coding), SVC (scalable video coding), MVC (Multi View Coding), AAC (advanced audio coding), AC3 (Dolby Digital, Audio Codec 3), MP3 (MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3), etc.” Dougall: [0042] L.9-18. It should also be noted that display device or home system parameters can include the container format that is supported, such as, for example, MPEG-2 TS (transport stream), MPEG4 file format, Matroska, Flash, QuickTime, IP encapsulation, etc. Dougall: [0042] L.24-28. The functionality to decode to perform the decoding is the decoder);
determine if the video metadata includes a first set of metadata associated with the video data (e.g., In response to receiving the parameter settings, the receiver can employ a parameter controller 226 to set the display device in accordance with the set of parameter settings received from server 201. Dougall: [0034] L.1-4. Further, each set of parameter settings can include metadata indicating how the parameter controller 226, discussed further below, in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106. Dougall: [0032] L.31-35. See 2_1 below also see fig. 9, 908, broadcast the plurality of versions to a plurality of client receiver with indications of corresponding sets of display device parameters to permit receivers to select the appropriate version to display, Examiner note, in order to do so the system of Dougall must need to determine what is the metadata (corresponding sets of display device parameters) that is associate with the video data (version)) from the bit stream received) wherein the first set of metadata includes a representation of the parameters of the reference display device (e.g., “as mentioned above, such parameters can include video and sound decoding standard compatibility, color gamut, aspect ratio, screen size, processing power, video codec parameters, screen resolution, local storage capacity, two-dimensional vs. three-dimensional capabilities, etc. In addition, the parameters database can cross-reference sets of such parameters to make and model numbers of various display devices or entertainment systems. Such cross-references can be employed to minimize the bandwidth resources used by the receiver to transmit the parameter indications.” Dougall: [0029] L.14-24; “Each version can be stored with a reference to a make and model number to facilitate retrieval.” Dougall: [0030] L.15-17; “the sets of parameter settings can be stored in a settings storage device 216 with reference to a make and model number of corresponding display devices.” Dougall: [0033] L.5-7) also see fig. 9, 908, broadcast the plurality of versions to a plurality of client receiver with indications of corresponding sets of display device parameters);
determine if the video metadata includes a second set of metadata associated with video content characteristics of the video data (e.g., n sets of parameters can be transmitted to receiver 404 along one or more of channels 412-1 to 412-n. In addition, the remote server 401 can transmit the multiple sets of parameters with indications of corresponding sets of video display device parameters. For example, the server 401 can transmit a reference table 413 mapping channel or packet identifiers for each set of parameters with a corresponding device make and model. Thus, receiver 404 can include a settings selector 426 that can receive and use the indications to match the corresponding display device 106 with the proper set of settings. For example, the selector 426 can use the reference table 413 to match the make and model of the display device 106 with the proper set of parameter settings. In response to selection of the proper set of parameter settings by the settings selector 428, the parameter controller 226 can modify the display device settings in accordance with the proper set of settings, as discussed above with respect to method 200. The receiver 304 can transmit the content to display device 106 for display in accordance with the optimized parameter settings. Dougall: [0040] L.17-36 and Fig. 4. It can be seen from Fig. 4 that n sets of parameter settings 430-1 to 430-n are transmitted in separate channels from controller 402 to receiver 404), wherein the second set metadata set includes at least a maximum luminance level of the video data (e.g., “the settings generator 214 can create each set of parameter settings in such a way that it fully exploits the different capabilities of the corresponding display devices when the content is displayed on the corresponding display device. For example, if the corresponding display device for a particular set of parameter settings displays the content in accordance with the set of settings, then the user can be provided with a display that matches the ideal picture parameters provided in database 118 as much as possible. For example, the set of parameters can specify include color settings, brightness, volume, and other similar parameters. Further, each set of parameter settings can include metadata indicating how the parameter controller 226, discussed further below, in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106.” Dougall: [0032] L.20-35. When the consumer connects a new display device 106 to receiver 204, implemented as a set top box, using an HDMI cable, for example, the display device brand and model can be acquired by the set top box using, for example, EDID protocol on the HDMI cable, or can be acquired manually. Dougall: [0050] L.6-11. See 2_2 below); and
determine if the video metadata includes a third set of metadata, wherein the third set of metadata is indicative of ambient light conditions (e.g., It should also be understood that optional variations of systems 100 and 200 can include an ambient environment sensor 130 that can be configured to measure ambient lighting conditions around the display device 106. For example, the ambient environment sensor 130 can measure the color and/or intensity of light surrounding the display device and transmit the color/intensity information with the device parameter indications along channel 108. Thus, in this scenario, the server 101 in system 100 can generate a version on-the-fly with consideration of the ambient light conditions so that the displayed content can match the ideal picture parameters in database 118 as much as possible. Dougall: [0036] L.1-12. The color/intensity information of light surrounding the display device is the ambient light parameter is transmitted over the optional channel 108 (see Figs. 1 and 2) and is different from set of parameter settings for display device),
wherein the first set of metadata includes:
a. a white point for the reference display, and
b. three primaries for the reference display (see 2_2 below), and
provide at least the first set of metadata including the representation of the one or more parameters of the reference display device for display of the video data (see fig. 9, 908, broadcast the plurality of versions to a plurality of client receiver with indications of corresponding sets of display device parameters to permit receivers to select the appropriate version to display),
wherein determining if the video metadata includes the second set of metadata is independent of determining if the video metadata includes the first set of metadata or the third set of metadata (e.g., the controller 402 can also retrieve and broadcast all of the sets of parameter settings, for example n sets of parameters, stored in settings storage device 216 to the plurality of receivers. For example, n sets of parameters can be transmitted to receiver 404 along one or more of channels 412-1 to 412-n. In addition, the remote server 401 can transmit the multiple sets of parameters with indications of corresponding sets of video display device parameters. For example, the server 401 can transmit a reference table 413 mapping channel or packet identifiers for each set of parameters with a corresponding device make and model. Thus, receiver 404 can include a settings selector 426 that can receive and use the indications to match the corresponding display device 106 with the proper set of settings. For example, the selector 426 can use the reference table 413 to match the make and model of the display device 106 with the proper set of parameter settings. In response to selection of the proper set of parameter settings by the settings selector 428, the parameter controller 226 can modify the display device settings in accordance with the proper set of settings, as discussed above with respect to method 200. The receiver 304 can transmit the content to display device 106 for display in accordance with the optimized parameter settings. Dougall: [0040] L.14-36).
While Dougall does not explicitly teach, Ikizyan teaches:
(2_1). the first set of meta data associate with a portion of the video (e.g., In some instances, the source content and/or scene type may be determined based on coded and/or textual information that may be embedded in the static or moving image. In various embodiments of the invention, configuration parameters may be adapted for processing at least a portion of the static or moving image. The configuration parameters may be adapted based on one or more of the three dimensional color components statistics. Ikizyan: [0014] L.14-21. In various embodiments of the invention, configuration parameters, for example, 121a, 121b, 129, 131, 133 and/or 135 may be adapted for processing of at least a portion of the static or moving image. The configuration parameters may be adapted based on one or more of the three dimensional color components statistics. Furthermore, the configuration parameters may be adapted based on knowledge of scene type and/or source content of the static or moving image. Hues and/or saturation levels may be adjusted based on one or more three dimensional color components statistics, for example 123a and/or 123b, scene type and/or source content. In this regard, one or more of the three dimensional color components may be dynamically adapted for at least a portion of the static or moving image, for example, by the 3-D color re-mapper 103. Ikizyan: [0051] L.16-30. The display and picture parameters of Dougall can be used to configure different portion of the video (moving image));
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of Ikizyan into the teaching of Dougall so that portions of video (moving image) can be conveniently adapted with configuration parameters based on the determined scene and provides amazing viewing experiences for users.
While the combined teaching of Dougall and Ikizyan does not explicitly teach, Myers teaches:
(2_2). the second set of metadata include maximum luminance level of video data and the first set of metadata includes: a. a white point for the reference display, b. three primaries for the reference display (e.g., When the consumer connects a new display device 106 to receiver 204, implemented as a set top box, using an HDMI cable, for example, the display device brand and model can be acquired by the set top box using, for example, EDID protocol on the HDMI cable, or can be acquired manually. Dougall: [0050] L.6-11. In some embodiments, the panel data 28 is stored in storage 30 in the form of the VESA standard EDID format (Enhanced Display Identification Data) as a manufacturer specific extension (identified by the tag FFh). Table I below provides an example of such panel data. The EDID data block in Table I is a 128 byte block, and the contents of at least some of the entries in the block are the results of method 100 shown in FIG. 2 and described below. Myers: [0013] L.7-14. It can be seen from Table 1 that Address 02h defines the white, red, green and blue panel data in xy space, Address 04h defines luminance at minimum input value; and Address 4Fh defines luminance/chromaticity values for step 15 (maximum input value). Address 09h defines luminance/chromaticity for step 1, 5 bytes as above. Address 0Eh defines luminance/chromaticity values for step 2, 5 bytes as above. The data block in Table I above comprises a single byte at offset 02h. This byte specifies the color coordinate system specified (CIE 1978 u'v' space or CIR 1931 xy space) as well as which color is being represented by the block and whether that color is for the main display or the backlight data. Myers: [0015]. Offset address 03h and 04h specifies backlight brightness and luminance at minimum input value, respectively. Offset address 06h specifies the chromaticity at the minimum input value. Luminance/chromaticity values are specified at offset address 09h through 4Fh. Myers: [0016]. It is obvious that the maximum luminance value, EDID panel data with offset 4Fh is included in the set of metadata for setting the referred display).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of Myers into the combined teaching of Dougall and Ikizyan to improve the so that the host computer can optimize multimedia content for display by retrieving and using the display panel data (from EDID) and monitor control settings (set of display parameters) to compute a monitor display profile.
Dougall as modified dtill does not teach wherein content encoded in the bitstream is produced on a physical reference display device.
Iizuka teaches display content is produced on a physical reference display
device and transmitted to a server for storing (terminal device comprise a display to function as a creator creating a content, a transmitter transmitting the content created by the creator to an external server, paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Dougall’s encoded content in a bit stream to include: wherein content encoded in the bitstream is produced on a physical reference display device.
The reason of doing so would have allowed the server of Dougall to free up time to process more important task, it can also reduced processing time for other task in the server to increase efficiency of the server.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Dougall, Ikizyan and Myers teaches the computer-readable storage media of claim 2, wherein the first set of metadata (e.g., Each set of parameter settings can include metadata indicating how the parameter controller 226, discussed further below, in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106. Dougall: [0032] L.31-35), the second set of metadata (e.g., the corresponding display device for a particular set of parameter settings displays the content in accordance with the set of settings, then the user can be provided with a display that matches the ideal picture parameters provided in database 118 as much as possible. For example, the set of parameters can specify include color settings, brightness, volume, and other similar parameters. Further, each set of parameter settings can include metadata indicating how the parameter controller 226, discussed further below, in receiver 204 should adapt the media content transmitted by the server to the display device 106. Dougall: [0032] L.24-35. “the controller 402 can also retrieve and broadcast all of the sets of parameter settings, for example n sets of parameters, stored in settings storage device 216 to the plurality of receivers. For example, n sets of parameters can be transmitted to receiver 404 along one or more of channels 412-1 to 412-n.” Dougall: [0040] L.14-19; “receiver 404 can include a settings selector 426 that can receive and use the indications to match the corresponding display device 106 with the proper set of settings. For example, the selector 426 can use the reference table 413 to match the make and model of the display device 106 with the proper set of parameter settings. In response to selection of the proper set of parameter settings by the settings selector 428, the parameter controller 226 can modify the display device settings in accordance with the proper set of settings,” Dougall: [0040] L.24-33. Each one of the n set of parameter settings transmitted with the image content to the receiver), and the third set of metadata (e.g., It should also be understood that optional variations of systems 100 and 200 can include an ambient environment sensor 130 that can be configured to measure ambient lighting conditions around the display device 106. For example, the ambient environment sensor 130 can measure the color and/or intensity of light surrounding the display device and transmit the color/intensity information with the device parameter indications along channel 108. Thus, in this scenario, the server 101 in system 100 can generate a version on-the-fly with consideration of the ambient light conditions so that the displayed content can match the ideal picture parameters in database 118 as much as possible. Dougall: [0036] L.1-12) are received in the bitstream (e.g., the sets of parameter settings can be stored in a settings storage device 216 with reference to a make and model number of corresponding display devices. The matched settings can be transmitted to the receiver 204 along channel 212 in network 126. Dougall: [0033] L.5-9 and Fig. 2. Examiner note: Therefore, the set of parameters including metadata generated by the remote server 201 are transmitted to the receiver 204 as a bit stream along channel 212).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617