CLAIMS 1-20 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements filed August 22, 2025 have been received and entered into the application. As reflected by the attached, completed copies of form PTO/SB/08, the cited references have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, (U.S. 2024/0474594, (effective 09/29/21 via Prov. Application 63/250,009), in view of Reynolds et al., "Investigation of the Effect of Tablet Surface AreaNolume on Drug Release from Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose Controlled-Release Matrix Tablets", Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, 28(4), 457-466 (2002), (hereinafter "Reynolds", cited by Applicant).
Sinha teaches a method of treating hair loss by promoting hair growth, comprising orally administering a dosage form to a human patient experiencing hair loss, wherein the dosage form comprises "about 5 mg to about 10 mg" of minoxidil (see at least the abstract, [0013], [0012], (claims 10 and 16), i.e., “about 4 mg”. The dosage form may provide delayed, sustained or enteric release, [0043], and contain one or more diluents, carriers, excipients, fillers, disintegrants, solubilizing agents, dispersing agents, lubricants, binders etc., [0046]-[0047]. Also, Sinha teaches that hair growth for oral minoxidil has been shown to occur within 6-12 months after beginning treatment, ([0023]).
The differences between the above and the claimed subject matter lie in that Sinha fails to teach (a) hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as being present in the oral dosage form; (b) a dosage frequency of once or twice daily, (c) the pharmacokinetic parameters of the present claims; (d) a 1-5 month time period within which hair growth is experienced by the patient, (present claims 16-20); and (e) the lack of cardiac effects as in present claims 6).
However, the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because (a) Sinha explicitly teaches; extended release dosage forms, [0043 ]; that among the auxiliary agents present, carriers/excipients may be used, (e.g., [0046]); that the compositions he teaches may be produced in accordance with general practice in the pharmaceutical industry, ([0045]); and that large macromolecules such as polysaccharides can be used as carrier compounds for the compositions, ([0049]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as an extended release carrier in the compositions of Sinha because Reynolds teaches that "hydrophilic polymers, such as
hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), are commonly used as rate-controlling polymers for controlled drug release from matrix-type dosage forms". The determination of the optimum active ingredient dosage frequency to employ would have been a matter well within the skill of the artisan and the scope of the invention described by Sinha; because the optimization of the dosing of active agents in the pharmaceutical/medical arts is a primary concern when considering an effective therapeutic regimen for a given patient or patient group.
Regarding differences (c) and (e), because the reference teaches the presently claimed dosage amounts, it must be true that the pharmacokinetic parameters and non-symptomology associated with such amounts after administration would be present in the prior art whether reported or not or else recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. Also, the appearance of hair growth in [0023] of from 6-12 months is the period of time seen in a few select studies reported in the literature. The advantage of a shorter time period or even a period of time longer than 12 months would have been well within the scope of the invention described by Sinah, especially given the expected variability of drug responses in human patients.
Finally, no where in Sinha is there a teaching of measuring or detecting cardiac events which may occur after minoxidil administration. Such effects are also not taught by Sinha and it would thus not have been unexpected to not see the occurrence of cardiac effects.
Accordingly, for the above reasons, the claims are deemed properly rejected.
Double Patenting
Provisional
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, (unless otherwise specified), of copending Application Nos. (reference applications): 19/094,716; 19/253,703; 19/253,708; 19/255,878; 19/215,242, (claims 1-21); 19/230,054, (claims 1-21); 19/230,047, (claims 1-21); 19/258,817; 19/260,035; 19/267,447; 19/308,124; 19/315,454, (claims 1-19); 19/328,077, (claims 1-19); or 19/329,494, (claims 1-19), in view of Sinha, (cited above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims in each application are directed to either treating hair loss in general or to specific types of hair loss as is presently claimed or else encompassed by present claim 1. Also, overlapping or the same percentages of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose appears in the either the independent or dependent copending claims. The presently claimed dosage amount of “about 8.5 mg” of minoxidil, dosage frequency, other non-active agents and non-symptomology resulting from the administration are either recited in or else encompassed by the copending claims as are the pharmacokinetic parameters required by the present claims.
Also, Sinha teaches that in certain published studies, hair has been seen regrow in a period of from 6 months to 12 months. The advantage of a shorter time period as in present claims 16-20 or even a period of time longer than 12 months would have been well within the scope of the invention described by Sinah, especially given the expected variability of drug responses in human patients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,688, (cited by Applicant) or (b) claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,491,184, (cited by the Examiner).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the minoxidil formulations of the patented or soon to be patented claims are species of the presently claimed dosage form which is orally administered. The blood concentration ranges and other pharmacokinetic parameters of the patented claims would also be within the scope of the presently claimed subject matter if they are already not expressly set forth in the present claims.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected and none are currently in condition for allowance.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
January 26, 2026