DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 1,10:
-Thermal Head is not labeled in the drawings
-Cylindrical Cavity is not labeled in the drawings
-The Conical Heat Exchanger is neither labeled nor shown in the figures. It should also be noted that the conical cap is specially recited as a different feature such as in Claim 10, and does not constitute the finned heat exchanger.
Claim 2:
-The gas seal and network of micro-grooves are neither shown nor labeled in the figures
Claim 5:
-The displacer is disclosed as being mechanically coupled to move in response to the reciprocation of the piston, such mechanical coupling is not shown nor labeled in the figures
Claim 10:
- cylindrical collar “shroud” is not labeled in the drawings
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “a portion of the plurality of fins comprises a regenerator” however it is unclear how this is the case as the Specification shows fins (201) and regenerator (114) as separate features separated by a wall (102), and goes into no detail regarding how this can be a combined feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-6,9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP60101254 to Tomatsu in view of US Patent 7168248 to Sakamoto.
As to claim 1, Tomatsu discloses a thermal engine comprising: an engine head defining an internal cylindrical cavity (1, alt 26) therein and further defining a thermal head (7, alt 1); a piston reciprocatable (10) within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle; and a conical heat exchanger (1a) thermally coupled to the thermal head, the conical heat exchanger configured to receive a flow of first working fluid originating externally to the thermal engine (via 29, Par 0001) and to transfer heat from the first working fluid flow to the thermal head and thereby to second working fluid within the internal cylindrical cavity (22), to thereby cause the piston to recirculate within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle (Abs).
Tomatsu does not expressly disclose the reciprocating biasing mechanism in region 21, specifically a spring connected to the piston, the spring storing and providing energy for continual reciprocation of the piston.
Sakamoto discloses a sterling device with displacer and piston equivalent to Tomatsu where the displacer uses a stopper plate (71) to restrict its motion and the piston uses a spring (31) connected to the piston, the spring storing and providing energy for continual reciprocation of the piston as well as power takeoff /production capable coils (21,24).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Tomatsu to have a spring connected to the piston, the spring storing and providing energy for continual reciprocation of the piston using the teachings of Sakamoto so as to allow the piston to oscillate in a known manner in sterling engines to keep the system in motion allowing internal air to circulate allowing the exchange of heat and production of power.
As to claim 4, Tomatsu discloses the internal cylindrical cavity terminates in the thermal head comprising a dome-shaped structured enclosing an end of the internal cylindrical cavity (Fig 1).
As to claim 5, Tomatsu discloses comprising a displacer disposed within the internal cylindrical cavity, the displacer being mechanically coupled to move in response to reciprocation of the piston (7).
As to claim 6, Tomatsu discloses including a linear generator element connected to the piston, the linear generator elements converting linear piston reciprocation to electrical current (Sakamoto: 21/24).
As to claim 9, Tomatsu discloses a displacer and the piston coaxially reciprocate (7/10).
As to claim 10, Tomatsu discloses A conical heat exchanger (1b) configured for coupling to a thermal head (1 alt 7), the conical heat exchanger configured to receive heated working fluid and to transfer heat from the heated working fluid to the thermal head (Fig 1), the conical heat exchanger comprising: a plurality of fins projecting concentrically from a cylindrical cavity defined therein (Fig 1,2), the plurality of fins comprising side peripheral edges and top peripheral edges (Fig 1,2), the cylindrical cavity being dimensioned and configured to surround the thermal head; a cylindrical collar shroud disposed around the side peripheral edges of the plurality of projecting fins (28), the cylindrical shroud defining at least one air opening therethrough (top and side openings); and a truncated conical cap (conical region between 26 and 25) flow-coupled to the top peripheral edges of the plurality of fins (flow coupled) to flow working fluid through interstices between the plurality of fins (Fig 1 flow lines), wherein in use the working fluid flows through the truncated conical cap, the interstices between the fins, and cylindrical collar shroud at least one air opening (Fig 1).
As to claim 11, Tomatsu discloses the thermal head comprises a cylindrical thermal head of a Stirling engine cylinder (Abs, Fig 1).
As to claim 12, Tomatsu discloses the plurality of fins comprise a plurality of stacked cylindrical fin layers (Fig 1,3).
As to claim 13, Tomatsu discloses the truncated conical cap defines a circular working flow opening at an apex end thereof (via pipe 29).
As to claim 14, Tomatsu discloses the cylindrical collar shroud surrounds the side peripheral edges of the plurality of fins and seals to the truncated conical cap (Fig 1; 26 and conical cap 26 to 25).
As to claim 15, Tomatsu discloses the plurality of fins comprise high-temperature resistant, heat-conductive plates (Fig 2,3; Par 0001).
As to claim 16, Tomatsu discloses a portion of the plurality of fins (Fig 3) comprises a regenerator (1b) (as best understood in light of 112 issues above and as best to represent the same information provided by applicant in the specification).
As to claim 17, Tomatsu discloses the cylindrical collar shroud defines a plurality of working fluid openings spaced apart about a circumference thereof (30).
As to claim 18, Tomatsu discloses the cylindrical collar shroud defines a single working fluid opening therethrough (opening at top via 29). Alternatively it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a single opening could be used and sized appropriately, since applicant has not disclosed that a single opening vs multiple openings solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with multiple openings or a single openings as is reflected in Claim 17.
Claims 1,3-6,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20090229268 to Jinno in view of JP60101254 to Tomatsu.
As to claim 1, Jinno discloses A thermal engine comprising: an engine head (94a,b alt 26) defining an internal cylindrical cavity therein (space within 94 alt 104) and further defining a thermal head (78, alt 94a,b); a piston (80) reciprocatable within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle (Abs), a spring connected to the piston (84,92), the spring storing and providing energy for continual reciprocation of the piston (Par 0046).
Jinno does not expressly and a conical heat exchanger thermally coupled to the thermal head, the conical heat exchanger configured to receive a flow of first working fluid originating externally to the thermal engine and to transfer heat from the first working fluid flow to the thermal head and thereby to second working fluid within the internal cylindrical cavity, to thereby cause the piston to recirculate within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle.
Tomatsu discloses a conical heat exchanger (1a) thermally coupled to the thermal head (Fig 1), the conical heat exchanger configured to receive a flow of first working fluid originating externally (via 29) to the thermal engine and to transfer heat from the first working fluid flow to the thermal head and thereby to second working fluid within the internal cylindrical cavity, to thereby cause the piston to recirculate within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle (Par 0001).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jinno to include a conical heat exchanger thermally coupled to the thermal head, the conical heat exchanger configured to receive a flow of first working fluid originating externally to the thermal engine and to transfer heat from the first working fluid flow to the thermal head and thereby to second working fluid within the internal cylindrical cavity, to thereby cause the piston to recirculate within the internal cylindrical cavity according to the Stirling principle using the teachings of Tomatsu so as to more effectively transfer heat to the internal fluid space of 94 without heat loss while also avoiding thermal strain due to uneven heat transfer across 94 (Tomatsu: Par 0001), increasing overall thermal efficiency and heat transfer from combustion heat external (24).
As to claim 3, Jinno discloses comprising a regenerator surrounding a portion of the internal cylindrical cavity (74).
As to claim 4, Jinno discloses the internal cylindrical cavity terminates in the thermal head comprising a dome-shaped structured enclosing an end of the internal cylindrical cavity (Fig 1).
As to claim 5, Jinno discloses comprising a displacer disposed within the internal cylindrical cavity, the displacer being mechanically coupled to move in response to reciprocation of the piston (78).
As to claim 6, Jinno discloses including a linear generator element connected to the piston, the linear generator elements converting linear piston reciprocation to electrical current (86/88).
As to claim 9, Jinno discloses a displacer and the piston coaxially reciprocate (78/80).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,7,8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming any 112 issues and drawing objections.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746