DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junus et al. (US 20220011868 A1, hereafter Junus).
Regarding claim 1, Junus teaches a user interface module, comprising:
a stack of layers (170/174) (Figs. 1 and 22, [0057], [0061]-[0062], where there is a stack of touch-sensitive layers including cover layer 170, force-sensitive layer 174, and the top layers of the substrate having drive/sense electrode pairs);
a baseplate (166) connected to an undersurface of the stack of layer, where the baseplate extends about a periphery of the stack of layers (Figs. 2, 3, and 22, [0110], where there is a baseplate 166 that overlaps with the touch surface 172 in a plan view);
the baseplate defining an inner edge of an aperture (Figs. 20 and 22, [0116], [0120]), where there is an aperture below the multi-layer inductor, the aperture defined within the chassis interface 166);
an inductor (109) incorporated into the undersurface is surrounded by the inner edge of the aperture (Fig. 22, [0161]-[0162], where there is a set of inductor layers formed into the undersurface of the substrate 102, where the aperture in the baseplate 166 surrounds the inductor layers in a plan view);
a magnet assembly (181) is attached to the undersurface and overlaps with the inductor (Fig. 22, [0088], where there is a magnetic element 181 attached to the undersurface via the baseplate and overlapping with the inductor).
Regarding claim 2, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 1, further comprising: a force sensor incorporated into the stack of layers ([0032], where force applied to the touch sensor surface is sensed).
Regarding claim 3, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 2, wherein the force sensor is incorporated into the baseplate (Fig. 22, [0110], where the chassis interface 166 forms a part of the force sensor).
Regarding claim 4, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 2, wherein the force sensor is incorporated into a touch sensor that is incorporated into the stack of layers ([0032], [0036], where force applied to the touch sensor surface adjacent to the cover layer 170 and force-sensitive layer 174 is sensed; [0110]-[0112], where the force sensing elements of the baseplate contribute to the sensing of force occurring in the stack of layers 170/174).
Regarding claim 5, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 1, wherein the magnet assembly includes a tray that is connected to the undersurface, and a magnetic field source is disposed between the tray and the inductor (Fig. 20, [0116]-[0117], [0119]-[0120], where the magnetic yoke 184 is a tray connected to the undersurface of substrate 102 by way of spring elements 162).
Regarding claim 6, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 5, wherein magnetic field source is a magnet that is bonded to the tray (Fig. 20, [0037], [0119]-[0120], where the magnetic element 181 is connected to yoke 184 in receptacle 194).
Regarding claim 7, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 5, wherein the tray of the magnet assembly is surrounded by the inner edge of the aperture defined with the baseplate (Fig. 20, [0119]-[0120], where the yoke 184 is surrounded by the chassis 166).
Regarding claim 8, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 5, the magnet tray locates the magnetic field source at a target offset distance from the inductor ([0116]-[0117], where the magnetic elements are at a set distance from the inductor 150).
Regarding claim 9, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 5, wherein the magnet assembly includes a set of spacer elements between the magnet and the underside surface (Figs 20 and 21, [0119], where there is a plurality of spacers 160 supporting the substrate on the chassis).
Regarding claim 10, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 9, wherein a gap is maintained between the magnet and the underside surface ([0116]-[0117], where the magnetic elements are at a set distance from the inductor 150 and substrate 102).
Regarding claim 11, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 9, wherein the spacer elements suspend the tray from the undersurface (Figs. 20 and 21, [0119]-[0120], where the spacers 160 suspend the yoke beneath the undersurface of the substrate).
Regarding claim 12, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 9, wherein the spacer elements include a foam material ([0103]-[0105], where the deflection spacers are formed of an elastic material that deflects laterally).
Regarding claim 13, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller (190) in communication with the inductor (Fig. 1, [0031], where the controller 190 is in communication with multi-layer inductor 150);
wherein the controller includes memory and programmed instructions ([0200], where the system and method uses various media to carry out instructions);
the programmed instructions, when executed, cause the controller to: excite the inductor in response to a user input detected with the user input module such that the excitation of the coil in the presence of a magnetic field from the magnet assembly causes the user input module to oscillate ([0031], where the controller is configured to oscillate the substrate in response to a first input).
Regarding claim 14, Junus teaches a user interface module, comprising:
a stack of layers (170/174) (Figs. 1 and 22, [0057], [0061]-[0062], where there is a stack of touch-sensitive layers including cover layer 170, force-sensitive layer 174, and the top layers of the substrate having drive/sense electrode pairs);
a touch sensor (174) incorporated into a first layer of the stack of layers ([0036], where there is a force-sensitive layer 174);
a baseplate (166) connected to an undersurface of the stack of layers, where the baseplate extends about a periphery of the stack of layers (Figs. 2, 3, and 22, [0110], where there is a baseplate 166 that overlaps with the touch surface 172 in a plan view);
the baseplate defining an inner edge of an aperture (Figs. 20 and 22, [0116], [0120]), where there is an aperture below the multi-layer inductor, the aperture defined within the chassis interface 166);
an inductor (109) incorporated into the undersurface of the stack of layers is surrounded by the inner edge of the aperture (Fig. 22, [0161]-[0162], where there is a set of inductor layers formed into the undersurface of the substrate 102, where the aperture in the baseplate 166 surrounds the inductor layers in a plan view);
a magnet assembly (181) entirely separated from the baseplate and directly coupled to the undersurface of the stack of layers to locate a set of magnetic elements over the inductor (Fig. 20, [0116]-[0117], [0119]-[0120], where the first magnetic element 181 is separate from the chassis 166 by yoke 184 and is directly coupled to the substrate 102 by way of spacer elements 162).
Regarding claim 15, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 14, wherein the magnetic elements are bonded to a tray (Fig. 20, [0037], [0119]-[0120], where the magnetic element 181 is connected to yoke 184 in receptacle 194).
Regarding claim 16, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 14, wherein the tray of the magnet assembly is surrounded by the inner edge of the aperture defined with the baseplate (Fig. 20, [0119]-[0120], where the yoke 184 is surrounded by the chassis 166).
Regarding claim 17, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 14, wherein the magnet assembly includes a set of spacer elements between the magnet and the underside surface (Figs 20 and 21, [0119], where there is a plurality of spacers 160 supporting the substrate on the chassis).
Regarding claim 18, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 14, wherein the spacer elements suspend a tray from the undersurface (Figs. 20 and 21, [0119]-[0120], where the spacers 160 suspend the yoke beneath the undersurface of the substrate).
Regarding claim 19, Junus teaches a user interface module comprising:
a substrate (102) (Fig. 1, [0031], where there is a substrate 102);
a touch sensor surface (172) arranged over a substrate (Fig. 1, [0031]);
a baseplate attached to an underside of the substrate and aligned with the substrate (Figs. 2, 3, and 22, [0110], where there is a baseplate 166 that overlaps with the touch surface 172 in a plan view);
an inductor disposed on the underside of the substrate (Fig. 22, [0161]-[0162], where there is a set of inductor layers formed into the undersurface of the substrate 102),
the base plate extending to a periphery of the substrate and defining an aperture, where the aperture encircles the inductor (Figs. 20 and 22, [0116], [0119]-[0120]), where there is an aperture in chassis 166, the aperture encircling inductor 150 in a plan view);
a magnet assembly (181) attached to the undersurface where the magnetic assembly includes:
a set of magnetic elements arranged within the aperture of the baseplate and facing the inductor (Fig. 20, [0116]-[0117], [0119]-[0120], where the first magnetic element 181 is separate from the chassis 166 by yoke 184 and is directly coupled to the substrate 102 by way of spacer elements 162);
a set of spacer elements (160) interposed between the set of magnetic elements and the underside (Figs 20 and 21, [0119], where there is a plurality of spacers 160 supporting the substrate on the chassis); and
a magnet tray (184) arranged opposite the set of spacer elements where the magnet tray is aligned with the underside (Fig. 20, [0116]-[0117], [0119]-[0120], where the magnetic yoke 184 is a tray connected to the undersurface of substrate 102 by way of spring elements 162).
Regarding claim 20, Junus teaches the user interface module of claim 19, further comprising a controller (190) (Fig. 1, [0031], where the controller 190 is in communication with multi-layer inductor 150) configured to:
detect an input on the touch sensor surface ([0031], where a touch input is detected); and
in response to detecting the input, drive an oscillating voltage across the multi-layer inductor to induce alternating magnetic coupling between the multi-layer inductor and the set of magnetic elements to deflect the set of spacer elements between the substrate and the magnet tray and to oscillate the substrate and the touch sensor surface ([0031], where the controller is configured to oscillate the substrate in response to a first input).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 of Applicant’s arguments/remarks that the Junus reference does not teach that the recited magnet assembly is “attached to the undersurface” and instead “Junus repeatedly describes the magnetic elements as being mounted to the chassis or chassis receptacle, rather than being attached to the underside of the substrate.” However, the claim does not require direct attachment. Fig. 22 of Junus shows the magnet 181 attached to the underside of the stack of layers via the spring elements 162 and other intervening elements.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621