Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10-12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrade et al (US 20220040510 published date Feb. 10, 2022).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Andrade discloses a web harness system (700) comprising: an upper webbing portion (uw, see markup above); a lower webbing portion (710, 711) coupled to the upper webbing portion (uw, see markup above); a sub-pelvic support portion (730) coupled to the lower webbing portion (710, 711); the sub- pelvic support portion (730) is configured as a strap for placement under a user buttocks (figure 9A); and a leg harness portion (740, 745, 722, 723) coupled to the sub-pelvic support portion (730), the leg harness portion comprising: a first leg extension (L1, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) coupled to a first portion (720, one end of the sub-pelvic support portion) of the sub-pelvic support portion (730); and disposed at a position that aligns with a first side of a user hip; a second leg extension (L2) coupled to a second portion (721, second end of the sub-pelvic support portion) of the sub-pelvic support portion (730); and disposed at a position that aligns with a second side of a user hip; a right leg adjustment belt (722) coupled to the first leg extension (L1); and a left leg adjustment belt (723) coupled to the second leg extension (L2).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Andrade discloses the web harness system of claim 1, wherein the first left leg extension (L1) and the second left leg extension (L2) are each fixed to different portions (720 and 721) of the sub-pelvic support portion (730).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Andrade discloses the web harness system of claim 2, wherein the first leg extension (L1) and the second leg extension (L2) are spaced apart from one another.
With respect to claim 7, Andrade discloses the web harness system of claim 1, further comprising a rear support strap (RS, see markup above) coupled to a first portion (p1) and a second portion (p2) of the upper webbing portion.
Regarding claim 8, Andrade discloses the web harness belt of claim 1, further comprising a first ring connector (c1, see markup above) coupled to a left side portion (711) of the lower webbing, and a second ring connector (c2, see markup above) coupled to a right side portion (710) of the lower webbing.
Andrade discloses the web harness system of claim 17 which is a combination of claims 1 through 3 discussed above wherein an upper webbing portion (uw) forming a shoulder harness (figure 7A).
With respect to claim 19, Andrade discloses the web harness system of claim 17, further comprising a rear support strap (RS, see markup above) coupled to a first portion (p1) and a second portion (p2) of the upper webbing portion; a first ring connector (c1, see markup above) coupled to a left side portion (711) of the lower webbing, and a second ring connector (c2, see markup above) coupled to a right side portion (710) of the lower webbing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrade et al (US 20220040510 published date Feb. 10, 2022) in view of Dzugan (US no. 2020/0206551). Andrade disclosed the web harness system of claims 1 and 8 as discussed above except for further comprising a rear support strap coupled to a first portion and a second portion of the upper webbing. Dzugan (US no. 2020/0206551) shows a web harness system comprising a rear support strap (3) (“for improved stabilisation, the back portions 2c are connected via a transverse portion 3”, SEE PARAGRAPH [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the web harness of Andrade by providing a rear support strap for improved stabilization as taught to be desirable by Dzugan.
Claims 4-6, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrade et al (US 20220040510 published date Feb. 10, 2022) in view of Blondeau et al (US no. 20180369621).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Andrade discloses the claimed web harness system of applicant’s device except wherein the sub-pelvic support portion is adjustable via first and second adjustment buckles.
Blondeau discloses a web harness system (1) comprising: a sub-pelvic support portion (2, figure 2); and a leg harness portion (3) coupled to the sub-pelvic support portion (2), the leg harness portion comprising: a first leg extension (A, see markup above) coupled to a first portion (p1) of the sub-pelvic support portion (2); a second leg extension (B, see markup above) coupled to a second portion (p2) of the sub-pelvic support portion; a right leg adjustment belt (C, see markup above) coupled to the first leg extension (A); and a left leg adjustment belt (D, see markup above) coupled to the second leg extension (B); wherein the sub-pelvic support portion (2) is adjustable via first adjustment buckle (5A, figure 2) and second adjustment buckle (5B, figure 2) “which is configured to adjust the circumference of belt 2 to the size of the user's pelvis” (column 3, lines 38-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the sub-pelvic support portion of Andrade such that it is adjustable via first and second adjustment buckles for adjusting the circumference of the belt to the size of the user’s pelvis as taught to be desirable by Blondeau.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Andrade discloses the claimed web harness system of applicant’s device except wherein the right leg adjustment belt comprises a first padding assembly, and the left leg adjustment belt comprises a second padding assembly. Blondeau et al discloses a web harness system comprising a right leg adjustment belt (C, see markup above) with a first padding assembly (3, figure 2) and a left leg adjustment belt (D, see markup above) with a second padding assembly (3, figure 2) “in order to form comfort areas” (see paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the harness system of Andrade such that the right leg adjustment belt comprises a first padding assembly, and the left leg adjustment belt comprises a second padding assembly in order to form comfort areas as taught to be desirable by Blondeau.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Andrade and Blondeau combined discloses the claimed web harness system of applicant’s device as discussed above. Additionally, Blondeau teaches wherein the first padding assembly (3) includes a first storage portion (S1 pocket/sleeve receiving the belt C, see Blondeau markup above similar to figure 6 markup below), and the second padding assembly (3) includes a second storage portion (S2 pocket/sleeve receiving belt D).
With respect to claim 18, Andrade discloses the web harness system according to claim 17 above. Additionally, Andrade and Blondeau combined discloses the web harness system of according to claim 18 which is combination of claims 4, 5, and 6 as advanced above.
Claims 9, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrade et al (US 20220040510 published date Feb. 10, 2022) in view of Truesdell (US no. 20200360739). Andrade discloses the claimed web harness belt of applicant’s device except for further comprising a first suspension trauma relief component coupled to the right leg adjustment belt, and a second suspension trauma relief component coupled to the left leg adjustment belt; wherein the first suspension trauma relief component includes a first adjustable length step-in loop portion, and the second suspension trauma relief component includes a second adjustable length step-in loop portion.
Truesdell teaches in a web harness belt (10) comprising a first suspension trauma relief component (right strap 14, figure 9) coupled to the right leg adjustment belt, and a second suspension trauma relief component (left strap 14, figure 9) coupled to the left leg adjustment belt for the well-known purposes “to alleviate the effects of orthostatic intolerance” during a suspension of a climber that has fallen (see paragraph [0003]) wherein the first suspension trauma relief component includes a first adjustable length step-in loop portion (loop 14, of first pouch 12 of suspension trauma relief system, figure 1A), and the second suspension trauma relief component includes a second adjustable length step-in loop portion (loop 14 of second pouch 12 of suspension trauma relief system, figure 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the web harness of Andrade such that there’s provided a first suspension trauma relief component coupled to the right leg adjustment belt, and a second suspension trauma relief component coupled to the left leg adjustment belt; wherein the first suspension trauma relief component includes a first adjustable length step-in loop portion, and the second suspension trauma relief component includes a second adjustable length step-in loop portion for the well-known purpose of alleviating the effects of orthostatic intolerance during a suspension of a climber that has fallen as taught to be desirable by Truesdell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate a harness system comprising an adjustment belts.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc