DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the element “the finger force feedback component” in ll. 2. However, the parent claim 1 clearly indicates the force feedback system comprises more than one finger force feedback component (note “a plurality of finger force feedback components” recited in claim 1). Therefore, the element “the finger force feedback component” is lack of an antecedent basis. As best understood by Examiner, Applicant attempts to mean “each finger force feedback component”. However, the limitation “the force feedback system further includes a fingertip sleeve” is recited in ll. 4. It is obvious that a single fingertip sleeve can correspond to only one finger force feedback component, instead of each finger force feedback component. Clarification in claim language is necessary.
Claims 3-12 are rejected because they depend on claim 1 and further recites “the finger force feedback component (if applicable)”.
Claim 4 is further rejected because it recites “the transmission member” and “the stopping member” while the parent claim 1 indicates there are more than one “transmission member” and more than one “stopping member” (note each of the plurality of finger force feedback components comprise a respective transmission member and a respective stopping member). Therefore, the elements “the transmission member” and “the stopping member” are lack of antecedent bases. Claims 4-11 are further rejected because it depends on claim 4.
Claim 13 recites the element “the finger force feedback component” in ll. 2. However, the parent claim 1 clearly indicates the force feedback system comprises more than one finger force feedback component (note “a plurality of finger force feedback components” recited in claim 1). Therefore, the element “the finger force feedback component” is lack of an antecedent basis.
Claims 14-17 are rejected because they depend on claim 13.
Claim 18 recites the element “the finger force feedback component” in ll. 2. However, the parent claim 1 clearly indicates the force feedback system comprises more than one finger force feedback component (note “a plurality of finger force feedback components” recited in claim 1). Therefore, the element “the finger force feedback component” is lack of an antecedent basis.
Claim 19 is further rejected because it recites “the transmission member” while the parent claim 1 indicates there are more than one “transmission member” note each of the plurality of finger force feedback components comprise a respective transmission member). Therefore, the elements “the transmission member” is lack of an antecedent basis. Claim 20 is further rejected because it depends on claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walters (US 2017/0165567).
Regarding claim 1, Walters teaches a force feedback system (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B: haptic glove/glove mechanism on a glove; [0009]: “a haptic mechanism is provided that is integrated with a standard wearable glove and arm band to form a haptic glove”; [0022]: “a glove mechanism is provided comprising at least one actuator, a braking retraction mechanism, and a tensioning cable coupled to the at least one actuator, braking retraction mechanism and a finger element of the glove”), comprising:
a glove body (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B: body of wearable haptic glove 201);
a microprocessor (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B: controller 216;[0024]: “the glove mechanism includes a controller that receives and transmits signals to a computer system”) coupled to the glove body, the microprocessor being communicatively coupled to an external computing device (Fig. 5: compute system 510; [0014]: “The haptic glove may include an on-board microcomputer or microcontroller that communicates with a host computer or mobile device via USB, BLUETOOTH, or other form of standardized wired or wireless communication”; [0024]: “the glove mechanism includes a controller that receives and transmits signals to a computer system”; Examiner’s Note: a host computer or mobile device, a computer system external to the glove mechanism reads on an external computing device; [0062]: “the controller 116 may be communicatively coupled to a computer system generating a virtual world by a USB connection and/or a BLUETOOTH connection”; [0066]: “the controller 116 may be communicatively coupled to a computer system by a wired connection (e.g., by a USB connection) and receive power from the computer system over the wired connection”); and
a plurality of finger force feedback components (Fig. 2B: a glove mechanism includes five finger force feedback components, each corresponds to a finger and comprises a retraction mechanism 207 and finger cap 202), each of the plurality of finger force feedback components being mechanically coupled to the glove body (Figs. 2B, 3A-3B) and communicatively coupled to the microprocessor (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B), and being configured to provide, based on instructions from the microprocessor (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B and 4A-4B; [0070]: “the channel brake 208 may be operated by the actuator 210 based on signals received from the controller 216 via the conductive elements 214”), force feedback to a finger corresponding to the finger force feedback component (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B and 4A-4B; [0015]: “The tensioning mechanism counters the force of the channel brake to create maximum friction while retraction mechanism is engaged. The user is unable to move their fingers (or limbs) forward in a way that elongates the length of the tensioning cable in this stat”; [0022]: “the braking retraction mechanism is adapted to exert a resistive and/or retractive force to the finger via the tensioning cable”, “a rotation of the rotating element causes the tensioning cable to apply a resistive retractive force to the finger element”; [0024]: “the braking retraction mechanism receives control signals to apply the resistive force responsive to the controller receiving an indication from the computer system to apply the resistive force”; [0068]: “the finger caps 202 may function as a structural element that provide resistive and/or retractive force to a portion of the user (e.g., the fingertips)”; [0069]: “The tensioning cable 206 may provide a resistive force to the finger caps 202 when the retraction mechanism 207 impedes the movement of the tensioning cable 206”; [0070]: “The retraction mechanism 207 may be constructed to apply a resistive force and/or retractive force to the finger caps 202 via the tensioning cables 206”, “The channel 209 may be rotated beyond 90 degrees to pull back the tensioning cable 206 and apply a retractive force to the finger cap 206. In some embodiments, the channel brake 208 may be operated by the actuator 210 based on signals received from the controller 216 via the conductive elements 214. For example, the actuator 210 control a rotation of the channel 209 in the channel brake 208 to allow the tensioning cable 206 to move freely through the channel 209 or impede the movement of the tensioning cable 206 in the channel 209”; [0075]: “the retraction mechanism 207 may apply a smaller resistive force to the finger cap 202 by rotating the channel brake 208 less than 90 degrees (e.g., 45 degrees) to simulate touching a semi-solid object”), wherein
the finger force feedback component comprises a drawstring (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B and 4A-4B: tensioning cable 206) tracking a movement of the finger, a transmission member (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B and 4A-4B: tensioning mechanism 211, guide 212, two guides 205) following a movement of the drawstring (Figs. 4A-4B), and a stopping member (Figs. 2B-2C, 3A-3B and 4A-4B: braking retraction mechanism including channel brake 208),
a plurality of stopping structures (Figs. 4A-4B: tensioning mechanism 211, guide 212, two guides 205) are sequentially disposed on the transmission member, and
the stopping member is configured to cooperate with any one of the plurality of stopping structures to brake the finger (Figs. 4A-4B; [0069]: “The tensioning cable 206 may be routed through guides 205 proximate the channel brake 208 and the guide 212 behind the actuators 210”; [0076]: “The guides 205 on either side of the channel brake 208 may increase a frictional force applied to the tensioning cable 210 when the channel brake 208 is in the closed position”).
Regarding claim 2, Walters further teaches the force feedback system of claim 1, wherein
the finger force feedback component includes a housing (Figs. 3-4: housing accommodating braking retraction mechanism including channel brake 208 and retraction mechanism) located on a backside of a hand, the transmission member and the stopping member are disposed within the housing (Figs. 3-4), and
the force feedback system further includes a fingertip sleeve (Figs. 2B, 3-4: finger cap 202) corresponding to the finger force feedback component, the fingertip sleeve being mechanically connected to the transmission member through the drawstring (Figs. 2B, 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Walters further teaches the force feedback system of claim 2, wherein
the finger force feedback component also includes a wire groove (Figs. 2B, 3A-3B: channel guide 204) disposed between finger joints of the glove body, and
the drawstring passes through the wire groove to connect the fingertip sleeve and the transmission member (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, Walters further teaches the force feedback system of claim 1, wherein the finger force feedback component further includes strain sensors (Fig. 2C: bend sensors 218), and the strain sensors are arranged at finger joints of the glove body (Fig. 2C) and configured to read posture data of the finger ([0072]: “glove mechanism 200 may include bend sensors 218 to measure a relative flexion of a finger of the user”; [0073]: “the controller 216 may read various sensors (e.g., the bend sensor 218 and/or the accelerometer 220) and provide the output from these sensors to an external device”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4: the features “a surface of the spool is provided with the plurality of stopping structures , and the stopping member includes a stopping sheet that is capable of being inserted into a groove between the plurality of stopping structures” specifies structural relationships between the plurality of stopping structures and the spool, stopping sheet, which requires the plurality of stopping structures to be of a particular structure that is not taught by Walters and not obvious to be derived from modifying Walters’ disclosure.
Claim 13: the element “a sensing member configured to detect a movement distance of the drawstring” is not taught by Walters and not obvious to be derived from modifying Walters’ disclosure.
Claim 19: the element “a spiral spring” is not taught by Walters and not obvious to be derived from modifying Walters’ disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 2018/0011535 by Luo et al. teaches a hand worn system (not in a form of a glove) that translates movements of a finger into movements within the virtual space and that generates sensations in the body in response to interactions in the virtual space. Specifically, Fig. 2 discloses sensor 46 is provided to measure the displacement (not distance) of strip 44 as a result of relative movement of the bony members on opposite sides of a joint (Sensor 46 is disposed on base 42 and is configured to generate a displacement signal indicative of the amount of displacement of strip 44).
US 2018/0311570 by Buchanan teaches a related technique to the instant application. Buchanan’s motion capture and haptic glove systems/methods and devices have finger portions for the fingers and thumb of the user, a plurality of anchoring finger caps (Figs. 1-6: anchoring caps 120/210/330/420/530/620) circumscribed around the extremities of the finger portions, a plurality of tendon-like cables (Figs. 1, 3-6: tendon-like cables 160/350/440/510) configured to transmit the flexion/extension and the abduction/adduction data to a plurality of measuring devices for processing, a housing structure (Figs. 4-6: housing structure 410/) which tendon-like cables are routed into and is provided with a return force provider, which may be in the form of, for example, a spring. No braking/stopping mechanism is provided in the glove, however.
US Patent NO. 10,534,433 by Agarwal et al. discloses a haptic device (e.g., a glove) that includes a jamming assembly (Fig. 3: jamming assemblies 122), anchored to the back of a user's hand, having (i) a jamming lever, (ii) an actuator to move the jamming lever from a first position to a second position different from the first position, and (iii) a slidable member configured to move back and forth in response to movement of a first of the user's fingers. However, no drawstrings/cables are used in the haptic device. Instead, elongated elements 302 made from metal (e.g., spring steel), or any other material that is substantially inextensible, but can nevertheless flex in at least one direction is used.
US 2024/0188659 by Brown et al. discloses a haptic glove for providing haptic feedback to a user's hand. The haptic glove comprises: a constrain mechanism (Fig. 1: constrain mechanism 120, for example in the form of a locking mechanism 120a, a braking mechanism 120b and/or a spring mechanism 120c) configured, when engaged, to constrain movement of the proximal end of a respective cable relative to the base portion, thereby constraining movement of a respective finger portion relative to the base portion, and an SMA wire arranged, on contraction, to engage or disengage the constrain mechanism.
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629