DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Change to: “…storing at least one of the data object or the two or more data shards in a local storage location…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the encryption algorithm;” however, the claim limitation lacks antecedent basis. To remedy this, the Examiner suggests amending the claim so that it is dependent on claim 4 and not claim 2, since the recitation of an encryption algorithm is done in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Franklin et al (US 10180912 B1).
Per claim 1, Franklin teaches:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving a data object to be stored; (col 4 line 15-30, receives data to be stored)
segmenting the data object into two or more data shards; (col 5, lines 33-52, redundancy encoding techniques may be utilized to segment the data into one or more data shards)
storing metadata for the data object in a centralized database; (col 7 lines 3-23, the storage history tracker may track the type, quantity, and identity of the unique shards stored in the second region, such as in a database table or other suitable structure, for the lifetime of the data, and is configured to be a “gatekeeper.” The role of the “gatekeeper” teaches the “centralized” database; the metadata is taught by the “type, quantity, and identity” related information)
storing at least one of the data object or the two or more shards in a local storage location; and (col 4 line 15-30, the shards may be distributed across multiple volumes in two or more regions; col 6 lines 14-25, this includes the “home” region as illustrated in FIG. 1 on the left side which teaches the “local” storage location, which is separate from (col 6 lines 26-33) right side of the FIG. 1 which may be the regions outside of the home region)
distributing the data shards redundantly across storage resources in at least two geographically distinct storage locations. (col 6 lines 26-33) right side of FIG. 1 may be multiple regions outside of the home region)
Per claim 2, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein redundancy and distribution of the data object across the storage resources is provided in a single upstream operation and without delegation to one or more other components. (FIG. 9, redundancy and distribution is provided in a single upstream operation without delegation to one or more other components. The distribution is indicated in step 906, Transfer Derived Shards to Alternate Regions. The redundancy is indicated in step 904, Generate Derived Shards Using Redundancy Code. Since the step relies on only the singular previous step that doesn't rely on one or more other components, it teaches the "single upstream operation without delegation to one or more other components.")
Per claim 3, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the local storage location is within a datacenter, and wherein the at least two geographically distinct storage locations include the datacenter and a remote datacenter ((col 18 lines 21-49) an example in which derived shards are distributed in multiple data centers. These data centers can be “co-located or may be located in one or more separate datacenter location.” This teaches the remote datacenter that is located separately from the other datacenter)
Per claim 4, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
encrypting the data object using an encryption algorithm; and ((col 14 lines 24-42) data shards contain an original form of the data. “The original form of the data” teaches the “data object” in the claim language. (col 17 lines 1-19) The shards – identity shards and derived shards -- are encrypted)
applying Reed-Solomon error correction coding to create the two or more data shards. ((col 16, lines 58-67) Reed-Soloman redundancy code may be used to generate shards of the received data)
Per claim 5, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the encryption algorithm ensures that no single storage node has access to complete or decrypted data objects. ((col 14 lines 61-col 15 line 16) by using encryption techniques such as Shamir's Secret Sharing, the cryptographic information is sharded and distributed, such that a quorum quantity of the encryption key shards is needed to reconstruct the encryption key used to encrypt the data and/or the data shards.)
Per claim 8, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the storage resources in the at least one geographically distinct storage location are selected based on at least one of:
a. uptime criteria for nodes;
b. geographic diversity to mitigate correlated failures;
c. node bandwidth capacity; or
d. historical reliability metrics for nodes.
((col 6 lines 26-33) regions may be specified for any predefined or arbitrary region, and may coincide with political boundaries such as national boundaries, economic boundaries, and the like. In some embodiments, the regions are arbitrarily drawn for reasons other than geography, such as for system efficiency or cost reasons. (col 6 lines 34-49) example of increased security/durability by adding geographic diversity.)
Per claim 9, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
detecting a failure impacting a data object stored to a multiple storage resources in a first storage location; and
retrieving two or more data shards stored to two or more other storage resources in the first storage location to reconstruct the data object.
((col 22 lines 41-57) In some embodiments, if one of the volumes 1106 or a shard stored thereon is detected as corrupt, missing, or otherwise unavailable, a new shard may be generated using the redundancy code applied to generate the shard(s) in the first instance. The new shard may be stored on the same volume or a different volume, depending, for example, on whether the shard is unavailable for a reason other than the failure of the volume. The new shard may be generated by, for example, the data storage system 1104, by using a quantity of the remaining shards that may be used to regenerate the original data (and the index, if applicable) stored across all volumes, regenerating that original data, and either replacing the portion of the original data corresponding to that which was unavailable (in the case that the unavailable shard contains original data), or reapplying the redundancy code so as to provide derived data for the new shard.)
Per claim 10, Franklin teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
detecting a failure impacting a data object stored to a first storage resource in a first storage location; and
retrieving two or more data shards stored to two or more storage resources in at least a second storage location to reconstruct the data object.
((col 22 lines 41-57) In some embodiments, if one of the volumes 1106 or a shard stored thereon is detected as corrupt, missing, or otherwise unavailable, a new shard may be generated using the redundancy code applied to generate the shard(s) in the first instance. The new shard may be stored on the same volume or a different volume, depending, for example, on whether the shard is unavailable for a reason other than the failure of the volume. The new shard may be generated by, for example, the data storage system 1104, by using a quantity of the remaining shards that may be used to regenerate the original data (and the index, if applicable) stored across all volumes, regenerating that original data, and either replacing the portion of the original data corresponding to that which was unavailable (in the case that the unavailable shard contains original data), or reapplying the redundancy code so as to provide derived data for the new shard.)
Per claim 11, Franklin teaches:
A system, comprising:
at least one processor; ((col 26 line 64-col 27 line 3) a process of a server)
a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: ((col 26 line 64-col 27 line 3) executable program instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium that can be executed by a processor of a server in order to perform the intended functions)
receive a data object to be stored; ((col 4 line 15-29) receives data to be stored)
segment the data object into two or more data shards; ((col 5 line 33-52) redundancy encoding techniques may be utilized to segment the data into one or more data shards)
store the data object to a primary storage resource in a first storage location; and ((63) data shards contain an original form of the data. “The original form of the data” teaches the “data object” in the claim language (col 4 lines 15-29) the shards may be distributed across multiple volumes in two or more regions; this includes the (col 6 lines 14-25) “home” region illustrated by the left side of FIG. 1)
store the data shards redundantly across multiple storage resources within the first storage location and at least one second storage location. ((col 4 lines 15-29) the shards may be distributed across multiple volumes in two or more regions; this includes the (col 6 lines 26-34) right side of the FIG. 1 which may represent multiple regions outside of the home region)
Per claim 12, Franklin teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the instructions when executed further cause the at least one processor to:
detect one or more failures impacting the data object in one of the storage resources in one or more of the first and second storage locations; and
reconstruct the data object using the data shards stored in other resources in one or more of the first and second storage locations.
((col 22 lines 41-57) In some embodiments, if one of the volumes 1106 or a shard stored thereon is detected as corrupt, missing, or otherwise unavailable, a new shard may be generated using the redundancy code applied to generate the shard(s) in the first instance. The new shard may be stored on the same volume or a different volume, depending, for example, on whether the shard is unavailable for a reason other than the failure of the volume. The new shard may be generated by, for example, the data storage system 1104, by using a quantity of the remaining shards that may be used to regenerate the original data (and the index, if applicable) stored across all volumes, regenerating that original data, and either replacing the portion of the original data corresponding to that which was unavailable (in the case that the unavailable shard contains original data), or reapplying the redundancy code so as to provide derived data for the new shard.)
Per claim 13, Franklin teaches:
The system of claim 11, further comprising:
a coordinator module to dynamically select storage nodes based at least on operational criteria, the operational criteria including at least node availability, geographic diversity, or load balancing.
((col 20 lines 5-24) “The data storage system 1104 may sort one or more identity shards according to one or more criteria (and in the case where a plurality of criteria is used for the sort, such criteria may be sorted against sequentially and in any order appropriate for the implementation). Such criteria may be attributes common to some or all of the archives, and may include the …expected volume and/or shard boundaries relative to the boundaries of the archives (e.g., so as to minimize the number of archives breaking across shards and/or volumes), and the like.”)
As for claim 14-15, it recites similar claim limitations as claims 4-5 and thus are rejected for similar reasons.
As for claim 16, it recites similar claim limitation as claim 11 and thus is rejected for similar reasons. It additionally recites;
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to [perform an action] ((116) a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructors that executes functions when executed by at least one processor)
Per claim 17, Franklin teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions when executed further cause the at least one processor to:
restore lost shards within a single storage location, when possible ((col 25 lines 3-15) At step 1214, in normal operation, requested data may be retrieved, for example, by the data storage system, directly from the subset of volumes storing the original data, without necessitating retrieval and further processing (e.g., by the redundancy code) from the volumes storing the derived data generated in step 1212.),
to reduce bandwidth usage (under mpep 2111.02, “to reduce bandwidth usage” is considered “intended use” because it simply states a purpose or intended use for the invention without restricting the structural limitation in anyway)
perform inter-location recovery operations only when an entire storage location is unavailable. ((col 25 lines 3-15) However, at step 1216, if any of the volumes are determined, for example, by the data storage system, to be unavailable, a replacement shard may be generated by the data storage system by reconstructing the original data from a quorum of the remaining shards, and re-encoding using the redundancy code to generate the replacement shard. The replacement shard may be the same or may be different from the shard detected as unavailable.)
As for claim 18-19, it recites similar claim limitations as claims 4-5 and thus are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franklin in view of Patiejunas et al (US 9830111 B1).
Per claim 6, Franklin fails to teach but Patiejunas teaches the following:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the data shards are to be distributed based in part on one or more configurable parameters, including at least one of:
a. a number of storage locations;
b. a number of storage locations that are accepted to be lost;
c. a number of nodes within a single location; or
d. a number of nodes that are accepted to be lost.
(Patiejunas, col 18 lines 50-63) In some embodiments, each datacenter 301 may also include one or more storage node server racks 304 where each server rack hosts one or more servers that collectively provide the functionalities of a number of storage nodes such as described in connection with FIG. 2. Configuration parameters such as number of storage nodes per rack, number of storage node racks, ration between storage node managers and storage nodes and the like may be determined based on factors such as cost, scalability, redundancy and performance requirements, hardware and software resources and the like. For example, in one embodiment, there are 3 storage nodes per storage node server rack, 30-80 racks per data center and a storage nodes/storage node manager ratio of 10 to 1.)
It is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Franklin with the teaching of Patlejunas in order to teach specific configurable parameters because both prior art relates to the same technical field of the art and, furthermore, by incorporating the configurable parameters, the modified invention allows the system to adjust the system to better reflect cost, scalability, redundancy and performance requirements (Patiejunas, col 18 lines 50-63).
Per claim 7, Franklin fails to teach but Patiejunas teaches the following:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: allowing user configuration of one or more redundancy levels through a graphical user interface (GUI). ((Patiejunas, col 5 lines 65-col 6 line 14) In various embodiments, front end 208 provides an application programming interface (“API”) to enable a user to programmatically interface with the various features, components and capabilities of the archival data storage system. Such APIs may be part of a user interface that may include graphical user interfaces (GUIs), (Patiejunas, col 6 lines 15-34) Configuration APIs may allow customers to configure account information, audit logs, policies, notifications settings and the like; (Patiejunas, col 18 lines 50-63) Configuration parameters such as number of storage nodes per rack, number of storage node racks, ration between storage node managers and storage nodes and the like may be determined based on factors such as cost, scalability, redundancy and performance requirements, hardware and software resources and the like)
As per claim 20, it recites similar claim limitation as claim 7 and thus is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharma et al (US 20200250042 A1) teaches a cluster master assigning tasks to node managers, in which each node manager decides locally whether it can safely accept the task based on current resource usage such as CPU, disk memory, or bandwidth.
Contact Information
/K.L.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114