DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 16-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the valve seat and poppet must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the lower portion of valve, including but not limited to: the poppet 22 and valve seat 12 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “16” has been used to designate both diaphragm and an undescribed element in fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 4-5 and Claim 12 lines 4-5 recite “an armature of a solenoid movable to selectively contact only one of either a first and a second mechanical stop” but, Claim 1 line 9 and Claim 12 line 8 recite “when the armature is at the first stop” and Claim 1 line 10 and Claim 12 line 9 recite “when the armature is at the second stop”. It is unclear is the armature is only at a first stop or a second stop or if the armature can be at both a first stop and a second stop.
Claims 2-11 are rejected based on dependency on Claim 1.
Claims 13-20 are rejected based on dependency on Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buezis US 5435343 (“Buezis”).
Regarding Claim 1, Buezis discloses a dual stage solenoid valve (fig. 3) comprising: a valve seat (84); a poppet (85) with said poppet (85) sealing against the valve seat (84) in a closed configuration (fig. 3 illustrates poppet 85 in a closed position); an armature (106) of a solenoid (92) movable to selectively contact only
BUEZIS – FIGURE 3 and 4
Regarding Claim 2, Buezis discloses a diaphragm (81) connected to the poppet (85).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Buezis discloses the first spring (86) is intermediate the diaphragm (81) and the armature (106).
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Buezis discloses a bias spring (109) directing the armature (106) to the first mechanical stops (108) when the solenoid (92) is de-energized.
Regarding Claims 11 and 20, Buezis discloses the first spring (86) contacts the bottom surface of the armature (87 is connected to armature 106).
Regarding Claim 12, Buezis discloses a dual stage solenoid valve (fig. 3) comprising: a valve seat (84); a poppet (85) held by a diaphragm (81) with said poppet (85) sealing against the valve seat (84) in a closed configuration (fig. 3 illustrates poppet 85 in a closed position); an armature (106) of a solenoid (92) movable to selectively contact only
Regarding Claim 13, Buezis discloses the force of the first spring (86) on the poppet (85) when the armature (81) is at the second stop (107) is greater than when at the first stop (108).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robertson, III US 5772181 and Kumar US 4954799 disclose valves.
/DAPHNE BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753