DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the application filed on 08/25/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, and 17-20 of Patent No. 12,417,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming common subject matter, obfuscating personal data from internet using machine learning.
The Examiner notes that parent application (above-mentioned patent) and the instant application are directed towards patentability indistinct variations of the same inventive concept, which is obfuscating personal data from internet using machine learning. The Examiner made the double patenting rejection determination based on the fact that the parent application has claims that have overall appearances with basically the same design characteristics and the differences between both parent application and current application are considered patentably insufficient when they are obvious to a person skilled in the art. While the parent applications have different scopes, the Examiner found that the difference in scope is minor and patentably indistinct between the claims being compared.
Thus, the applied nonstatutory double patenting rejection applies in the current application because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept but with different appearances or differing scope that are patentability indistinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei Chen et al (US 20210182429 A1), hereinafter “Chen” in view of Samuel E. Bradshaw et al (US 20210056405 A1), hereinafter “Bradshaw”.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a server from a user device associated with a user, a request to obfuscate publicly available personal data associated with the user (Chen, Paragraph 0018, content server receives content from a submitting user. Paragraph 0019, content server detects sensitive material in the submitted content. Paragraphs 0020-0022, obfuscation data can be retrieved from a data store and/or received from the submitting user);
retrieving, by the server from a database, verified personal data associated with the user (Chen, Paragraph 0018, content server extracts from the received content one or more name entities and/or one or more image face portions. Paragraph 0022, content server accesses the obfuscation data for the content and determines whether the content includes any items of sensitive material are to be obfuscated. Paragraph 0025, users submit content (e.g., textual data and/or image data) to different sites (e.g., social media, public blog, private blog, etc.). Providing content to requesting users);
and disseminating, by the server and based on receiving approval to disseminate the synthetic personal data from the user device, the synthetic personal data on the Internet (Chen, Paragraph 0025, content is loaded on a social media feed).
However, Chen fails to explicitly disclose generating, by the server using a machine learning model trained to generate synthetic personal data based on at least verified personal data associated with the user, synthetic personal data associated with the user.
Bradshaw, from the same or similar field of endeavor, discloses generating, by the server using a machine learning model trained to generate synthetic personal data based on at least verified personal data associated with the user, synthetic personal data associated with the user (Bradshaw, Paragraph 0011, obfuscation occurs at any one of the multiple computing devices that host different versions of the ANN. Paragraph 0023, training master version of the artificial neural network (ANN). Receiving data to train the master version of the ANN. Paragraphs 0034-0035, training the master version of the ANN based on received obfuscated data using machine learning. Generating obfuscated data based on extracted user data. Paragraph 0085, server performs functions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Bradshaw in order to further modify the method of obfuscating content based on requesting user roles from the teachings of Chen with the method of machine learning with feature obfuscation from the teachings of Bradshaw.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because training the machine learning model the system will be able to contain an updated version of the obfuscation process (Bradshaw – Paragraph 0022).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 1 above, where Chen further discloses further comprising:
before disseminating the synthetic personal data, calculating, by the server, a difference value between the synthetic personal data and the verified personal data, wherein disseminating the synthetic personal data on the Internet is based on a determination that the difference value satisfies a threshold (Chen, Paragraphs 0029-0031, determining similarity threshold in order to identify items of sensitive material and obfuscate these identified items of sensitive material).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 2 above, where Chen further discloses further comprising:
calculating, by the server, a similarity value between the synthetic personal data and the verified personal data, wherein disseminating the synthetic personal data on the Internet is further based on a determination that the similarity value satisfies a second threshold (Chen, Paragraphs 0029-0031, determining similarity threshold in order to identify items of sensitive material and obfuscate these identified items of sensitive material).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 1 above, where Bradshaw further discloses wherein disseminating the synthetic personal data comprises:
uploading, by the server, the synthetic personal data to one or more public websites (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraph 0061, user data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 1 above, where Bradshaw further discloses wherein the disseminating the synthetic personal data on the Internet comprises at least one of:
posting the synthetic personal data to a social media website; publishing an article containing the synthetic personal data to a news website; or publishing a blog post that comprises the synthetic personal data (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraphs 0060-0061, substitution step applying data masking and preserving an authentic look and feel for the obfuscated user data, wherein the substitution step includes substituting existing values in the extracted features of the user data with authentic looking values. User data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file. Paragraphs 0063-0064, shuffling data along with substituting data).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 1 above, where Bradshaw further discloses wherein the disseminating the synthetic personal data on the Internet comprises replacing first verified personal data with first synthetic personal data (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraph 0061, user data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the method of claim 1 above, where Bradshaw further discloses further comprising:
removing, by the server from one or more public websites, one or more entries comprising the verified personal data (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraphs 0060-0061, substitution step applying data masking and preserving an authentic look and feel for the obfuscated user data, wherein the substitution step includes substituting existing values in the extracted features of the user data with authentic looking values).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a computing device, comprising:
one or more processors (Chen, Paragraph 0105, processor);
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Chen, Paragraph 0105, memory), cause the computing device to:
monitor one or more public sites for publicly available personal data associated with a user (Chen, Paragraph 0018, content server extracts from the received content one or more name entities and/or one or more image face portions).
However, Chen fails to explicitly disclose generate synthetic personal data associated with the user, wherein the synthetic personal data comprises data configured to appear similar to verified personal data associated with the user while being different from verified personal data associated with the user; and disseminate, based on receiving approval to disseminate the synthetic personal data from a device associated with the user, the synthetic personal data to one or more public sites.
Bradshaw, from the same or similar field of endeavor, discloses generate synthetic personal data associated with the user, wherein the synthetic personal data comprises data configured to appear similar to verified personal data associated with the user while being different from verified personal data associated with the user (Bradshaw, Paragraph 0011, obfuscation occurs at any one of the multiple computing devices that host different versions of the ANN. Paragraph 0023, training master version of the artificial neural network (ANN). Receiving data to train the master version of the ANN. Paragraphs 0034-0035, training the master version of the ANN based on received obfuscated data using machine learning. Generating obfuscated data based on extracted user data. Paragraph 0085, server performs functions);
and disseminate, based on receiving approval to disseminate the synthetic personal data from a device associated with the user, the synthetic personal data to one or more public sites (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraphs 0060-0061, substitution step applying data masking and preserving an authentic look and feel for the obfuscated user data, wherein the substitution step includes substituting existing values in the extracted features of the user data with authentic looking values. User data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file. Paragraphs 0063-0064, shuffling data along with substituting data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Bradshaw in order to further modify the method of obfuscating content based on requesting user roles from the teachings of Chen with the method of machine learning with feature obfuscation from the teachings of Bradshaw.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because training the machine learning model the system will be able to contain an updated version of the obfuscation process (Bradshaw – Paragraph 0022).
Regarding Claim 9, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 10, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 12, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 13, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instruction that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a computing device to:
monitor one or more public sites for publicly available personal data associated with a user (Chen, Paragraph 0018, content server extracts from the received content one or more name entities and/or one or more image face portions).
However, Chen fails to explicitly disclose generate, using a trained machine learning model, synthetic personal data associated with the user of a user device, wherein the synthetic personal data is configured to appear similar to verified personal data associated with the user, while being different; and disseminate, based on receiving approval to disseminate the synthetic personal data from the user device, the synthetic personal data to the one or more public sites.
Bradshaw, from the same or similar field of endeavor, discloses generate, using a trained machine learning model, synthetic personal data associated with the user of a user device, wherein the synthetic personal data is configured to appear similar to verified personal data associated with the user, while being different (Bradshaw, Paragraph 0011, obfuscation occurs at any one of the multiple computing devices that host different versions of the ANN. Paragraph 0023, training master version of the artificial neural network (ANN). Receiving data to train the master version of the ANN. Paragraphs 0034-0035, training the master version of the ANN based on received obfuscated data using machine learning. Generating obfuscated data based on extracted user data. Paragraph 0085, server performs functions);
and disseminate, based on receiving approval to disseminate the synthetic personal data from the user device, the synthetic personal data to the one or more public sites (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraphs 0060-0061, substitution step applying data masking and preserving an authentic look and feel for the obfuscated user data, wherein the substitution step includes substituting existing values in the extracted features of the user data with authentic looking values. User data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file. Paragraphs 0063-0064, shuffling data along with substituting data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Bradshaw in order to further modify the method of obfuscating content based on requesting user roles from the teachings of Chen with the method of machine learning with feature obfuscation from the teachings of Bradshaw.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because training the machine learning model the system will be able to contain an updated version of the obfuscation process (Bradshaw – Paragraph 0022).
Regarding Claim 16, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 2 and Claim 9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 3 and Claim 10 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Chen and Bradshaw disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15 above, where Bradshaw further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to disseminate the synthetic personal data on the Internet by:
uploading the synthetic personal data to one or more public websites; posting the synthetic personal data to a social media website; publishing an article containing the synthetic personal data to a news website; or publishing a blog post that comprises the synthetic personal data (Bradshaw, Fig 3, Paragraphs 0060-0061, substitution step applying data masking and preserving an authentic look and feel for the obfuscated user data, wherein the substitution step includes substituting existing values in the extracted features of the user data with authentic looking values. User data includes customer records, personal identifiable information, and other types of sensitive information that is substituted with randomly or deliberately supplied false customer records, personal identifiable information, and the like, respectively, such as from a look up file. Paragraphs 0063-0064, shuffling data along with substituting data).
Regarding Claim 19, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 6 and Claim 13 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, this claimed limitation is the same as the limitation addressed to Claim 7 and Claim 14 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All the references listed on 892 are related to the subject matter of obfuscating personal data from internet using machine learning.
Some of the prior arts include:
US 20210133350 A1, which discloses a method of automated securing of sensitive personal data in data pipelines
US 11755848 B1, which discloses a method of processing structured and unstructured text to identify sensitive information.
US 20190034657 A1, which discloses a method of privacy detection during insider threat monitoring.
US 20210334401 A1, which discloses a method of privacy protection verification.
/JAVIER O GUZMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496