DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a support base comprising first and second positioning elements, and then requires that the second positioning element be aligned or offset from the support base in various positions. It is unclear how a portion of the support base (the second positioning element) could be aligned and/or offset from the support base itself.
Claims 2-7 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hampton (US Patent Number 6505887).
Regarding claim 1, Hampton discloses a child restraint system for installation in a vehicle, the child restraint system comprising: a support base (including 18) removably mountable to a vehicle seat of the vehicle (via 22 for instance), the support base comprising: a first positioning element (including 28); a second positioning element (including 15) configured to receive a child seat (seat 10 is affixed to 15), the second positioning element being movably connected to the first positioning element (it is slidable thereon) and being translatable relative to the first positioning element between a travel position, a first loading position, and a second loading position (with a travel position much as in Figure 3 and a first loading position swung as in Figure 7 and extended as in Figure 1; a second loading position would be possible when rotated in a direction opposite that of Figure 7 and extended); and wherein in the travel position, the second positioning element is aligned with the first positioning element and the support base (much as in Figure 3), in the first loading position, the second positioning element is translated relative to the first positioning element and the support base to offset the second positioning element from the first positioning element and the support base in a first direction (when swung as in Figure 7 and extended as in Figure 1), and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is translated relative to the first positioning element and the support base to offset the second positioning element from the first positioning element and the support based in an opposite, second direction (when swung in a direction opposite that of Figure 7 and extended).
Regarding claim 2, Hampton further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, and the second positioning element has a primary axis extending between the front end and the rear end of the second positioning element, the base axis and the primary axis being coaxial in the travel position (this is the general arrangement; see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Hampton further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, in the first loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the first direction and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the second direction (again, see at least Figures 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Hampton further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, wherein in the first loading position and the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element along a travel axis, the travel axis being arranged at a non-parallel angle relative to the base axis (the travel axis rotated along with the seat).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hampton further discloses the first positioning element is fixed and/or rotatable relative to the base axis (member 28 is at least fixed via 45 while providing rotation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampton. Hampton discloses a system as explained above including what would appear to provide a travel axis perpendicular to the base (by swinging a full 90o for instance), but this may not be explicitly described. Changes in dimensions and range require only routine skill in the art however and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the travel axis as claimed (by allowing 90o rotation for instance) based on normal variation to improve comfort and convenience for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 and entered 15 July 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636