DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species Group VIII in the reply filed on 30 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 December 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents submitted 25 August 2025 appear to include copies of “Notice[s] of References Cited” from US Patent Application Number 18/463838 to which this application claims priority. Note that while references cited on these documents have been considered as indicated on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, the submittal of these forms by Applicant does not constitute a proper information disclosure statement.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second positioning element offset from the first positioning element in a first direction and a second, opposite direction must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings directed to the elected embodiment (i.e. Figures 9) show three positions of the device but do not show the offset in opposite directions as claimed. That is, if Figure 9A shows a travel position and Figure 9B shows a first loading position, Figure 9C may show a different offset of the positioning elements (slid outwardly after rotation), but it is not in an opposite direction. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US Patent Number 10640020).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a child restraint system for installation in a vehicle, the child restraint system comprising: a support base (10) removably mountable to a vehicle seat of the vehicle (via 11; see at least Figure 5), the support base comprising: a first positioning element (32; optionally including 40); a second positioning element (31) configured to receive a child seat (seat frame 20 is mounted to 31), the second positioning element being movably connected to the first positioning element (31 at least rotates relative to 32 and slides relative to 40) and being movable relative to the first positioning element between a travel position, a first loading position, and a second loading position (see Figure 12 for instance showing a travel position with first and second loading positions in phantom; note that Figures 9 and 10 also show a travel position and first loading position, respectively, while a second loading position with the seat rotated 180o from the position of Figure 10 is possible; see at least lines 12-29 of column 7); and wherein in the travel position, the second positioning element is aligned with the first positioning element (for instance, lateral axes of the elements are aligned), in the first loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element in a first direction (the lateral axes rotated relative to one another), and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element in an opposite, second direction (the axes rotated in the opposite direction; see Figures 9, 10, and 12 as explained above).
Regarding claim 2, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, and the second positioning element has a primary axis extending between the front end and the rear end of the second positioning element, the base axis and the primary axis being coaxial in the travel position (this is the general arrangement; see Figures 9 and/or 12).
Regarding claim 3, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, in the first loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the first direction and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the second direction (again, see at least Figure 12).
Regarding claim 4, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, wherein in the first loading position and the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element along a travel axis, the travel axis being arranged at a non-parallel angle relative to the base axis (again, see at least Figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Jung further discloses the travel axis is perpendicular to the base axis (at least as in Figure 10 and an opposite second loading position).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Jung further discloses the first positioning element is fixed and/or rotatable relative to the base axis (at least member 32 is fixed to the base axis while member 40 is rotatable).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related restraint systems.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636