DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second positioning element translatable relative to the first positioning element between travel, and first and second loading positions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The amended drawings directed to the elected embodiment (i.e. Figures 9) show five positions of the device but do not show translation from the travel to loading positions. That is, if Figure 9A shows a travel position and Figures 9B and 9D show first and second loading positions, then the second positioning element appears merely rotated relative to the first. If Figure 9A shows a travel position and Figures 9C and 9E show first and second loading positions, then the second positioning element appears translated relative to an intermediate position rather than the travel position. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US Patent Number 10640020).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a child restraint system for installation in a vehicle, the child restraint system comprising: a support base (10) removably mountable to a vehicle seat of the vehicle (via 11; see at least Figure 5), the support base comprising: a first positioning element (32 and/or 40, 41); a second positioning element (31) configured to receive a child seat (seat frame 20 is mounted to 31), the second positioning element being movably connected to the first positioning element (31 at least rotates relative to 32 and slides relative to 40) and being translatable relative to the first positioning element between a travel position, a first loading position, and a second loading position (see Figures 13, 14 showing translation of 31 relative to 40, 41, as well as Figure 12 for instance showing a travel position with rotated first and second loading positions in phantom; note that the translation of Figures 13, 14 would be possible in the positions shown in Figure 12, and further note that Figures 9 and 10 also show a travel position and first loading position, respectively, while a second loading position with the seat rotated 180o from the position of Figure 10 is possible; see at least lines 12-29 of column 7); and wherein in the travel position, the second positioning element is aligned with the first positioning element (for instance, lateral axes of the elements are aligned), in the first loading position, the second positioning element is translated relative to the travel position such that the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element in a first direction (the lateral axes rotated relative to one another and the second positioning element slid to provide the translated offset), and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is translated relative to the travel position such that the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element in an opposite, second direction (the axes rotated in the opposite direction – see Figures 9, 10, and 12 as explained above – and the second positioning element slid to provide the translated offset).
Regarding claim 2, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, and the second positioning element has a primary axis extending between the front end and the rear end of the second positioning element, the base axis and the primary axis being coaxial in the travel position (this is the general arrangement; see Figures 9 and/or 12).
Regarding claim 3, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, in the first loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the first direction and in the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the base axis in the second direction (again, see at least Figure 12).
Regarding claim 4, Jung further discloses the support base has a base axis extending between a front end and a rear end of the support base, wherein in the first loading position and the second loading position, the second positioning element is offset from the first positioning element along a travel axis, the travel axis being arranged at a non-parallel angle relative to the base axis (again, see at least Figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Jung further discloses the travel axis is perpendicular to the base axis (at least as in Figure 10 and an opposite second loading position).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Jung further discloses the first positioning element is fixed and/or rotatable relative to the base axis (at least member 32 is fixed to the base axis while member 40 is rotatable).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the amended drawings overcome the objection and that Jordan fails to disclose translation to an offset position as in the amended claims.
Regarding the drawings, while it is acknowledged that the amended drawings appear to overcome the prior objection, a new objection has been made in view of the amended claim language.
Regarding the rejection in view of Jordan, it is maintained that the reference device provides translation to an offset position as explained above. That is, contrary to Applicant’s assertion in the remarks, Jordan’s element 31 does translate relative to 40, 41 to provide an offset (see Figures 13, 14). While the details of the mechanism may differ somewhat from the invention, Jordan nevertheless anticipates the current claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection and/or objection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636