DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/308,842 filed 08/25/2025. Claims 1-16 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2025 and 01/12/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toba (US 2013/0002289).
Consider claim 1, Toba clearly teaches an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a memory storing instructions; (Fig. 1: Flash ROM or DRAM not shown, [0075].)
a communication interface; (Fig. 1: Data transmission section 112, data reception section 122, [0055]) and
at least one processor including processing circuitry, wherein when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor (Fig. 1: Control sections 113, 123, [0057]-[0059]) to
based on a video interface cable being connected to the communication interface, identify a communication standard supported by the video interface cable based on a voltage applied to a configuration pin included in the communication interface, (Figs. 1, 17-19: Cable 200, connected between source apparatus 110 and sink apparatus 120, is identified as current HDMI or novel HDMI based on a voltage applied to object pin 111S, [0055], [0116]-[0125].) and
provide a guidance message based on the communication standard and display capability information of the electronic apparatus. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
Consider claim 2, Toba clearly teaches a display, wherein when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to control the display to display the guidance message based on the communication standard and the display capability information of the display. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
Consider claim 3, Toba clearly teaches when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to based on a first bandwidth supported by the communication standard being greater than or equal to a second bandwidth supported by the display, (Figs. 3, 4: The bandwidth of novel type HDMI is higher than the bandwidth conventional type HDMI, [0006]-[0008], [0066], [0070].) control the display to display a first guidance message, (Figs. 2A, 11, 12A: If both the sink apparatus 120 and cable 200 support novel HDMI then a UI image stating the connection is novel type HDMI is displayed, [0104].) and based on the first bandwidth being less than the second bandwidth, control the display to display a second guidance message. (Figs. 2B, 11, 12C: If the sink apparatus 120 supports novel HDMI and cable 200 does not then a UI image stating the connection is conventional type HDMI is displayed, [0105].)
Consider claim 4, Toba clearly teaches the first guidance message comprises display state information of the display, (Figs. 2A, 11, 12A: If both the sink apparatus 120 and cable 200 support novel HDMI then a UI image stating the connection is novel type HDMI is displayed, [0104].) and the second guidance message suggests a replacement of the video interface cable. (Fig. 12C: The UI image indicates that the cable 200 should be replaced to operate in novel type HDMI, [0105].)
Consider claim 5, Toba clearly teaches when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to control the display to display the first guidance message and the second guidance message at different positions. (Figs. 12A, 12C)
Consider claim 6, Toba clearly teaches when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to reset at least one of extended display identification data (EDID) or DisplayPort configuration data (DPCD) of the display based on the video interface cable. (Figs. 3, 4, 14: EDID is transferred over cable 200 and written into memory by control section 113, [0073]-[0075], [0111]-[0113].)
Consider claim 7, Toba clearly teaches when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to based on a first bandwidth supported by the communication standard being less than a second bandwidth supported by the display, control the communication interface to transmit the guidance message to a user terminal device. (Figs. 2B, 11, 12C: If the sink apparatus 120 supports novel HDMI and cable 200 does not then a UI image stating the connection is conventional type HDMI is displayed, [0105].)
Consider claim 8, Toba clearly teaches the display capability information of the display comprises at least one of a bandwidth or a resolution of the display. (Figs. 3, 4: The bandwidth of novel type HDMI is higher than the bandwidth conventional type HDMI, [0006]-[0008], [0066], [0070].)
Consider claim 12, Toba clearly teaches a control method of an electronic apparatus, (Fig. 11) the control method comprising:
based on a video interface cable being connected to a communication interface: identifying a communication standard supported by the video interface cable based on a voltage applied to a configuration pin included in the communication interface of the electronic apparatus; (Figs. 1, 17-19: Cable 200, connected between source apparatus 110 and sink apparatus 120, is identified as current HDMI or novel HDMI based on a voltage applied to object pin 111S, [0055], [0116]-[0125].) and
providing a guidance message based on the communication standard and display capability information of the electronic apparatus. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
Consider claim 13, Toba clearly teaches in the providing of the guidance message, displaying the guidance message based on the communication standard and the display capability information of a display included in the electronic apparatus. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
Consider claim 14, Toba clearly teaches in the providing of the guidance message, based on a first bandwidth supported by the communication standard being greater than or equal to a second bandwidth supported by the display, (Figs. 3, 4: The bandwidth of novel type HDMI is higher than the bandwidth conventional type HDMI, [0006]-[0008], [0066], [0070].) displaying a first guidance message, (Figs. 2A, 11, 12A: If both the sink apparatus 120 and cable 200 support novel HDMI then a UI image stating the connection is novel type HDMI is displayed, [0104].) and based on the first bandwidth being less than the second bandwidth, displaying a second guidance message. (Figs. 2B, 11, 12C: If the sink apparatus 120 supports novel HDMI and cable 200 does not then a UI image stating the connection is conventional type HDMI is displayed, [0105].)
Consider claim 15, Toba clearly teaches the first guidance message includes display state information of the display, (Figs. 2A, 11, 12A: If both the sink apparatus 120 and cable 200 support novel HDMI then a UI image stating the connection is novel type HDMI is displayed, [0104].) and the second guidance message suggests a replacement of the video interface cable. (Figs. 2B, 11, 12C: If the sink apparatus 120 supports novel HDMI and cable 200 does not then a UI image stating the connection is conventional type HDMI is displayed, [0105].)
Consider claim 16, Toba clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processor to (Fig. 1: Control sections 113, 123, [0057]-[0059]) perform:
based on a video interface cable being connected between a source device and a sink device through a communication interface, identifying a communication standard supported by the video interface cable based on a voltage applied to a configuration pin in the communication interface; (Figs. 1, 17-19: Cable 200, connected between source apparatus 110 and sink apparatus 120, is identified as current HDMI or novel HDMI based on a voltage applied to object pin 111S, [0055], [0116]-[0125].) and
providing a guidance message based on the identified communication standard and display capability information of the sink device. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toba (US 2013/0002289) in view of Oh (US 2008/0104660).
Consider claim 9, Toba clearly teaches a user interface.
However, Toba does not explicitly teach when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to based on a user command for changing at least one of a bandwidth or a resolution of the display being received, control the display to display the guidance message based on the communication standard and the changed at least one of the bandwidth or the resolution of the display.
In an analogous art, Oh, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to based on a user command for changing at least one of a bandwidth or a resolution of the display being received, control the display to display the guidance message based on the communication standard and the changed at least one of the bandwidth or the resolution of the display. (If the user selects a resolution higher than a resolution supported by cable 300 an alert message is displayed to the user, [0083].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Toba by when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to based on a user command for changing at least one of a bandwidth or a resolution of the display being received, control the display to display the guidance message based on the communication standard and the changed at least one of the bandwidth or the resolution of the display, as taught by Oh, for the benefit of informing the user that the selected resolution is not supported.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toba (US 2013/0002289) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0006336), herein Lee.
Consider claim 11, Toba clearly teaches a speaker, (Fig. 1: Television 120, [0054]) wherein when individually or collectively executed by the at least one processor, the instructions cause the at least one processor to output the guidance message based on the communication standard and the display capability information of the electronic apparatus. (Figs. 2A-2D, 11-12C: Based on the determined type of cable 200 and capabilities of sink apparatus 120 a UI screen image is displayed, [0058]-[0061], [0099]-[0105].)
However, Toba does not explicitly teach output the guidance message through the speaker.
In an analogous art, Lee, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches output the guidance message through the speaker. (Figs. 9, 10: UI message can be output audibly, [0105].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Toba by output the guidance message through the speaker, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of providing a more effective notification to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425