Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 4,907,732).
Interpretative note 1. Torgue is defined as “a force that produces or tends to produce rotation or torsion.” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/torque.) Consequently, any element(s) that causes a pipeline to rotate is a torque.
Interpretative note 2. With respect to applying a “first torque” in claim 1, line 16”, lacking recitation of a applying a second torque any reference that discloses applying a single torque is equivalent to applying a first torque.
Interpretative note 3. The preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Interpretative note 3. Claim 1 does not require that the sections be coupled. Only that a torque applied to a section rotates another section. In other words under the broadest reasonable standard allowed by the MPEP the step of applying a first torque to one section does not preclude an interpretation of applying a respective first torque to both a first section and a second section, e.g. applying independent torques to each respective section. This achieves rotation of a second section without having to couple the sections to each other.
With respect to claim 1, Jones discloses a method comprising:
supporting a first section 32 at a plurality of points 54, 56, 58, 60, 62, 64;
applying a first torque (see powered rollers 60, 64 rotating section 32; C5/L53-55) to a first pipe element 32 and applying a first torque (see powered rollers 72, 74; C5/L55-58) to a second pipe element 30 about a longitudinal axis at one point 60, 72, thereby rotating first and second pipe elements through a first angular displacement about a longitudinal axis.
With respect to claim 2, Jones discloses supporting a first section 32 between first and an second ends as at points 60, 62, 64
With respect to claim 3, Jones discloses supporting a section 32 by supporting a pipeline proximate to a first end (indicated generally as 60) and a second end (indicated generally as 64) of a first section 32.
With respect to claim 6, Jones discloses that a first torque is applied at a plurality of points (see powered rollers 60, 64 rotating section 32; C5/L53-55) between first and second ends of first section 32, thereby rotating a first section through a first angular displacement about a longitudinal axis.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 & 17-20 & 29 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,422,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because elimination of an element or its functions is deemed to be obvious in light of prior art teachings of at least the recited element or its functions (see In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184, 186; 311 F2d 581 (CCPA 1963)), thereby rendering the elimination of any elements recited in the claims of the related patent (that are not recited in the instant claims) obvious. Elements recited in the instant claims (but not recited in the claims of the related patent) are addressed by the art rejection(s) set forth above.
The ‘070 patent recites:
rotating a pipeline section;
section comprising multiple pipe elements;
first and second rotation-permitting end couplings;
supporting section;
applying torque at least one point between ends;
rotating through an angular displacement.
Except for the removal of the limitation of coupling first and second sections the claims of the instant application mirror those of the ‘070 patent. The instant application claims:
rotating a pipeline section;
a pipeline comprising multiple pipe elements;
supporting a section;
applying torque at least one point between ends;
rotating through an angular displacement such that a second section of pipe rotates.
In other words, the removal of the “coupling step” in the instant application results in merely an obvious variant of the earlier claims. But for linguistic differences claims 2-20 & 29 mirror the claims in the ‘070 patent.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652