DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—6 & 8—19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2022/0273115 A1 to Karschnik (Karschnik hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0323501 A1 to Sarrafzadeh (Sarrafzadeh hereafter).
As per claim 1, Karschnik teaches:
A sensor strip for a mattress (112-Fig.1; para [0060] sensor strip for a mattress), comprising:
a first textile layer (110-Fig.6; para [0083]); at least one sensor supported by the first textile layer (114-Fig.6; para [0083]); and a second textile layer superimposed with the first textile layer (106-Fig.6; para [0083] mattress cover 106) and at least partly covering the at least one sensor (para [0083] element 106 may be pulled over sensor 114)
Karschnik does not teach, at least a portion of a perimeter of the second textile layer coupled to at least a portion of a perimeter of the first textile layer.
Sarrafzadeh teaches, at least a portion of a perimeter of the second textile layer coupled to at least a portion of a perimeter of the first textile layer (504 & 508-Fig.5; para [0045]: layers bonded together).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to implement the sensor system as a layered structure to secure the sensor within the textile layers as taught in Sarrafzadeh (para [0045]).
As per claim 2, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is at least one of a humidity sensor or a temperature sensor (114-Fig.3; para [0064] at least two packaged sensors for capturing humidity and temperature).
As per claim 3, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 2, wherein wiring extending from the at least one sensor is at least partially coupled to the first textile layer (306-Fig.6; para [0079]: wiring)
to substantially hold the at least one sensor in place relative to the first textile layer while enabling at least some movement of the at least one sensor and/or the wiring (306-Fig.6; para [0079]: sensors connected in series via wires and further held in place).
As per claim 4, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 3, wherein the wiring is at least partially coupled to the first textile layer by at least one bar tack (2002A-Fig.23B bar tack para [0148]: wiring secured to textile layer via bar tacking).
As per claim 5, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises two packaged sensors, and wherein the two packaged sensors comprise a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor (114-Fig.3; para [0064] at least two packaged sensors for capturing humidity and temperature).
As per claim 6, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 1, further comprising: an intermediate layer (108-Fig.1; para [0059]).
Karschnik does not teach [an intermediate layer] between the at least one sensor and the second textile layer, the intermediate layer decreasing high spots created by the at least one sensor in the sensor strip.
Sarrafzadeh teaches: [an intermediate layer] between the at least one sensor and the second textile layer, the intermediate layer decreasing high spots created by the at least one sensor in the sensor strip (302-Fig.3; para [0042]: layer may be stacked thereby decreasing the high spots created).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together the intermediate layer between the at least one sensor and the second textile layer) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together the intermediate layer between the at least one sensor and the second textile layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to implement using woven or non-woven textile sheets that are coated with an electrically conductive material to form elongated conductive strips as taught in Sarrafzadeh (para [0042]).
As per claim 8, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 1, further
comprising:
a first anchor at or adjacent to a first end of the sensor strip (308-Fig.4 para [0079]: first anchor on first end adjacent first end of sensor strip) and a second anchor at or adjacent to a second end of the sensor strip, the second end being opposite from the first end (308-Fig.4 para [0079]: second anchor on second end opposite first end).
As per claim 9, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 8, wherein the first anchor comprises a directional fabric for removably coupling the sensor strip to a substrate (308-Fig.4 para [0079]: element 308 may be hook and loop and interpreted as directional fabric because it removably couples the sensor strip to an accompanying surface).
As per claim 10, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The sensor strip of claim 1, further comprising
at least one anchor coupled to the sensor strip (308-Fig.21 para [0079]),
the at least one anchor comprising: a base positionable beneath the sensor strip (2000-Fig.21; para [0143]: base);
a first wing extending from a first side of the base and coupled to the sensor strip (annotated 112-Fig.14; para [0101]: first and second wing extending from first/second side of base); a second wing extending from a second side of the base and coupled to the sensor strip (annotated 112-Fig.14; para [0101]: first and second wing extending from first/second side of base); and a fastener configured to removably couple the anchor between the mattress and a covering for the mattress (930A-N-Fig.14; para [0101] fasteners).
As per claim 11, Karschnik teaches:
A cushioning system (100-Fig.1; para [0059]), comprising:
a mattress (102-Fig.1; para [0059]);
and at least one sensor strip extending at least partially across the mattress (112-Fig.1; para [0060] sensor strip for a mattress) including:
a first textile layer (104-Fig.6; para [0083]);
one or more sensors carried by the first textile layer (114-Fig.6; para [0083]);
an intermediate layer laterally surrounding at least a portion of the one or more sensors (108-Fig.1; para [0061-62]: sensors may be attached to intermediate layers); and a second textile layer superimposed with the first textile layer and covering the one or more sensors and the intermediate layer (106-Fig.6; para [0083] mattress cover 106),
Karschnik does not teach a perimeter of the second textile layer fastened to a perimeter of the first textile layer.
Sarrafzadeh teaches a perimeter of the second textile layer fastened to a perimeter of the first textile layer (500, 504 & 508-Fig.5; para [0045]: bonded to a textile layer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to implement the sensor system as a layered structure to secure the sensor within the textile layers as taught in Sarrafzadeh (para [0045]).
As per claim 12, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11, further comprising: bedding covering the one or more sensor strips (para [0083] element 106 may be pulled over sensor 114).
As per claim 13, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor strip extends across a width of the mattress (112-Fig.2; para [0060]: strip extends width of mattress 102).
As per claim 14, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor strip comprises a plurality of sensor strips (502A-Fig.8; para [0087]).
As per claim 15, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor strip extends across a head region of the mattress, an intermediate region of the mattress, or a foot region of the mattress (para [0089]).
As per claim 16, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11, wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least one of a humidity sensor or a temperature sensor (para [0088]).
As per claim 17, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The cushioning system of claim 11;
and an anchor removably coupling the sensor strip to the mattress (308-Fig.21 para [0079]), the anchor comprising:
a base positionable beneath the sensor strip (2000-Fig.21; para [0143]: base) ; a first wing extending from a first side of the base and coupled to the sensor strip (annotated 112-Fig.14 above; para [0101]: first and second wing extending from first/second side of base); a second wing extending from a second side of the base opposite from the first side and coupled to the sensor strip (annotated 112-Fig.14 above; para [0101]: first and second wing extending from first/second side of base); and a fastener configured to removable couple the anchor between the mattress and the cover (930A-N-Fig.14; para [0101] fasteners).
Karschnik does not teach: further comprising: a cover extending at least partially across the mattress.
Sarrafzadeh teaches further comprising: a cover extending at least partially across the mattress (500-Fig.5; para [0045]: cover 500 may extend partially across a mattress para [0033]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together provided with a cover layer) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together provided with a cover layer . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to implement the sensor system as a layered structure to secure the sensor within the textile layers as taught in Sarrafzadeh (para [0045]).
As per claim 18, Karschnik teaches:
A method of manufacturing a cushioning system (100-Fig.1; para [0059]), comprising: positioning one or more sensors (114-Fig.6; para [0083]) along a first textile layer (104-Fig.6; para [0083]); coupling the one or more sensors to the first textile layer (104 & 114-Fig.6; para [0068]); superimposing a second textile layer over the first textile layer (para [0083] element 106 may be pulled over sensor 114).
Karschnik does not teach; and coupling at least a portion of a perimeter of the second textile layer to at least a portion of a perimeter of the first textile layer.
Sarrafzadeh teaches, and coupling at least a portion of a perimeter of the second textile layer to at least a portion of a perimeter of the first textile layer (500, 504 & 508-Fig.5; para [0045]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to implement the sensor system as a layered structure to secure the sensor within the textile layers as taught in Sarrafzadeh (para [0045]).
As per claim 19, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 18, wherein coupling the one or more sensors to the first textile layer comprises bar tacking (2002A-Fig.23B bar tack para [0148]: wiring from sensors 114 secured to textile layer via bar tacking) the one or more sensors to the first textile layer across wiring extending from the one or more sensors (306-Fig.6; para [0079]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2022/0273115 A1 to Karschnik in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0323501 A1 to Sarrafzadeh in further view of U.S Patent Application 2016/0029776 A1 to Küllenberg (Küllenberg hereafter).
As per claim 7, Karschnik (as modified) teaches: The sensor strip of claim 1.
Karschnik does not teach, wherein the second textile layer comprises a micro- mesh.
Küllenberg teaches, wherein the second textile layer comprises a micro- mesh (para [0008]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together) and Küllenberg (directed to a fabric panel manufactured with a high quality micro mesh fabric) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer that comprises a fabric panel manufactured with a high quality micro mesh fabric and a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a tear and abrasion resistant fabric that permanently retains shape and color as taught in Küllenberg (para [0008]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2022/0273115 A1 to Karschnik in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0323501 A1 to Sarrafzadeh in further view of U.S Patent Application 2005/0190068 A1 to Gentry et. al (Gentry hereafter).
As per claim 20, Karschnik (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 18, further comprising:
positioning the one or more sensors over a cushion (114-Fig.6; para [0083]: sensors may be positioned over tub layer); placing a cover over the one or more sensors and the cushion (106-Fig.6; para [0083] mattress cover 106 over sensors and cushion)
Karschnik (as modified) ; and coupling a fastener to the one or more sensors through the cover to maintain a position of the one or more sensors relative to the cover and the cushion.
Gentry teaches; and coupling a fastener (78-Fig.17; para [0072]) to the one or more sensors (para [0072]: anchors 78 may be placed through a sensor pad) through the cover to maintain a position of the one or more sensors relative to the cover and the cushion (21-Fig.17; para [0072]: anchors 78 may be placed through a sensor pad).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Karschnik (directed to a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer and a covering) and Sarrafzadeh (directed to a fabric based pressure sensor provided with a top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together) and Gentry (directed to a mattress provided with a sensor system including coupling a fastener to one or more sensors through the cover to maintain a position of one or more sensor) and arrived at a sensor strip for a mattress provided with a first and second textile layer that comprises a covering including a fabric top, intermediate and bottom layer bonded together and coupling a fastener to one or more sensors through the cover to maintain a position of one or more sensor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to secure the sensor pad or carrier sheet 21 in place as taught in Gentry (para [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent 4,864,660 A to Sawyer teaches a micro mesh material.
U.S Patent Application 2016/0310697 A1 to Franceschetti teaches a bed with one or more environment sensors measure the environment property such as temperature, humidity, light, or sound.
/DEBORAH TALITHA GEDEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3673 07/09/2026