DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Application filed 08/25/2025
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 08/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Cylinder
Piston head
Second chamber
Rod
Leak path
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered:
Pump
Die
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Retainer: lock nut (210; par 18)
Intermediate component: spacer (212; par 13; Figs. 2-3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manney (US 7784392).
Regarding Claim 1 Manney discloses a hydraulic tool comprising:
a cylinder (52);
a piston (12) movably disposed within the cylinder (52) to define a first chamber (62) on a first side of a piston head (12) and a second chamber (60) on a second side of the piston head, the piston head (12) defining a cavity (24) that is in communication with a leak path (16a, 16b) extending from the cavity (24);
a relief valve (30) positioned in the cavity (24), the relief valve (30) opening at a threshold pressure to allow fluid to flow along the leak path (16a, 16b) between the first chamber (62) and the second chamber (60); and a retainer (46) coupled to the piston head (12) and securing the relief valve (30) within the cavity (24). (Col 6 lines 6-60)
Regarding Claim 2 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the first chamber (62) receives hydraulic fluid and the cavity (24) extends into the first side of the piston (12). (Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 3 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses a pump that supplies pressurized hydraulic fluid to the first chamber (62), the pressure of the hydraulic fluid acting on the first side of the piston (12) to cause the piston (12) to move within the cylinder (52). (Col 6 line 61- 7 line 10)
Regarding Claim 4 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the piston includes a rod (54) extending from the second side of the piston and the leak path (16a, 16b) extends into the rod (54) to connect with the cavity (24).
Regarding Claim 5 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the leak path (16a, 16b) extends radially into the rod (54).
Regarding Claim 6 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the rod is configured to couple to move a die. (Fig 9) (Col 6 line 61- Col 7 line 10)
Regarding Claim 7 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the retainer is a lock nut (46) that threadably couples with the piston head (12).
Regarding Claim 9 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses an intermediate component (42) positioned between the lock nut (46) and the relief valve (30), the lock nut (46) providing a supporting force that is transmitted to the relief valve (30) by the intermediate component (42). (Col 4 line 51- Col 5 line 3)
Regarding Claim 10 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the intermediate component (42) defines an opening through which hydraulic fluid flows when the relief valve (30) opens. (Col 4 line 51- Col 5 line 10)
Regarding Claim 11 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the relief valve (30) extends into the opening in the intermediate component (42). (Fig. 5)
Regarding Claim 12 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the intermediate component (42) includes a peripheral flange. (Fig. 5)
Regarding Claim 13 Manney discloses a piston assembly for a hydraulic tool, the piston assembly comprising:
a piston (12) including a head defining a first side and a second side, and
a rod (54) extending from the second side of the head (12), the piston defining a cavity (24) extending into the first side of the head (12) and a leak path (16a, 16b) extending from the cavity and through the rod (54); and
an overload assembly secured to the piston (12), the overload assembly including:
a valve element (30) positioned in the cavity (24), the valve element (30) configured to transition from a closed configuration that blocks fluid flow along the leak path (16a, 16b) (Col 5 lines 23-37) to an open configuration that allows fluid flow along the leak path (16a, 16b) based on a pressure differential between the first side of the head (12) and the second side of the head (12), (Col 5 lines 38-52)
a retainer (46) coupled to the first side of the piston (12) to secure the valve element (30) in the cavity (24), and an intermediate component (42) position in the cavity (24) between the valve element (30) and the retainer (46), the intermediate component (42) defining an opening that allows fluid flow through the intermediate component (42) when the valve element (30) is in the open configuration. (Col 5 lines 38-52)
Regarding Claim 14 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the retainer is a lock nut (46) that defines a passage to allow fluid flow between the first side of the piston and the cavity (24).(Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 15 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the valve element (30) is positioned within the opening in the intermediate component (24). (Fig. 5)
Regarding Claim 16 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the valve element (30) moves relative to the intermediate component (42) to transition from the closed configuration to the open configuration. (Col 5 lines 23-52)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manney.
Regarding Claim 8 Manney discloses invention as described above. Manney further discloses the relief valve is a burst disc. While Manney names a poppet valve the function of Manney’s poppet valve is equivalent to a burst valve. (Col 6 lines 6-33)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 17 Manney discloses a hydraulic tool comprising:
a cylinder (52);
a piston (12) having a piston head defining a first side and a second side, the piston (12) movably disposed within the cylinder (52) to define a first chamber (62) on the first side of a piston head and a second chamber (60) on a second side of the piston head (12); and
an overload assembly ( positioned in a cavity (24) that is in communication with the first chamber and positioned between the first chamber (62) and a leak path (16a, 16b), the overload assembly including:
a valve element (30) positioned in the cavity (24), the valve element (30) opening at a threshold pressure to allow fluid to flow along the leak path (16a, 16b),
a retainer (46) securing the valve element (30) in the cavity (24),
an intermediate component (42) positioned in the cavity between the valve element (30) and the retainer (46), the intermediate component (42) defining an opening that allows fluid flow through the intermediate component (42) when the valve element (30) is open, the opening receiving the valve element (30).
However, the Prior Art does not teach the retainer at least partially defining the first chamber in addition to the limitations included in Claim 17.
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3731