Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/24/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application 19/043,096 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 9, 11, and 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 3,922,480 (“Woofter”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 2,680,235 (“Pierce”).
Regarding claim 1, Woofter discloses an apparatus for electrically connecting a plurality of connector cables to a trunk cable, comprising:
a main body (10) including a plurality of connection points extending laterally outward from the main body (see the connection points for cables L, at the upper left and right sides, in Fig. 5 which extend leftward and rightward in an outward direction from a middle line of the connector structure) and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of connector cables (L); and
a connection end (12) extending from a bottom of the main body (a bottom connection member 12, see Fig. 5 where the bottom left connection 12 can be considered extending from a bottom end of body portion 10a) configured to electrically connect with a conductor portion of a trunk cable (one wire L is the power and the other wires are connected to power, see col. 5, lns. 32 – 42, and see Figs. 2 – 3 and 5), wherein
the main body and the connection end electrically connect the plurality of connector cables to the trunk cable after the connection end connects to the trunk cable (one wire is the power and the other wires are connected to power, col. 5, lns. 32 – 42, and Figs. 2 – 3 and 5).
Woofter does not disclose the connection end including one or more teeth, the one or more teeth of the connection end configured to pierce insulation of a trunk cable and electrically connect the connection end with a conductor portion of the trunk cable, wherein the main body and connection end electrically connect the plurality of connector cables to the trunk cable after the one or more teeth of the connection end pierce the insulation of the trunk cable.
However, Pierce teaches a connector with a connection end including one or more teeth (14) angled relative to vertical (see Fig. 3), the one or more teeth of the connection end configured to pierce insulation (26) of a trunk cable (22) and electrically connect the connection end with a conductor portion (24) of the trunk cable. It would have been obvious to include teeth as taught by Pierce on the connection end of Woofter, resulting in the connection between the plurality of cables and trunk cable coming from the one or more teeth piercing the respective cables, because the teeth penetrate the cable which enables the electrical connection as well as a secure mechanical connection without the need for stripping the insulation back during assembly.
Regarding claim 3 – 5 and 7 – 8, Woofter discloses wherein the main body includes between two and eight connection points configured to electrically connect with corresponding between two and eight connector cables (see Fig. 5), wherein at least one of the plurality of connection points is positioned on a first side of the main body, and at least one other of the plurality of connection points is positioned on a second side of the main body, the second side opposite the first side (see Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of connection points are further configured to mechanically couple with the plurality of connector cables. (see Fig. 5), wherein the main body and the connection end are made from a singular piece of material (see Fig. 1), wherein the singular piece of material is electrically conductive (col. 3, lns. 23 – 26).
Regarding claim 6, Pierce further teaches wherein the one or more teeth define one or more notches that facilitate bending of the one or more teeth (the space between 14 and portion 48 as seen in Figure 3). It would have been obvious to provide a notch as taught by Pierce because the notch presents the teeth as a narrow member so as to enable bending.
Regarding claim 9, Pierce further teaches angled teeth 14 extending from a body portion of a terminal, with the teeth having extension portion and a tip (see the portion near the lead line of numeral 14 in Figure 3 extending away from a plate body portion, and see the pointed tip at the end of 14). It would have been obvious to have the teeth extend from the main body as taught by Pierce because this positions the teeth to meet and penetrate a conductive cable member to enable the teeth to connect to the cable.
Regarding claim 11 Pierce teaches a connector with one or more angled teeth 14, wherein the one or more teeth comprise at least two sets of one or more teeth (left set of one 14, and right set of one 14, see Fig. 1), the two sets of one or more teeth being angled relative to vertical such that the two sets of one or more teeth face each other (the teeth are angled relative to vertical as seen in Figure 3 and face each other as seen in Figure 2). It would have been obvious to provide the multiple teeth arranged as taught by Pierce because this positions the teeth so that the teeth are ready and able to surround and pierce a conductor cable.
Regarding claim 13, Woofter discloses a method of connecting a trunk bus to a plurality of connector cables comprising: providing a busbar and a plurality of connector cables, the busbar comprising: a main body (10) including a plurality of connection points extending laterally outward from the main body (see the connection points for cables L, at the upper left and right sides, in Fig. 5 which extend leftward and rightward in an outward direction from a middle line of the connector structure ) and configured to electrically connect to the plurality of connector cables (L); and a connection end (12) extending from a bottom of the main body (a bottom connection member 12, see Fig. 5 where the bottom left can be considered bottom); positioning the connection end of the busbar adjacent to the trunk cable (see Fig. 2); and applying a force between the busbar and the trunk cable (see the abstract, and furthermore one wire is the power and the other wires are connected to power, see col. 5, lns. 32 – 42, and see Figs. 2 – 3 and 5); wherein the application of the force between the busbar and the trunk cable causes the connection end to electrically connect with a conductor portion of the trunk cable with the plurality of connector cables (see Figs. 2 and 5).
Woofter does not disclose the connection end as including one or more angled teeth, the one or more angled teeth of the connection end configured to pierce insulation of a trunk cable and electrically connect the connection end with a conductor portion of the trunk cable, and wherein the application of the force between the busbar and the trunk cable causes the one or more angled teeth to pierce the insulation of the trunk cable and electrically connect the conductor portion of the trunk cable with the plurality of connector cables.
However, Pierce teaches a method of connecting a cable to a connection end of a connector, the connector end including one or more angled teeth (14), the one or more angled teeth of the connection end configured to pierce insulation (26) of a trunk cable (22) and electrically connect the connection end with a conductor portion of the trunk cable (see Fig. 6), and wherein the application of the force between the busbar and the trunk cable causes the one or more angled teeth to pierce the insulation of the trunk cable and electrically connect the conductor portion of the trunk cable with the connector (see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to include teeth as taught by Pierce on the connection end of Woofter, because the teeth penetrate the cable enabling the electrical connection as well as a secure mechanical connection without the need for stripping insulation back during assembly.
Regarding claims 14 – 19, Pierce further teaches wherein the application of the force further causes the one or more angled teeth to bend and slide underneath the insulation of the trunk cable along a surface of the conductor portion of the trunk cable (see Fig. 6), wherein the one or more angled teeth include one or more notches (between 14 and 48 as seen in Figure 3) that facilitate the one or more angled teeth to bend and slide underneath the insulation of the trunk cable, wherein the one or more angled teeth bend and slide inward, toward a center of the busbar (see the teeth bending in an inward direction towards a central area of the terminal, Fig. 6), wherein the one or more angled teeth bend and slide outward, away from a center of the busbar (see the furthest tip portion 44 which continues to bend in a direction away from a central area, Fig. 6) wherein the application of the force further causes the one or more angled teeth to create and follow corresponding one or more voids in the conductor portion of the trunk cable until the one or more angled teeth are embedded in the conductor portion of the trunk cable (see Fig. 6), and wherein the one or more angled teeth create and follow the corresponding one or more voids in the conductor portion of the trunk cable away from a center of the busbar (see the furthest tip portion 44 which continues to bend in a direction away from a central area, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to provide the teeth which bend and slide as the teeth engage the cable as taught by Pierce, because this arrangement provide a bendable teeth portion which can securely engage the cable, both mechanically and electrically.
Regarding claim 20, Woofter discloses the plurality of connector cables are pre-attached to the main body of the busbar (the cables are attached before the insulator is applied).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed apparatus for electrically connecting a plurality of connector cables to a trunk cable, including wherein the tip connects to the extension at a base of the tip, the base of the tip having a width greater than a width of the extension, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed apparatus for electrically connecting a plurality of connector cables to a trunk cable, including wherein the main body and the one or more teeth of the connection end comprise a singular piece of electrically conductive material, the singular piece of electrically conductive material being approximately planar and defining one or more holes therein, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Dittmann discloses a terminal with a tip having a greater width than an extension, but does not teach the use of such a terminal structure with a connector which electrically connects a trunk cable and a plurality of connection cables. Yamashita discloses a connector with piercing structures which have a tip which has a greater width than an extension, but the connector is for piercing a carbon nanotube wire and therefore Yamashita does not teach the use of these piercing structures in a connector which electrically connects a trunk cable and a plurality of connection cables. Woofter teaches the connector as being a singular piece of conductive material, and that some portions of the connector are approximately planar, but does not disclose the connector body and connection ends being approximately planar because the connection ends are not approximately planar. Li teaches a body structure of a connector which is a singular piece of conductive material as having holes, but does not teach the connector with one or more hole as being approximately planar due to the connection ends of Li not being approximately planar.
The prior art, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Woofter does not disclose the connection points which extend laterally outward and from a bottom of the main body as required by the claims. Examiner cannot concur. The various connection points of Woofter satisfy these locational requirements by extending (1) in a direction away from body 10, and (2) by being at a location that can be considered a bottom.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill would not have modified Woofter in view of Pierce, at least due to the fact that insulation is added over the connector body after engaging the wire members, and argues Pierce is a structurally different mechanism. Examiner cannot concur. Woofter and Pierce are each a mechanism which join a cable to a connector member through a crimping action. The modification of Woofter to include teeth, to not only hold the cable but pierce into the cable to enable the electrical connection, is an obvious change for the reasons discussed above, including at least that the end of the cable does not need to be stripped at the connection point due to the piercing action. The addition of insulation around the connector structure is of no import, as this housing feature surrounds the cables and connector structure and does not interfere or alter the electrical connection contained therein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831